Suspension of Disbelief (2012) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
9 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
3/10
You will need to suspend your disbelief that this movie is interesting to watch it.
Boloxxxi16 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
About a woman who disappears after attending a party at a writer's house. The police begin an investigation and later the woman turns up dead. Their attention is on the writer. Shortly after, the woman's sister shows up; the exact "twin" of her sister. The writer and his actress daughter offer the woman lodgings at their house for the duration of her stay. The woman accepts. The rest of the movie is about the tension and attraction between the writer and the woman because they are suspicious of each other. As well, later on, some interplay and tension between the mysterious and provocative house guest and the writer's actress daughter who seems easily influenced, "sexually" anyway.

This claustrophobic story takes place mostly indoors and for the most part in the writer's house --and car. It's all talk, and no action. No one gets punched, shot, stabbed, or even f!!cked. Almost 2 hours of "conversation drama" I'm calling it. I suppose this could work if the conversation was interesting. Perhaps witty and funny. Alas, no. This is a movie, I believe, that is best watched in "15 minute dosages" like a serial soap opera. More than that and you may periodically have to check your heart to see if it's still beating. Yes, dull. Very dull. The "twist" of this movie that's supposed to make it innovative and interesting, I guess, is that the plot, as I described it above, is also something the writer has written. So his fictional story is actually happening with him in it. --Or is it? Who knows, who cares. Love, Boloxxxi.
19 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Nice slow thriller that sometimes gets lost
russell_anam16 July 2013
I saw this during a screening in Prince Charles Cinema in Leicester Square. I will confess that I don't normally watch independent movies and have no idea about the director's previous work. I wasn't expecting much. The shots, lighting and environment were pretty good, the editing was good too. Considering the limited budget and that they made this movie in 22 days I think the movie is pretty good. But having said that if I judge this movie neutrally I would say it's an average plus. The plot resolves around a death of a pretty (and lost?) girl. The whole plot resolves around this and sometimes becomes too boring and lagging. The director has tried hard to make this like an art movie but sometimes the artistic expressions don't make any sense. There is some nudity and sex in the movie but they are neither erotic, not do their presence contribute to the movie in any way so I don't see the point of having those. It feels like they just wanted some skin in the movie. Still the movie is enjoyable. The major complain I have about this movie is that it does not give you a satisfactory ending or a proper ending with answers. I really dislike open ended movies that leave the conclusion to the viewers and if you are like me you will not like the ending too.
29 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
'The Character is the Plot.'
gradyharp23 December 2013
Mike Figgis continues to move in his own inimitable fashion creating films that require concentration, patience, and some indulgences from the viewer, but films that in the end are like wonderful paintings to hang in a gallery for repeated exposure and admiration. Figgis wrote, directed, composed the musical score, edited, and performed the cinematography for this puzzling work: it works very well if your mind is sharpened and up to a challenge.

Socialite Martin (Sebastian Koch) is an accomplished writer of cinema and theatre who now teaches his trade to film school students. Fifteen years ago his wife disappeared after an argument, has not been seen or heard from since, and Martin has been left to singly raise his daughter Sarah (Rebecca Night) who aspires to be an actress like her mother. At her 25th birthday party, Martin encounters the mysterious Angelique (Lotte Verbeek) who is found dead the next morning. An investigation by the police leads to Martin being the prime suspect and with the arrival of Angelique's twin sister Therese, who comes to London regarding her sister's death, and with whom Martin has a fascination, comes even more questions concerning their brief fling. The are subplots galore: the entire film is being written as we see it and the director of Martin's film (Eoin Macken) is obsessed with Martin's daughter Sarah who also becomes physically involved with Therese. If all this sounds confusing it is meant to be: Martin's creative ploy is the concept that the character is the plot – and while it is puzzling at times, the manner in which it plays out is absolutely masterful.

Other actors in the supporting cast include Julian Sands, Lachlan Nieboer, Frances de la Tour and Kenneth Cranham. Every aspect of this film is creative – split screens, naming of scenes, strange photographic images, and interplaying story lines that somehow connect. This is a tough film but deserves the attention of those who love art films. The only problem is the level of sound of the spoken lines – it needs subtitles despite being n English, but none are available.

Grady Harp
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Not among Figgis's better films
karmaswimswami25 March 2014
"Suspension of Disbelief" never suspends ours. Figgis fans will recognize many delightful Figgis narrative and cinematographic tropes, but sorely lacking is any narrative lure, any reason to keep watching. The film has ellipsis and mystery, but does not reward the viewer for countenancing those. At times the story elaboration is positively dreary. Even this film's meta-film leitmotif cannot salvage it. The film struggles with a paucity of narrative richness, and is devoid of the incandescent impending gleam so often to be found in Figgis's other films, most of which are marvelous. This flop is the exception that proves the rule that Figgis is Britain's best auteur.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Exciting arty pastiche makes you wonder
halfwind14 September 2013
15 September 2013 / by Bart (Amsterdam/Holland)

Nothing Personal but so far I find the rating of this film rather low. The cause may be that it requires some effort and a tiny bit of insight from the viewer. On top of that: this is an independent production and it is no straight 'Thriller'. Mike Figgis even provides us with a manual right from the start. Martin (Sebastian Koch) is a socialite screenwriter and teacher who gets intrigued by a beautiful French woman (Lotte Verbeek) gone missing in London. But she's part of an identical twin … So here we are right on the spot: 'Suspension of Disbelief'. Although presented as a thriller, the film heavily leans on the insights of Carl Jung. The wary film noir interludes and erotic touches to this film are cleverly shot and edited as they precisely fit this theme (and the sheer beauty of my fellow citizen). The average viewer will find this movie fairly enjoyable, great Leads, good script and pitch perfect music (Jazzy Figgis, Wagner, Radiohead). But no real sex, no fast pace and a strange, confusing end. The lives of others however will be mesmerized by the gradually emerging different realities and the big question mark at the end.
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good effort
olliemankz30 March 2014
I liked it pretty well.

You have to put yourself in mind that what you are watching is a sort of film noir, with a beat score ... jazz from the 50's. In this movie, director Figgis may be working out some of the themes he runs into in his everyday cinematic life. But what seems most to be going on is an exploration of the possibilities in each of us. The movie is rather existential, which perhaps fits with the beat mantra, the era from which, born in 1948, the director himself sprang.

Realize that you are watching an art film, but one that makes a little more sense than David Lynch's Mulholland Drive or some of Terence Malick's self-conscious work. I found the ending a bit silly, and I began to expect a different denouement, one that would have been darker, perhaps with a twist. But the movie doesn't really leave you hanging to work out your own ending quite as much as so many modern movies do, and which the main character, a screenwriter and part-time screen writing teacher, says is okay because "life doesn't have a pat ending," to paraphrase. The ending even had a little of the Casablanca about it ... boy, I'm really mixing homages here. This movie probably won't go down in the pantheon of greats like Casablanca, but it was a nice effort; sort of an indulgent one, as the attitude the screenwriter takes toward the up-and-coming generation seems to be. But the screenwriter hasn't lost his touch, may even be more attuned than those coming up behind. Plus, Sebastian Koch is pretty nice to look at.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Interesting Concept. Thank you Mr. Figgis!
Jdidalot15 September 2013
For the ones who think they never heard of the director Mike Figgis, I will remind you of "Leaving Las Vegas". Yes that director!

I have been a fan of Mike Figgis since 1988 when he wrote and directed Stormy Monday and I really enjoyed Liebestraum and The Loss of Sexual Innocence. Not all his movies are "Hollywood" type like Leaving Las Vegas and it takes an acquired taste and thinking outside the box to appreciate some of his work.

Suspension of Disbelief is one that's not for the people who like straight forward movie. It's a story of a man who writes movie scenarios and happens to write one that involves us with this movie ("Participation Mystique") because he is writing the scenario for the movie we are watching and Mr. Mike Figgis does an excellent job with this concept.

The story takes us to different parts of this man's life, such as the world of his daughter who, within this movie, is a starting actress in another movie; the fact that there is a death (murder or accident?) which involves few people, and so on … (I don't want to spoil it for you). This movie takes you in different directions and still revolves around the same characters.

I personally enjoyed it because it's really close to what life is all about: A lot of things are happening at the same time and you don't know which one is the most important until you think about your personal life and understand that all of them are important. Your day to day life is not just a story within the same theme. After all, you are the story of your life!

If you expect a packaged ending to this movie, you will be disappointed but if you understand that you are the continuity to this film and understand that you, through your thinking, are supposed to draw your own conclusions for an ending, it will leave you interested even when the movie is over.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
I can't believe an Oscar nominated director made this
runefromnorway22 February 2015
It's just totally unbelievable that Mike Figgis, an Oscar nominated and celebrated director made this movie. Everything is wrong. The acting is on an amateur level, the cinematography likewise. A lot of stupid ideas, all done in a most hopeless manner. The music used is of the lowest quality, and never used in a good way. The story is almost non- existent and the characters are shallow and absolutely not believable at all.

It looks like some sort of rejected film school project. An absolute snoozefest, and one of, if not THE worst movie I've ever seen. Shame on the people behind this.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Totally incomprehensible
dbinks6 January 2014
I will normally sit and watch a picture that may have a director attempting a novel treatment. I can usually interpret what is going on - I do watch silent pictures.

In this picture I vainly tried to work out what was going on, who was what and where was whom. All to no avail.

In the end I gave up after about half an hour - I was becoming bored and restless.

I do wish that some people making pictures would realise that their audiences go to pictures to be entertained and pay good money for this.

After watching this load of cods-wallop, my first thought was to send an invoice to the director to compensate me for my time in having to sit through it.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews