Connect with IMDb

2013 | 2012

3 items from 2013

First round of Aacta awards announced, Sapphires takes home five gongs

28 January 2013 2:29 PM, PST | | See recent news »

The first round of Aacta award winners were announced yesterday in Sydney at the 2nd Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards Luncheon. Held at the Sydney.s The Star Event Centre and hosted by Adam Elliot, the luncheon drew a host of industry representatives including actors Damon Herriman, Daniel Henshall and Felicity Price. The Sapphires was a favourite of the day, taking home five coveted gongs in total for cinematography (Warwick Thornton), editing (Dany Cooper Ase), sound (Andrew Plain, Bry Jones, Pete Smith, Ben Osmo and John Simpson), costume design (Tess Schofield) and production design in a feature film (Melinda Doring.) A jovial Thornton told media working with Sapphires director Wayne Blair wasn.t exactly a walk in the park. .He.s an incredibly hard task master,. he said. .You can.t pull the wool over his eyes when you feel like being lazy.. Cooper spoke of the »

- Emily Blatchford

Permalink | Report a problem

‘The Sapphires’ Dominates Early Australian Cinema & TV Academy Awards

27 January 2013 9:00 PM, PST | Deadline TV | See recent Deadline TV news »

Don Groves is a Deadline contributor based in Sydney. The Sapphires nabbed five Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards in craft categories presented Monday in Sydney local time. The drama, which TWC opens March 22 in the U.S., was prized for cinematography, editing, production design, costume design and sound. The major awards will be handed out Wednesday night, hosted by Russell Crowe. Iron Sky took the visual effects award, Storm Surfers 3D was named best feature documentary and Then The Wind Changed, which chronicled a community’s struggle to rebuild following the 2009 Victorian bushfires, was best docu under one hour. In TV, tabloid newspaper satire Lowdown – Season 2 was declared best comedy series,  Agony Aunts picked up the light entertainment series gong and  The Adventures of Figaro Pho, all from the ABC, won the children’s series award. Multicultural broadcaster Sbs’s  Go Back To Where You Came From was judged best documentary series. »


Permalink | Report a problem

Russell Crowe replaces Hugh Sheridan as Aacta award host

22 January 2013 2:47 PM, PST | | See recent news »

Russell Crowe has been announced as the new Aacta host after a conflicting La schedule forced original host Hugh Sheridan to pull out.

The second annual Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards will see Crowe headline an impressive line-up of presenters, including Aacta president Geoffery Rush and Aacta ambassador Cate Blanchett.

The awards, to be held on January 30 at The Star Event Centre, will see more than 1000 Australian film and television performers and practitioners in attendance.

In addition to the Aacta Awards in Sydney, Crowe will also host the Aacta International Awards in Los Angeles on Saturday, which Sheridan will now also attend.

"The Australian Academy is making its mark in the States, and I'm equally as honoured to represent the Australian industry in L.A. as host of Aacta's International Awards, as I am to return home to celebrate the success of my peers at the 2nd Aacta Awards Ceremony in Sydney, »

- Inside Film Correspondent

Permalink | Report a problem

2013 | 2012

3 items from 2013, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners