Una noche (2012) Poster

(2012)

User Reviews

Add a Review
27 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
9/10
A brilliant and very Cuban film
Ollie Green17 March 2012
I was delighted to attend the world premier of Una Noche at the Berlin Film Festival. I loved it, and judging from the audience's reaction, it went down very well.

Mulloy's cinematography feels very modern and sleek. The film has a high-budget feel, but I imagine the real budget was surprisingly small, and working in Cuba will no doubt present endless challenges to the director's artistic vision. The technique of montaging-in seemingly unrelated shots into fairly simple scenes definitely builds up a complex and rich background portrayal of Cuba, deeply aesthetic in nature. I'd say this technique works pretty well.

The film's real strength, however, is in its acting. All three lead characters have a brilliantly simply and very human chemistry, which Mulloy captured expertly. This is definitely a film about human relationships, not politics, and so appeals to the heart instead of the head. The plot works on a very simple premise, but that seems fitting. This is a very Cuban film - intellectually unsophisticated, but rich in heart and down-to-earth observations. Earthy, if you will.

The bold decision to set sail in the middle of the film splits it into two parts: a very colourful and vibrant portrayal of life (both good and bad) on dusty Cuba, and a bluey-grey abstract half which is both open and claustrophobic. In both parts, it is the acting which really prevails. The pacing was always good - with the film remaining relatively constant, as opposed to a fast-slow-fast-slow etc affair.

I left the cinema feeling as though Mulloy had not set out to impart a message, but rather to observe and tell a story. The film is surprisingly apolitical in its stance, given what it portrays and the subject matter itself. I'd say this film is classic storytelling mixed with a rich insight into Cuba. Maybe I'll go there for myself one day to see what it's like!
23 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Beautiful film, great music and interesting look into Cuba
bnolan021 February 2012
I had the privilege to watch this film at Berlinale 2012, and afterward to hear a Q and A with some of the actors, as well as one of the cinematographers and the director.

I really enjoyed this film. I found the story gripping, the actors convincing (especially considering they were previously untrained)and the overall film kept me hooked. In particular i felt the film showed a great balance between following the story while also managing to include a lot of street shots showing regular people doing regular things. I liked the way this was blended into the story, but didn't detract from it at all. Something else i think deserves a mention is the music and sound engineering. For a low budget film i found it superb. Not only was the music well chosen, and fitting for the scenes changes, but the overall audio presentation was great (this may have been partly due to the theater we were in though).
22 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Una Noche captures the real heart of Cuba
joeshrimp15 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Some of the most sought after tickets at Tribeca 2012 were for the triple award winning Una Noche. A number of additional screenings sold out quickly, but there were still long queues of people hopeful to get in.

So did it deserve all the hype? I certainly think so. As a Brit who has lived in Cuba, I think Lucy Mulloy's film captured the best and the worst of Havana perfectly. Beautifully shot in well known landmarks, but also off the beat locations, the film reveals parts of the city not only unfilmed, but rarely accessed by outsiders before. As an energetic ride through one day and night in raw and gritty Havana, Una Noche captures the passion of its people, the despair in their lives, but also the love and laughter they share.

The non-actors performances were stunning, their natural presence and ability to light up the screen justifies the long search Mulloy undertook in Cuban schools to find them. Dariel Arrechada and Javier Nunez Florian shared a much deserved best actor award, proving they are real stars in the making.

Lucy Mulloy fell in love with Cuba ten years ago and this passion shines through the whole film. Based on a true story, ironically the film began a real life drama of it's own when Javier Nunez Florian and Anailin de la Rua de la Torre fled in Miami without even making it to New York for the premiere in a much publicised case of life imitating art. Their defection is another story in itself, what Una Noche does is presents a rare and insightful view of a closely guarded country where many people make the choice of taking to the treacherous ninety miles of water between it and America.

The final act of the journey on a makeshift raft ties everything the film is about together so well, optimistic youth, base human instincts, loyalty vs. selfishness and escape from a claustrophobic life. Una Noche really captures the real heart of Cuba. Having lived there, I was transported back to Havana in a way I've never been since leaving.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Fantastic screenplay script and acting
vidyanarasimha24 January 2013
This is a fantastic movie. All actors enacted their characters very well. The script (even though its in Spanish) and screen play are great!! Or more appropriately, the sub-titles convey the mood of a scene without losing anything in translation. The movie is action packed, has nail- biting moments, and shows a lot of fun and excitement along with desperation. The sound track is beautiful and makes me want to visit Cuba.

The Q & A session at the end of the movie in the TriBeCa Film Festival was very insightful about how the movie was made, despite the challenges. A small team of extremely dedicated and talented people have come together as a great crew to make this fantastic movie. Would love to watch this again in the theaters - can't wait for it's national theater release in the US. Hope it gets nominated for an Oscar and wins too!
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Gripping tale of survival in "Una Noche" reviewed at IFF Panama
sinnerofcinema19 April 2013
Lucy Mulloy's "Una Noche" (One Night) takes you into the depths of the Cuban culture and exposes how far its main characters are willing to go to find a better life. Daniel Arrechaga, who plays Raul, is an energetic free spirit who's been drowning in the sedentary existence of his mundane job while at the same time trying to sell and trade whatever he can to support his HIV positive prostitute mother. But time is running out as Raul's gets restless and proceeds to unintentionally create a situation for himself that will force him to flee in order to avoid prosecution. His childhood friend Elio (Javier Núñez Florián) and sister Lila (Anailín de la Rúa de la Torre) are in similar desperate situations as they find themselves facing daily austerity in the face of an impending bleak future. Raul's unawareness of Elio's feelings towards him makes matters ever more interesting as both men choose to embark on an odyssey at sea on a made up raft. Their plans are altered by Lila, a sudden addition to their trip. With only a concept and very little to work with, this threesome sets out to sea hoping to survive the treacherous and at times life threatening waters in order find a new life in Miami. All three find themselves in a dicey situation as Lila's menstruation becomes a call to feast from hungry sharks and a catalyst to an unnerving and troubling ending.

The leads performances and fascinating look into surviving a very repressed Cuban society with stern consequences for those who choose to engage in minor infractions, is what makes this remarkable and sexually charged feature a journey you will never forget.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
truly beautiful movie
c c25 May 2015
I'm a Cuban who spent more than two decades living in the island thus I know what authenticity means when it comes to judging what is really Cuban and what is not. This is a very beautiful and quite accurate movie when it comes to the Cuba that I know. I wonder what kind of help Mulloy the director received from people in Cuba because the script couldn't be more Cuban (language expressions, characters, locations and so on). She has managed to give us a very fresh picture of the Cuban reality despite of course the necessary dosage of fiction that the movie carries. I think Mulloy achievement with this production is far from trivial. Other more resourceful and heavy weights in the movie industry like Benicio del Toro have not being able, in my personal opinion, to capture Cuba so powerfully (thinking of "7 days in havana"). Kudos to Mulloy and all the people involved with this production for this wonderful gift to the world, but especially to the Cubans living abroad who can't stop from missing the island every single day of their lives. Thank you and know that have given this review a 9 because I don't believe in perfection.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
there is no authentic escape
Lee Eisenberg2 December 2014
"Una noche" looks at the conditions in modern Cuba that have driven many citizens to flee the country. A common debate in the US is whether the conditions in Cuba are due more to the Castro brothers or to the US embargo/blockade*. This movie shows that whatever the case, the conditions there are pretty bad. As with the rest of Latin America, the tourists stay in fancy hotels but the hotel's employees don't get to share the tourists' experiences in the rest of the country. It turned out that the plot took on a real dimension when it premiered in the US: Javier Nuñez Florián and Anailín de la Rúa de la Torre both disappeared, reportedly defecting to the US. These things will probably continue as long as the embargo/blockade exists. Anyway, it's a really good movie.

*The US calls it an embargo, Cuba calls it a blockade.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Auspicious debut of NY based director who ably captures contradictions inherent in modern day Cuban society
Turfseer1 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
'Una Noche', is first time feature director Lucy Mulloy's take on modern day Cuba and its attendant contradictions. Mulloy is New York based but spent a good deal of time in Cuba, learning about its culture. In the first third of the film, before the main plot kicks in, we're introduced to Lila, a teenager living in Havana with her brother Elio and her parents.

Lila serves as both narrator and 'observer' of the action. She is worried about her brother Elio, who has befriended the homophobic Raúl, who both work at a pantry. Elio has developed a secret crush on Raúl, who has dreams of escaping to Miami in order to make a better life for himself.

Mulloy not only sets out to tell a story based on a real-life event, but also give us a feel for what Cuba is like today. The city of Havana appears to be full of run-down buildings and cars from the 1950s, still running on the street. Cuba is still a paternalistic culture, evidenced by its widespread disdain for gay people. We see that when a group of youths on bicycles taunt a gay kid walking on the street.

Raúl's homophobia is also on constant display—in one particular memorable scene, he curses out a prostitute after he discovers she's a transsexual. Raúl also may be typical of the 'macho' type who treats women as sex objects. He's always coming on to Lila who will have none of it, and protects herself by taking Taekwondo lessons. Lila is also alienated when she follows her father and observes him making love to another woman.

It takes a while but the plot gets in gear when Raúl purchases some medication on the black market for his AIDS-infected mother, who works as a prostitute. When he comes home to give her the medication, he finds her having sex with a tourist which enrages him. Raúl assaults the tourist and later we find out that he's wanted by the police since the tourist may actually end up dying (assaulting tourists appears to be a very serious offense, in economically depressed Cuba).

Now Raúl must go the U.S. or else he'll end up rotting in a Cuban prison. Elio, reluctant earlier, now decides to go with Raúl to the U.S. Lila, the perennial observer, confronts Elio in front of Raúl, and begs him not to go with him. When she can't dissuade him, she agrees to help the guys with their makeshift raft. The superstitious Raúl insists on going to a woman who attempts to lift a potential curse the three may be facing, when they're adrift at sea.

The last third of the movie and the dark moment of the second act is when Raúl, Lila and Elio attempt to make it to the U.S. on their flimsy raft. Neither the motor or GPS work, so they're relegated to paddling with tiny oars. I won't give away the ending but suffice it to say, things don't go well for the hapless trio.

Dariel Arrechada steals the show as the rough and surly Raúl. The part of Lila (played by Anailin de la Rua de la Torre) is underdeveloped since her role appears mainly relegated to the part of the narrator. Javier Nuñez Florian does well as the less extroverted Elio, playing off nicely against the more aggressive Raúl. In a major real-life postscript to the film, both actors playing Lila and Elio, ended up defecting to the United States.

Lucy Mulloy is an up and coming director to watch. She has a feel for both the camera and the actors she directs. Mulloy not only captures the troubled nature of Cuban society but also its incredible buoyancy. In her next feature, perhaps it might be a good idea to rely less on narration to move her story along. I have no doubt that Hollywood will be offering this talented director some higher budgeted jobs in the future.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Raul is planning to venture out of Cuba to Miami, and asks his friend Elio to help him, but they are faced with many challenges.
Elinor8 September 2016
. Overall I really I enjoyed this film. I thought that it did a nice job showing the daily lives of Cubans, that some to this very day still have to go through. It should the social and economic crisis of Cuba, and how most people are treated very poorly due to their social status. The actors in the film were able to emotionally and physically act in the way that made everything seem more surreal, and the fact that they spoke the native language, made things even more intriguing to watch. Seeing this film can make others realize that there are people in the world who are less fortunate, and are living in extreme and horrible conditions, and have to commit to doing something that they would not do if they were given a choice. I would not have changed anything in the film, because I was emotionally connected to every scene that was presented, the ending of the film led me to curiosity, because it doesn't actually tell you what will happen to the main actors, it leaves you thinking what you would think will happen, and that makes a great film. Based on this reasoning I would give this film a 5/5 stars
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
a welcome story
tsimshotsui5 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Una Noche gives a nuanced perspective of Cubans in Havana that I can trust. It tells the story of a brother and sister and Raul. Raul and the brother (Elio) have been planning to cross to Miami. An incident makes their plan the very top priority, and the sister, Lila finds out. We gradually figure out that Elio is in love with Raul, though never explicitly spelled out, and is willing to do everything for him. Raul has had a difficult life, with his mother having AIDS and his father gone. He is apparently in Miami, and Raul desperately wants to be with him. But that leaves Raul to take care of everything, and we find out he does sex work to make ends meet. Lila is adept at taekwondo and is always just by herself. She prefers to watch people than talk to them. The exception is her brother Elio, who she said she couldn't live without. Together the three of them set off to Miami. I would have liked the movie to have centered Elio more, since he is the center of it all. We get to appreciate him through his sister, and through Raul, but we don't quite get to spend time with him as his own character. Dariel Arrechaga is effective and magnetic as Raul. I loved the film showing the complexities of life in Cuba, without it implicitly going one way (the usual way when Cuba is viewed through US Capitalist lens).
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Very Entertaining Film
magilroy5 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Taking place in Havana, Cuba, Una Noche, directed by Lucy Mulloy depicts the struggle of three individuals before and during their attempt to escape to Miami. Raul, after being accused of assaulting a tourist, is being pursued by the cops and looks towards his best friend Elio to make a quick escape to Miami. Raul does not think twice about leaving Cuba for he just learned that his mom was a prostitute, and he is being tracked by the police. For Elio, leaving is not so easy as he would have to leave behind his close sister, Lila. Lila is a strong teenage girl who holds her own throughout the movie. This movie offers an interesting look into the city of Havana and the culture that thrives in it. From gathering the supplies for the journey to discovering the truth about their parents, Elio and Lila stick together until the end when Elio dies on the journey to Miami. Elio eventually reveals that he is gay, which ruins his friendship with Raul but does not make a difference to his loving sister, Lila. Una Noche is a brilliant film that mixes in modern topics such as the acceptance of gays and the barrier between Cuba and the U.S.. I really enjoyed the overall production of the film as it resulted in a very entertaining film. I would recommend this movie to everyone who enjoys movies.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Una Noche
Lily Schneider11 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Una Noche was probably one of the most entertaining movies I have ever seen because of its intensity. Every scene filled me with fright, surprise, and of course, questions. I think my favorite scene of the movie was the shark attack scene because it scared me (even though I almost saw it coming). The result was unexpected. I did not think Elio would go missing, and I most definitely did not think that Raul and Lila would end up right back in Cuba. Even though this feeling of uncertainty is uncomfortable, it definitely makes the film even better. I would definitely recommend watching this film if you are interested in surprise, mystery, and fast-paced action.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Enjoyed!
Nihil10 September 2016
I really enjoyed this film, it showed me how much some people want to come to the United States so bad. I understand why because they want a better life. But are they really getting a better life? They have to start over loose all there stuff and just hope that they will eventually get back up on their feet. My favorite thing about this movie was probably how it showed so many really nice scenes of the water and the only thing I disliked was a part of the plot. I did not like Elio's sister at all. She should not have even been a character. Her role has a slight effect on the movie but she seemed to ruin everything for Elio and Raul. You can tell that this film is not American by the way that the movie ends. It is a very harsh ending that most people do not seem to get unless if looked upon closely. In fact the ending of the film was the only part I did not full comprehend, if I was not for I my teacher I would have left the room thinking there was a decently happy ending.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Una Noche, The One Night. The Last Night
magonzalez-1576210 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Una Noche was a gripping film about three "friends" trying to escape Cuba for a better life in America. I enjoyed the film because there was phenomenal acting by everyone involved in the production, and I was drawn into the story. Though most of the entire movie was clear, some parts of it were a little strange to me. For instance, when Elio purchases a motor, they never make it clear whether he obtained any gas for it. Perhaps he did and it was just water logged, but that little hole confused me. Also, the ending was a little strange at first. As my class and I were watching the movie, most people thought that Raul and Lila did intact make it to Miami. The directors did a brilliant job in tying in the tourists who were in Cuba, showing that the pair did not in fact reach Miami, but were back in Havana. Unfortunately, it didn't seem very clear to some of my classmates and I admit that I was confused on the subject as well. A subject that was a little strange for me was all of the sex in the movie. I'm assuming that this was to show how the Cuban's passed the time, but it was a little strange. Also, I found it really interesting that the brought in the LGBT community. They showed the reactions of everyone towards gay men in Havana, being called names and insulted. I thought the most powerful example was when Elio kisses Raul. Raul freaks out and can't stop talking about how weird it is, but Lila seems to understand Elio and even sympathizes with him.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Loved it
logatherum8 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This has been my favorite film out of the three that we, as a class, have watched. I really enjoyed it because I felt as though the movie never really lost my attention; I always was excited to know what would happen next. There was just so many themes- and so much suspense! The themes in this movie particularly intrigued me, and interested me, because I could relate to them in terms of American society a little more than the other movies. The fact that the males seemed to act sexist towards the females, like when Raul pushed himself on multiple girls on multiple scenes when they declined him. Even when Lila, Elio and Raul were rowing to Miami, Lila barely rowed, as if it were a "man's" job. There was also quite a bit of bullying along with this, like when the girls in the street were making fun of Lila for the hair on her arms. Another main theme was homosexuality. There were so many references and slang terms used in this film, and most of the characters treated homosexuality as a joke and something gross that is not to be spoken of. I thought it was really interesting and surprising when Elio kissed Raul while he was sleeping, and how his sister completely accepted it, and Raul did not. This makes me wonder if Cuba is as evolved as we are when it comes to accepting homosexuality. There was also a lot of sex in this movie, and sexual advances, such as, again, when Raul pushed himself on multiple females, trying to force them to get together with him. Elio and Lila's mother was also cheating on their father with another man, and Lila actually saw them, which must've been hard on her. Raul's mother was dying from AIDS, yet was still prostituting herself, which Raul also walked in on her with a client, similarly to Lila's situation. During the movie introduction that Mac did, he mentioned that two of the actors went missing during the filming of this film, and once they were found pled for a political asylum. This interested me, and made me wonder; what does this mean? A political asylum is defined in the dictionary as "the protection granted by a nation to someone who has left their native country as a political refugee." So, this basically means that one can apply for asylum and can be granted refugee status. One can apply if you have fled your home country in fear for your life, and do not want to go back. The actors, Javier Nunez Florian (the character of Elio) and Anailin de la Rua de la Torre (the character of Lila) were the pair who went missing during the filming of this movie, while at an airport in Miami. Even their costar who played Raul, did not know where they were or why they had disappeared, which caused director and the entire film crew to panic. Thankfully, three days later, the two (who played twins in the movie) were not only found, but also were pleading political asylum. Interestingly, these two happened to be in a romantic relationship outside of the set!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Pretty Good Watch
Pablo8 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I was pretty impressed with this film overall in terms of the camera angles, shooting ideas, etc., but the main plot I felt was kind of weak. They could have elaborated a bit more on that I feel. I also felt like most parts of the film were rather unnecessary. For example when the one guy was masturbating with a dead fish, or when they gay cross dresser started making out with Raul and his penis came flying out across the screen. Scenes like these and the one where the mom was pleasuring the one old guy with oral sex to me were completely useless, as they did not contribute to the plot at all. Some things I did like were the camera angles though. I really liked how the camera went underwater frequently to show the raft from below. I thought it gave the movie a nice eerie aspect. It was also foreshadowing that something bad was going to happen while they were on the raft. I also liked how it showed the sharks underwater and stuff. I found it pretty sad how they just went in a circle and Elio died. That is one thing that does make it obviously not American though, it didn't have a happy ending.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The 90 Mile River
Cameron Crawford8 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I always knew that a large amount of Cubans migrated to Miami over the "90 Mile River", but I never knew how hard it was to leave everything behind. On top of this, the characters in the movie, Elio and Raul go through many hardships while collecting items for their travels. Both characters get in trouble with the law in one way or another. One day, Raul is giving his mother medicine for her AIDS. Since Raul's mother is a prostitute, he walks in on her pleasing a tourist, when the tourist sees Raul, he tries to chase him out the door. The tourist trips and hits his eye on a piece of metal. The tourist goes to the cops and falsely causes Raul of stabbing his eye, and punishment for assaulting a tourist is prison. This makes Raul go on the run for the rest of the movie, always evading the cops. Elio gets in trouble when he steals meat for their journey on the boat. Both Elio and Raul work in a kitchen together, so Elio goes there to steal the meat. The guards catch Elio running away, so he is also running from the police. This really shows the struggles that Cubans have to go through in order to leave the country.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Amazing film
olrovin8 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I absolutely loved everything about this film! The characters all had so much depth and complexity, the story line kept you wondering what was going to happen, and the film shots were all very interesting. I have been to Havana, Cuba myself so it was cool to see the story play out there. I think that the director did an amazing job of portraying the hardships and tough decisions that the people of Cuba have to make every day in order to survive. My favorite characters were Lila and Raul. Lila was so much tougher than she seemed in the end, and I felt that she had a lot of respect for herself and for other women despite the fact that she was bullied. I was fascinated by Raul's character and how he developed from a pretty selfish boy to a caring man in a short amount of time. While I loved this movie, there were definitely some scenes that I was not used to seeing at all like the various sex scenes. In American films, sex scenes tend to be more for viewers, and they are much more romanticized; however, in this film the sex scenes were all essential to the plot and none of them were very romantic. Overall, I love this movie and would give it 5/5 stars.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The Truth Hurts
tadegeare8 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was very attention grabbing. There was a lot of real life struggles and absolutely nothing hidden about the lives of these people. The change in the lives of Elio and his sister, Lila, as they grow up has a huge impact on their lives. They need each other because their family is breaking apart. They want to help their mother but end up leaving her. A friend Elio makes at work changes their lives when he convinces Elio to leave with him to Miami. The movie is based off of a true story and the fact that Elio dies out in the water and Raul and Lila end up back in Cuba with no happy ending. Even in American films based off of true stories they are mini pulsates to end the way the directors would expect the viewers to want. There is no crowd appeal in these films the truth is given with no cushion. Overall I think it was a well acted and well directed film.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Tragic Life
thmurphy-374148 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Una Noche is a very good movie. I'm not completely sure how much I liked it, but there was something to keep track of from the beginning of the movie to the end. *Spoiler Alert* Lila and Raul end up back on Cuba after they attempt to make it to Miami on their raft, but you could only pick up on that by understanding that the same girl that was on vacation in Cuba was on the Jetski that towed them onto the beach. It was a very sad and depressing ending, which reveals that it is everything, but an American Film. Lila, the sister of Elio, had to suffer the pain of losing her brother, Elio, and was still in Cuba. To me it just seemed like a complete waste of time and torture. A shark ate Elio, so Raul and Lila were hoping for the best as they only had a piece of their raft left over to float on. It was sad to think that Elio was suppressed by the people he hung out with to hide that he was gay the whole time. His crush on Raul was the reason for wanting to leave the country in the first place. Not every story has a happy ending, but it was definitely not this one. I would recommend it to all.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Great Film
drhupp8 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Una Noche was a very interesting film since it was depicting a true story showing the lives of two young Cuban adults trying to go through the process of illegally leaving the country to enter America. They had many troubles along the way with gathering stuff for the long 90 mile journey to the southern coast of Florida because the way they were obtaining all of their materials was by stealing everything. I thought it was really cool how everyone that could tell that they were planning on leaving didn't care about them trying to leave. Like reporting them to the police so they would get arrested. As soon as the engine on the raft didn't start up I would've turned around and headed back home because it's not really possible to travel 90 miles by paddling. Also when the GPS didn't turn on I would've headed home because it's not possible to paddle in a straight line out at sea with no land references. I would recommend this movie to someone else.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Triangle of Love
Jack8 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The film starts out with Elio, the brother of the narrator Lila, helping teach her to swim. Next, the director shows the close relationship between the two as they ride through the streets of Havana together on a bike. They seem inseparable, and Lila feels like they are inseparable. Then, Elio meets Raul who it seems that Elio takes a liking to. From that point on, Elio and Raul work in a kitchen of a hotel while preparing to migrate across the ocean 93 miles to Miami. Raul believes his dad is living there and that if they go they will have a better life. I don't think Elio has bought into the "American Dream" but it appears he will do anything for Raul. Raul dreams of driving a fast car and reuniting with is dad. The trip over seas is expedited when Raul is accused of seriously injuring a tourist. Elio drops everything and starts stealing materials to put together a raft. Lila also wants to tag along on the journey because she would do anything for Elio. They attempt to cross the ocean to Miami but don't succeed. Also, in the process Elio seems to be killed by a shark while saving his sister. They end up circling back around to Cuba. The film shows how people have hope for a better life in America but the struggle to get there is great
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Realistic
lynwood234-884-68485526 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
OK for me i was disappointed by the rating of the movie. It had too much graphic sexual content. However, the 3 main characters grew on me and kind of messed me up at the end. It is 24 hours later and I am still thinking about this movie and obsessing over it. It was really realistic except for how easy it was to walk in on someone having sex. I found the sexual content disturbing and overwrought although I get why they did it. This movie should be trimmed for younger viewers. It made me feel like i was in Cuba. I felt the pain and suffering of each of the characters that they highlighted and I understood their desperation. I don't agree with everything that happened but this movie left a mark. It should be redone and re-released here in America and Europe in my opinion with editing to a PG13 rating as the age of the protagonist was 15-16.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Fluent and Sure-Handed
John Osburn17 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Lucy Mulloy's UNA NOCHE is exquisitely edited. There are maybe two or three clichéd shots, which stand out precisely because the film as a whole is so fluent and sure handed in its visual rhythms. It is, broadly speaking, divided into two sections, both as a film and as a story: the second, which centers on the life-changing night referred to in the title, and the first, which leads up to it. In the transition from the first to the second part, a stylistic shift occurs.

The lead-up is narrated by Lila, the female protagonist, a teen-aged Cuban concerned about her brother, Elio, who is plotting to leave Havana for Miami on a rickety raft that he is constructing with his friend Raúl. His motives for leaving are more complex than it seems, but Lila only feels the impending loss that his parting would represent. She shadows him, and tracks down and tries to thwart his plan, and ultimately accompanies the two boys in their escape... READ MORE:http://osburnt.com/una-noche/
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Brilliant little gem
laneamala5 January 2014
This film is brilliant on so many levels from the story, to character development, to script, cinematography and editing. It completely conveys the chaos and desperation of trying to escape an oppressive society, that in spite of the ties of family and community, makes life unbearable. Add to that the coming of age man loving man story in a homophobic Cuba and you can see why these two young men have to run away.

The story unfolds, unrolls, runs through myriad streets, chases, alley ways, emotional twists and turns all very organically. That is the talent of the director and editor to capture the texture of the lives of the characters in the life of Cuba.

I'm surprised this film didn't garner notice or awards as far as I could tell.

Definitely worth watching. It's a great example of contemporary neorealism or neo-neorealism! This could have been a film by Passolini.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews