IMDb > Celebrity Sex Tape (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Celebrity Sex Tape
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Celebrity Sex Tape More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

33 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Anything can pass as a movie apparently...

2/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
26 July 2012

Right, "Celebrity Sex Tape" is definitely not meant for an audience that I am part of. This is one of the most boring and ridiculous movies I have had to suffer through. Well, that might be a bit of an exaggeration, as I gave up half way through the movie. I gave up out of sheer boredom and because the movie was nothing more than an outlet to show off nudity and stupid sex scenes.

I am sure that if you are about 18 years old and just coming of age, then you might think this is a great movie, for for anyone just a tad more grown up and mature, this is nothing more than a waste of film reel.

The story is about a group of young people who make a sex video of some semi-famous celebrity. It gets uploaded to the internet and becomes and overnight sensation. The manager of the celebrity shows up and blackmails the young guys for $500.000 which is due in 30 days. What do they do in order to raise the money? Find washed-up has-been celebrities and promise to revitalize their careers if they have sex on video.

Well, I wasn't amused one bit by this storyline, and to be honest I found it super boring and immature.

I will say that for the acting, then the people they had cast for the roles were doing good enough jobs. But the Asian stereotyping was just offensive to everyone, even non-Asians.

I just simply gave up just before halfway through the movie. And if you are a fan of proper cinema, then avoid this movie at all costs. It is perhaps your kind of movie if you are in high school or college, or if you just think these no-brainer movies qualifies as entertainment.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Horrible acting not sure about the other reviewers...

1/10
Author: Ryan from United States
2 August 2012

I watched some of this and was unable to get past the first 20 minutes sadly, the acting was extremely over the top and horrible. I could not stand any of the characters introduced besides maybe the short haired stoned looking kid which spoke about 2 times that I saw. I honestly just could not get passed the ridiculous storyline and the Z movie acting, me and my friends could have filmed a better movie if we had some hot girls showing boobs easily with a $300 budget(would not be hard to get some girls from my college to do something like this for some money). Also the plot hole is obvious from the start as another reviewer stated about cocaine.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Politically incorrect and sexist entertainment.

6/10
Author: BlackJack_B
31 July 2013

The Asylum's Celebrity Sex Tape is the most offensive, politically incorrect and sexist film I've seen in some time. It's clear that the filmmakers set out to make an offensive film and they succeeded in spades. That said, it's not bad provided you watch it in small doses.

5 young men of various races (including a Chinese boy who has all his dialogue subtitled) somehow get a washed-up celebrity to bed one of them and they record it and put it online. It becomes a sensation and this causes some shady boss to threaten them with extortion. They have to earn $500,000 in a month or else he'll press charges. They create more sex tapes and the boss then tells them they will have to accept only "his" clients.

All but one of the boys partake in these videos, the exception is one boy who wishes to lose his virginity to his girlfriend and not some stranger.

CST is chock-full of female nudity. So much so it borders on overkill. The script is very weak, relying on profanity 50% of the time and it has that low-budget look that The Asylum movies always strive for. Regardless, it serves as an indictment for our celebrity driven society and how the famous can't live life without said fame once it's gone and will do anything to stay in the spotlight. There's even a wicked twist ending to boot.

Certainly not for everybody but if you're looking for raunchy fun, it's worth checking out at the home for The Asylum's product.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Even having a tooth ripped out of your mouth is less painful than watching Celebrity Sex Tape

1/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
15 January 2013

I am usually not a fan at all of this type of movie and I wasn't expecting much from it. However, I try to be encouraging and to give any movie a chance regardless of the general consensus of opinions. I don't know how I managed to get through the whole thing- well maybe that's a lie as I have never considered not watching a whole movie a fair judgement- but I did, and I am still kicking myself at what a waste of time Celebrity Sex Tape turned out to be, it actually managed to be even worse than I expected. Poorly shot and edited and overly gaudy, it is an amateurish movie visually. Add a soundtrack that only seems to be there for the sake of it without any real purpose, dialogue so cheesy your teeth are aching from gritting your teeth so hard and a predictable at best and non-existent at worst story and you have even more reasons to hate Celebrity Sex Tape. But wait, I haven't finished yet. If there is a movie from any of the movies I've seen in the past quarter of a year that had more annoying characters than here, I've not seen them, with the story as thin as it was the pacing also contributes to the tedium that Celebrity Sex Tape and the acting is atrocious especially from the actor who looked, sounded and acted like an unfunny Chris Rock wannabe. And I completely agree about the Asian stereotyping and am glad that I wasn't alone in my thoughts on them, not that there was stereotyping but that the stereotyping was crude, unsubtle and offensive. All in all, a terrible movie that is painful to watch in all areas. 1/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

It has its moments

5/10
Author: olliemankz from United States
30 April 2014

Celebrity Sex Tape has some nice moments, both of which I happened to catch as I'm usually doing something else while monitoring a movie on Netflix.

Seriously, there did seem to be some morales to the story, though the morals are pretty low if you care about that sort of thing. Or, actually, much of what was probably meant to be a huge draw suggested what I have heard about sex among teens ... I suppose this could generalize to college-age: it's like a handshake. Nobody takes it very seriously but boy if you are a t*t man, that's all there is. I didn't realize how endowed some women can be. (This was never my gift.) I guess those are the ones who go to Hollywood. There were plenty of bit parts in this movie if you didn't mind doing what was required of you.

As, as mentioned afore, I am not usually completely focused on a movie, unfortunately, I don't know what happened to one storyline but it seemed cute: the football player who doesn't seem to realize how much he likes his best friend/personal trainer. I don't think I have spoiled anything for anyone as that was introduced at the beginning, and it seemed promising for laughs. You'd just better suspend your moral compass for a while to enjoy this one. I think it may deserve a complete watch. Just be prepared for nonstop Girls Gone Wild.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Another muddled awful Asylum's embarrassment

1/10
Author: Alexander Ross from United States
20 December 2014

Not much to say about this truly : run , avoid, don't buy and don't even think to expect some shock value from this other watered down, Asylum almost fake movie! Why a fake movie? Because this little Studio is dreadfully unprofessional: They keep on using unexperienced people in order to put on the market ( and God only knows how!) a stream of non movies , just a bunch of assembled scenes terribly cast, badly written and worse filmed while using titillating covers to market these sad disasters as guilty pleasures type of movies, but they aren't even bad, at the end , and that is if you will ever even make it nearly there, you will be left only with that bitter guilt feeling of having spent your money and time, trying to uselessly make sense of the trite garbage they do present you with and nothing else but a sense of frustration could just make your night even a worse missed opportunity! I truly resent any type of explicatively bad filmmaking, but, I love all genre and cult movies, here there is just nothing like it, just a pretense, some sort of scam, and it's time to say no to it! My opinion : wanna try it and watch it for yourself? Go ahead! Don't forget i had warned you!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Worse than a B movie plus offensive!

Author: badttboy from United States
5 October 2012

Really, young actors need to avoid getting there names soiled from such crap like this. It's OK to take on roles like this if you are just desperate for money and don't have any ambition to be a serious actor. The movie did not even have a joke or two to offer, unless you are high and generally lacking in intelligence. I also have to agree with a previous comment about "Asian stereotyping was just offensive to everyone, even non-Asians" . I am not so good at remembering the names of actors just from seeing them as a side kick in just one movie, but now when ever I see the name "Howard Cai" in a movie, I will automatically have to boycott it. Even "Jenny Lin" for being a part of a production that continues to degrade Asians. That was OK to do in the past in one or two movies especially when relevant, but not as it is the norm in the vast majority of films that portray Asians as a side role. So sad to see what people will do for money.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

tna blackmail

3/10
Author: leej-4 from United States
26 February 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

plot is a average tna the acting is good yes it has a plot but plot is flawed 4 kids snick in into a party while at the party the 2 of them wonder in a bed room. a drunken coked out ex-porn star comes in, they hide, she (amanda ward) starts doing coke. they record it with their cell phone. one of the boys comes out to meet her, she starts flirting with him she strips him and rides him.

they show all of this to some friends and it goes viral. Her managers comes to their hang-out tells them they better come up with $500,000 or he going to the police.

they decides to contact ex-porn stars who still need work to have with them and post on the internet with web page they built for money.

the plot is flawed because they filmed her doing coke and riding the minor, she broke the law.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

Perhaps not Quite KIM K or Pamela Baywatch or Paris,But...

5/10
Author: Chris Mackey (guestar57) from United States
8 February 2012

Stars: Emily(Penthouse)Addison.

So,Some 'BigBangTheory'-like guys are just having fun in college and stumble unto a party with a famous gal who does'nt realize she is being too friendly with strangers with a camera and libido.

Good cast of pretty starlets including Diana Terranova, Christine Nguyen and Kylie Nash.

This actually has a plot about guys doing what they must to make money to pay off blackmailers and actresses trying to get ahead in their careers by any means necessary.

There is some very funny moments and a cohesiveness to plot.

From the makers of MILF film and builds upon some of those roles.

Amanda Ward has been in many Asylum movies and here give a sympathetic performance.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 82 people found the following review useful:

Kept me laughing to the end...

10/10
Author: Dominic Nwogu from United Kingdom
15 March 2012

The movie was awesome, far from boring, i'm not an expert on directing and producing but the script and crew was original, every actor fitted their part and there wasn't any over acting. I like the nerd turn porn star thing, its just not reality but its original. I will definitely watch this movie again in all honesty. The directing to me was brilliant, the script flowed. The nerds are definitely actors on the come up, Colbert Alembert acting to me was excellent, he portrayed a nerd in its true form and the wardrobe all fitted the script. It just proves that it is possible to make a good film on a not very large budget, all it takes is to put some serious thought into the script,casting, producing and directing. I just couldn't leave to go to the John, it kept me laughing to the end, cool dudes.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history