IMDb > Sex After Kids (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Sex After Kids
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Sex After Kids More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

14 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

A comedic Indie with character and heart

10/10
Author: xenamarlene-992-90820 from Tampa, FL
4 May 2014

Sex After Kids is an incredible story about life, love and family and how easy it is to drift apart when relationships evolve and partners shift their focus to the offspring of their union. Jeremy LaLonde has written a script filled with hilarious one-liners and impossibly funny situations that are real and honestly portrayed by an incredibly talented cast. From the opening scene through the uplifting finale this movie is a genuine crowd pleaser. Sex After Kids is a movie you'll want to own and watch over and over again. It's sweet and funny and just the perfect Indie movie. If you want to laugh, feel good and walk away with a big, silly smile then watch this movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Bored After This...

3/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
2 May 2014

Where did the comedy vanish off to? I had such a hard time getting into this movie, and it never pushed any of my buttons, and I had to give up not even halfway into the movie.

The storyline was just as far from interesting as it could get, and within the first ten minutes I had my phone out and was doing something else other than paying attention to the movie.

From what I saw of the movie, then I will say that the people hired for the various characters and roles in the movie were doing good enough jobs with their respective characters, they just had a boring script working against them.

Of course there is an audience out there for this particular movie. I just wasn't part of that audience.

I didn't even break a smile anywhere throughout the part of the movie I watched before I gave up. So whatever comedy was applied in this movie was more than lost on me and my particular sense of humor.

"Sex After Kids" scores a meager 3 out of 10 stars from me. Nothing noteworthy or recommendable here.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

honest movie

8/10
Author: jeff_p101 from United States
7 December 2014

I almost never write a review, but for this movie I feel I need to add my 2 cents as it is my opinion the rating is way low for this movie. The acting was good and the characters believable. I found myself laughing out loud more than afew times and I do not laugh with that many of today's movies, though I view more than the average, for sure. I thought this movie touched on real thoughts and feelings and think it might have influenced some voters by making them a bit too uncomfortable. It is interesting to me the demographics of the voters. The highest group rating came from the group I would expect to find the topic matter the least discomforting. I recommend this movie, even above most I have seen with much higher ratings, and with confidence you too will find it worth the time.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

What you see is what you get :) Edgy, romantic and instant comic relief

10/10
Author: Coopsin78 from East Grand Rapids, Michigan
8 May 2014

The storyline and plot were excellent and well written. Watching couples from all walks of life dealing with intimacy after having a child is fascinating and brings a realistic touch to life. The gay couple, a single mom, a single dad, empty nester's, couples from every end of the spectrum bring home this amazing tale of parenting and life after you have a child. Zoie palmer with an accent and Kris holden Reid with his geek out on High fructose corn syrup was adorable :) I loved the lovely sibling banter between Zoie and Paul. Its the evolution of relationships through the spectrum of couples that makes this movie a perfect date night movie. Thanks Jeremy Lalonde for creating this masterpiece.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Hysterical one liners heartwarming story line

10/10
Author: Ana Cruz (alienfingers) from Florida
10 May 2014

SEX after KIDS must SEE Film filled with funny ,funny ,adorable moments must see at least once . Hysterical one liners heartwarming real life emotion for every kind of relationship . The actors chemistry portrayed brilliantly in this film A+ acting .Must see at least once comedy won't be disappointed .Zoie Palmer & Paul Amos & Kris Holden Raid should do a comedys together because their chemistry is Hysterical portrayed for comedys in shows and films .what more can i say but amazing, funny , adorable, sad, funny,great acting,A+ ,Zoie Palmer ,Kris Holden raid , Paul Amos funny .I'm not much of a writer "IMDb why you giving me hard time good lord . Just post it i know you want 1,000 words omg this all i got I'm not much of a writer sorry " .

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

It's an Assenembled Comedy for the ages. ;)

10/10
Author: NYPinTA from Albany
23 March 2013

I was lucky enough to attend a screening of the film Sex After Kids screened at the Royal House Theater on January 11th along with the film's director, producer, many of the cast and crew, and a room full of contributors and fans. To be fair it was a film friendly audience, but amongst the crowd were a few who went in with no investment in the movie at all and from them I found they had the same reaction as did the fans: it was hilarious.

The movie would be categorized as a comedy. But what does that really mean? According to Wikipedia, (the source of all knowledge, right?), a comedy is, "to amuse and elicit laughter from the audience." Check, check, and check. Then it goes on to list a series of types and Sex After Kids doesn't exactly fit any of them. It's a bit of a romantic comedy, but also fits some of the criteria to be considered a "black comedy" except, quite frankly, it's too sweet and earnest for the way it tackles the 'taboo' subjects to fit into that category completely.

It's a similar to ensemble comedies such as Home for the Holidays, Beautiful Girls, and Something's Gotta Give but the cast is loosely affiliated yet connected like in such movies as Love, Actually or New Year's Eve. So I'd like to propose a new category. Since it's an assembled ensemble comedy I suggest: Assenembled comedy. You heard it here first.

Sex After Kids gathers a fantastic cast of six degree separated parents as they deal with relations after having kids. In some cases the issues that are raised are 20 years after the birth of their kids. It's like a coming of age story for adults about a time in life no one ever seems to talk about. There are so many (too many?) movies about twenty-something brats transitioning from college life into being an actual adult. But what about everyone who has done that, since life doesn't stop once you give up keg parties, settle down, and have a family?

I thought the movie was funny, honest, even if some of the situations were "exaggerated for comedic effect" (thanks Wikipedia!) and ultimately sweet. Amanda Brugel is my new hero. Zoie Palmer and Paul Roger Amos made me cry. And Kris Holden-Ried did that thing where at one point he says a line but turns that line into a whole story. Also, it looked beautiful, the locations felt authentic to each character and not overly staged. And I felt like although the movie wasn't detail heavy into each character that we got a full sense of who everyone was as people.

I wish I could sum up the movie easily, but it's actually the type of movie that after you see it for days later you and your friends will be talking about various scenes and laughing again as you go through the funniest bits you can recall to the ones you suddenly remember again.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Original, hysterical and heartfelt

10/10
Author: madmegid from NY, USA
6 March 2013

My husband and I had the good fortune to see Sex After Kids at the Toronto screening, and we both couldn't stop talking about how funny and smart and heartfelt it was. If you're married with kids, at least one plot line will speak to you with a resounding "oh god yes!" and you'll feel not quite so alone in your own "after kids" experiences. The ensemble cast is wonderful, the writing clever and fresh, and the material is refreshingly raw and honest with a heavy dose of humor. To quote my husband as we were leaving the theater, "Every married couple with kids should see this," and I'd also add that there's plenty here for single/childless viewers to enjoy as well. We can't wait to see it again, and are highly anticipating Jeremy LaLonde's future projects.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Saw this at SBFF

10/10
Author: holly-39 from United States
13 February 2013

I went with a friend to see this at the Santa Barbara Film Fest... and what a wonderful treat this film is. Three of the actors were from a show I watch on television, Lost Girl, so that was my main reason for wanting to see the movie. The whole film was just so much fun and my friend and I laughed so hard, we'll have to see it again as we might have missed something. The cast was fantastic and everyone had great chemistry along with superb comedic timing. Sometimes ensemble casts can be a dud... but this cast was simply fantastic. Additionally, the stories were fresh and the whole concept was just great. Would definitely see this again on a big screen and recommend to all my friends "Go see this film" you won't be sorry!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

You will laugh until you cry!

10/10
Author: smetaxas from NYC, United States
13 February 2013

What a fantastic movie! Funny, edgy, raw and yet touching. My husband and I laughed until we cried. Jeremy Lalonde has taken an ensemble cast of extremely talented actors and made a gem of a movie! If you don't go see it you will have missed out on one of the funniest adult comedies in years. Not to say that there aren't some very touching moments in this movie, there are. Mary Krohnert played her part so well that I literally cried with her when her heart wrenching scene played out. Zoie Palmer and Kris Holden-Ried had me crying with laughter. Paul Amos had me laughing so hard my sides hurt. Amanda Brugel also gave a tremendous comedic performance. Shannon Beckner, Ennis Esmer & Katie Boland work their magic with your emotions too! Jay Brazeau & Mimi Kuzyk gave you way TMI about your parents and do a great job doing it! All the actors even those I haven't mentioned were great. All I can really tell you is GO AND SEE IT WHEN YOU ARE ABLE! To miss it would be a crime.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history