IMDb > Armistice (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Armistice More at IMDbPro »Warhouse (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

32 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Interesting idea

7/10
Author: hobgoblinlol from Georgia
10 January 2014

As a fan of war themed horror movies I was intrigued by this movie especially when I saw Joseph Morgan starring in it. While the movie is low budget and takes place in a house, it is an interesting flick with an equitably fresh idea that was new and entertaining also the lack of budget limited it quite a bit. So, a soldier of the Royal Marines played by Joseph Morgan is stuck in a house and there is no way out of there. The interesting part is that the house is supernatural and our hero needs to battle a ghoul like creature every single day which is interesting because this creature is just as much as stuck in the house as Morgan's character so it's a constant loop. The thing is that aside from a great idea I believe that the story, suspense and the plot are well performed. I saw that there was some work put into the story-line and suspense so please don't let the budget fool you. I believe that this movie had some interesting plot points. I definitely recommend it since this is one of the actual ''good'' horror movie that have come out recently. This movie is not a masterpiece but it sure is a good effort that will keep you entertained and curious. And again don't let the budget fool you. Joseph's acting is pretty good also. While this pretty much has a depressive feel to it, there is an unintentional funny scene where Joseph kills the ghoul while he's taking a bath (you'll have a chuckle once you see it yourself) I'll give it 7/10 since the movie surprised me in a way, to think that this movie would have had plot with a first look......I did not expect that. So, if you're bored make sure to see this. It's not a masterpiece but will interest you enough and make you think what would you had done, if you were in that house.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Solid fantasy film like Groundhogs day in The Cube.

8/10
Author: Jesse Boland from Burnaby, BC Canada
2 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Every once in a while you happen on a movie completely by accident, and it turns out to be a really nice surprise. This is for me one of those times. I was about to watch something else, and just couldn't get into it, so I switched at random to this, and even in the first five minutes I was ready to pull the plug, and just catch up on the last couple of episodes of The Originals. Really glad I didn't, and I am going to tell you why. This is one of those small nearly one room set pieces with a total cast of three. What you get in that small set is a Groundhogs day meets The Cube, and Outpost 11 style fantasy. There is a lot of amazing depth, and strong acting, and surprisingly there is a lot of action, and a little humour. There is nothing about this movie I would not recommend, however if you need a bit more than your brain stimulated, this movie might not be for you, and if you get lost in simple plots, the same applies. However if you like fantasy, and you would like to see something new with good acting, and a really relateable if fantastic, story I say hop in. The end does telegraph itself rather quickly once it does, but this does not take away from most of the movie, or any for some I'm sure.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Bad makeup, boring set, even more dull of a story

1/10
Author: ral_partha from Connecticut
22 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This will be short. I had a struggle to watch after the first 20 minutes, but I assumed it must get better because it couldn't get any worse. The costumes and makeup on the bad guys, which the credits title as "The Fallen", is childish and amateur at best. The story is dull and uninteresting. The ending becomes apparent after 30 minutes into the film. 90 minutes of my life I can never get back. Don't waste your time. The only appealing things are that there are only 3 actors in the entire film, the title is just one word so it doesn't waste too much ink and the movie does in fact eventually end. It may seem at times that you are stuck in an unending hell, just like the actors in the story, but when the movie ends you are reminded that your hell was only 90 minutes long.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Bored to tears

1/10
Author: Deb Mittleman from United States
21 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie bored me out of my ever loving skull. Not only could I see the plot twist from the start, I was mad when it turns out I was right. This was a ripoff from Jacob's Ladder.

Be that at is may, let's discuss the movie itself. Let's see....every 15 minutes or so I paused it to do something else. Not exactly engrossing. The movie was pretty much a guy stuck in a house and not having a good time of it. The ghoul was just stupid. I guess because I had figured it out from the beginning made it all excruciatingly boring for me. Not worth the one star I gave it. And slap the people who made it. They ripped off a classic.

Was the above review useful to you?

Like loop movies? Then you will love this!

9/10
Author: spyroskonst from Greece
23 August 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is an excellent example that a movie does not need high budget to be good and enjoyable.

Don't want to mention much, but be prepared for 1:30hr with only one house and 2 actors. That's it. So, having said that if you are the kind of type who liked "Burried (2010)" (only one actor in a coffin), and "The Triangle (2009)" (loop movie horror) then you will love this one. It combines these two films and does it perfectly well.

Keep in mind this is not a pop-corn movie, to watch with friends and comment the movie. You need silence, lights off, and your attention to it (no checking emails, fb, etc) otherwise it will be extremely boring and dull.

Did i mention this is one of the few "loop" movies that actually has an end? Yeah, this movie has an end, and a really good one!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Would have made an excellent short

4/10
Author: Sandrine
25 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It pains me a little to only give this movie four stars because the acting is brilliant and I found the story really intriguing.

The problem, for me, was that the plot didn't exactly fill a 80+ minute movie, and there were long passages when nothing happened. Obviously, there was intention behind it: the audience acutely feels the protagonist's growing boredom and frustration while he's trapped in the house and nothing ever changes. But even though it's certainly effective, watching our despairing hero go through the same things again and again becomes mind-numbingly dull after a while. (And remember: unlike him, the audience can escape.)

I feel like this would have worked a lot better as a short film, if some of A.J.'s struggles were implied rather than shown.

Still, Joseph Morgan's superb acting and the punch-to-the-gut feeling the ending provides make it worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

6 for most probably a 10 for film buffs

6/10
Author: apexpm1301 from United States
9 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

For the film buffs out there this is going to be a great film. For the rest of us, it is just OK. Don't let the OK throw you off, I recommend you seeing it, but don't expect a high budget horror/thriller film. Since this is such a new film I won't include any spoilers or anything not shown through trailers. The movie basically has one character but the director does a good job keeping the film interesting. In a groundhog style story the character continuously wakes up in a unknown house, were he is confronted by sub- human creatures that are trying to kill him.

It's worth seeing, but for me, it wouldn't make it into the home movie collection.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Worst Movie ever!!!

1/10
Author: darryn1324
11 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie looked intriguing at first. As it progressed I watched it to completion only to be greatly disappointed and not having any real plot. The movie is about an injured royal marine who battles his "inner demons" over what seams to be years in his conscious but is just minutes as he dies on the battle field waiting for medivac. The entertainment value, cinematography, and directing was horrible and pathetic at best. I would not recommend this film to anyone even if I hated them. NO ONE DESERVES THIS PUNISHMENT!!!! The idea has possibility but is at best an idea. I don't think there is any real way to make this movie enjoyable. It is classified as a horror but there is nothing scary horrific about it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Official site
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history