IMDb > Maattrraan (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Maattrraan
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Maattrraan More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

25 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Another bonanza for Surya !!!!!!!

10/10
Author: tamilazhagan777 from India
12 October 2012

k.v Anandh has improved in his part than his previous work! About 1st half: Surya was so cool to see in conjoined twins character.Surya carries his role with ease..His hard work was visible in every frame..the way how they lead day-to-day life even how they get dressed was so detailed..Kajal was so gorgeous ..that Russian spy role was not predictable at-all..Three songs-"Rettai Kathiray","Theeye Theeye","Nani Koni" all are nice..upon my rating : 4.5/5 About 2nd half: after the death of Vimal,the heart transplantation was so realistic..And Akil longing for his brother's death brings out tears..Even though it was crystal clear that their father is the villain,the screenplay was so thrilling and it will tempt us what will happen next..That athletic phenomenon was so shocking.. k.v Anandh has done a lot of research..Handsoff to him..climax is bit lengthy could have been trimmed..Two songs-"Yaro Yaro","Kaal Mulaitha Poovey" both are nice..

upon my rating :3.5/5 totally :4.5+3.5= 8 + 1(for Surya's performance) = 9/10.......

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

worth your money! watch it more than once for Suriya

10/10
Author: gauthamwarne from CHENNAI
17 October 2012

Maattrraan ( Brothers ) - I do not know where to start and when to end Because that is the kind of impact it left in me .. The emotions, the contrast characters of the conjoined . their life , their movements and every single thing involving them could not be shown any better by the director KV Anand sir , the director imprints himself in everyone's heart

the action sequences- There is an action sequence involving both the Surya(s) that u can never forget , I would all the action sequences on the whole but this should definitely be mentioned ..

the performance capture - It is somewhat obvious at " some places " only if you look very closely , its the first to be used in India , though it is not a full fledged mo cap film..

The songs - all the songs are " unique " and the songs are so stuck to the screenplay and the content of the movie , you will never get the " off track " feel , should mention rettai kadirae ( growth of the brothers ) , theeyae theeyae and naani koni amazingly taken ..

performance- every single role is given importance , even those doing very small roles in the film that don't even last for 10 Min's on the whole .. the parents of Surya ( dad - Sachin Khedhekar , MOM - TARA ) have got amazing acting skills , should mention Mrs . Tara no one could've carried out that role that well I feel .. Kajal is so gorgeous, you wouldn't stop gazing at her :D though out the film :) angelic ) as Anjali did complete justice to the role given to her , perfect expressions , very very talented girl :) ...

Suriya :D :) - man , this guy's definitely gonna be legendary very soon :) such is the kind of skills he has got , If there is one that can perform two different characters with so much ease it would be SURYA AND Only Surya :)

The story - twists and turns begin right from the first half and continues till the very end . i must say, 1st half of the film goes so fast that you will forget to even blink, second half is crisp , pace and thrilling and the new version is receiving lots of positives, only brainy people will love the 2nd half I loved it obviously , a message is directly untold and indirectly told is hidden in the end ..

on the whole , according to me , maattrraan is one of Suriya's best film hats off to the hard work, Suriya has taken,Surya touches the heart, he is worth the money he earns , only an immature person would hate the film ..

RATING - 3.75 / 5 ..

Verdict----> classic movie, climax cud have been better! can watch more than once for Suriya!

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

Expectation were very high for this film. Did they meet the expectation? I would say No. They exceeded it!!!

9/10
Author: cmanojkumarc from India
12 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Story:

Firstly let us see what is the story about. 2 Suriyas were conjoins born to Sachin Khedekar and his wife. Sachin is a founder and the owner of a company which sells kids energy drink which is the best in the market. To know the secret formula of the drink, a competitor sends a Russian spy to the company and with the help of Kajal and Surya, managed to get some info but was killed. Soon after that, due to an accident one of the Surya is killed and thus both were separated. Then Surya comes to know that the Russian lady was not a spy and the energy drink which was selling in the market actually contains dangerous substances. To find out why his father sells the drink, and who are behind this drink, Surya along with Kajal Agarwal flies to Russia and the films tells the rest.

Surya does his role with ease as usual and the comedies between himself as conjoined twins is the highlight of the First half of the film. Kajal Agarwal looks beautiful and helps the film as a Russian translator. Sachin Khedekar as villain scores too.

1.The first half of the film moves slowly but is overshadowed by the 2 Suriya.

2.The second half is where the film gets extremely interesting and moves in jet speed.

The major strength and the backbone of the film is the story and screenplay. KV Anand and Subha had done a great job. Just like his previous film Ko, KV Anand placed huge importance on the story and it pays off handsomely.

This is the first Indian film which had used performance capture technology and it has worked well showing the 2 Suryas together. Songs were average from Harris but the picturization was good especially Nani Koni Song.

Overall the film entertains highly especially in the 2nd half and KV Anand stamps his name as a director delivering quantity commerical entertainer.

Final Verdict: KV Anand and Subha strikes Gold!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Thumbs Up

10/10
Author: vin_2784 from India
13 October 2012

First Half will take your breath away ... second half, though not lengthy still it feels as stretched

This is one of those rarest movie that people would come across.

The Role is Such difficult to play , Hats off to surya for taking all the shots twice(5000 shots) i.e. equal to almost 4 movies,

Hard work always pays off, and this one surely did

The concept is a great one, that is the life and main forte of this movie

However , We can easily blame director for not keeping the twins till last, but just imagine how many more shots surya would have to take, the movie would have took much more time to complete.

Director has tried to put too much of twists. the one thing i didn't like, it consumed time.

Surya is on the road to become one of the most finest actor in tamil film industry, for sure as he is giving one after the other hits , that include the role which he hasn't played earlier, that makes him most versatile actor.

We will have to Salute K.V Anand for choosing such wonderful locations for songs

Fights and Actions spot on with Extravagant Graphics , with the help of Performance capture technology

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

This is the best Tamil expensive movie ever made

10/10
Author: vikneshsiga from Singapore
13 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The reason why I said it is the best movie is because the story,the characters, and the twists in the movie. The first half of the movie was funny. Usually in a Tamil movie,there must have a comedian but Surya tried to Mange to make the comedies by himself. That is very hard. At first, I thought the Russian lady was a spy and a bad person. Later on only,I come to know that she was trying to save children from the energy drink.twists such as this comes but when will come.that is why I Ike about.again,K V Anand gave us a very good action thriller movie. This time it is bigger and amazing.

Final score:10/10 Best Tamil movie ever.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining first half! lengthy second half!

8/10
Author: gautham_harry from INDIA
12 October 2012

Maattraan -the second time Suriya and KV Anand have come together! lots of expectations! the movie didn't disappoint in anyway... MAATTRRAAN my review..(Unbiased and true) Cast- Suriya-amazing,awesome! superb hard work. mind-blowing-5/5 Kajal- gorgeous , hot , cute -4/5 Sachin - good acting -3.5/5 Songs - awesome.. superb locations-4/5 Music- good -3/5 Direction - mind-blowing! second half cud have been better- 4/5 VFX and Editing- no words for praising the efforts - 4.5/5 MOVIE: First Half --- super awesome!! entertaining,engaging,mind blowing! 4/5..

Second Half---- very serious.. bit slow.. deals fully with science and genetics, medical....second half length could have been reduced.climax could have been better! Overall: VFX was superb! realistic. songs were good! awesome locations! Excellent acting by all! and beautiful direction!! Honest Verdict 3.5/5(Super Hit) . if second half was awesome, i wud have given 4/5

MUST WATCH!! ITS A SERIOUS MOVIE AND MASALA MOVIE LOVERS MIGHT FEEL SECOND HALF BORING!!. WORTH UR MONEY!! GO AND WATCH IT SOON!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

This is new To Tamil Industry

7/10
Author: vmurthy123 from Chennai
17 October 2012

How and where to begin for this movie, Wel....l this movie is not for the people those who like a masala flick which is having fight sequences and peppy numbers .... this movie is also having all the elements in the first half and not in the second half because of the needed narration for the story....Its very new to Tamil industry the story is fresh , many people may think that this is not possible , but we have to accept such bitter truths that this is much possible in the near future, as well as many people say that this second half of the movie is boring, i don't accept it, because i enjoyed the whole movie for the essence of the story.. sometimes its predictable, some minuses also there but i don't want to point out the minuses because its app laudable effort from the whole team

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Maattrraan (U)----------------my Rating : 4/5 VERY GOOD

8/10
Author: yunusitboss
14 October 2012

Maattrraan (U)----------------my Rating : 4/5 VERY GOOD

* It is an action thriller which deals with the genetic science....

* Cast: Surya performance was great as twins and it was different whereas in second half Surya comes back to the single role...Kajal was glamorous and beautiful on the big screen.... * Direction: K.v.anand has taken the film very brilliantly and camera was really good as the visuals were very clear as we are watching an Hollywood movie in both songs and foreign location scenes... * Music and BGM : Harris rocked the songs especially my favorite is "Rendai Thirigae and theeya theya second song" and BGM will vibrate u... * Story : Fantastic thriller ...story starts with a fun package and it gets more disappointment before interval as because the story goes very touching and the second half full of mystery chase... costumes were superb of surya and kajal...

- NEGATIVE : story is very large runs 2.40mins... - Second half contains more English and thrilling scripts this will leads some not to get understand....As i understood clearly and enjoyed the flick completely....

If u leave a single scene...u will get completely out of script ...

Overall It will do great at box office and I enjoyed HOPE U also...

Maattrraan is an action thriller film portraying conjoined twins. — at Sathyam Cinemas.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Amazing film to watch only if u like story based films.

9/10
Author: chriskrin from chennai
13 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

To start off with the story.. its about conjoined twins who are born to genetic engineering father. his father after being rejected for his research starts his own milk product. how this highly marketed well rich product becomes a real problem for the future generation and how his single son(who gets separated from his conjoined brother) investigates it and finds the real culprit is the crux of the film.. first half of the film is very fun entertaining and how both of them are brought up in their life is well presented..conjoined twins (surya) how do they live and dressed all are well detailed and their doubt on their father is real suspense to the film which is well created in fist half. In the second half the film starts its investigation and how it happens all are very well made with more research work being done on genetics and is well linked with some history events occurred.. Its an intellectual film. ENJOY THE FILM AND THE NEW EXPERIENCE. i wont say about songs since i hate songs in films.. Rest enjoy only in theaters.. say no to piracy

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Different attempt but stupid presentation

5/10
Author: ratheesh-sahayaraj from Chennai
15 October 2012

First of all i was frustrated with this year's biggies all flopping down........but i had some hope on Maattrraan due to KV Anand.....But he too proved that a good story and an excellent actor like Surya are not enough to make a movie a grand success.

Surya has performed well especially in the sentiment scenes.Kajal is also offered much scope in the movie.

The movie is pretty enjoyable in the first half but many illogical scenes and poor screenplay in second half make it pretty awkward and a senseless climax kills the movie.Many scenes resemble 7am Arivu.

Overall this movie could have been done better if there was a much better screenplay

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history