IMDb > Jism 2 (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Jism 2 More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 23 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Audience taken for ride for Erotic thriller with Pitiable script, Pathetic direction, Lackluster dialogs

3/10
Author: gbasandani from United Arab Emirates
22 August 2012

Jism already a hot brand was waiting for by another hottie Sunny Leone to create a perfect combination to seduce audience to come to the theater. Arunoday Singh and Randeep Hooda talented duo were to fill the missing ingredient, had the script been written with sincerity to suit roles, characters and theme. Heavy Urdu moralistic dialogs looks out of place and funny from Sunny. She can say the same what Pamela Anderson quoted once "I am not an actress, I don't think I am an actress. I think I have created a brand and a business." A femme fatal Izna (Sunny Leone), is hired by a young chap an intelligence officer, to expose a hardcore criminal who has been involved in assassination of many govt. high ranking officers, ministers and even bombing of innocent people. In the past she had been the inamorata of this criminal and deserted by him. The agency asks her to use her amorous to take out in-depth information of the terrorist organization kept on his computer. Unfortunately everybody have his own justification of doing the things, right or wrong, irrespective of which side of law they are. In the end personal interest get bigger than the principles, and the ethical code one is working for. Life is a game of cards in which heart is never an asset. Heart always takes over the logics of mind. Exquisite locations and scenes are definitely eye soothing with Sunny's assets exposure and romantic scenes. Nice classic songs but you are not watching a classic or an offbeat film and are completely misfit for this kind of a theme. The songs with beat and fast pace are more appropriate for such films.

It is really unfortunate that producer director and story writer of Mahesh Bhatt's caliber, (ultimately it is his blessing, guidance and banner is at stake), can be so myopic and takes audience for ride. Am sure they should have done better homework to en-cash the brands (Sunny n Jism) they were holding and for their future projects. The movie is B (minus) grade.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A poorly made erotic thriller

4/10
Author: Dev Alok from FL
25 September 2012

Watched this movie on DVD yesterday. This movie was dubbed as erotic thriller. The debut movie of Sunny Leone who is of Indian origin and has acted as a porn star in some Hollywood movies that I haven't seen. Indian movies have lately become lot more racy but this movie fell short. This was neither erotic nor thriller. Sunny Leone the star attraction of the movie doesn't know how to act but that was not expected of her either. She looked older than she claims to be. Her still pictures look good but she wasn't erotic in the this movie. Randeep Hooda I thought did fine in whatever he was allowed by directors to do. He was also impressive in Sahib bibi aur gulam. He doesn't have a chocolate face but I think he will do well. Bhatt's direction was poor. Bhatt's films are usually copies of a foreign film but I couldn't figure out which film they copied here. May be they tried to make an original and hence the poor final product. Music is usually good in Bhatt's movie and it was decent for this movie too. I don't remember all the songs now but they sounded good while I watched the movie. I have given it 4 out of 10 stars and I think am being generous!

Was the above review useful to you?

Stupid movie

1/10
Author: Liam Dalquen from Canada
21 May 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie shows how Bollywood is going down a dark path, and is becoming more and more like Hollywood. First off, they hired a freaking porn star to be a central character to the film. Who also plays a porn star in the movie. She's there just to make people get all hyped up, hoping they can see Sunny's tits without having to actually go on a porn website. Then, they add a dumb script about how Sunny was the girlfriend of some terrorist that she's gotta go and get files from that contain all his bad deeds. The police don't think of just getting a warrant or something, or why the dude would just keep his stuff lying around, but whatever, people wanna see Sunny's tits! The dialogue is bland and dull, Sunny is terrible at acting, and Randeep Hooda goes on some next level stuff where he's crazy one second and down in the blues the next. Stupid movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Pooja's best Art

10/10
Author: Man KHAN from Pakistan
18 November 2012

I do not understand that what is wrong with the people giving this movie such low rating. This is one of the best Pooja's movies, well written, well acted, excellent location and background and the best songs and music. I really enjoyed this movie (Blu-Ray) to its fullest in my 135 inches cinema screen with 7.1 audio setup. Well done Pooja. I can go into infinite details into this movie but briefly this is my first 10/10 movie. Even my wife enjoyed it. I tell you when you watch this movie see each and every corner of the screen and you shall really appreciate the work done and efforts. I think this is best of Randeep's movie and he will not be as visible anymore after acting in this movie. two thumbs up Mr. Randeep.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Very ordinary stuff !!!

4/10
Author: v-tushki from India
3 August 2012

Well, this movie has nothing new to offer except the good music. The much awaited entry of Sunny Leoone is the only excitement amongst the crowd but unfortunately this movie fails in all respects. The storyline is like 100 years old and acting wise also movie terribly lacks. You'll feel like sleeping just after the movies passes its half an hour. This movie will be able to gather enough viewers in its first week because of the much anticipated entry of Sunny Leone and apparently this is the only reason why people will go to watch this movie. Else I feel that things could have been much better if this movie was only in the dreams of Pooja Bhatt.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

soft porn+semi love story+fake poster+below average music=Jism 2

4/10
Author: anup-gift from India
3 August 2012

The movie starts with plain quote ""My name is sunny ,I'm a porn star".

The movie background reminds me 1980's french style of taking were it has Scenery locations were chosen with also very limited characters of only 6.The film has very predictable screenplay which seem to be like B grade movie...the director wanted convey the message of " falling prey to wrongly influence people but erotic scenes eaten up the script". It was very loose handled Script.

The story goes like this ....Sunny walks into a pub meets a Ayaan (Arunoday Singh) whom she seduces to have one stand. Then gets she contract for 10crores to get information Kabir (Randeep Hooda) who is assassin and who turns out to be her past lover .She agrees for the deal ..later in end she gets to know that she got struck herself in conspiracy. Finally three protagonist die in the climax (which is rarest feat in Bollywood films)

The smooth going so called love story in first half instantly turns into triangle love story in the second half ("I don't want blame director for this...as Arunoday Singh also need a reason to Smooch Sunny Leone on screen" ). The rest of the movie is predictable with lots of smooches,two piece lingerie and couple of topless screen which will least expected by all the audience from a porn star.

The new-comer and main lead Sunny leone manage to act the complete film with three expression orgasm,fear and crying and keeps on walking in a seductive way throughout the film with all the colors lingerie she had:):)!!!

Pooja bhatt tried maximum to make love has main background of the movie but seemed more like semi-porno by boldness of the characters portrayed in the film ...The writers of the also tried to give best strong flavored senti dialogues in the climax to Randeeps hooda to depict the love towards Sunny but they weren't carried well..The song and music were also below average.

My rating 4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Jism-2

3/10
Author: sumitsingh_1234 from India
3 August 2012

Lust, sex are its overriding ingredients, but Jism-2, for good measure, opens with a Biblical reference – "the life of man upon earth is warfare" – so that the audience does not miss the moral context of the drama.

But when it is Sunny side up with a voluptuous and well-endowed Leone using her body at the drop of a black bustier to get her point across in this steamy and slow-burning drama, it is actually a perfectly agreeable battle to wage.

Pooja Bhatt's Jism 2, scripted by Mahesh Bhatt, isn't quite the full- bodied sex flick that Leone's presence in the cast might raise visions of: the liberal dollops of skin show, as is the norm in a Bhatt camp offering, are given a veneer of sustained sophistication.

Sunny Leone is cast as porn star Izna who, after a night on a hotel bed that establishes the lady's enormous power over men, is hired by an intelligence agent, Ayaan Thakur (Arunoday Singh), and taken to picturesque Galle in Sri Lanka to infiltrate the secluded hideaway of a dreaded lawman-turned-assassin Kabir Wilson (Randeep Hooda).

Initially averse to taking up the risky job because the killer happens to be her ex-flame, Izna sees the offer as an opportunity to make the man pay for his sins, which includes vanishing from her life without warning after a short-lived but euphoric love affair.

What Jism 2 lacks by way of pace and thrills is amply made up for by the strikingly composed and lit frames, the generally taut editing, a first- rate performance from Hooda and, of course, the rampaging sex appeal of Sunny Leone, who struts around in lacy lingerie, flashing her ample assets and dishing out generous doses of the 'just do it' spirit.

However, because of the manner in which the sex scenes have been filmed, they are neither cringe-inducing nor overtly exploitative.

The film is a male voyeur's delight all right, but director Pooja Bhatt often erases the gender lines by presenting both the lead actors, too, in bare-bodied splendor.

On the flip side, Jism 2 fails to create the atmosphere of menace and foreboding that a dangerous cat-and-mouse game with a heartless annihilator should necessarily have generated. Even the sexual chemistry between the seductress and the two men seems somewhat labored at times.

What saves the film from falling into a bottomless pit is a certain degree of serious-mindedness that is embedded in the screenplay.

Jism 2 goes beyond the confines of carnality to refer to bigger issues, political and polemical.

The darkest place in this universe is the heart of the delusional assassin who suffers mood disorders, has a book about Che Guevara on his armchair, quotes Jesus Christ ("Father, forgive them for they know not what they do") and wants to save the world from itself. But it is Kabir himself who needs deliverance from the gloom that envelopes his life.

The screenplay also touches upon the issues of terrorism, fear-mongering by arms manufacturers to boost their relevance in a violent world, and the corruption of those that wield the power to influence the destiny of millions.

Dialogue writer Shagufta Rafique, despite the occasional lapses into the clichéd ("Aur Bi Ham Hi Samoan mien…") and the corny ("Terrorist KO Marna pun ya Hi"), lends a certain zing to the brew. She ensures that the appeal of Jism 2 isn't just skin deep.

In an early scene, the female protagonist describes her burning desire as the scorching sands on the seashore and her lover's touch as the ocean that evaporates into thin air as it meets her. How often do you hear a line like that in an erotic thriller coming out of Bollywood?

Frequent allusions to nature underlines conversations in this garden fraught with temptations. The rogue cop, completely smitten by the temptress, sums up his feelings for the woman who's been sent to trap him by comparing her to a solitary tree in a desert. And, of course, he reminds her and the audience that her name – Izna – means radiance, the light that dispels the darkness that he represents.

Jism 2 is a dark film, but the production design (by Pooja Bhatt herself) and the luminous lighting do not belong to the 'doomed love' genre.

The film has several other bright spots: Nigam Bomzan's outstanding camera-work, the songs composed by débutant Arko Provo Mukherjee and the restrained yet supercharged star turn by the ever-reliable Hooda.

This film is designed to be Sunny Leone's ticket to a place in the Bollywood sun, but it isn't quite love-all in her favor. Yet, Jism 2 has enough soul not be swamped by a curvaceous body. It is more than just another 'booby' trap of a film.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not so bad!!

8/10
Author: amina2306 from United States
22 August 2012

I honestly was watching this movie to see which American movie they copied this time. However even though there is a certain aspect of the movie depicting similarities from Mission Impossible 2 as far as the love triangle between the girl and the 2 men in this movie and how she is placed and for what reason, the movie continues on to be quite decent.

Yes the girl in the movie is not the brightest of the stars, however she is not so bad either for her first Bollywood movie! It's a Bhatt production so the story and the openness of the adult relationship aspect is obviously going to be shown. If you can't handle it then don't watch it just to judge it. I think the adult scenes were not tasteless at all. In fact they were very well done.

The actors seemed very comfortable in their own skin. Sandeep Hooda is phenomenal and I really found him to be totally comfortable in his role. The dude just gets better with every movie!! He is something else!! I think if the movie is looked at for what it is "A thriller" not just "an erotic thriller" it would have a better impact.

I was impressed watching the movie, the story unfolding. I obviously kinda suspected what was going to happen towards the end however the way it was all put together and how the story came through was quite impressive!! I think all the actors did really well in the movie and yes the actress was a bit cold and immature in her acting however as the movie continued she seemed to get more into her role and not the adult scenes but the other scenes too.

The second hero who played ARYAN (Arrunodhay) was not bad at all. I must give him his credit too, cause when his character goes through his complications and confusion, this actor played the role very convincingly. His anger, his emotions and how being a person in the situation that he is - his reactions!! Pretty decent choices on the actors chosen for the flick!

Pooja Bhatt, your movies are very good, It lacks a bit of direction and sometimes the storyline feels like its fumbling, but otherwise I honestly did enjoy the movie! No holds bar!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I liked the movie...

6/10
Author: choleraparth91 from India
6 August 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Its just a humor spread out...

just the start of the movie may some 15 mints is adult after that all is fine....

and

i liked the movie is because the story was some different.... i said "some" different...

but the songs are just awesome...which made the picture to stand at 6 star and one thing else...

after some time(in movie) the sunny will be not looking like porn star or something it plays the role as similar as that of some actress....

Some guys from my side go for the movie...

and also at some cheap rate...it would be like paise wasul movie !!!

:) :) :) JSK

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Why I gave it a 8

8/10
Author: Ratan Tata from India
26 August 2012

I know many people might not agree with me, you have already been brain washed by paid reviewers like Times of India. Unlike what they say, it is not a bad movie, in certain aspects it is brilliant.

A few points is a must before you enjoy this film.

1. You should have fallen in love, and lost it. You should have to understand pain to know this movie.

2. Great censor board of India has done its shitty job as not to allow the real scenes to be shown and spoil the brilliance of love making. To be real a man and woman have to go nude, if you want family drama go watch Disney movie.

3. Most of the reviewers in the press are paid, they are bull shitting.

4. Creative people are a bit mad and dint really go by what market enjoys. Bhatts are like that, i respect them for that.

Now let me tell you what aspects are brilliant.

1. Location: Just wow! Shot in Sri Lanka, the resort in heavenly. Each corner is designed so beautifully. The film manages to capture this beauty. Colours, shot angles, brilliant cinematography

2. Randeep is brilliant in his role. His voice is perfect and stood out. I am a big fan from today.

3. Sunny is brilliant. It is presumed porn stars cant act. Give her a break, for a first film that too in a foreign country like India, she has done a great job. I truly respect her for that. And to be honest she has better looks then most actresses of today, her beautiful eyes, rich mane, flawless skin, and a aura of maybe painful history she has behind her. No matter what anyone says including her, no one is willingly happy in porn industry. Lets hope she makes it put of it and turns to roles that suit her brilliant looks.

4. Dialogues specially Randeep's were brilliant at places, they had depth. A sad but powerful rendering of what the hero had to say.

5. Emotions: You really need to go through life to understand a Bhatt movie, if you have they are a treat. No one in Hindi movie industry does portrayal of emotions as brilliantly as Bhatts do. I wonder how wealthy in emotions they must be to find it and show it on screen. True love is such a complex emotion that it is impossible to define it for anyone, but Bhatts have tried their best and most part succeeded.

Watch it with a open heart.... You will be in for a treat. For rest go watch Govinda movies.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history