IMDb > Adam Chaplin (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Adam Chaplin
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Adam Chaplin More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 15 reviews in total 

25 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Would you Adam 'n' Eve it? Italian gore is back!

9/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
16 April 2012

It's not fair! Not only does Emanuele De Santi have the physique of a demi-god but he's multi-talented to boot: for his first film, Adam Chaplin, a gore drenched supernatural revenge tale, he acted, directed, wrote the music and probably served sandwiches and coffee during filming breaks as well.

The formidable De Santi plays man-mountain Adam, a tortured soul seeking revenge for the murder of his wife by horribly disfigured man/monster Denny Richards. With the help of superhuman powers endowed by a hellish imp-like creature named Derek (who dwells on his shoulder), Adam punches, chops, kicks, shreds, slices, and purées a whole heap of lowlifes in spectacularly gory fashion before finally confronting Denny for one last bloody battle.

Having seen the trailer on YouTube, I knew this was going to be an extremely violent movie, but was still unprepared for quite how insanely gory it actually is. From the get go, the red stuff flows freely, but as the film progresses, De Santi keeps on finding new and even bloodier ways to kill off his characters; by the final reel, people are being smushed, crushed, and smashed with an impressive level of ferocity, regularity, enthusiasm and creativity.

The excessive gore is obviously the film's major selling point, and it certainly doesn't disappoint: bones are snapped, heads crushed, bodies torn asunder—and it all looks superb (even the CGI blood, which apparently utilises some new-fangled method to make it more realistic than before). In one memorable scene, a victim gets thrown with such force against a wall that his entire body is reduced to a fleshy pancake; another sees a man impaled on a metal pole (up the jacksie and out his chest) and, still alive, set alight and paraded around by Adam as a grotesque, flaming trophy.

There is, however, more to enjoy about Adam Chaplin than just the splatter: De Santi might be a newcomer to the scene and his budget limited, but he has delivered a fine looking film, with stylish visual flourishes aplenty, a well developed ultra-violent comic-book feel and unique characters. I love how nearly everyone in the film (other than Adam) sports some kind of prosthetic facial appliance to make them seem comically grotesque (reminding me a bit of the assorted weirdos in Ryan Nicholson's Hanger), and Derek is a particularly cool creation: unsettling, but not without his endearing qualities either, the creepy little fellow delights in revealing himself to each victim just before Adam tears them a new one.

Produced by Italian production house Necrostorm, a company 'dedicated to creating horror, sci-fi and fantasy products that convey the 80s/90s atmosphere', Adam Chaplin is a serious contender for the title of goriest film ever made, and a real treat for splatter fans, perhaps even signalling the return of Italy to the forefront of gore-drenched horror. Enjoy!

8.5 out of 10, rounded up to 9 for IMDb.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Adam Chaplin, the demonic ex-Chippendale fist of the north star.

7/10
Author: Greenzombidog from United Kingdom
5 March 2012

Adam Chaplin is the story of a man who wants revenge for the murder of his wife. This desire for vengeance has seen him strike a deal with a nameless demon who has made his home just behind Adams' right shoulder. The outcome of this deal has given Adam some insane fighting powers which will be giving the local deformed gang boss and all his unlucky stooges a real headache.

Anyone familiar with the Manga or anime "The fist of the North star" will love this movie. It's like they've brought the crazy violence from this story to life only with a guy who looks like a male stripper as the lead. The gore is just outrageous heads are smashed arms are pulled off, people explode. The movie is obviously a small production so the effects are on a budget but that just means that these guys have had to be creative. There are some pretty neat little touches in this movie that I hadn't seen before, I especially like the effects for the demon when he appears although it's very basic I think it was very effective. The gore effects in this movie are mostly practical there's a tiny bit of CG in there but overall it's got that old school feel. It really is a triumph in these respects. The final rooftop battle is really impressive and worth the price of admission alone.

The only thing I found lacking was the story. A lot of what is said in the synopsis is not actually said in the film. Also the ending seemed a little rushed which was a real shame as the film has a great look and feel with some quite fitting music too.

The lo-fi production may put a lot of people off but if your gore hound or you enjoyed the "The story of Ricky" you should definitely check this one out.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

The Mecca of Gore freaks

10/10
Author: Avinash Shukla from India
22 January 2013

After a long time I finally got something very entertaining to watch. 'Adam Chaplin' as the name suggests is the story of Adam Chaplin (Emanuele De Santi), who desperately loved his wife Emily (Valeria Sannino). They had a happy and complacent family life when his wife went into bad books of the demented and sadistic city mobster Denny (Christian Riva) and his equally animalistic sons Derek (Giulio De Santi) and Ben (Paolo Luciani). Emily had borrowed a sum of money from Denny but due to inability to pay her debt on time, she is brutally burned alive by Denny and his sons. Adam is living a secluded and sad life and is all set to exact revenge on the gangsters. For this Adam conjures a demon and promises to give his soul to it once his revenge is exacted. The demon makes Adam's right shoulder its residence and gives Adam supernatural strength to bring down his enemies. Armed with supernatural strength, Adam is now on the trail of his enemies and will not stop unless he has killed them all.

The story is fairly simple at heart, but is also bit different from the others because of the demon. Emanuele with his chiseled body and rolled up eyes looks threatening and different from most other protagonists. His brutal killings make him demonic and fearsome. The viewers may forgive his attitude for the cause he is after his foes. The gore is great and above everything, so you may literally want to take bath after the film is over. I enjoyed this film for its simple storyline and the presence of demon, who talks strange and makes Adam's enemies die of severe hemorrhage with blood imploding out of their bodies. This one is fun to watch because of witty one liners specially the ones spoken by the demon. The film uses bluish color tone for no apparent reason (maybe to induce creepiness?), which is a drawback. I believe it should have used the color scheme Alexander Aja used in 'The Hills Have Eyes' remake. The fights are brutal, violent and blood-soaked. Adam tops the punching chart with around five to six hundred blows in one go, making the pulp out of his foes. Denny's part is menacing and the viewers may find his actions very gruesome and inhuman. He and his sons behave like true psychopaths, who don't have a corner left for humanity in their hearts. So viewers will never empathize with them when they get fairly more than what they deserve. Another interesting character is Mike Carerra (Monica Muñoz), who is hell of a sociopath and doesn't like to talk to anyone. He is an Army veteran, whose list of war crimes is longer than the days he has lived on Earth. He is a killing machine and the gangsters deploy him to avenge Adam.

Emanuele De Santi is the new name in the world of gore, and 'Adam Chaplin' is like the Mecca of gore freaks. However, unlike Peter Jackson's 'Braindead', 'Adam Chaplin' has a serious storyline and every violent act has a genuine cause, so those looking for the tint of comedy in this will be somewhat disappointed. I am really happy to see Italy back in action. I really lament the death of Lucio Fulci, who I consider the enforcer of gore and violence in serious horror films. Ruggero Deadato is another name here, but he has confined himself within the limits exploitation horror. 'Adam Chaplin' is not an exploitation horror, as those who are punished are no Mr. goody-to-shoes. Overall, this is a great entertainer and we are hearing good tidings from Italy now. I hope to have a sequel of this with equally awesome actions or even more. I now remember the tag line that says "Nothing can prepare you for this extreme fight" and I guess Emanuele De Santi was right about this.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

What? A shot-on-video flick that isn't lame? Awesome!

10/10
Author: udar55 from Williamsburg, VA
10 September 2013

A musclebound drifter named Adam Chaplin (Emanuele De Santi, also the director) wanders through Heaven City looking for the man who killed his girlfriend. Pushing him in his quest is a small demon that crawls out of a upside down crucifix scar on his back. His target, a deformed guy named Denny who runs the city and survives on the chemical Neurocril 3, hires a bunch of goons to take this threat out before he can reach him. Existing like some kind of live action anime film, this is a total 180 from the film reviewed above. De Santi obviously had limited funds, but goes above and beyond to infuse his SOV film with a sense of style. It also helps that it might be one of the bloodiest movies I've ever seen. The action is pretty much non-stop and keeps getting crazier and crazier until the finale where Chaplin is making heads explode in gory-soaked scenes that would make Ricky Oh faint. It is going to change your life or challenge THE EXORCIST as an all-time horror great? No. But if you are looking for some insane skull smashing, this is the champ.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Haemophiliac homage

8/10
Author: MRDA from United Kingdom
26 December 2012

A homage to hyperviolent wuxia anime, supernatural vengeance flicks, and grindhouse, this bukkake of blood delivers more splatter for the platter than the filthiest gokkun fest. The directorial and acting debut of one Emanuele De Santi, this supernatural revenger flick plays out like some twisted hybrid of The Crow and Fist of The North Star, surpassing the live-action version of the latter in terms of sheer spectacle. A colourful cast, including some monstrous yet oddly sympathetic villains, help keep things ticking over between the bloodjaculatory set pieces. A testament to the fact that one can stretch a tight budget a long way. Hopefully, this'll not be the last seen of Santi.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

The action sequence can be watched and re-watched for many days...mounts...years...yes that's why many call it a cult.

10/10
Author: George Hittach from Germany
7 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Since I managed to stumble upon the pre-order on the day it was released (knew of the movie before, just didn't know when the release was) I figured I would order it. It didn't really look like a movie I would love, but it promised lots of blood and I figured I could review it at least. A few days later it arrived and now that I've seen it I think I WAS WRONG. An excellent movie.

The plot is like something out of any random action movie (or "The Crow") where a man is out to kill the person who killed his wife. In this case it was a mafia boss, and the lead man is Adam Chaplin - a muscular, long-haired Italian who has summoned a demon on his back. The demon is helping him find the mafia boss and also gives Adam powers not of this earth. Through-out the movie he is punching holes through heads and bellies, crushing and ripping off arms and legs, and everything else you'd imagine someone from a cartoon would do.

Yes, I say cartoon because this is quite literally "just" a live-action Anime. It mostly reminds me of a "Fist of the North Star" because that's an Anime I grew up watching that was in the veins of this. But of course, Adam Chaplin isn't as awesome as Kenshiro is/was. But the violence is like the similar Animes - blood spraying in ridiculous amounts, kicks and punches are done in rapid speeds, people either wear masks or have disfigured faces (all to try and make iconic characters of sorts). This movie was extremely entertaining upon first watch and still works after days and days.

The problem (if you are a purist splatter fan) with the violence in this one isn't how it looks but the fact that there is so much CGI used to enhance it. But I love the way the CGI looks here, and that have improved a lot the violence-realism mostly in simple sequence: like the sequence where the homeless get chopped with machete. Maybe too much blood - like if someone is punched in the face they use about a bucket of blood for that alone.

The demon on Adam back is another great touch, since Adam Chaplin manages to mix regular action, huge amounts of gore and unearthly things such as the demon.

The bad thing on my opinion is the movie carries a very bluish look and I don't know if that's because it is set in a fictional country called "Heaven Valley" (stupid name for a country). It appears to be wanting a Hollywood-look and whether that's true or not I don't know, but a less "stylish" look would've been to prefer.

All in all "Adam Chaplin" is probably the only movie that satisfy people who wants to see a live-action Anime (so basically, Anime fans) and people who wants to see splatter. It's an awesome movie for many reasons, mostly the action sequence can be watched and re-watched for many days...mounts...years...yes that's why many call it a cult. There's no need for me to warn you that you won't get a very good story with it, though, since anyone who puts this in the DVD player will be certain about it being a mindless splatter, but don't expect to laugh as much, this didn't set out to be funny.

George Hittach

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

If all indi's could make gore fests this good Hollywood would stop making them.

9/10
Author: stormruston from victoria bc
24 August 2012

WHat a strange moody fun movie. Italy is again King of the low budget horror gore, this is on par or better then the best of the Japaneses extreme, if you like things such as Machine Girl or Tokyo Gore Police, I can highly recommend this movie.

Effects where way over the top in blood and gore, a 12 out of 10. The acting was good or better, the make up effects great, the style, something often lacking in the low budget moves was really we done. The was a continuity of bizarre, slightly off normal throughout the movie that really worked.

All in all I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and I hope Emanuele De Santi does many more.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Wham,Bam-Thank you Adam

10/10
Author: Daniel Koehnen from Germany
8 May 2012

I don't to do a plot summary here and do my rating directly! Finally my UK DVD from Scanbox of this movie arrived i was eagerly waiting for! I have heard a lot about it and also saw material on YouTube and was dying to see it. Emanuele de Santi's Debut is a Hell of a Movie that was made on a shoestring of a budget. Ultra Violent,Blood Drenched,Body Ripping & Head Splitting! One of the best Low Budget Movies i have seen in years,and trust me that i have seen a lot! ADAM CHAPLIN is far away from Splatter campiness. You can see that de Santi had a Vision of his Movie and he was able to realize it like he wanted! You also can notice that the Production Company NECROSTORM gave him the freedom to make decision and that they trusted him to make the right decisions for his Movie. You see that he is a Fanboy who is influenced by Movies like FIST OF THE NORTH STAR,STORY OF RICKY,BRAINDEAD,THE CROW etc. But instead of just copying parts and patterns of his favorite movies he uses the influences as a nutritious food for his own movie. Emanuele de Santi is a One Man Army; he directed,was involved in the Special FX,wrote & composed the Score,wrote the script and also plays Chaplin. For the movie they extra invented a new technique for the Special Effects called H.A.B.S. (Hyperrealistic Anime Blood Simulation) and this technique makes the SFX very unique. I love the fact that they used mostly handmade FX instead of making them all on the PC and only used the H.A.B.S. as enhancer for the FX. But the Digital FX that are in the Movie are great too, a few realistic looking Bullet Time FX, downpouring Rain and Digital FX in the End Sequence could be from a Hollywood Blockbuster Movie! The plot of the movie isn't anything that hasn't been told yet and maybe isn't very surprising,but in the year 2012 there are not many stories that haven't been told anyway. But what makes this movie recommendable is how the Story,the Effects,the Score and the Atmosphere add up and make ADAM CHAPLIN complete and highly entertaining! I think de Santi's story is influenced by THE CROW and also GOETHE'S FAUST. Personally it also reminded me on Jim van Bebber's DEADBEAT AT DAWN in which the Gang Leader wants to avenge his killed Girlfriend. Also the setting of Heaven Valley reminded me on DEADBEAT AT DAWN;wasted and trashed houses,an environment so cold,grim and dark nobody wants to live in or can survive in without going crazy. The whole setting also reminded me on all the 80's Italian Post- Apokalyptic Movies like BRONX WARRIORS or METROPOLIS 2000. The hazy blue filter they used in the movie is a great enhancer to make this whole scenario more believable and dismal. Now just mix in some Japanese Comic influences and gallons of gore and you can imagine how ADAM CHAPLIN looks like. Have you ever watched the Live Action Adaption of FIST OF THE NORTH STAR with Gary Daniels(1995,Tony Randel)? Do you still remember how disappointed you were while and after watching it? Don't worry, things gonna be okay again now , cause ADAM CHAPLIN looks like the FIST OF THE NORTH STAR Live Action Movie SHOULD HAVE looked like! The whole cast of the movie is well chosen, there is no single actor that makes you think you are watching a porn with cheesy dialogues when they speak. Sure, some of the Actors are overacting, but on purpose cause each single character is kinda crazy & freaky. Almost all of the Characters look like degenerated mutated freaks. The only person who looks normal is Adam. I think the reason for this is : there is not a single person in this country who is kind-hearted except Adam. There is also symbolism in the movie: The name of the country is Heaven Valley, but there are upside down turned crosses everywhere,everyone is corrupt and under the control of a Gangster; it is paradoxical and the name of the Country should be something like Hell Hole instead of Heaven Valley. A lot of Low Budget Movies from all over the world just look cheesy,stupid and totally cheap but De Santi was capable to get away from this path and delivered a Movie that does NOT look like it is filmed on Digital Video for a Direct-to-DVD release at your next Blocksucker Video Store! Believe it or not, but ADAM CHAPLIN makes your jaw drop while watching it. I plead to give Emanuele de Santi more money to make another movie. Just imagine what he and his enthusiastic Crew around him will come up with when they have a Big Budget! ADAM CHAPLIN is highly recommendable and i am sure this Movie will become a Cult Classic as soon as the word spreads! Get your DVD now and have a hell of a time in Heaven Valley! Support the Creators & Producers with your purchase of the DVD that they can deliver us more of their cinematic visions in the future! The DVD has clean & crisp video and same for the audio. The Picture Format is 16 x 9 Anamorphic Widescreen and the Audio Track is Dolby Digital 2.0 in Italian with English Subtitles. You can purchase it as UK DVD from Scanbox,who put out a great release. But I personally suggest to order it from the Production Company NECROSTORM directly cause their Disc has some additional Bonus Material that is not on the DVD from Scanbox and includes a Comic Book too. The Necrostorm DVD is written on DVD-R support with a special procedure that permit to create unique copies (digitally different from customer to customer). This procedure even improve quality, risistance, longevity of DVDs.You can order the Scanbox DVD usually on Amazon(where i ordered mine) or you buy the Necrostorm DVD

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Get ready to unleash the power of Love,Vengeance and The Adam Chaplin..BLOODSHED AT ITS BEST

8/10
Author: Manav Singh from India(Punjab)
2 August 2013

The first words that came out from my mouth after watching this movie were Oh my god what did i just watch..I finally got something totally different to watch out in form of Adam Chaplin.It was far far better than my expectations

Now what makes this movie different??What are it's plus points??

1)Extreme bloodshed ever witnessed which makes it a must watch for fans of this genre

2)Awesome background music which is almost nonstop and suits so well to each and every scene

3)The way camera is used to shoot the sequences from different angles especially closely shot scenes are really a treat to watch.

4)The deformed get up of almost all the characters gives it a distinctive look.

5)The pace with which movie progresses with every scene and even the flashback making sense out of it..You won't find any scene illogical and meaningless

6)The conversations between the actors are engaging and they won't bore you even for a second

7)The gory action reflects creativity and is unforgettable and breathtaking

8)The climax when demon resting on Adam's shoulder shoulder says There is no distance between you and your desire and adam without touching deformed antagonist destroys him using all his energy is just outstanding..

Direction by Emanuele de santi who himself plays Adam the protagonist is praiseworthy and the special effects are visual delight

Some of the scenes are graphically designed and appear artificial which do bother the viewers but as it is more of a fiction so they are acceptable..

All in all Adam Chaplin is a low budget gem which is completely distinct in each and every perspective from other flicks of this genre

I rate it 8 out of 10 as such kinda movie has never been made..

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

The best horror movie in this century!

10/10
Author: dasa108 from Montevideo, Uruguay
17 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Italia offered such of the best horror movies in the last 50 years. When Italian filmmakers took some movie genre (western), they recreate the genre in such a way that become better than the original. If we watch spaghetti westerns, then is hard to see American western without the music of Ennio Morricone and the cinematography of Sergio Leone. This movie is like a western. We see a history with love, revenge, and even the bad gay has codes with his family and the society. De De Santi's brothers made a movie full of love for horror, western, action and martial arts. If we go deeper, this kind of movies is a signature. The movie define your career. And the De Santi's brothers will make the best gift for the people who like what is our life and soul. The music, the photography, the special effects (the japan movies like Machine Girl and Vampire Girl vs. Frankenstein Girl are Bambi in comparison), show the best lesson: if you have a low budget, you can d miracles. And this movie is a miracle.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history