IMDb > Battle of the Damned (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Battle of the Damned
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Battle of the Damned More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 30 reviews in total 

28 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

high octane zombie fun (with robots from a previous movie??)

8/10
Author: waste420 from United States
25 July 2013

now see, this is a fun little zombie movie. instead of focusing on the survival aspect, this is mostly big Dolph and his buddies pummeling and running from HUGE hoards of zombies. one weird part of this film is that it includes a band of four "service robots" who, in previous film "ROBOTROPOLIS" massacred a mining town due to a program corruption. now this is even stranger because I've never seen the previous film, but heard about it on the message board here, and in THIS film, the robots mention the massacre and program error, so its the same robots LMAO!!!sorry to ramble on, but give this one a try, its a pretty fun throwback to trashier days starring a great action trash actor ;)

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

What is better then a zombie movie? A zombie movie with robots!

7/10
Author: rivalclepto from United States
1 August 2013

I was entertained. First off, it contains Dolph Lundgren, you know what kind of movie it is. He doesn't disappoint, while no Arnie, Dolph handles his one-liners while killing zombies and surviving while all around him die.

Although the zombie attacks are less and lees in the middle of the film, they come back with a running vengeance that overwhelms most of the survivors.

The plot is thin and basic, but the added adventures when the robots come into the picture change the course of their actions quickly.

Good for a popcorn night in.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Technically NOT "zombies", folks. Just dumb and uncivil people running amok.

4/10
Author: Boloxxxi from United States
27 July 2013

Somewhere in SE Asia a contagious virus escapes from a research facility into a populated city. There is a military blockade. No one is allowed in or out, infected or not. So a Mitt Romney look-a-like hires major Max Gatlin (Dolph Lungren) to breech the blockade and brave the zombies to get his daughter.

One second later, we see Max and his crew in the afflicted city dressed in outfits that would make any sport biker enthusiast proud. The zombies are ravenous, fast, and ferocious. Like maybe you would be if you arrived at your favorite fast food take-out restaurant 5 minutes before closing time. According to a guy in the movie who worked in a lab before the outbreak, they are not really zombies ("The infection invades the cerebrum and kills the higher cortical functions"). I'm guessing this is the more evolved area of the brain responsible for smartness and civility (higher thought, cognitive awareness). --Ergo, those crazy flesh eating people running around in ratty clothing are just dumb and uncivil. NOT the undead at all. Maybe he's right since in this movie you can kill these faux zombies by stabbing, slashing, and shooting them anywhere.

Eventually Max finds the girl of his mission "Jude" (played by cutie Melanie Zanetti) but finds out she's not alone. She is a member of a group of survivors (3 women and 3 men). Their leader, an older gentleman with grey mustache and goatee, acts like a father figure or cult leader using the old stratagem of JUST WANTING TO PROTECT THEM to facilitate his control over them. He doesn't want to leave the place he's hold up in. Says there is no way to get out safely. I can't blame him. Reader, the guy is hold up in a MANSION; smokes pilfered expensive cigars, and is clearly boffing the simple-minded blonde chick in the group. Why would he want to leave? With the zombies running around outside he's "king" on the inside. The fact that Max came for Jude -and only her- is problematical since the group members would like to leave as well -save their leader who doesn't want any of them to.

The action in this movie was a combination of machine guns, knives, and martial arts which I did not find particularly riveting. Dolph looks a little wobbly in the legs when he runs (or tries to run) --or even walk fast. Reminds me of someone's grandpa. Some zombie killing robots were thrown into the mix later on in the movie. I was at times frustrated (and bored) by the hand-to-hand fight scenes of man vs zombie and robot vs zombie because the cameras were in too tight so you mostly saw "body parts". An arm here, a leg there, a hip here, etc. This is an annoying trend in many action movies. Someone or something gets served but you really don't get to see HOW because of the close-ups and quick cut-aways. All you get is the "illusion" effective fighting techniques.

As I said earlier, patient Reader (I have to call you that if you're still with me), the zombies or "zombie-wannabes", if you prefer, are of the fast variety. They run so fast it makes you wanna hand out track suits. Steep stairs are a breeze for them to scramble up. And they can run and tackle you like a pro footballer. Curious though that when they were confronted with a gate that was only about a foot taller than them the gung-ho athleticism they earlier demonstrated was (conveniently?) forgotten. They reverted to the old-style zombies and just stood there hungry, angry, and perplexed grasping thru the bars. Braaains? No. Love, Boloxxxi.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Better than I expected

6/10
Author: angil_x from United States
26 July 2013

There was some sketchy dialog particularly noticeable when Dolph's character max was speaking with his fellow soldier while they were walking on the bridge early in the movie, and some of the acting was stilted, but I loved that the zombies moved quickly and the robots were fun. The Dolphster is getting old, you could tell by his movements, especially when he runs, but he is in excellent shape. Dolph plays the part of the stoic unwilling hero well. The CGI was not Lucas film quality but it was not distracting. The main characters had clear personalities and weren't all generic. I only wish the end wasn't so predictable as to who would survive.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Lundgren versus the infected and robots

5/10
Author: amesmonde from novelist of The Final Version
6 August 2013

A contagious virus escapes from a research facility turning people into flesh eating killers. The city is quarantined and a soldier and his team are hired to rescue his daughter.

Christopher Hatton writes and directs this low budget science fiction romp that fuses two sub-genre subjects, the modern zombie-infected and Robots. Coincidently it shares the same basic concept as Zombie Massacre (2013) and elements from a lesser known zombie film Severed: Forest of the Dead (2005).

Shaky camera shots aside it's a b-film that has atmosphere thanks to the unusual Malaysian location and interesting architecture. The generic costume design fittingly works, the music by Joe Ng and Ting Si Hao although borrowing from many sci-fi films is excellent. The violence is aplenty, with the gun and abundance of knife play being effective enough.

There's no small Dolph Lundgren cameo it's very much is his film focusing on his Max Gatling character throughout. Both actresses Oda Maria as Anna and Melanie Zanetti as Jude are notable with the rest of the cast being adequate given Hatton's limited script. The zombies sadly are not the slow shambling kind and the robot CGI effects are a mixed bag. Nevertheless, the relationship between both the main robot (voiced by Tim Cooper) and Max is quiet interesting and humorous. Beneath the low end production there is quite a good story even if it swaps development, depth and pacing for action.

Don't expect too much, Hatton has a lot on his hands juggling all the high concept elements coherently and keeps it linear but what is on offer is the infected, robots and soldier high-jinks and basically that's what it delivers.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Dolph+zombies,err....infected morons, or...who knows

4/10
Author: jackmeat from chicago
28 July 2013

This is yet another "cash in" on the zombie success movies. Remove success and that is what you have, a zombie movie. A very typical one at that, hire a merc to go into a zone infested with zombies to save the damsel in distress. If it wasn't Dolph Lundgren as the action hero(with a GREAT heroes name "Max Gatling") than this movie would score much lower. The action is OK I guess for a low budget movie, although not very believable. I do appreciate that the writer/director of this chose Dolph with the perfect script in mind, hardly any dialog. That sums up the acting, it is horrible, by all involved. I am pretty sure you can quickly visualize the whole movie, so that sums it up. The effects are pretty standard for the budget, poor. That brings me to a curious point, why are the robots in this the same as the robots from "Robotropolis" ? A quick search solved this dilemma "Battle Of The Damned is written and directed by Christopher Hatton (who previously made Robotropolis), will commence shooting in Malaysia this summer, and will be released at some point in 2013." So recycled robots, and effects...and yes, i am reviewing that movie next (out of order on purpose since they don't really have anything to do with each other) If you like Dolph, then it is fine, mindless fun. If not, don't bother. 3.7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A good film in a bad genre.

7/10
Author: Gordon Cheatham (cheathamg) from California
4 February 2014

Many years ago, when I was still in college, I worked nights and went to school in the daylight hours. My off nights I usually spent watching junk movies on late night television. I learned that there is a hierarchy of junk movies ranging from poor quality junk to high quality junk. The genre didn't seem to matter. They could be drama, comedy, horror, SF, cowboy, you-name-it. This film, Battle of the Dead, is definitely in the high quality junk category. In fact, I even hesitate to call it junk. I only do so because it meets many of the criteria. It was made by non-mainstream film makers, way, way outside of Hollywood or western Europe. The actors are people you've never seen or heard of before. It stars Dolph Lundgren. Now, I have seen Lundgren turn in good performances, given the right material and decent direction, but by and large, he has made film choices based on making the money and getting out quickly. It may very well be that that's why he chose to do this film, but if so, he was scammed into making a film with an interesting concept, a sufficiently competent and professional script and crew, and a director with some imagination. This film, on the surface, sounds like junk. It's a zombie movie with killer robot soldiers. Then, after you find out they are not really zombies, and therefore can be put down rather easily, and the robots usually kill only when they have good reason, you begin to realize that a certain amount of thought has gone into this project. Granted the characters are pretty two-dimensional and the reasons behind why everything is happening are only lightly sketched in, but the action moves right along, there are a number of interesting visuals, and the film is for the most part believable, if you accept certain basic science fiction tenets that run through most post-apocalyptic films. One last word about Dolph Lundgren. He doesn't do much more than stand around and look menacing, but that's why he was hired, and he does the best with what he was given. Basically, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Robots Vs Zombies.....Why not?

7/10
Author: misel982001 from Greece
18 January 2014

I was curious to watch this film and I was expecting it to be a real tragedy. Nevertheless I was wrong. First of all, I would like to mention that this is an 100% b movie, not only in terms of budget but also in terms of plot, acting and effects. If you do not stand this facts do not bother with it. Acting is mediocre, effects are not of the best quality and the zombies are sometimes funny. However, the idea is original: what would happen if robots were pitted against zombies and Lundgren was somewhere between? If you like to spend sometime and forget about your everyday problems by watching a brainless, non plot action movie like this, then....why not?

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Better than most zombie films

7/10
Author: angel williams
23 August 2013

This movie does what I have always wished zombie movies would do. Make the men fighting the zombies competent but not superhuman. The "good guys" shoot with accuracy and don't waste ammo. They also don't just stand still and let the zombies eat them - they fight like their lives depend on it! When they do die the soldiers/mercs die because even though they fought well they were simply over run by superior numbers not because of total complete incompetence which is the standard for 99% of zombie flicks.

Most movies like this have some sort of special forces or organized shock troops that go into battle against the zombies and then just slowly take random unaimed volleys into the zombie crowds with little or no effect and then die pointlessly- their entire lives full of training and discipline completely forgotten and unused- VERY unrealistic. This movie doesn't do that- it is the complete 180 degree opposite and makes you like the characters and want them to live! Fun movie for action and sci-fi fans.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Dolph is better at killing zombies then anyone

10/10
Author: easywinn-915-835335 from oregon USA
27 May 2014

First off I have to admit I'm a huge Dolph fan, and I'm not going to lie to you, Dolph has disappointed me a lot with his recent movies. But not this movie, this movie is a testament to how awesome and epic the Dolph can be.

Here is what your in for when you watch this movie Spin kicks, roundhouses, handcuff chokes, guns, zombies getting blasted, a dumb plot. Discard the plot, just whisk that out of your mind. Hell, you probably should just mute it and put some heavy metal on. That is what i did the second time I watched it. Lets be honest, you didn't rent this for a plot you rented it to watch Dolph karate a bunch of zombies to pieces and god does this movie ever deliver on the whole Dolph kicking zombies.... Seems like a horrible way to attack and kill zombies, and it would be if you were anyone but Dolph.

I guess there's other actors in this movie, I have no idea who they are or what there story is every time they came on screen I just spaced out till Dolph came back on.

So to recap you will love this movie if you don't care about things like dialog and plot, and instead care about important things like smashing a zombies head in with a well placed round spin kick.

Seriously, watch this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history