Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu (2013) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
27 Reviews
Sort by:
10/10
A Wonderful feel good family entertainer!!
raghul_lc12 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
‎Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu: A wonderful feel good family entertainer movie.... After a very very very long time, a full fledged family movie....The movie is all abt the 2 brothers Venkateshmahesh babu (a) Pedhodu Chinnodu with happy situations around the family and both were rocking in all scenes..

Venkatesh: the character he played in this film is a different one. He is neither sweet husband nor a sacrificing family member. His character has an attitude problem. He likes to live life in his way, he don't knows to act for others. A guy who loves his brother much..

Mahesh babu: he did a outstanding performance as younger brother, his character was nicely portrayed, who is playful most of the times...

Other characters: Anjali dominates as the movie title is her name, and she has great respect in the family n she did brilliantly quite well. Samantha, an Angel always... she acted as lover girl who performed perfectly her part.. Prakash raj, always whatever role came his way, the one person can do that is him... outstanding performance..

Technically: Songs scored by Micky J Meyer are good. The title song is excellently picturized. Background music by Mani Sharma is very good. The dialogues penned by Ganesh Patro and Sreekanth Addala are natural and meaningful. Cinematography by Guhan is a feast to eyes..

I felt like "The audiences who watch the film Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu would immerse themselves in the film. Chances are that they would feel like they are watching some real life sequences from in and around their house". As i felt the same...

My rating is 10/10..
36 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Seetamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu - A clean Family film
murarikiran13 January 2013
SVSC is undoubtedly the most awaited movie of the season if not this year. This is the first true multi-starrer movie in Telugu cinema in last three decades. Mahesh Babu who is in sparkling form teamed up with ace performer Venkatesh in this film about Sibling bonding.

What is it about?

Peddodu (Venkatesh) and Chinnodu (Mahesh) are brothers who have diverse personalities. Peddodu doesn't settle down in life by doing some job and Chinnodu will be in job search. Peddodu not settling in any job is the biggest pressure on their family. Chinnodu tries to guide him but in vain. At a stage the relation between the brothers gets strained and how everything gets cleared is the final scene.

Performances:

Mahesh Babu is currently in a wonderful form especially with his comedy timing. His one liners in East Godavari accent are a treat. He has delivered yet another wonderful performance as chinnodu. He simply carries off the film on his shoulders and provides good entertainment in parts. If not for Mahesh this film would have been a letdown. Such is the impact of Mahesh on this movie.

Venkatesh has been dominated by Mahesh in most of the scenes as Venkatesh played a serious role which is completely in contrast to that of Mahesh's. However Venky had his moments here and there where he comes up with trademark sentimental performance. Being a multistarrer one would expect Venkatesh to have a better role.

Prakash Raj is very good in his role. He is very natural and so is Jayasudha. Anjali's character is over the top at times but she is good and lovely in the role. Samantha is alright. Rao Ramesh and Tanikella Bharani are fine.

On the Technical Front:

Songs are soothing and melodious. Background score is pleasant. Cinematography is cool. Editing could have been better. So many characters have been chopped off (RaviBabu, Raja Raveendra) without proper justification. Dialogues are good. Production values are commendable.

Srinkanth Addala is a good director who has great script sense. His first film Kotha Bangaru Lokam has few very good scenes that prove this point. SVSC is not an exception. Srikanth has once again done a fabulous job in conceiving scenes. The best scene is on Prakash Raj in Badrachalam. However, the director ignored many essential elements to highlight the sibling bonding. His prime focus is only on the brotherhood and he didn't bother about other things which is not an intelligent move on the commercial front.

Analysis:

This movie starts off at its own pace and things start to move briskly once Mahesh and Venkatesh comes together on screen. There is no separate comedy in this film and that has been handled by Mahesh. First half is completely dedicated to create feel good factor and the director succeeds in doing so.

Second half is where the real story has to start. But director only focused on brothers and their emotions. They go apart on few occasions and patches up later. This process repeats for two or three times and the movie ends. You will never realize that the film has gone into the climax part until the movie concludes.

Narration is too flat and that is the biggest drawback. Mahesh and Venkatesh bonding scenes have come out well. Mahesh Babu's phone chat with Samantha is entertaining. Anjali character and Prakash Raj character could have been dealt better for more emotional impact. Mahesh Babu solely shouldered the movie from sinking with his excellent dialogues and performance.

This film has few emotions that will appeal to family audience and females. People who have great bonding with their brothers too might get connected. We have to wait and see how masses embrace this movie.

Verdict: Seetamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu - A clean Family film
32 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Heart touching Movie
Jensu James21 October 2013
Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu(Translation : The Jasmine vine in Seethamma's Courtyard)- One of the best Telegu movie i have ever seen..(I have watched only few Telegu movies. so please don't mind). "Simple but beautiful". All the characters have done their job almost perfect. Thanks to the whole crew for such a heart touching film. The movie revolves around 2 brothers and their love to each other and to humanity.Family relationships and values are the main focus in Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu. PrakashRaj as usual performed exceptionally well. Anjali as a Goddess taking care of the family with innocence. Samantha as a cute Angel. Thanks to the Director and Producer for taking up this project. My rating for the movie is 8/10.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A beautiful tale of two brothers
prith18913 January 2013
Not often you come across such masterpieces from the Telugu film industry. SVSC is a wonderful emotional tale of two brothers with contrasting personalities and conflicts arising from them. To make such a movie, which throws light on the character's negative shades, and that too with two stars with larger than life images is a truly courageous effort by the director. Though it lacks the entertainment quotient, it more than makes it up with the emotional bonding and the chemistry between the lead actors. Terrific acting, fresh treatment and an underlying message that appeals to every human being, make this movie an absolute classic. If you love Telugu movies, you do not want to miss this.
27 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Refreshingly Sweet!
federmahesh8 May 2013
For the start.. Ignore all the negative reviews.

Well it's very unusual to see a telugu movie without comedy, this has really least comedy scenes.. can almost say no comedy at all. But still the movie was really good, all the sweetness bound in it.. esp after watching soo many useless movies like Rachcha, Rebel, Naayak etc

Too bad i missed watching it in the theater. It was full of life thou..you can't always expect to be a total entertainer with comedy, action, and everything combined. This dint even have extreme emotional scenes as well. But the movie is definitely very satisfying.

Anyways.. Enjoy the movie.. It's worth you time!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
The world isn't divided into good and bad people, however the good guys always win!
bhanu-srivatsav13 January 2013
Okay, so here's the catch: what you usually expect from a Telugu film is your average dose of masala, glamorous actors, a story that shall keep you gripped at the edge of your seats and you can a few more flashy stuff to this list( all it'd do is populate it with sheer uselessness).

This one's different though, its bold. How you might ask? It's got a flat story some might say but ladies and gentlemen this is reality and it this is as flat and straight honesty will ever get for you.

Acting: pure class in the form of Mahesh and Venkatesh who carry themselves not just with looks but with a form of decency which can be achieved by men who are well decent to say the least. The acting ensemble consists of the classic players in the Telugu film industry and each reciprocate their usual roles to perfection

The story is honest, the screenplay is ecstatic, the dialogues make you want to cry and this time I'm not talking crocodile tears. The background score gives you goosebumps.

Finally spare a thought for the director, this man has taken an ordinary story some would go on to compare it to the old classic "Gundamma Katha" and well designed it taking into account the ideals of modernization to such brilliance that shall not be achievable in the near future.

Men will be men....but well gentlemen are a class apart. Go watch this movie with any sort of company and you shall exit the theater with a smile on your face. The team of SVSC take a bow!
23 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A brilliant attempt to depict a good traditional Indian family genuinely.
brandnew boy14 January 2013
‎Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu !!! The movie totally deserves such a decent title.. :) I hate to call it a super hit or average or anything, its a whole new wonderful experience.. Don't expect heroism,action scenes, hilarious comedy, romance or any routine stuff of telugu cinema. It just depicts one good traditional Indian family and their emotions beautifully. Srikanth Addala, Dil Raju take a bow for doing this. Totally a decent n good film with amazing cast, simple music, beautiful taking. Mahesh and Venkatesh have done a fabulous job. Anjali did a promising job. Samantha, a fresh go with loads of cute things. Mahesh proves again he's adaptable, looking so natural with Godavari slang. Bottom line : Best one in recent times to watch with family. PS: You'll be touched if u have a sibling. Watch it soon, before some people spoil it for you saying words like boring, dull etc.
22 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Clean,good and message oriented Family Entertainer.......
veeralevaka12 January 2013
after a long time,a movie with complete Telugu nativity.more over two actors were placed in perfect rolls,and all this credit goes to Srikanth addala.movie carries human emotions and relations in a soft way.Venkatesh and Mahesh babu justified the story with their performance.on-screen chemistry was so good between this both heroes.Music is also a plus for the movie.Mickey j.mayor scored good tracks without missing trend and BG-M is provided by Mani sharma.Anjali and Samantha had good and lengthy rolls in movie and also shared their part.Director never missed telugu nativity throughout movie and did a great screenplay.Prakash Raj and Jayasudha were fantastic and suited a lot for this heroes.Guhan as D.O.P and art director did worthy job by making the movie so colorful with their work.More over everyone should appreciate Dil Raju for making such a beautiful movie. Completely movie is full length family entertainer with good message.
17 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Simply Beautiful
kingss7714 January 2013
Some Say Tollywood has gone into monotonous flow of Mass Masala Flicks but here is the latest offering from Srikanth Addala in Dil Raju Franchise which has broke all such factors with flat story line and excellent screenplay and rich display of Andhra culture.

even though there were certain amount of multi-starers in the past few years but this one is way a part from all those with Mahesh Babu and Venkatesh coming together leaving their cinematic characters and entering into real life characters is some thing to be applauded.

It has no commercial elements, no separate track of comedy away from story line but it still impresses the audience with a smile on their face.

a must watch and expecting more of these kind of movies in years to come from tollywood.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A middle class family with two jobless lads and the ultimate goal of human life.
shaktikaja2 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Director srikanth addala came up with family drama starring mahesh and venkatesh as brothers. Had he given enough? Lets see.

The man is mahesh babu making viewers laugh with his funny one liners. The first half of the movie is a joy ride with mahesh babu's funny one liners,scenes between mahesh and samantha and some emotional scenes between the brothers and in the family scenes but the second half of the movie loses pace and the last 45 minutes are dull. The audience keep guessing whether the brothers are gonna settle or not but they get disappointed at the end. It has an average climax.

Being a multistarrer movie after a long time in Telugu industry and family movie its an one time watch.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A mind refreshing and feel good movie
srivas-290-24864114 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
SVSC may not reach people's hopes but a movie lover will definitely like it.After a long time i have seen a movie which includes equal justification for all the characters which added up that additional touch to the movie.we have seen many family based movies and this movie will definitely will be one of the most remembered movies under that category. Venkatesh(Pedodu) and Mahesh Babu(chinodu) have done a fantastic job. People who really like a separate comedy track may not miss that as Mahesh has done a fantastic job in making people laugh.Meanwhile Venkatesh who maintains a serial role also justified his character.Both the heroines have done their characters very well.Mainly Prakash Raj who played as a father character for the two brothers has done a fantastic job.All other artists have given justification to their roles.We might feel the second half lacks speed and added to it slow narration as well,but the first half is very much energetic.Although you may not feel that slow narration after coming out of the theater as we just compare our self in those brother's characters. Final conclusion is "Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu" is a pure family movie which makes you feel really touched and definitely make you think about your relationships. A must go movie and enjoy with your family.
15 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
SVSC - the plant that grows on relationships/love..
Rajanish Rao14 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
There's nothing special - a familiar story that stresses on importance of family and relationships like Rajshri movies. But without a shade of those movies and using a unique track, SVSC stands apart.

Seetha, who loses her parents at an young age, is brought up by her maternal uncle. The entire family love and cosset her. She also has two paternal uncles who are rich and arrogant. They dislike their poorer relations. How Seetha's wedding brings both the families together is the crux of the story. This has been narrated in a manner that leave your eyes swimming in tears.

The biggest strength of the movie is the character sketch. Even actors who appear in a single scene have been given certain character traits. Prakash raj who goes for a walk in the morning, smiles and greets every persons he meets. He helps school kids on cycle along a slope. Venkatesh doesn't want to bow down at the level crossing, he waits for it to lift and give way. In a similar circumstance, Mahesh babu just leaps across the hurdle. With a single shot, the director describes each person's nature.

Two star actors of Telugu industry, Super actor Venkatesh and Superstar Mahesh Babu have lived like brothers in this movie. The chemistry between the two brothers is inseparable like a cellphone and simcard (?!!) Despite addressing each other as "rey" and "cheppara" like equals, the respect between the brothers is always obvious. Their body language and expressions are perfect.

In particular, close to interval, when Mahesh Babu tells his brother to change his attitude and Venkatesh responds with " I know what to do.. why don't you go and play your dramas with the rich guys ". Just as Mahesh kicks the flowerpot - you get the full flow of each persons thoughts and perceptions. And the scene in Bhadrachalam where both brothers sit on the steps and express their love is something very beautiful.

Anjali plays the title and pivotal role of Sita. Though she sounds childish in few scenes, she shows all signs of filling the place of Soundarya. Samantha is sweet as usual. Jeyasudha has given life to her character . Rohini Hattangadi's experience has added strength to the grandmother's character. Prakash Raj's acting fill our hearts and minds and he reminds us of S.V.Ranga Rao . K.V.Guhan's cinematography , Marthand Venkatesh's editing, Mani sharma's rerecording and Mickey J.Meyer's songs add strength to the movie.

But the person who stands above everyone else, is the director Srikkant Addala. The Haiku shots and poetic scenes stun us. The dialogs in Godavari slang give life to the story. The stunning one-liners captivate us. The climax where Prakash Raj tells his sons with a smile in his eyes , " All men are good. If you are born as a man itself, you are good " - is just a sample .

We think times have changed and civilization has grown and chase after some undefined goal in life. We ignore our relatives and family. SVSC hits a nail on your head and tells you what you have been missing.

It is true. For the bond of family to flourish, its not money but love that is essential. That is what is told in this movie and expressed in each frame and scene.
15 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Happy family makes happy world
amruthvvkp4 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
It is very unlikely to point out a single dull moment in this crowd- pleasing, tear-jerking healthy family entertainer that presents a story akin to every household. Despite the presence of stars such as Mahesh Babu and Venkatesh, 'Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu' (SVSC) boasts of being a successful multi-starrer throughout by giving equal weightage to both the actors. The film may or may not inspire one and all, but it will definitely send everybody back home with a smile.

Revolving around familial relationships, 'SVSC' narrates the story of two brothers - Peddodu and Chinnodu, played by Venkatesh and Mahesh Babu respectively, and their relationship with everybody around them, including their own family. Even though both the brothers are jobless, the younger one, played by Mahesh, is emotionally strong and unlike his uptight elder brother, doesn't spend every living moment worrying about how to face the world. But at home, the brothers are blessed with the most loving family one could ever have.

A father, played by Prakash Raj, who counts every minute with a smile and a doting mother, Jayasudha, who wishes to see her son settled and happily married. Seetha, played by Anjali, aspires to get married to Peddodu, but her feelings are never valued. Chinnodu falls in love with Geetha, played by Samantha, who despite being distantly related, can't hope for a life together as their families have a long history of rivalry. Will they get to live happily ever after? This forms the rest of the story.

In the first fifteen to twenty minutes, as the camera pans across different characters in the film, one gets a crystal clear understanding of each one of them. It is extremely difficult to bring together two stars to work together in the industry, but Srikanth not only succeeds in making them act together, but makes them back each other in power packed-performances as brothers. One might feel that Mahesh may have had extended screen presence, but it is Venkatesh, who steals the limelight with his unadulterated performance, sans machismo.

Harping strongly on familial values, there are moments in the film apt to the context of the film. Be it Prakash Raj's ever gleeful face or Geetha's love for Peddodu or Rao Ramesh's self-priding character or even the sensitive relationship between Mahesh and Venkatesh, it is moments like these that hold the film intact.

Srikanth, with his sincere and simple screenplay, makes everybody look at the mirror image of their own families on the big screen. As one gets deeply engrossed in the film, he or she will realize all that the film shows is what makes a family, and the different people who make it. There are no extraordinary moments to boast greatly of, but there are plenty of simple yet beautiful moments that are heart-tugging.

Mahesh and Venkatesh, who share funny yet meaningful conversations most of the time, make every minute of their screen presence meaningful. Mahesh's character is funnier, courtesy films such as 'Dookudu' and 'Businessman', and his moments with Samantha are rib-tickling. Good to see Samantha shed her glamorous side and welcome performance-oriented roles, which she only handles with deftness and ease. Anjali is yet another crowd-puller performer in the film, and she will not go unnoticed.

Two characters that hold the film together is that of Prakash Raj and Rao Ramesh. They complement each other with roles that are poles apart, but highly important in the film. These actors deserve special mention and adulation.

Mikey J Meyer's compositions are musical lullaby to the ears, while Mani Sharma's background score is comforting. KV Guhan's cinematography may not be outstanding, but makes the ambiance look beautiful.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Realistic and Refreshing
Swetha Siripurapu13 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
SVSC may not be regular commercial multi-starrer movie but it consist the right amount of family touch with not including mushiness in it coz it generally not like that,it consist of village middle class family relations and lifestyle of them living apart in different cities with a bit of city touch...it is different metro city lifestyle every one are soo used to and it reminds of many like me to miss what once we have mixing with now what we are Venkatesh and Mahesh played roles of Peddodu and Chinnodu(they never once said names,may they want to connect to masses)really well...both are jobless young men trying to settle down in their lives in their own styles,while peddodu is feared in home,chinnodu is what one calls naughty one...while peddodu is stubborn,chinnodu is peace maker,while peddodu is shown as inexpressive and goes after his mother as straight forward,chinnodu is expressive or try to express to be happy who want to be like his father who is actually happy than just try to be happy,they share certain qualities to balance the home in peace,they both are complex characters with many shades shown in small scenes i never seen in a movie before coz of funda"hero remains hero no matter what",its not a challenge only when you play some mentally related problem suffering character,it is also a challenge to play a real common emotions when its obvious it is not common for a mega heroes like Venkatesh and Mahesh...Kudos to them Seeta character played by Anjali would have a overly rated one if it is played by any one other than Anjali,its just becoz of her the character has right amount of natural feel...generally the character is often happens to be the sister in the family but well as she is one of them not much difference there.. Geeta character played Samantha is with a girl in comfortable lifestyle which makes her fanciful young girl who don't want to know any thing beyond her dream man with her cell phone and talking to him,also she is shown as a slightly back ward(not totally)girl than the fast hyderabadi girls who propose to the guys in a shopping mall.... There are decided marriages inside the family,clashes of families bound by marriage,marriage happens by reference,couples meeting in a marriage...many of the common occurrences one would notice or used to notice.... the pace is surely slow giving TV show feel...especially venkatesh and mahesh scenes..but one can hardly blame it coz of their character being sketched the way they are...but i can say it is different to see a movie which gives some thing to think and feel nostalgic and for many who don't have any related memories to feel nostalgic then may be they would know what life other laptop and mobile... i will give it a 4 and 1/2 out of 5
12 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Simple but beautiful
rk-catchway12 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
The Movie was simply super and awesome, best family entertainer after long time and after 25 years the multistarer movie came in tollywood and vnky and mahesh both acted very well. this movie will be the blockbustter in tollywood.

finally in my view, Hi frineds, finally watched the SVSC Movie, in one word simply super venky and mahi both of them performed well. 1st half is full of entertainment and second half is excellent screenplay and sentiment was super and so many people are enjoyed the sentimental scenes and claps for those sentimental scenes. i enjoyed a lot. i hope you people also enjoy. all the best to SVSC team.
10 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
excellent movie
Sunny14 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is the classic of all times After many years its a pure good film . Its a super hit . the story line was good . The message in the film was very good . Every person should watch this film . Excellent movie to watch with entire family . This movie has all relations perfectly and we can learn a lot from the movie . this movie stands forever like a classic in our hearts. Mahesh babu was in peak action . even venkatesh Samantha was awesome. final verdict : Excellent movie The producer also did a very much good job by taking multi starrer movie This movie is the hits of all time . Once you watch you will think of it only and you wish to watch it again. thats the magic in it .Prakash raj has done his peak performance . Also thanks to the director for giving us such a good film
10 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Poor attempt in dealing with multi-starrer/family movies
abhijith-eie12 January 2013
SVSC with huge hopes and expectations did disappoint many people and on the other hand with the talk of family entertainer, it seems that it entertained many people. According to my personal opinion and the opinion of the people whom I watched it with, it wasn't a super hit or a feel good movie. The film lacked a lot of things and some how still people are watching the film. I hoped it'd be a mix of Venkatesh's "Kalisundam Raa" and Mahesh Babu's "Murari". Frankly this movie didn't meet any of the expectations at all. If Mahesh wasn't there in the movie, half of the people in the theater would have left by the interval. Mahesh's dialogues made people sit for a while in their seats. Claiming brothers sentiment, this movie lacked a proper reason for ego issues between the brothers. Neither the people in the theater nor I understood why the brothers were struggling to get on with their lives. It seemed a bit weird when emotional(called to be emotional) scenes mahesh and venkatesh came up. Every 15 minutes there'd be a meeting between the brothers which doesn't have a reason and doesn't conclude anything. Overall I didn't find any brother sentiment in the movie. Lack of comedy is a big negative to the movie. In my opinion, no brothers in real life would have such emotional episodes in their life. Normally we'd find such scenes between lovers. Some how people are liking it. I do not know the reason why. I believe its simply the fan following bringing people to theaters. Climax is also very weak. It looked like a lengthy short film (like a TV serial watched for 3 hours). The whole concept of multi-starrer films has been wasted by the director. People in our theater were praying when the movie would end so that they can get out the theater asap. People were like "OMG" whenever venky and mahesh sentiment scenes came up.

Positives: Cinematography, Music, Mahesh's Dialgoues

Negatives: Weak story, Weak Screenplay, Lack of comedy, Unnecessary episodes b/w mahesh and venky Weak climax and many other

Bottom line: "Sankranthi" movie was good than this one.
23 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
a beautiful family entertainer
Lalit Nayan25 January 2013
SVSC , a multi starrer in the telugu film industry after two decades. a film with huge expectations does not disappoint at the box office. all smiles in the film with such wonderful scenes between the members in the family makes it a joy to watch on the big screen. especially the on screen chemistry of mahesh babu and venkatesh takes you into a complete new world , where you think they are real life brothers but not reel life brothers. it shows that relationships in a family are so important and the characters of mahesh and venkatesh show a true story to the audience. the differences shown between the two families is the very same which is going on in real life in our living society. a film worth watching more than once A TREND SETTER to the telugu film industry
8 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Real family values
Jasrick Johal19 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
SVSC is film that makes very happy, it makes me strive for a family just like seen the film. The film begins in the town of Relangi. In that town there is a man who is fondly known as "Relangi Mavayya" (uncle). The middle-class family of Relangi Mavayya has two sons known as Peddodu (elder) (Venkatesh) and Chinnodu (younger) (Mahesh Babu) and a daughter. Relangi Mavayya's sister had married a man from a rich family referred to as "Vijayawada Manushulu" and had a daughter named Seetha (Anjali). Seetha's parents passed away after her birth and she was brought to live with her uncle, Relangi Mavayya. From her childhood, Seetha sees Peddodu as her husband, but he never visibly reciprocates her feelings: always referring to her as "osey" and "yemey?"! Peddodu does not like to change himself to please others and is very introverted. Chinnodu, on the other hand, likes to make others change for himself and will fight for what is right. However, the two brothers are as close as they can be. The movie starts off with small incidents happening in the day to day life of the family that helps the viewer understand the tight knit family and its love for each of its members. Venky and Mahesh give amazing performances. A must watch for all Indian families.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Just a View.
vchsrikanth14 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
In this era of droids, satellites and bots, here's a movie which shows Relationships and Human Values, the long forgotten emotions by humans, in a simple yet beautiful way. Revolving around a family living in Relangi, this movie showcases life of joint families in India. The title of the movie justifies the concept. Seethamma(India) Vaakitlo Sirimalle Chettu (One Family).

Peddhodu(Venkatesh) and Chinnodu(Mahesh) are brothers hailing from Relangi. Prakashraj plays their father with unique character who feels life is short, don't bother yourself by nonsense and have the courage to smile at everyone you see and make their life happy as well. Jayasudha plays a concerned mothers character. Rohini Hathangdi excelled as the grandma. Her scenes with Mahesh and Mahesh calling her Bondam brought smile on my face. Anjali, plays Sita, who loses her parents in her childhood and is left at Prakashraj's house by Rao Ramesh, seeta's uncle, who feels everyone should have Planning and vision to excel in life and by excel he means earn a lot of money. Geetha,Rao Rameshs daughter, played by Samantha, falls for Chinnodu(Mahesh).

The story is simple. Every Human Being is good. Visit everyone/every event with a smile and your life will be colorful. Srikanth took a novel thought and excelled in presenting it to cater every genre liking audience. There is no scarcity of comedy and neither would you feel dragged by the emotional scenes. Mahesh's Godavari accent clicked big time in this movie. Mahesh and Venkatesh's scenes are very well canned. Especially the flower pot scene where Venkatesh rings up to Mahesh and asks "Poola Kundi..". Venkatesh-Anjali scenes were very freshly picturized with Venkatesh calling Anjali "eyy". Mahesh-Samantha love angle was cute with Samantha's "nenu hurt" dialogue becoming a rage. All the 3 Railway station scenes between Venkatesh and Mahesh babu were smoothly handled. Music by Mickey J Meyer should be mentioned specially. The Title track would stand out in tollywood history as one of the best and novel tracks of all time. BackGroundMusic by Manisharma was superb and enthralling. Especially BackGroundMusic at the sequence where MaheshBabu chases Ravibabu is superb and also BGM for Badhrachalam episode was handled very well. Climax dialogues between PrakashRaj, Venkatesh and Mahesh are the pillars of the movie. The ease with which these 3 actors conveyed the message to us, the ease with which Srikanth handled the script and the ease with Dill raj handled such high scope project helped Seethamma Vaakitlo Siramalle Chettu to stand out as one of the best movie which portrays Indian Culture in a very sensitive and sensible way before everyone. Kudos to Seethamma Vaakitlo Team.

My Rating: A+ A Must Watch for everyone who believe in human values and have emotional values when it comes to Family and Siblings.
8 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
View from a teenager
jagannathsrs16 January 2013
~SVSC~ You expect so much and enter the cinema hall, after watching this is what i felt about the characters:

Mahesh: you are always awesome, but the movie didn't have the thing to make you special

Venky: dull acting, but suited the village style

Anjali: i guess u lost weight running too much in the movie, good debut into large films(expected to be!)

Samatha: as usual, good performance, voice sucks, but better than before.

Prakash raj: brilliant job, but i guess your jaws are paining after a lot of smiling ! no one could replace your role.

Samatha's father: you were so good that i hated u in real, i felt like slapping u!

Overall a pinch of sentiment(so-called sentiment, not really), humor, relationship and whole table spoon of NOTHINGNESS. yes there is NO story in the film, except the message that you can win over the world with a smile on your face. And was there a problem with the projector guy, so MANY repeated scenes.

Not a great movie, that's why people don't make multi-starter movies. Srikanth Adaala, you failed to do what other directors succeed doing a century ago.But again this a breakthrough from those action filled loud movies.

Rating: 6/10, at least for the characters!
10 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A fine clean movie
Kalyan kumar14 January 2013
Film was really excellent,before the movie release already director ,producer etc.. has already said that don't have more expectations on the film even though its a multi starrer movie. so i hope it should be seen as a family entertainer.i hope some sister sentiment should be added,any how if the film is watched with a clear expectation as already stated by Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu group in audio launch.venkatesh and mahesh babu given their best in the film.songs was really excellent and still some more comedy should be added. we can see clean and clear feelings and sentiments in this movie. finally whole Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu project is successful.
7 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A better one movie
Rajeev Raman30 January 2016
This is one of greatest telgu movies which touch the heart. I don't know Telgu,but i wanted to learn this.Both Mahesh Babu and Venkatesh has done good.and sitha is also good. This is one of greatest telgu movies which touch the heart. I don't know Telgu,but i wanted to learn this.Both Mahesh Babu and Venkatesh has done good.and sitha is also good.This is one of greatest telgu movies which touch the heart. I don't know Telgu,but i wanted to learn this.Both Mahesh Babu and Venkatesh has done good.and sitha is also good.This is one of greatest telgu movies which touch the heart. I don't know Telgu,but i wanted to learn this.Both Mahesh Babu and Venkatesh has done good.and sitha is also good.This is one of greatest telgu movies which touch the heart. I don't know Telgu,but i wanted to learn this.Both Mahesh Babu and Venkatesh has done good.and sitha is also good.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
True excellence and best family entertainer ever
Rohit Sharma30 October 2015
I know it has been couple of years since this movie was released, but I couldn't stop myself writing review for this because this is one of very few movies which deserves viewers time in terms of writing review.

Alright, straight to the point. When I watched this movie for the first time, I disliked it. Reason is same as for everyone else, no story. Yes, this movie lacks a story. Especially, for those who got used to stereotyped movies. After an year, during a family gathering, I wanted to play a decent movie in TV, but shockingly, i couldn't think of a movie which can be enjoyed with whole family. Someone suggested SVSC mo vie and I had to play this movie having left with no other option. Then, I realized the fact that this is the movie you can enjoy with your family without having to watch some embarrassing romantic/violent/double meaning scenes(they are very few scenes in this movie, but after all, they should also satisfy commercial section of audience).

I started loving this movie as much as that I watch movie once in every month. Now I live outside of India. Whenever I feel like missing my family, I just watch this movie.

Clean entertainer!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
i was really skeptical, but i was wrong
mailsundar579 November 2014
This movie is too good.i don't really feel compelled to write reviews. but, i made it a point too write a review. Towards the end of the movie, i started thinking, why don't we have more movies like this. Perfect Family entertainer. too good.

There's something about this movie that pulls you in and don't let you get away. to be honest, i'm not a big fan of family movies, even i loved this movie. This movie is released in 2013 in Telugu, i'm surprised that no one made a remake of this movie in Tamil. You cannot find movies like this in Hindi.

The complex love that exists between the brothers is adorable, which is rare these days. People chose money over family, which i never understood. this movie is an eye opener.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews