IMDb > "Dexter" Are You...? (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Dexter: Are You...? (#7.1)"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Dexter" Are You...? (2012)

« Prev | 73 of 96 Episodes | Next »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

40 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

Is this possibly the best Dexter premiere yet?

10/10
Author: MovieFinatic from Australia
30 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After watching the premiere of Dexter, titled "Are You...?", I was astonished to see the amount of detail and florid writing the episode presented. After watching the mediocre Season 6 I was able to reconcile my faith with Dexter once again as this episode was near perfection. Written by show-runner Scott Buck and Directed by John Dahl they create a near-masterpiece of perfection. The episode begins very differently to what I had imagined (But in a good way).

It was very exhilarating and exciting at the same time, it felt as if I was watching one of the final episodes of Season 4. The scenes and dialogue were put together very well and the cinematography was so much better than in Season 5/6. The only bad points of this episode were that Dexter seemed a little sloppy when at the Airport.

Now I understand that due to time restraints the writers wanted to cram as much as they could into an episode at 50-55mins, but I would have liked to see Dexter give a little more attention to security camera's, Airport officials e.t.c. But apart from that it is a huge improvement in Writing, Directing and Cinematography over last Season, and I am very proud to say the Dexter is back and it's never been better.

9/10 - A Near Masterpiece of Modern Drama MovieFinatic

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Damn good opening!

10/10
Author: sunil194796
3 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Season 6 was quiet a downfall, and i was afraid that this season might go in vain too...but it's reassuring that this is wow! We then return to the critical point at the end of season six where Debra walks in on the demise of Travis Marshal, as if the series never actually paused for nine months. Their conversation is a difficult one, where Dexter lies very poorly, and Debra is pretty much willing to accept whatever he says, initially.

But the real crossing point is where she goes to get the petrol, linking her to the death of Travis, and leaving a clue for someone else to find later. Before we've got much time to take in the enormity of what just happened, poor Mike crosses paths with a Ukrainian killer and ends up in a body bag for his troubles. As a character Mike was fine, if lacking much of a back-story or many alternative interests away from police work, but he didn't deserve to die did he? He's killed by the excellent Enver Gjokaj, who was one of the few good things about Dollhouse, in which, incidentally he also played a character called 'Victor'. He only really gets one proper scene which is the one where Dexter catches up with him, which is a shame because he's a good actor that deserves a part that lasts more than one episode.

If I've got a real complaint, and it's a mild one, it's the scene where Dexter finds himself at Miami International Airport. The idea that you can buy a ticket, enter international departure and then not get on the aircraft or cause a security scare is a stretch, as is then getting out of there with a body and somehow back into arrivals. But then we've just swallowed that Debra believed any of the BS Dexter gave her to explain the frighteningly efficient killing equipment he just had handy. Except she didn't really buy it, and we knew as much by her reaction.

The other minor characters get to chew the fat about their lives in the episode. LaGuerta gets a blood slide clue to follow, and Louis seems intent on making Dexter's life even more problematic than it already is as a means to shorten his life expectancy.

But most of this is small talk and a prelude to the main course, the reveal for which the death of Travis was something of a dry run. Dexter comes home from a relaxing evening with Victor on the boat, Slice of Life, and finds Debra will all his slides, killing equipment and the whole sorry truth laid out.

Umm... Dexter scores heavily for truth, and yet very poorly for ongoing family relationships there. The genie in this show is really out of the bottle now, and whatever rules applied before have just been completely scrapped.

Where the opening scenes in the Church lead us to think that maybe Dexter would get off the truth hook, the final scene puts him squarely on it, with all the implications that revelation suggests. Would Dexter kill Debra? It's not something we've been asked to consider, but it is a question that might get seriously asked at some point.

As much as I generally liked this story, it was remarkably short on laughs. A good giggle is an absolute necessity for Dexter, and almost without exception it was deadly serious throughout. But in all other respects this is the best start one might reasonably expect. Season six didn't really take-off in the way it looked like doing at one point, and season four is still the high-water mark of the show. They've now played the major trump card they've been holding for six years, betting heavily that they can top the drama of season four with what they've got planned. We've been told that the show ends in season eight, so this is the first step in a narrative to take Dexter where we'll leave him in 23 more episodes.

I love this show, and the ending of this one made me scream for the next, which is exactly the way it should be.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Yes , i am a Serial Killer

10/10
Author: Sujay Sharma from Bangalore, India
1 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Dexter , the favorite serial killer strikes again . Last season ended with a enthralling scene of Dexter getting caught and Debra's intentions to confess her feelings to Dexter . The starting scene was truly a reflection of what could unfold in Season 8, which is plausibly the last one . Dexter dealing with his soft corner for Debra and his passion for being a "hero" is at crossroads . Michael C Hall retains his reminiscent character , however his less voracious , compassionate,Father figure side is revealed . While on one side , the Miami Metro closes the Travis Case , here opens another one , marking the commencement of another mystery , only to reveal that there is an addition of more characters , not gonna be just another guy wrapped with Plastic Sheet . Meanwhile , as Miami Metro gets busy , Debra finds it mindboggling to accept that Dexter was just Another guy in a tough situation , keeps digging and finally manages to land in the position she shouldn't have ..

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Dexter is back with a bang

10/10
Author: voldie25 from India
9 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Dexter is my favorite show but season 6 was bad.very bad.If it wasn't for the fantastic ending in the finale,i would have lost faith in this show."Are You....?" is an excellent return to form for Dexter as it does all the things that made seasons 1-4 fantastic to watch

This episode opens with a misleading scene where Dexter speeds towards Miami Airport and he books a flight ticket there.Return to the church,and we pick up from the "oh god" in the season 6 finale.Quick thinking was always one of Dexter's strength and he does it here to convince Debra that he killed Travis in self defense.They burn the church down and everyone at Miami Metro is convinced that it was a suicide. Laguerta finds the blood slide that Dexter had clumsily dropped

Mike Anderson is killed by a Viktor Baskov and a huge investigation follows.In Viktor's car they find a dead stripper.Batista and Quinn shuts down the strip club where the stripper worked and questions the manager.After this,we get our first look into this season's big bad,Isaak Sirko.

Meanwhile Debra tries to dig deeper and finds similarities between the table where Dexter kills Travis Marshall and the table where she was almost killed by Brian Moser.Deb digs a lot deeper and this leads to a fantastic ending where Debra asks Dexter the question he has dreaded all his life

Both Michael C Hall and Jennifer Carpenter were at their best in this episode and hopefully Jennifer gets some recognition this time around

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Dexter Will Never Be the Same

9/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
24 July 2014

Dexter explains to Debra that he had a momentary madness to eliminate Travis and convinces her to simulate a suicide, burning the church to the ground. Soon Debra and her team have to investigate the crime scene and LaGuerta finds an unexpected piece of evidence in a well. Meanwhile Detective Mike Anderson stops his car to help a driver with a flat tire and he finds a body in the trunk of the car. The driver kills him and uses his car to escape. Soon Dexter finds that the woman is a Ukraine stripper and he finds the killer's fingerprint but he does not tell to his colleagues. Dexter discovers that Louis used his notebook but he does not know that the intern has made a mess in his accounts. Dexter chases the killer that intends to leave the United States and he finds the man at the airport. Debra has difficulties to assimilate her brother 's senseless explanation and when Dexter returns home, he has a big surprise.

"Are You…?" is among the best episodes of this outstanding series. The surprising arrival of Debra at the church in the moment that Dexter is killing Travis is unexpected for any fan of "Dexter". The conclusion of this episode is also a big twist in the story and probably Dexter will never be the same. I hope for the good. My vote is nine.

Title (Brazil): "Você?" ("You?")

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Hope didn't die, after all

9/10
Author: Gabriel Goes from Brasília, Brazil
5 January 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After last season finale, I wrote that all I had left from Dexter was hope. And it turns out hope wasn't dead at all, because this, fortunately, was one of the best season openers that Dexter has had.

The one thing I didn't like was Anderson getting killed by a guy who gets killed in the same episode. Alright, quick revenge is nice, but Anderson seemed like a great cop and deserved more recognition from the writers, who gave almost nothing to work with.

I do hope (now that's my motto for this show) that the Ukrainians will be part of the bigger scheme this season, so Anderson's death actually means something story-wise.

That said, the main focus of the episode was almost perfectly achieved. That is, of course, the conflict between Dexter and Debra, which leads to the ultimate truth, the truth Dexter can no longer deny. This was easily better than seasons 5 and 6 finales, and sets again a high standard, the one this show should never have left, and must now pursue at all costs.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Dexter Are You...?

8/10
Author: dalydj-918-255175 from Ireland
30 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Last season Debra watched in on Dexter killing Travis and we will see how she reacts to finding him killing in the way he did. Dexter seems to want to get away somewhere in a flash forward maybe, then go back to Debra finding Dexter killing Travis. Dexter try's to explain himself out of this situation but he cannot lie to her as she is his sister and they are blood related. She wants to call in people but he tells her not to as it would be bad for them. She calls in to say he just had a moment of madness. Dexter then comes up with the idea to burn the church to make it look like Travis killed himself, Debra helps him even though he is still worried about him. We then get a flashback to them as kids, they then set the place a flame to cover up what they did. The next day the crew get a call to the church because of the fire that happened. When Debra is told to outside and talk to the press an important clue is found of one of Dexter's slides of blood. It seems that does could come back to bite him. After Debra calls Mike he try's to help someone on the street but ends up getting shoot instead. The next day Debra comes to talk to Dexter about the killing and try to get more information. Debra gets a call about mike and goes but Dexter comes behind her but first must get a bag in the wall. When they get to the crime scene it seems that Dexter wants Debra to trust him. Debra seems to be not taking the death thing well as she seems not her usual self and sort of disturbed. Deb then looks at some files from the ice truck killer and sees that plastic was used which could bring back some bad memories of the past. Debra then tells Dexter about how everything the ice truck killer did was the same as him, when Dex leaves his Deb looks in his office. Dex then goes to the airport to get away, or to look for Victor the killer. The cops then go to the club to find out more about this death. Dexter then brings Victor to an empty room to get rid of him for killing that girl. Dexter is then in the room with Victor as he try's to get out of being killed. Instead of stabbing Dexter uses a plastic bad cover to bash his head in. Dexter know must kill in a different way which could be interesting. Dexter may be OK but it seems that Debra has been changed for the worst as she seems strange, Debra hearing Dexter is at work when she knows he is not i suspicious to her and could lead to her finding out more as the season goes on. Another flashback and Dexter could have told her when they were kids that he kills. Debra is getting closer then she ever has and it could be bad for the future of the show. When Dexter comes back into the house she finds Deter with every tool he has and it seems know he must tell her everything. Great return and after a horrible sixth season the show is back on track especially with all Dexter and Debra do.

EPIODE GRADE: B+ (MVP: Jennifer Carpenter)

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Are You...?

6/10
Author: tbmforclasstsar from United States
1 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Perhaps it's unfair of me to compare most of what I watch to Breaking Bad; it is, after all, quite rare in its brilliance, one of those "exception to the rule" kind of shows. But, unfortunately for everything else on TV, it exists and I find I just can't help it.

Amongst countless others, one of the things I most appreciate about Breaking Bad is that it knows when its time has come to bow out gracefully. Now, I don't think any of its fans actually want to see the series come to an end next summer after only five seasons, but what's great is that we understand that it has to happen. In order to maintain its power, in order to uphold the unbelievable dignity it's garnered, it knows it has to end grandly before it reaches the point where it can do nothing else but sadly fizzle out.

And that leads me to my problem with Dexter. It appears as though it never got the same, intelligent memo Vince Gilligan and Co. did; never really took a step back and decided where it was it wanted to go. Instead, it seemed as though its only goal was to collect as many seasons as possible, its story's momentum and originality an afterthought.

To an extent, it kind of pains me to admit I have a problem with Dexter. When I first jumped into this series, it was one that I found would creep up on me when I least expected it to, forcing me to endlessly wonder about it. It was smart, and eerie, and provocative, and seriously forced me to question my own moral codes (I'm rooting for a serial killer, what?!), but that's what was so great about it. These days, it seems the only real thought the show sparks is, "Oh, that's still on, huh?" Don't get me wrong; there's obviously still an appeal that keeps me tuning in mediocre season after mediocre season, but it's just doesn't feel the same—ever since Rita died and, ugh, Lumen and Jordan happened, and ugh, Travis and imaginary Gellar happened, the show hasn't packed nearly the same intensity or sense of danger it once used to. And that's extremely unfortunate because now that we're here in season seven, watching the beginning of a plot line that should've happened ages ago, one that should have been crazy nerve-wracking, it, well, really just doesn't feel that important.

And it's so frustrating—Deb finally discovering Dexter's secret identity was something I, and I'm sure a lot of Dexter followers, have been looking forward to for a while now—I mean, the possibilities were endless; the creators could've had a lot of fun with that change in dynamic earlier on—but because it's happening so late in the series and preceded by so much other (unimportant) stuff, it lacks a much-needed (and desired) weight.

To read the rest of the review (IMDb form too short) visit: http://custodianfilmcritic.com/dexter-7-1-are-you/

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history