IMDb > Snow White: A Deadly Summer (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Snow White: A Deadly Summer
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Snow White: A Deadly Summer More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 14 reviews in total 

21 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Yea it's bad!

2/10
Author: paulmor909 from USA
14 April 2012

Well I heard Maureen McCormick hasn't been in too many films in a long time, so I was surprised to see her in this one! And Eric Roberts, wow I guess he will take any acting job. This is a crappy movie, I cannot think of one good thing to say about it except some of the sexy girls. The story stinks, the action is boring, the plot is bad, absolutely no craft went into making this movie. It was just a movie for the sake of making a movie. There is not suspense or entertainment value, I did watch the whole movie but I could have turned it off at almost any point and not cared! The story and the characters were just not interesting in any way to get you to care anything about them or what happens in the movie. This is about as bad as a movie can be!

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Very cheesy, bad acting and kinda lame. Marcia Brady being evil is only good thing. End is stupid. I say D+

3/10
Author: Tony Heck (cosmo_tiger@hotmail.com) from United States
16 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"25 years ago a camper was killed, the person who did it disappeared never to be seen or heard from again." A girl named Snow (not kidding) is sent to a discipline camp by her evil step mother (McCormack) because she thinks she is trying to break up her and her day (also not kidding). While there Snow begins to notice strange happenings and uncovers a hidden secret about the camp. This is a movie very much geared toward younger high school girls so that may be a reason I didn't really like it. The movie is very cheesy and low budget and you can really tell. A girl gets killed by a necklace she is wearing and there is no blood (still not kidding). The best thing I can say about this is that it is kinda cool to see Marcia Brady in a role like this. Overall, not very good but it is kinda entertaining for a while. The ending is so dumb though it makes you regret watching it. I give it a D+.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Get your money back

Author: nevadaluke from United States
8 May 2012

This is a movie that is so bad that I called Redbox and complained that it was unwatchable -- and they agreed and gave me three free rentals.

Eric Robers and Maureen McCormick are by no means A list actors but they deserve to be embarrassed by this incredibly amateurish effort.

Every element of this movie -- including writing, acting and production values -- would get a failing grade in any university film class.

The only good thing to come out of it is that for the price of one rental, I received three free rentals -- or a net gain of two rentals. You may want to try the same thing -- rent this, then call Redbox and complain at 1-866-733-2693 and they may reward you with free rentals as well. Eventually, Redbox will decide that "Snow White: A Deadly Summer" is costing them more in refunds than it is earning in rentals and they will decide to pull it from circulation. That is the market at work.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

On a whole new level of terrible

1/10
Author: jamsm-1 from United Kingdom
12 May 2012

The only thing I can say about this film is that I hope they were trying to make some kind of parody.

It's so incredibly bad it's destined to end up in the IMDb worst movies of all time.

The night scenes were shot in the day just with a filter. Due to the production values I thought I'd accidentally hired porn for the first 30 minutes (if only).

The acting seemed like they just picked random people off the street as part of an experiment.

The script is possibly the worst part of the film, and the story, I've experienced more suspense going to the bathroom.

Save yourself the effort and only watch this film if you enjoy really really seriously awful movies with no redeeming features whatsoever. It's actually not even so bad it's good, it's just bad.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Terrible!

1/10
Author: Kelli Elliot from United States
20 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this with my friends and we rented it from red box thinking it would be actually a legit Snow White story or something slightly related but no... Honestly.. It was the worst movie I've EVER SEEN!! Oh my god.. the acting was TERRIBLE! and the lighting was all during the day so the night scenes just looked blue while the daytime scenes look yellow. The plot is extremely cliché and really uncreative. The only thing related is the fact that her name is Snow for some stupid reason that doesn't make any sense. The editing was so terrible! The script was awful! "S**** you!" "No thanks. I already have a date." WHOA HO HO!!! CLEVER!!!!!! Seriously the whole time we were just sitting there like are you serious?? How do you "hide" a body by putting it pretty much on an outdoor couch covered with a blanket with her feet and face sticking out. What REALLY made me mad was EVERY night, there was a cloud before they show the actors talking in their sleeping bags. The SAME cloud. Every. Single. Time. Seriously? They can't film more clouds?? Really?? So that's my incomplete review on how terrible this movie was. I have SO much more to say but honestly, if you're taking the time to read this you hopefully won't watch it. :) PS the stars are there because they wouldn't let me say the actual word..

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

A movie so bad, I just had no idea what was going on in it.

2/10
Author: Boba_Fett1138 from Groningen, The Netherlands
5 May 2012

It's a trend to update classic fairy tales, or even let them take place in modern times, like this movie does. Or well, at least tries to do. You can't even really call this movie a modern update of the classic fairytale because this movie has absolutely nothing to do at all with the Snow White story. It just happens to feature a character named Snow White but that's about it really. It's a completely different story but definitely not a better one. On the contrary!

To be honest, I don't even know what the story is all about or what this movie is supposed to be exactly. Apparently it wanted to be a horror movie but I just can't really see it as one. It has no scares, no tension, no gore, no mystery but what is even worse, it has absolutely no enjoyment value to it. You don't feel involved with anyone or anything in this movie, also because the story just seems to be going absolutely nowhere and makes some weird and completely redundant choices, that add absolutely nothing to its main story. It makes the movie even confusing and not in a good way.

It's also a terribly cheap looking movie with a the sort of TV look to it. The kind of movie in which the night scenes are obviously taking place during the day time because they didn't had the right equipment to film during the night. They also seemed to have a problem with keeping the cameras out of the wind, since the image occasionally starts shaking a bit, which personally often distracted me as well.

Actually in all fairness, I was prepared to give this movie a 3 but that was before its horrible ending came along. It's one of those movies that feels the need to end with a surprise ending. Problem is that the surprise just isn't anything original and has been done death in movies already and besides feels like an extremely lame ending, that is an insult to its viewers.

You have bad movies that are so bad that they become fun and then you have some movies that are just simply so bad that they are just bad and nothing more than that...guess under which category this movie falls.

2/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Worst movie ever made

1/10
Author: cserij from United States
28 April 2012

Wow, this was quite possibly the worst movie ever made!! NOTHING about it was worth watching - nothing! The acting was not just bad, but it was SO BAD that I was actually embarrassed for the actors! The girl who played "Snow" & Eric Roberts were OK (hard to tell because the script was so bad!) but Marcia Brady was horrible, and so was everyone else! Honestly, I can't believe $$$ was wasted making this! Even a 12 yr old would find it cheesy and grade B. The night scenes were still light (I think they may have put a blue lens over camera at best) - that's how bad this was. I'm pretty sure a 6th grader could have made a more realistic movie.

It gets a D bordering on an F from me! Please don't waste 2 hrs of your life on this, really!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

The worst movie I have seen in a long long time

1/10
Author: Kassielee21 from United States
10 July 2012

Don't ever watch this movie. EVER!! You know how there are some movies that have all of the best actors thrown together in one amazing movie?? Well this movie is the complete opposite. It has the worst actors, camera man, and script not to mention the obviously low budget. The night scenes were filmed during the day with a filter, and they kept showing the same cloud every 10 minutes. They hid a dead body on a bench out in the open and just threw a freakin tarp on her with her shoes sticking out. Oh and the girl died by getting choked by her necklace and when it shows her body there are no marks around her neck. Oh and a woman falls off of a cliff, you hear her hit the ground, and then all of a sudden her hand reaches back up. Nothing about this movie was realistic. On top of that this movie had absolutely nothing to do with snow white at all. It was just ridiculously horrible. I would rather watch paid programming for erectile dysfunction all day than this crap!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

no dwarfs or prince can save this turkey

1/10
Author: trashgang from Midian
27 November 2012

Nowadays it's popular to clock in on the success of blockbusters. Snow White and The Huntsman (2012) is a perfect example. So here we have it, Snow White.

First of all, this has nothing to do with the story of Snow White, it's just about a girl being called Snow. Guess what, her stepmother doesn't like her and she and her husband decide to send her to a boot camp. There all her mates are killed one by one. Looks promising but it just isn't.

It was fun to see Maureen McCormick back again since I have seen her for the first time in Moonshine County Express (1977) as Sissy Hammer. Eric Roberts as dad is just in it for a teaser on the DVD cover but again it surprised me what kind of turkeys these days he's in. Another face I recognized was Shanley Caswell from Detention (2011). But it's really the story itself that makes it almost unwatchable.

The story is really a turkey were they tried to bring supernatural elements in it. sadly , they failed. Just have a look to the stepmother talking to the mirror, that rang a bell (the real Snow White). And Snow White, when she's having dreams, she sees what is going to happen to the next victim. All night sequences are shot day for night and her dreams are as stupid again as it can get. Nothing happens and it's all so ridiculous.

This is a perfect example how bad a movie can become. If you can watch it without touching the remote control and pushing the fast forward or the eject button well, then you really like turkeys.

Gore 0/5 Nudity 0/5 Effects 0/5 Story 0/5 Comedy 0/5

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Snow White: A Deadly Summer (2012)

4/10
Author: SnakesOnAnAfricanPlain from United Kingdom
5 August 2012

An absolute abomination. Shot like a porno with all the sex removed. It got off to a bad start as once shot of a staircase started to drift off to the side as though the camera man had nodded off for a split second. This film tries to do a little modern day twist on Snow White, with a 'troubled' young girl sent off to camp by her wicked stepmother. She is soon having hallucinations and murders take place. The epic scale of the awfulness is worth the two stars as it did entertain. Watch Eric "I was in The Dark Knight 4 years ago" Roberts try and hide his shame. I'm pretty sure he agreed to be in the film but wasn't paid to act. Like hiring a hooker to wait tables. "You can have my face and my name, but the acting will be a little extra". The director decided not to take him up on this offer. Maureen McCormick of Brady Bunch fame is the evil stepmother who appears to have taken some Giblin Formula as she talks to herself in mirrors. All the nighttime scenes are actually shot during the day which leaves them looking bright and blue. The costumes involve black T-shirts and jeans, which the script tries to pass off as the camp uniform, but when the sheriff arrives with nothing to set him apart other than a plastic badge clipped to his belt, you realise that the actors are probably supplying their own clothes. Heck, the casting call probably stated as much. The film drags itself to feature length, with an end that makes such little sense it was like the punchline to a huge practical joke. Brilliantly awful and should be enjoyed with many beers and a few close friends.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history