IMDb > "Arrow" (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Arrow"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Arrow" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 51:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 501 reviews in total 

216 out of 326 people found the following review useful:

Painful

1/10
Author: pjred from Australia
22 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Save yourself the time with this one unless your less than about 12 years old or have a very low IQ.

It's like the ideas been pieced together from other shows. It's stupid, inconsistent, hypocritical, ridiculous, and most of the acting is terrible.

It's a pity because the underlying story with the mother and her associates is the shows only redemption. You just have to sit through the agony of the rest of the show to get this. Maybe they should save us all the heartache and just tell us what happens with that story line.

Was the above review useful to you?

295 out of 487 people found the following review useful:

A Refreshing Take On The Vigilante Story

10/10
Author: zack_wall from United States
11 October 2012

I was kind of sketchy when I first heard about this series, considering the terrible job that was done with 'The Cape'. I'm pleased to say that all of my doubts were unfounded. Arrow is a darn good show, and the first Pilot episode is very strong and leaves little confusion behind this vigilante's origins. I felt that the main actor properly conveys a somber and mature attitude in contrast to the description we receive of him as a partying playboy before the shipwreck. The action is intense and not over the top or completely unbelievable. What we're presented with is a young man whose 5 years spent on an island have shaped him up into an agile warrior tasked with cleaning up his city from corruption. I can't wait to see what lies in store through future episodes, and I certainly hope this show delivers the goods. So far, I believe we're in store for some quality television this fall.

Was the above review useful to you?

369 out of 652 people found the following review useful:

I almost never feel strongly-enough about a show to write up a review, but...

1/10
Author: The_Captain5
4 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

...this show is almost indescribably bad. It makes me angry just to think about.

Caveat: I don't know a whole lot about Green Arrow. His name is Oliver Queen, he gained his skills while marooned on an island, he's rich, and he is SO EASY to make fun of. But this isn't an attack on the concept. I've seen sillier concepts work out to be much better shows.

Arrow is one of those shows where wooden acting, poor directing, and writing about on par with the Twilight Saga come together to create one of the most offensive television experiences I have ever had. And I've seen Jersey Shore.

Stephen Amell as the titular hero Green Arrow and Katie Cassidy as Laurel are particularly bad, with approximately one-and-a-half facial expressions between them and a penchant for removing themselves from the room as the standard method of showing anger. You could make a drinking game out of it, truly.

The writing is staggeringly awful. However, when I say "writing," I'm not speaking about the plot. That might yet unravel over time, but it's too early to tell. What I mean is the actual words which come out of people's mouths. There is a specific scene which comes to mind where Oliver and his best friend, Tommy, are seated at a table, discussing their friendship. Tommy reveals that he's been sleeping with Laurel, and Oliver's only reaction is, "That's okay, I forgive you." I closed my eyes for this scene and realized that I could not even tell who was saying what at certain points. They have no verbal mannerisms, and the "funny" best friend has no real sense of humor that I could discern. Plus, his jokes plain suck, but I guess that's a minor point, all things considered. I should point out that, recently, a friend told me that Tommy Merlyn turns into Green Arrow's nemesis, which means they of course have a lot in common and might seem like the same person at times. But that doesn't really come across as purposeful on this show.

The directing is maybe the worst offender, here, because a good director could turn cruddy actors and poor writing into something downright entertaining. Just look at Sam Raimi's work on Spider-man 1 and 2. Instead, I find myself imagining David Barrett or John Dahl or any number of the other directors on this show, sitting there texting while scenes are happening. Maybe eating a sandwich or something. Not paying attention must be hungry work.

I'm getting into a lot of detail, so I'm just going to cut this off and say that I should have seen it coming. Just look at the promo picture. Really consider it. That was the very first thing we were shown regarding this series. Ask yourself what that says about their priorities.

Was the above review useful to you?

147 out of 211 people found the following review useful:

Superhero series? More like Sex & The City

3/10
Author: Ornlu Wolfjarl from United Kingdom
20 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

(This review is written after having seen episodes 1-6 only) Who the hell decided to give the green light for this series in this state? Honestly, the people who made this must have never read a comic book in their lives.

First off, let's get the good things out of the way: the plot is very promising and so far it's the only thing that keeps me going, and the cinematography/effects are not bad, but they could use a little polish here and there, especially the choreography of some fight scenes. (2 stars from here) Now what is wrong with this series? They failed on every level to deliver us a show about a superhero. They took the idea of the Green Arrow and crapped all over it.

Firstly, the Green Arrow is supposed to be an incredibly stoic and cynical character when he is monologuing, with a witty tongue reserved for his foes. Someone who used to be a very naive young man once, but who was slapped in the face with the realization that the society around him is rotten to the core. So he sets off in a crusade to even the balance between the poor and the rich and bring some justice to his corner of the world with only his excellent archery skills as a weapon, as a modern-day Robin Hood. Now, the background story the series shows about him being stranded on the island shows this very good. However, his monologues are not as thought-provoking, philosophizing or caustically cynical as they appear in the comic books. I will give the actor though another star because after watching the first couple episodes, he is honestly trying to improve his character and deliver his poorly-written lines in an Arrow-like manner. Kudos to you sir for actually caring! Secondly, alas the efforts of one person are overshadowed by the failures of the rest of the acting crew. Plastic dolls posing in shop windows have better acting skills than this lot. First and foremost is the annoying ex-girlfriend Laurel whatever-her-name who delivers her lines in the most crude way possible. I can see her thinking trying to remember what she's supposed to say or what emotion to show in her face. It's like watching a baboon school play. The writing of her character doesn't help either. We are supposed to accept that AFTER 5 YEARS she is still in love with the guy who cheated on her WITH HER FRIGGIN SISTER, and who is responsible for her death? And how about his mother that apparently killed her husband, but threatens to raise hell if a hair of one of her family is even touched.

And then we come to the third and most crucial failing of this series. This is supposed to be a series about a superhero. I don't care at all about the sex life of his ex-girlfriend, I don't care about the sister's drinking problem, I don't care about the social life of anyone. Partly, because they fail as characters, but mostly because this is a series about a SUPERHERO. This isn't the Days of Our Lives, or Sex & The City. I'm not expecting to watch romantic crap about women on their period. I'm expecting to watch a superhero kick ass, bring justice to the wicked and perform some general pwnage. Don't get me wrong, I can understand showing how his actions to hide his alter ego affect those around him and how in turn he is affected himself, I like to see some inner conflict in my super heroes. What I don't like is the Green Arrow being a supporting actor in his own series. An average episode goes about 40 minutes and 30 of those are spent showing us uninteresting flirting between his friends and family, then the Green Arrow steps in the room and says he has to go (to fight bad guys) but instead of following him, we are stuck for another 4-5 minutes to witness the constant crying of his friends and family of how he never spends time with them.

I DON'T CARE!!!! Seriously, imagine watching a series about Batman, that all it does is show Catwoman talk to her girlfriends about how she is in love with a really cute guy called Clark Kent (yes Clark Kent, that's how messed up Arrow is).

A terrible effort and an outright insult, don't waste your time, at least for now.

It's still pretty early in the production (only 6 episodes so far) and as I said the plot seems interesting. Perhaps the CW network will come around to realizing how much more they could do with this series and improve it later on in the season. One can only hope.

Was the above review useful to you?

281 out of 483 people found the following review useful:

Surprising and entertaining

10/10
Author: aljaz_kerc from Slovenia and USA
11 October 2012

OK, just seen the first episode and I think it was amazing. I am not the biggest fan of comics or very knowledgeable about Green Arrow in general, so I feel I can be very objective in reviewing this show like I would any regular one, without fan-love ideas or huge expectations. The characters seem very believable so far, few minor doubts here and there but nothing crucial; acting also up to part. Story is realistic, without that fantastical loop holes that comic adaptations usually have (was told Green Arrow was like that in comics too, so I respect the decision to stay with that). CGI was decent, compliments to stunt collection and fighting choreography (well done, sir, well done), and quite good screenplay for this episode. The makers opened quite a few questions, made room for many ways show can stream to; I can say without a doubt, that this show is one of the surprises of this fall and I can only hope that the whole season lives up to this great pilot.

Was the above review useful to you?

120 out of 169 people found the following review useful:

Soap Opera-Very little Super anything.

1/10
Author: laura Kl from United States
13 March 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Any one who read DC comics will tell you Green Arrow is a poor mans Batman so to speak... That being said. With all the copy-write garbage I am sure it is easier to get rights to make a green arrow show rather than a new batman show... This still doesn't excuse how horrible this thing is. A friend referred it to me as a great show with the Flash in it. They don't cover the Flash at all really. Just a short cameo with normal Barry Allen. I would encourage you to watch a daytime soap opera then watch this garbage and tell me the difference. The acting is horrible. The writing is so awful that it must be done by drunken monkeys. They randomly put a villain in the clock tower and Arrows crew wonders where he is. They should just move their headquarters there. If they ask Laural one more time IS SOMETHING WRONG i will punch my TV.

Was the above review useful to you?

143 out of 228 people found the following review useful:

A Very Entertaining but Flawed Show

8/10
Author: Fanboy218 from USA
16 July 2013

I have seen all 23 episodes of Arrow, and honestly I'm pretty impressed. I believe this is inspired by Nolan's Dark Knight trilogy, but I don't think that it's a ripoff. For me, the show is never boring. It is like the combination between teen drama and the Dark Knight trilogy. Speaking of realism, this show is not realistic at all. Oliver with Diggle and Felicity seem to have any solution to every kind of problems, well it doesn't matter at all since this is a comic book adaptation.

As much as I love this show, I still think the show is so flawed. The cast aren't that good, well they are okay. Sometimes what really bothers me is the dialogs, it is so f-in cliché. The dialog is so fake that's filled with cheesy words that we'd NEVER say in real life. What I like most about the show are the action and the plot. The plot is very good, the crimes never seem to end, and I loved every episode in the series.

As much as how flawed the show is, it's pretty darn entertaining. It's obviously not Breaking Bad or game of Thrones, but it's one of the most entertaining shows in TV today.!

Was the above review useful to you?

86 out of 115 people found the following review useful:

Sorry if I sound like a smug, pretentious a-hole.

1/10
Author: emanuelcoffeyrosell
5 March 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Most overrated show I've seen, ever.

I know that a lot of TV is awful, but gets swallowed up because people do not venture far from the mainstream, dumbed down, hypnotic crap which constantly flows through the screen like a sewage pipe. However, I did not know that the amount of people, who are this uncultured and blind to any critical thought was this huge.

IMDb used to be (still is in many cases, it's a good site either way) a reliable source for figuring out whether a show/film was worth looking into, put seeing the high ratings of Arrow (which is 8.2 at the time of this being written) and the latest Hunger Games movie, I've lost hope.

The spoiler free premise: Rich brat kid goes on a boat trip with his dad, he's got a coke problem and lacks moral and discipline.

Boat sinks, everyone dies except him. He manages to maroon himself on an island, during this time he somehow manages to survive without any food nor drinking water (and probably with some bad coke withdrawal symptoms). He makes a bow out of what he can find on the island, gets really good at hunting animals and survives long enough for another ship to find him.

Well, this doesn't seem too bad, leaving out some of the back-story and other revelations of course.

But for some reason, he is now a parkour master, with martial arts skills, hacking skills (did he practice on a homemade computer he built out of wood and bear skin or something, maybe he powered it by putting a propeller in a tube and farting really hard to make a wind-turbine?).

Now, what he should have done on that island, is trained on his damn acting. Because it blows. If I was an actor in LA trying to make a name for myself, I would of bought the box-set and hit myself in the head repeatedly until I died from head trauma.

But if that isn't horrible enough, the entire cast share the most stale, unnatural, awful, awful acting abilities as the lead. It wouldn't have surprised me if the director got blown by every, single, member of the cast to be on this god forsaken show.

It's just so sad to see resources which could have fed starving children go to waste on this melodrama of an "action-show". Too bad dramas require acting, which the cast does not suffice to provide. It should be called "bags of skin who might actually be robots reciting the terrible writing of a talentless person on camera held by another talentless person who somehow managed to get payed and recognized in a extremely tough business" instead of acting in this case.

The style of this series is extremely similar to Smalville, with a lot of bright light and water drops in the eyes of the pretty female actresses to make them look better (which is the one thing they actually can do, for the most part), with the oily 80's pornflick filter and the half-arsed special effects. Though, Smallville actually being a half- decent show, gets a pass.

There was one scene I laughed out loud at (it wasn't actually the scenes where the director/writer intended it to be funny, because those scenes were so try-hard funny that I literally cringed), it was a scene where Mr. Arrow shoots an arrow next to this generic "bad guy's" head, the "bad guy" says: "Hah, you missed!" whereas Mr. Arrow replies "I didn't LOL.".

Apparently, he shot the the arrow (which actually had a flashdrive instead of a tip!) into the usb slot behind the "bad guy", which also contained a virus (which Mr. Arrow had taught himself to program on the island... or something?) which brought down the evil database, epic!

Haha!

Great writing indeed, no clichés included! I actually dislike this series so much, I feel good writing how awful it is, maybe I can discourage a single person to watch this lobotomy of a show and that would be enough to make me feel glad.

TL;DR:

Horrendous acting. Cliché-ridden, awful, hole-ridden, unoriginal and uninspiring writing. Horrendous acting. Overrated by people who would drink the kool-aid as long as the trailer had explosions in it. Directing and special effects on high school film project standards (that's actually insulting to high schoolers, since they actually have creativity, sorry). Acting, horrendous. Terrible makeup. Jokes and humour about as hilarious as reading obituaries.

Acting; horrendous.

Was the above review useful to you?

193 out of 332 people found the following review useful:

Another comic book hero poorly rendered on television

1/10
Author: rwburkhardt
18 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The writing for this series is beyond simplistic, and is heavy handed- which coincidentally aligns perfectly with the amateurish direction and phenomenally bad acting. David Ramsey puts in the best performances, which should speak volumes about the stink quality of the other actors. The CGI quality is laughable- video games have better effects for Pete's sake. The editing of the fight sequences at times look as if a live actor is fighting a blue screen and the foes are edited in later, and rather poorly at that. Then it looks as if frames are removed to make the action appear faster; The result is the "Arrow" is fighting a bit out of phase with the other combatants, and the action looks choppy as well. Two episodes in, and I can't imagine this hopeless dreck surviving a complete season- even on a two-bit channel like the CW.

Was the above review useful to you?

258 out of 465 people found the following review useful:

An Alternative take on the vigilante world

10/10
Author: Christian Lindholm
11 October 2012

I just saw the first episode of Arrow. and frankly i was amazed. this Series fell right into my taste and i can't wait to see more.

This world is apparently based on an old super hero (arrow - green arrow) i cannot say i have read it buy i will most certainly consider it after seeing this pilot!

Where it separates, and distinguishes, itself from other Superhero series/movies is it is MUCH grittier and dark. Where as other superhero focuses on "merely" disarming the bad guys without hurting them overly much Arrow has no problem with killing or maiming them.

Another difference is Arrow seems to be mainly after the white collared criminals of his city rather than some "super villain" bent on world domination.

The acting, fight scenes and filming is superb! the music fits perfectly with the show. dark and gritty.

I immensely enjoyed the first episode and i can't wait for more! - 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 51:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history