IMDb > The Wedding Pact (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
The Wedding Pact More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 14 reviews in total 

30 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Predictable and shallow

Author: djgenesis from United Kingdom
3 May 2014

When I watched The Wedding Pact I knew from the start that it wouldn't be a blockbuster but I didn't think it would be so bad.

Truth be told, the lead actors actually seem quite talented and both Haylie and Chris gave a great overall performance considering the awful plot. They demonstrate good chemistry, seem experienced and show a lot of potential. Scott Michael on the other hand looks a bit unconvincing at times but, hey, this was not Shakespeare.

What I really disliked was the poor, predictable, boring and somewhat unintelligent scenario.

I do not know much about directing a movie but quite a few of the takes reminded me of amateur movie scenes. There are others. quite a few of them actually, which are unrelated to the plot and just exist as time fillers, which is fine, even the best movies have them, but they were so random and obvious I thought the director thinks that the viewer is unintelligent. This is what urged me to write this review.

There is no imagination in the storyline whatsoever; it just feels like it's a product of a 9 year old girl's summary of a single Archie's comic book of 15 pages.

Overall I would say that if you have an hour and a half to spend, better watch something else unless you're 10 and play with Barbie dolls.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

The dullest movie I watched in a long time.

Author: camaway
17 May 2014

My wife is into romantic comedies and I end up watching lots of them. Some I tolerate, some I even enjoy. Well, not this one. This is without a doubt one of the most insipid movies I have watched in a long time.

Rarely one has the chance to see a movie without a single redeeming quality. Well this is the one: the acting is bad, the script is worse, the dialogue is so dull it's like watching a pair of goldfish staring at each other in an aquarium, the characters and their motivations are so two-dimensional and cliché you feel like you are watching cardboard cut-outs acting.

It's not the worst movie ever made, it's just bad and dull and I cannot honestly recommend it to anybody.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Light, Fluffy, OK

Author: Greg from Australia
7 February 2014

At the time of this writing, there is one other review giving the movie 10/10. Yikes! What we have here is a very light rom-com with good actors, a lot of clichés and some significant improbabilities in the story. However, it is inoffensive, it has high production values and looks very good, and there are a few chuckles along the way. You won't get any spoilers from me, but we all know how this will turn out.

If you go in expecting anything more than harmless light entertainment, you will be very disappointed. If, however, you are looking for 90 minutes of easy fluff that you could watch with your niece and your Gran, you are in business. Special commendation to Buddy the dog, played skillfully by Hooligan the dog.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Horrible waste of time - go to acting school!!!

Author: Manchu2 from Netherlands
26 July 2014

This film had absolutely no storyline, no budget, no actors worth watching. The parts that were supposed to be funny just weren't - not only because of the bad jokes but also due to bad performances of all the actors. Acting wise, I felt like watching a porn movie just without the naked people. The dog was the best actor in the whole film. This review has to be at least 10 lines long to be submitted, and to be honest there is absolutely NOTHING left to say about this movie to fill up that space. But to give some examples: the way the characters met was completely random, the fake wig of the main character in his college outfit was just too obvious. The poor attempt to make the movie more 'artsy' by moving back and forth in time doesn't work, just seems like the editor was asleep himself while trying to edit this film. Maybe that's due to the extremely slow pace of this film in general and especially the first 15 minutes. Watch this movie only when you're into masochistic activities... can't wait for the sequel...

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

horrible in every way

Author: talsharden from United States
9 August 2014

nonsensical, illogical, contrived, overacted, poorly written, and a complete waste of time. there is no basis in the real world involved with the making of this movie. the character interactions are absurd. the situations are beyond senseless. there is no character development at all. the dialogue is inane at best. racial stereotypes abound. follows the same rom com plot line you have seen a hundred times only badly acted. horrible in every way. worst of all, it's not funny. not even on a 'it's so bad it's funny unintentionally' way. do not watch this. The acting is bad, the plot is ridiculous, the characters are cliché. i have nothing good to say about this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Don't expect anything

Author: Baybars Boundukuri
8 February 2015

Choosing the marriage partner is something that can tell a lot about a person. It would be best to get it all, a warm and generous personality, strong and honest character, loyalty, impressive intellect, a knock-out appearance, sophisticated mannerism and last, tolerable age difference, and last, but sadly not the least, financial security. The trouble is that it is winning a jack pot is near impossible most of the time. What happens when one needs to compromise? Well, like thousands of other pictures, this one deals with exactly that.

Now about the movie itself. The storyline is highly predictable, the characters are shallow and the parody on real life does not really work in this movie. So, the burning questions would be why bother watching it? If you feel mentally and physically exhausted, but do not feel like sleeping or surfing the net for latest gossip, this movie could do. Otherwise, it is a total waste of time. This could be said about most rom-coms though.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Going through (e)motions

Author: kosmasp
2 February 2015

Never mind that you know where this will end before it even begins (it's not that hard to guess, but that's the genre and other genres have similar "fates" with predictions), but do mind, that the jokes do not work as good, the script is weak and the acting is matching all that (in a bad way).

The intentions are good of course and the movie tries to keep things interesting with flashbacks that are supposed to lighten up the mood or explain things, even if not necessary. Repeating a scene almost beat for beat, just from another characters perspective at the end does not help either (unless you have short time memory issues). Rather a waste of time than anything else then

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Had potential which was not realized

Author: Danielle from Syracuse, NY
8 November 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This might be the worst movie I've ever seen. It comes across like someone's film school project. The idea is cute, but the script is awful, just packed with clichés and utterly predictable. The acting isn't bad, but the filmmaker gave them nothing to work with. I gave it 2 stars because I liked the use of flashbacks to catch the audience up on what happened, not just in college but in previous scenes. And the music was good. But otherwise, this is a real disappointment, and my standards are really not that high for romantic comedies - a couple of appealing leads and a smidge of cuteness, and I'm happy. This was painful to watch. And the message is simply awful. Jake is the most heinous individual imaginable - if Mitch really cared for her, how could he possibly let Elizabeth marry him? And how oblivious and stupid is Elizabeth that she can't see what kind of person Jake is? She tells Mitch she's marrying Jake because "he asked her" - what kind of lame reason is that for a modern woman about to get her social work degree? And the mom is the worst of all - she's willing to sell her lovely daughter to that repulsive man and his even worse father, just to keep her house? Get a job, you lazy cow - all she does is sit on the couch and watch TV all day. How did this movie get financed when there are a billion scripts in turnaround?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:


Author: JayQuan Wood
22 May 2014

I went into this movie with some high expectations and was let down. I wasn't expecting a smash hit , maybe just a low key good movie.

From the first scene I was confused. I was trying to figure out of they went to a bad community college together or what. One good thing is that I did get attached to the main two characters early in the movie, they were good actors and had a strong chemistry within the two of them. The whole movie was being worked off a horrible script with clichés for days, unrealistic supporting characters with generic and corny personalities and a horrible dialog all together

The movie would have had potential if the script writer and the director weren't so bad. Halie Duff and Chris Soldevilla did a great job, but without them this movie would have been a complete waste of my time.

Was the above review useful to you?

Cinema magic; Haylie Duff does it again

Author: bobchilders from United States
14 July 2016

I think we all remember what our reaction was at the news that Haylie Duff would be starring in a romantic comedy opposite the multifaceted Chris Soldevilla: who the %$#! is Chris Soldevilla? All joking aside, of course we remember him from his stellar performance in the 2000 classic "Coyote Ugly" and eagerly anticipated his performance as Mitch in this film. We were not disappointed. Through forceful performances like this movie, Soldevilla has quietly built a reputation as a major player in the comedy genre, even as he has expanded his range in drama through such vehicles as "7 Minutes" (2014). We all eagerly anticipate future entries in the Soldevilla oeuvre.

But as flawless and nuanced as Soldevilla is in "The Wedding Pact," the real acting tour de force in this film comes from Haylie Duff. We all see in Duff the depth and range of a young Meryl Streep and the wit and witticisms of a youthful Joan Blondell. She doesn't disappoint in this outing. As Elizabeth, Duff has solidified her position as the grand dame of romantic comedies, rivaling the comedic talents of such actresses as Carole Lombard and Edna Purviance.

And who can forget Matt Berman, the wunderkind writer/producer who made this all possible. We all know him from the 2000 masterpiece "F.A.R.T.: The Movie," which the AMPAS shocking passed over in its nominations for a Best Director Oscar. Sam Mendes got lucky with "American Beauty" that year and we all know it. Travesties aside, the Academy will simply not be able to look the other way at Berman's brilliance in "The Wedding Pact" and maintain itself as a legitimate organization.

One cannot find a more scrumptrulescent outing than "The Wedding Pact." Watch and be amazed; talent like this doesn't come along often.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history