IMDb > Grave Encounters 2 (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Grave Encounters 2
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Grave Encounters 2 More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 103 reviews in total 

11 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Mediocre Sequel but worth a watch for fans

5/10
Author: Alan C from Ireland
7 October 2012

I wasn't expecting much from this movie. I saw the first movie "Grave Encounters" and loved it. There were scenes in that movie that genuinely creeped me out and I was excited to see what they would do this time around.

John Poliquin directs the sequel, written by the original writers 'The Vicious Brothers'. Alex Wright, a film student is convinced that the first movie was in fact real and decides to visit the hospital where the film was shot to investigate for himself and shoot a documentary. How this happens though seemed improbable to me. Alex is busy shooting a student movie when he receives a mysterious video showing one of the actors from the grave encounters movie. It doesn't take much to convince him to drop everything including filming of his movie to fly to Vancouver Canada with a crew to visit the hospital.

It takes an exhausting 35 minutes before Alex and his crew actually reach the creepy hospital and it doesn't take long before things go wrong and they become trapped in the building.. The action starts to pick up a little then but I found the scares were too similar to the first movie. I got the feeling at times that the film was parodying itself. The characters often view scenes from the film and comment on "the lame CGI affects". And we are constantly reminded of the first film. For me though that had the effect of taking me out of the film a little.

I recommend the movie to fans of the first. I would have liked to see some more creative scares. There are no scenes that stick out for me and it lacked the level of tension that the first movie had.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

really, really bad

1/10
Author: melly_rel
5 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. It contains sickening POV skull bashing, for no reason. the storyline is total rubbish, the acting is shocking, and it is derivative.

I loved the first film- it was terrifying. the characters were funny, and had back stories, and the film was unpredictable, a real trip down the rabbit hole. this one was total rubbish... starts off trying to be all clever by referencing the first film, then turns into a totally rubbish almost carbon copy, no plot or character development, and stupidly it turns the 'hero' of the original film into a murderer. the bit with the sucking wall hell-hole was totally laughable, a copy of a scene from poltergeist or evil dead. Then when the kid killed his girlfriend- i almost threw up. that was a disgusting POV murder which is just too sick, I guess the filmmakers were trying to copy Funny Games and the level which the audience is complicit. well it failed and this movie is probably one of the worst i have ever seen. too many plot holes, not a fun scary ride. just sick, stupid, and LAME

I have to say the actor who plays Lance is fantastic, he was great in the first film but just chewing scenery and hamming it up in this mess. the whole thing was totally derivative of other, better horror films. Im annoyed because I totally recommended GE 1 to tons of people, and this film is so bad it actually goes far enough as to ruin the first one for me too. If you want to see a good low budget straight to DVD with great editing and well made watch 'absentia' not this tripe.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Garbage at its finest. *Spoilers*

4/10
Author: senal_irving
11 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie made me sad.

*Spoilers* I loved the first grave encounters. From the suspense, believable characters, to excellent original scares. Everything was so well paced in the movie. Heck the trailer made me know it was gonna be great. I told so many people to watch it and all loved it.

Now for the sequel, I must say, Iam shocked how bad it is. a friend at work told me about a sequel and I was excited. I then saw the IMDb score and trailer. I was like " umm this looks pretty stupid" I even thought of skipping it but I loved the first so much. I then Saw the movie just 5 mins ago. It took like an hour of garbage story telling before they finally make it creepy. When it finally gets creepy..they throw all of the scares in at once within 7 minutes...then it gets sooooo boring all over again. Characters died soooo fast and randomly.. The main character was terrible. He showed to be a good person..to have regrets for bringing his friends there, the same with trusting the guy from the first film...and he has sadness...RANDOMLY he became a psycho and killed his GF....stupid trash....and killed how good the first was and any chance of a good sequel... It made the first movie seem like it was a total joke...this was a comedy and even hurt the original film...even the main character of the first..

I give it a 4.because that zombie monster was soooooo scary..but was only in it for 20 secs of the 2 hour film and blew up to smoke for no reason...wtf

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

They say sequels are never as good!

4/10
Author: davidfurlotte from Canada
6 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Guess what? They're right. The original movie started out with a great premise. Television Paranormal Investigative team that really doesn't believe in the paranormal go into a haunted insane asylum ready to do whatever it takes to get their TV series off the ground. Alas for them, they find out that there really is something to all those stories. GRAVE ENCOUNTER was a good movie, I highly recommend it, this one however needed a little more editing of the script and development of the main character because the premise fell flat when it finally got underway.

****Here there be BIG spoilers***** We never really got a sense of WHY the main character and cast decided they needed to go INTO the building.

1. If the MAIN character really DID believe that the first movie was totally real there is NO WAY he would go into that building unless he was bereft of a functioning brain. (Let's remember, he is a budding HORROR movie mogul so he SHOULD know about all the horror movie TWISTS)

2. There really WAS NOT a believable reason for the kids to WANT to go into that place AND stay IN that place. They waffled with "Need to prove that the first movie was REAL." "Need to gather evidence that the Executive Producer covered up the real thing." AND "Doing a Paranormal Investigation." Oh, and let's not forget, "It was ONLY a movie and we're going to prove it." Bottom line, four reasons instead of PICKING one and developing it to make the whole thing believable.

The other problem with this particular sequel is that it tossed in a whole bunch of twists but just let them die in the wind. It was almost as if they were HUNTING for some kind of way to tie the whole movie together for the ending but simply couldn't come up with anything credible.

Finally, I'm not sure if the acting or the script was to blame for a poor performance but the cast of this movie was definitely not in the same calibre of the first movie.

All in all, enjoy the first movie because it truly is very good, but this one, have fun with the atypical sequel where they throw in MORE of the SCARY stuff just to show that they can GO ONE BETTER but inevitably fail miserably because they lose the sense of a story. Don't say you weren't warned.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Interesting Concept

3/10
Author: jerrywright15 from United States
14 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Where to Start. I enjoyed the first Grave Encounter. In fact I loved it and its definitely my favorite "found footage" horror movie. Which is saying a lot because I am not a fan of "found footage." However everything that made the first film great went out the window with the second one.

The characters in 1, were believable, liked and well acted. The characters in 2 were poorly written, par acting, weren't likable in any way and made stupid decisions. One of the great things about the first is that the characters go to the asylum, not because they really think its haunted, but because they needed to shoot their reality series. Most of them didn't seem to believe in ghost. So when weird stuff started going down they were ready to leave, it was just too late to do anything about it. The kids, yes they are kids (college age), do none of this. Alex (the lead) claims to have watched the movie and believes its all true. Knowing that its all real and what follows once you enter should make you want to stay far away from the building, at least don't go into it. Not this guy, not only does he go into the building he brings along his buddies, camera equipment and ghost hunting items. WHY? He has seen the movie, he knows once you enter you can't leave so why, why, why does he go into the building? Now I don't mind stupidity in a horror movie (it comes with the territory) but if this movie is about a kid trying to prove everything was real why would you do the exact same thing that got the first people killed.

Moving on, another great thing about the first film was how it built up the tension from little ghost things to full out scares that made you want to pull up your covers. Not in this film. As soon as they enter the asylum (stuff) hits the fan. So that by the time the movie picks up your no longer scared it feels more like an action movie, instead of dreading what comes next your excited for it. I must also admit the scares are seriously lacking. I can not recall jumping once or even holding my breath. Had a smile on face the whole way through, laughing or asking why someone did this? The intro to the first film had a kind of chilling, but funny, quality to it. That made you feel somewhat lighthearted making you feel worse because you know whats coming. The intro to this movie lasted 20 to 25 (way too long) minutes showing the kids partying, trying to get interviews and making a movie. Generally you just feel like everything is cheesy or corny. I don't know if they were going for the "corny" feel but if they were they over did it. To the point where it wasn't a horror movie anymore.

I did like the concept of the second film, which is weird because usually one of the reasons a horror sequel fails is because the plot is trash, but this one did have a solid plot and if they brought the same creativity and spark they did with the first film to this one then I think they could of had a movie that surpassed the first one and solidified a series as powerful as Paranormal Activity. In fact the only reason I gave it a 3 was the plot (and a really nice sequence they did involving an elevator and escape).

My final comments go to something (its hard to elaborate on without giving spoilers and I hate giving spoilers) the final 30-40 minutes are involving someone, Grave Encounter fans will enjoy. The reason this person is involved in the script is just not, I don't know it feels forced in instead of flowing smoothly with the film. Not to mention the film tries to give life and purpose to the ghost or asylum or whatever it is in this asylum (the movie never goes in depth on whether its the patients which it doesn't feel like anymore it seems to be more like demons all under the command of someone but not Dr. Friedkin) When they started giving reason and thought to the entity I lost interest because it was no longer about the scare or haunting but now about humans battling it out. Which is not something that fit with this film series.

As another reviewer said I'd recommend this movie to Grave Encounter fans (who are going to watch it no matter who reviews it). Found footage buffs. Or someone interested in seeing what happened to characters from the first film. Other then that I would not recommend it to horror freaks. I promise you you'll regret it, not because the movie sucks horribly but because there are 0 to no scares. Nor torture porn addicts, there is little to no blood or violent scenes (which also made the first one good was the lack of gory deaths). I'd also say if your bored at home with nothing better to do then watch random movies, playing this won't dampen your mood if you don't go in with high expectations. A definite 3/10

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Worst then the first!

2/10
Author: atinder from United Kingdom
3 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Not a fan of first movie, there were a lot horror fans who really enjoyed it, I had to it see twice, I must of missed something on my first watch however I felt the same on second watch, but still going to say the first movie id so much better then this silly sequel.

It's start of with people number of people review the first movie, then kind have jabs at found footage movies near the start of the movie. then it Kinda of drags for next 45 minutes.

For the first half hour we follow the teens who are making there own really bad slasher movie in this movie. then finally get building 35 mins mark of the movie

While teens are talking about the first, we see them showing on there phones and internet about first movie, here and there in this movie.

After 45 mark the things start going bump, here and there, for next 15 minutes, with a lot screaming and running around.

I did jump with the first scare scene in the movie, then later scary scenes, I just found really funny, the creature you can see in poster, I did not find it scary at all in this movie.

Then Lance makes long hair come back near the last half hour in the movie, still eating rats by the way, then the last hour was really about him, how crazy he has become being trapped in the building and some connection to the other side.

Won't ruin ending, cause, Well tell you Truth that I didn't really get it.

2 out of 10 , I gave first 4 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Predictable Sequel

4/10
Author: Theo Robertson from Isle Of Bute, Scotland
17 March 2014

I came to this film with very mixed feelings . GRAVE ENCOUNTERS wasn't only the best lost footage horror film I'd probably ever seen but also the best full length horror film I'd seen over the last few years and caused me to jump out of my seat several times . Any anticipation I had in looking forward to the sequel was tamed in the knowledge that the original directors The Vicious Brothers had been replaced by John Poliquin and on top of that lost footage film isn't a sub-genre that has much scope so decided to watch it with expectations rather low

Just as well because even in sequel terms CLOSE ENCOUNTERS 2 is a massive let down . What I found strange is the meta-fictional quality the way the film starts in which the original film is now a DVD movie unleashed upon the public . In other words it has now become a film within a film which isn't really what the original film was about . Is it post modernist in this approach ? Maybe but for a few seconds I honestly thought I wasn't watching GRAVE ENCOUNTERS 2 but rather a montage of youtube reviews of the original film which is bizarre to say the least . No doubt this was the makers intention but I don't really think this worked

The post modernism - or should that be post post modernism - continues well in to the first half of the film as we're introduced to a bunch of a film students who want to go and film at the location of the first movie and before we get there we have to endure lots of footage of the students own attempt to make horror movies . Again it doesn't come of very well and isn't nearly as clever as it thinks it is as characters knowlingly refer to other lost footage movies . It lacks the wit Wes Craven and Kevin Williamson could have brought to it and it tries a little too hard to to appear spontaneous and amateur , though that said it's a difficult thing to get right so I shouldn't judge too harshly . When we do get to the second half it's just more of the same with night vision , people splitting up , loud noises and jump scares . I don't know if it was because I saw GRAVE ENCOUNTERS recently but the scares and unearthly horrors seen here weren't as effective as they were in the original probably down me knowing what was coming next . It also probably illustrates that once you've seen one of these movies you've seen them all . In that case maybe I should be charitable and say this sequel isn't so much bad , just very predictable while the original is something of a standout

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Relies on clichéd jump scares, sex jokes, swearing and a consistently screaming, loud, dumb blonde.

3/10
Author: Lucas LeDain
8 March 2014

Well. Let me start off by saying that 'Grave Encounters' is and will probably always be my favourite found-footage horror movie for the following 3 reasons. 1.) It wasn't overly jumpy. 2.) It wasn't an original plot but it turned into a bloody brilliant one. And 3.) It was scary. Grave Encounters made me want to stop watching because it scared me so much.

Grave Encounters 2 however is a far different story. I wanted to stop watching because it was so boring and rubbish. It started off okay. They were in college, they want to know if it is real, they make some crappy film blah blah. This was okay and kept me watching. When they first enter the asylum the original crew went into I was hoping for the atmosphere the first one created. Whilst watching the first one I felt the air go cold as they entered the asylum. In this one I felt nothing. I just thought 'Oh look. It hasn't got better security even though a film was made from it'. The first scene in the asylum was okay. I guess. But then it just turned to crap.

For some reason they brought their friend; an annoying, loud blonde girl with them. She gave them away about 50 times by breathing like Sandra Bullock in Gravity. Seriously. I would have just threw her into a wall of knives. She still wouldn't have been quite, even in death.

Then instead of the first one, 98% of the scare factor of the movie came from unecassary, clichéd, over the top and consistently used jump scares. This ruined the movie. It could just never create any form of atmosphere as 0.2 seconds of it building up something would pop up or some rubbish like that. The other 2% was from a certain scene, can not say what, involving nurses. That was the best scene of the movie. And the only good scene as well.

And finally the profanity, sexual content and crude humour. This is when everybody knew that they didn't want to make a sequel. They wanted to make money from teens buying tickets to see the film and buying the DVD. There is one scene where a guy is seen jerking off over a porn video, which we see and then a dude walks in on him and says 'there is wet pussy out there for you'. What the hell?! Then in the asylum loads of crude jokes are made and they say the f word countless times. It is over profanic. It is actually sickening. I am a teen myself and even I didn't want to hear that much swearing for such unecassary reasons. And I enjoyed Wolf Of Wall Street. It was just terrible.

To sum up: DON'T GET IT. IT IS HORRIBLE, BORING, OVERLY JUMPY AND FULL OF Unnecessary SEXUAL JOKES/CONTENT. The best scene is the end credits.

The 4 stars come because 1.) You can't rate 0 and 2.) 2 for the beginning and 1 for the nurse scene.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Not very original but essentially OK

5/10
Author: Thilanka Samarasinghe
21 December 2013

I'm getting tired of the whole asylum and crazy doctor concept (Return to the House on the haunted hill, an episode of Supernatural and now Grave Encounters...it's getting old) Having said that, I quite enjoyed the movie. The beginning was a drag and I couldn't wait for the scares but once they started coming, it was quite creepy (though not the best, edge of the seat kind of stuff). The penultimate scene was stupid followed by an OK ending.

I gave it 5/10 because in a nutshell it was neither good nor bad. This is just an old concept with a few mediocre twists but with some good scares. It's definitely not the kind you'd watch twice.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Blair Witch 2 meets some crazy doctors...

3/10
Author: Alucard Venom from Azarath
14 October 2013

Since it's a sequel to overall descent found footage movie "Grave Encounters", I should mention something about first one.

First one wasn't all too original, it fallowed the standard clichés of the genre (both horror and found footage), but it did some cleaver things with tired old clichés, like characters filming episode of (fictional) TV show, only to encounter the real deal. (imagine if those guys from many Bigfoot documentaries actually encounter Bigfoot at one point). Characters, while overall not that interesting, had certain charm and had some sense of logic. They weren't simple cannon fodder and you spend some time with them, so when the real horror finally starts, you're interested to see what's going to happen.

The second one? Throws all that right from the start. Characters are not interesting, even unlikable. I could never buy motivation of Alex, the lead character. Even the biggest nerds out there don't get that much obsessive over a movie. His motivation is simple plot device, which doesn't come natural at all. It's forced, a so are the rest of the characters reasons to go into abandoned hospital from the first one. (I found this illogical moments more annoying in FF movies, because they try to sell that what's happening on screen actually happened, more then any other genre).

Camera work is mixed bag much like the acting. Sometimes it's OK, sometimes it's just wrong. I didn't like the idea of switching different perspectives in the movie. Make up your mind, you either want to be FF movie or you want to be regular movie (I am talking about the climax).

Scares aren't well made, there's no mood or atmosphere of the first one, nor the tension. Most of the time is just "Aaaaaaargh, run, hide, cry", fallowed by overacting from lead girl (sorry, she does have some talents, but she overacted in some scenes way too much) so it completely ruins any potential some scenes had. (it's something we call "cheap scares")

Effects are much better then in first one, but since characters and plot are weak, they don't do much justice. (Yeah, first one had cheap effects, but you could overlook them, since story was entertaining). Pace is also all over the place. It's fast, it's slow, it's fast again, then it's slow again. Be consistent. You can't be fast paced for first half an hour, then go slug for the next half hour.

Final act of the movie is ridiculous, it's obvious people behind these two movies had intention of making this a long sequel series that will never end (yeah Saw, it's your fault!) and you can just feel it. Final act seems too forced and out of place.

Final verdict: not completely terrible, you'll not want to blow up your TV, but it's not memorable at all, and it's not nearly as entertaining as the first one. If you liked original, you'll either love it or hate it.

PS. Stephanie Bennett is eye candy here, but she's isn't in a movie for a long time. Shame, she should have been the final girl.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history