IMDb > The Conspiracy (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Conspiracy
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Conspiracy More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 51 reviews in total 

51 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

This faux documentary makes 'Blair Witch' look like 'A Christmas Story'.

8/10
Author: Andrew Gold from United States
1 November 2015

The Conspiracy is about exactly what the title suggests: conspiracies. From 9/11 to the New World Order to occult rituals between world leaders, The Conspiracy wraps it all up into one incredulous story that is documented as realistically as possible. Real footage is mixed in with false claims, blurring the lines of reality, and one of the lingering themes in the movie is the fact that it's easy to dismiss conspiracy theories but it's impossible to disprove them. It's a fantastic concept for a horror movie and it's executed as barebones as possible - we're on the journey with these reporters, and you better be ready for one hell of a ride.

The first half is mainly setting the foundation for disbelievers. The cameramen begin as skeptics, then one of them starts to believe, then one of their contacts goes missing leading them to believe he was taken by the same syndicate they're researching, then they become even more determined to find the truth. It's similar to The X-Files in the searching for truth aspect, but it's far more dark and sinister. The syndicate here want the world to be run by one government, birthing the New World Order, and actual presidential speeches are cut together to make it as credible looking as it can be. No matter how skeptical you are, it's easy to get lost in the mindset of, "Hey, what if this were true..."

I'm not going to spoil anything because the less you know the better. I will say that the third act is an absolute roller coaster, but the whole is truly greater than the sum of its parts. It's an exercise in the underground; the occult; the "what ifs". Some interviewees are masked in anonymity - blank faces and robotic voices - multiplying the creep factor by a hundred percent. Again, from the documentary-style filming to the expertly edited real footage, The Conspiracy blurs the lines between reality and fiction to the point of probability, and there's nothing scarier in horror than not knowing what is true and what isn't.

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Perfect horror story for our times

7/10
Author: themissingpatient from Canada
10 August 2013

Aaron and Jim are documentary filmmakers who become fascinated by a street preaching conspiracy theorist. A man who spends all his time spreading a message, like a modern day prophet, about how we are all slaves and the world is run by a group of rich men who are connected by secret societies. When this man suddenly vanishes, Aaron begins to study the clues the missing man left them and believing in the conspiracy as well.

Anyone familiar with the dark side of YouTube will know what this film is exploring. It's a mockumentary with elements of found-footage horror that touches on as many different conspiracy theories as possible but eventually focuses in on a particular secret society.

The Conspiracy is a perfect horror story for our times. Don't expect an average horror film, this is Blair Witch Project meets Eyes Wide Shut. The writer/director, Christopher MacBride, fearless dives into the frightening subject matter and keeps the film as real as possible, working well within the small budget. The film is quite an accomplishment in more ways than one.

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

A thought provoking and chilling film ◆≈≈8/10≈≈◆

8/10
Author: J. Davis (horrorsession@gmail.com) from USA
9 August 2013

This proved to be one of the most surprisingly effective thrillers I have seen in recent memory. At a glance we have an unknown first time writer/director in Christopher MacBride matched with a relatively small budget of just under $1.2 million. Maybe I'm wired a bit different than the average film addict, but when I come upon a new indie film like this my anticipation for the result is much greater than say your average Hollywood blockbuster. Finding greatness in the unknown is what drives me as a fan, while it doesn't always pan out, nothing beats when it does, as this film proves to.

The Conspiracy starts off at a somewhat slow pace as we are introduced to the main characters Jim (James Gilbert) and Aaron (Aaron Poole), two documentary filmmakers who are out to make a film not unlike many you may already be aware of. It's theme based on the age old conspiracy of a worldwide secret society of powerful, wealthy individuals behind such things as staging events to start wars such as WWI, Vietnam and 9/11 Iraq. They become interested not so much into the truth of such conspiracies, but in the people who so adamantly and wholeheartedly believe in them. They find Terrance (Alan C. Peterson) through an internet link, a man who is exactly one of those people. His house is covered in news articles connecting everything and anything that could possibly be evidence in his search for his desired truth. After Terrence goes missing and his landlord is disposing of his possessions, Jim and Aaron take Terrence's research from his apartment walls and begin their own quest to find truth within the mountain of information. After finding the existence of a secret group called Tarsus, they make contact with one of it's members Mark Tucker (Bruce Clayton) , who later gives them access and a chance at finding and filming one of their secret rituals.

The first half of "The Conspiracy" can appear deceptively mundane. Do not make the assumption that this is just another propaganda film filled with unconfirmed speculations. The last act is the real deal, it's as chilling as it gets. The score pulls you into the scenes as the true reality of the events is slowly revealed to each of the characters. Their mini spy cams give off a perspective from their eyes that really pays off. For a small budget indie film from a first time writer/director it was an extremely original, effective thriller which I would surely recommend. One thing I should note though, while listed as a thriller/horror film it stays mainly within the confines of a thriller, replacing needless gore instead with a very sinister atmosphere, which proves to be a worthwhile trade.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Found footage film done well

7/10
Author: johnathan smith from United States
8 August 2013

The story is about a couple of guys are making a documentary about the people (or specifically one person) who are true believers in conspiracy theories. When their subject disappears, they get wrapped up in the conspiracy theory and investigate it. They end up sneaking into a Bohemian Grove type setting.

Really good, relatively low budget film. The cinematography is good especially where they are filming through "hidden cameras," giving enough for the viewer to understand whats going on but believably hidden. The acting was good and I was satisfied by the ending.

The film isn't completely surprising, but it builds the tension well and leads to some pretty creepy scenes. And I agree with the Moviesdotcom review that said that it's the smartest found footage film since "Blair Witch." Bottom line- I was pleasantly surprised by how good the movie was.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

My Review Of "The Conspiracy"

Author: ASouthernHorrorFan from United States
19 August 2013

"The Conspiracy" is a fictional documentary that plays out like a found- footage soliloquy. The film comes from Christopher McBride who wrote and directed. It stars Aaron Poole, James Gilbert, Ian Anderson, Peter Apostolopoulos and is quite frankly the most brilliant found-footage styled film to come out in a long while. The story follows two friends as they document their attempts to document a conspiracy theorist. Soon they become a deeper part of the documentary than they intended as things begin to get a little more real than they previously believed. Soon an ancient plot to control and dictate world societies by a super secret society is revealed.

The story in "The Conspiracy" was a pretty captivating conspiracy theory that flowed logically and seamlessly. The use of actual known prevailing conspiracies, that run rampant on the net along with one of the darkest known cults of human history, amped up the commanding plot. The style in which "The Conspiracy" was shot played out like a true documentary with softer moments of commentary and reflections from the characters, this created a more emotional connectivity for me that sometimes is lost in found footage films and actual documentaries. The fact that this film plays out as a believable documentary with a convincing conspiracy theory, and does so with very little flaw, is a testament to what can be achieved with the subgenre if care and consideration is taken into account. I honestly believe the conspiracy exposed within this film-even though I know it is a fictional film-it hit all my conspiracy theory nightmare sweet spots!

The drama and suspense is the man drive that moves this film forward, relying totally on the acting and camera tricks to create the intense melodrama from start to finish. It works great in "The Conspiracy". The dialog flowed effortlessly and came off genuine. It didn't feel really forced or over scripted. The main star is the actual conspiracy itself. It is a major player in the real world online conversations and framed by one of the most interesting and aloof cults that ever existed. The Mithraic cult of ancient Rome. You can (not that I have entertained such notions-yet) literally red-line the connection between events, religious backgrounds of people of power, Mithra origin story and cult beliefs to the point of paranoia. It was done in the film with eerie, believable implementation. I left the film with just a bit more fear and paranoia about the world around me, even questioning the truth of conspiracies as well as the truth presented to me by educational tools offered in our society.

"The Conspiracy" is a true horror story but if gore and standard creep affair is your thing then this film may leave you feeling a bit empty. However if you are a fan of any type of horror, and enjoy being taken on a thrill ride through story-regardless of the amount of blood splatter or grue-then "The Conspiracy" will deliver 100%. The clever ways the film is shot using innovative camera tricks in ways that haven't yet been over indulged in the found footage subgenre add the chilling suspense. The film really does prove that there are still some pretty stellar stories left to be told and found footage is still a viable means to tell those stories.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Enthralling

8/10
Author: cB391 from Canada
8 August 2013

I just came upon this movie, and having liked the poster decided to give it a watch, though I was skeptical of the "Tie Camera" and other first person camera usages. Going into the movie, having done no research on the story or anything related, I wasn't expecting such an entertaining film. After the movie, I am still pretty confused about the distinction between the reality and the fiction that the film presents (not reading any reviews or interviews).

Plot - The film starts of as two guys making a documentary on the life of a conspiracy theorist (Terrence). One of the guys (Erin) gets attached to (Terrence's arguments) and seeks to continue his research. It leads him to a secret society, where the goal is to understand it's history, as well as their rituals and membership. The two guys differ in their thought processes about conspiracy theorists, which actually makes the film much more appreciable. There isn't one side putting down the other, and tries to deconstruct the "life of a conspiracy theorist". Without ruining the film, suffice to say, the film picks up with various twists and turns towards the end that are well worth the wait in this 84 minute flick.

Acting - I found the acting to be quite cold at times though Alan Peterson (Terrance) was amazing, while the main characters juxtaposition allowed for a smooth flow in the story to develop that did help to take away some of the focus from their acting abilities (which were okay, but lacking at times). The various supporting roles didn't encroach with anything interesting, and added little to the film. Sound - The music through the first half of the film was nicely produced and played well, but towards the end, it got extremely harsh and it worked with the movie, but could definitely have been more audience-friendly.

Camera Work - I did not enjoy the first person scenes towards the end of the film, but using the camera's as flashbacks and to record the recordings were definitely well done and well thought out. It is simply a matter of preference to which I dislike the shakiness, whereas other people do enjoy it. Miscellaneous - Overall the story was definitely interesting, and tried to present a variety of views, and the numerous twists, especially the ending are open to interpretation because of their ambiguity, and lead the user to question the intent. We never find out the result of the scene at the end, and the roles of various people are revealed, which draw the user to question: Who made this film, and for what purpose?

I definitely enjoyed this film, and I think it is because I went in with no expectations, and the movie didn't try to tell me a story, but gave me a chance to think about it, and develop my own interpretation, something lacking in spectacle movies. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys Thriller (light horror) movies, that keep you in suspense and actually don't preach to you (on one side or the other). 8/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

I've been waiting for something like this.

7/10
Author: TomShortell from Liverpool, England
16 February 2014

I've always had a love for conspiracy theories because they are surreal and they're just fun to research personally. I enjoy being scared and horror doesn't do that for me these days but the dialogue aspects of this did it for me.

I like a horror film that actually frightens you but this frightened me in more of a factual way. The information given out was important to listen to. It felt like something different this horror film and its great when one stands out to you. Which it did.

The build up was good as there was barely any causes to horror affection until the ending when the actual events occur in. A very interesting and positive horror film that deserves more than it should get. The slow side to this really worked well as it allowed the ending to build of some very nice factual points. Conspiracy Theories for you.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

An intense found footage thriller

8/10
Author: Alain Kapel from Croatia
9 August 2013

This is an effective and enthralling film which uses the mockumentary formula very well. It actually builds an atmosphere in the first half, unlike so many other genre films in the past few years (there are always exceptions of course). Both main characters are simple, but believable, and the increasingly dangerous situations they find themselves in are directed with care. If you're a horror fan like myself, you probably won't be surprised when you realize where the whole thing is going, but you'll still enjoy the film until the very end (which is debatable, but original).

I can complain about the fact that the film doesn't dig that much into many of the conspiracy theories it presented, it just kind of mentions them, but I guess that wasn't it's primary goal... It also seemed a bit far-fetched in the last 15 minutes. Other than that, it was just fine.

I recommend this film to any horror fan out there, especially if you're a fan of found footage thrillers and you dig conspiracy theories.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Conspiracy Fun

7/10
Author: antmlfc from Ireland
12 August 2013

The Conspiracy A really interesting mockumentary dealing with conspiracy theories and secret societies. If your a fan on the conspiracy TV shows i.e Joe Rogan Questions Everything or Jesse Ventura 's Conspiracy Theory you will love it. With many movies using the found footage idea the market as been flooded they are cheap to make and some people think there real i.e Blair Witch but the filmmakers here use some nice little tricks. The movie starts off a little slow as they build it around nine eleven and introduce you the the secret society and the conspirator but it does kick into gear. It progresses very nicely by introducing people they interview who want to have anonymity which is a great ploy to keep the tension going for the rest of the movie. A very solid effort on an interesting topic. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

An unexpected surprise

7/10
Author: michelleward15
14 August 2013

This movie had no fan fare that I am aware of and I came upon it by chance. The documentary style the film is shot in and the storyline are all really interesting and quiet believable. The film starts out as interview piece with one person in particular who believes in conspiracy theories. One world Order and a group of high powered individuals controlling us is the theme and it is perfectly pitched for our times. The acting, particularly the person who plays Terrace at the beginning of the film is good, I feel I could have spent more time with Terrance, he is an engrossing character. The movie which goes from Documentary style to a Thriller with ease is a real surprise package, I really enjoyed the experience.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history