IMDb > My Awkward Sexual Adventure (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
My Awkward Sexual Adventure
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
My Awkward Sexual Adventure More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 24 reviews in total 

32 out of 47 people found the following review useful:

And "awkward" this was

8/10
Author: Steve Pulaski from United States
26 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

My Awkward Sexual Adventure effectively lives up to its title, as it centers in on Jordan (Jonas Chernick), a conservative, overly-cautious accountant, who is dumped by his girlfriend Rachel (Sarah Manninen) as a response to his proposal of marriage. This comes the morning after she falls asleep while having "sex" with Jordan, and I abbreviate sex because it could've easily been mistaken for resuscitation. She advises that they do the good ol' "see other people" trick, where she can go out and have careless sex and orgies, while Jordan does, well, who cares? Jordan, who is heartbroken by her decision, wanders aimlessly throughout the cold streets, paying strippers and other local girls to pose for iPhone pictures with him to make his girlfriend green with envy. He gets bro-tips from his pal Dandak (Vik Sahay), who has been around the bend a few too many times, but gets truly vital help when he meets Julia (Emily Hampshire), a stripper who has a divine talent for culinary arts. When Jordan gets drunk out of his mind one night at the local gentlemen's club where Julia works, she graciously allows him to sleep on her couch as an act of courtesy and pity. Jordan informs her about his break-up, and Julia agrees to be his fellow "sex Yoda," who coach him through the ins and outs of meeting women and the tricky art of sex.

This is a hard film to do well and director Sean Garrity clearly knows what he's doing with the way he conducts the tricky, but promising topic of sex in older males. In a way, this feels like a work from Jon Kasdan, the man who recently directed The First Time. That film was a beautifully articulated coming of age drama about two teens who meet-cute in an alleyway during a party, and go on to have a weekend that will certainly be memorable for the both of them (do I need to say what their first time was). Both Kasdan and Garrity take a scalpel to the idea of sex, not glorifying it to be this simple thing that millions do everyday, but rather a frightening and intimidating experience for those unfamiliar with the required territory.

Sex is a tough subject and both pictures don't skate around that. They offer realism within their characters and intelligence with their writing. But one element that My Awkward Sexual Adventure triumphs over The First Time in is the level of awkwardness and anxiety brought to the screen. Seriously, I cringed more out of character sympathy during this film than any other film I've seen so far this year. The scenes where Jordan desperately tries to beg for Rachel's acceptance back into his life, the scenes where he resorts to photo-bombing with fellow women at a house party to make her jealous, the strange misconceptions he gets from Julia, and just his well-meaning nature that comes off as pure oddness forces you to be sympathetic towards his character.

Even though we have likable characters and a decently mature plot, that doesn't hide the film's inevitable dirty and problematic nature. Occasionally, the film does become too random at times. Consider a scene where a neighbor walks into Julia's condo and asks for a specific food, and the thing we're supposed to laugh at is the fact that he's pantsless and doesn't seem to care. Turns out, he never wears pants and implores Jordan to stare idly at his penis and proceeds to mock him when he refuses to stare for long enough. Randomness like that throws off what could've been an entirely sincere film from the get-go.

That and the problematic detour the third act takes when Rachel tries to enter Jordan's life again. The first two acts are carried by solid drama, efficiently articulated characters, quirky sexcapades that actually convey to film nicely, and a solid relationship between two unlikely friends. It's when Rachel tries to waltz back into Jordan's life that makes the film begin to falter. The film becomes so consumed with possibilities for them to argue, kiss and make up, argue again, run away, rejoice, etc that the overall speed increases from lax yet competent, to rushed and dizzying.

While My Awkward Sexual Adventure thoroughly lives up to its title, it doesn't use it as a simple cash-in for lame sex jokes. At times this film is so thoughtful and understanding to its characters problems and never drawing them as worthless punching-bags for comedy that one just wants to shake the hand of the director. At other times, one wants to remove the pen from writer Jonas Chernick's hand and tell him to take a short walk. This film is a roller-coast for atypical reasons.

Starring: Jonas Chernick, Emily Hampshire, Sarah Manninen, and Vik Sahay. Directed by: Sean Garrity.

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 73 people found the following review useful:

Best written comedy of the year

10/10
Author: abisio from Miami
18 September 2012

In the first scene of "My Awkward Sexual Adventure" the Jordan (Jonas Chernick) is making love to his girlfriend Rachel (Sarah Manninen) in such an impassioned and mechanical way that she falls asleep (who wouldn't). The obvious break-up follows; she needs more passion and different sexual experiences.

As sad as it seems; these five opening minutes of the movie are the smartest, funny moments I saw in a movie this side of the Atlantic. There are no stupid or dumb or scatological jokes involved; simple a few utterly realistic but absurd moments and dialogs.

Jordan is not a dumb or clumsy person (well it has a few moments). He is an accountant with all the insecurities, limitations, fears and lack of commitment of a person living by the numbers. He needs Rachel to be with him; sex is not that important.

He has to go, on his planned vacation to Toronto, alone (the scene at the airport is another masterpiece) to visit his pal Dandak (Vik Sahay always funny) who offers to be his sexual mentor against Jordan will.

After a few comical situations; Jordan ends in an strip club trying to get a sexy photo with a beautiful girl to make Rachel (who is having a very sexual and orgiastic vacation) jealous. By Karma, meets Julia (Emily Hampshire) a stripper, sweet but very disorganized; totally against checking even her bills; basically his opposite.

He soon realizes that without loosing up; his future with Rachel is dead; he ask Julia for a crash course on freedom, taboos and sex. What follows are the different chapters of Jordan education process.

It is pretty obvious how things will end; but every chapter that follows is staged with intelligence and good taste; but do not even think the movie is tame; it just has good taste. There is plenty of nudity male and female but never out of context. In fact, one of the funniest scenes in the movie it is likely to be too much for MPAA but it will be a real sin to cut.

Acting is superb; Jonas Chernick (also producer and writer) is a seriously funny person; he improves after his experiences but is still the same person a little more confident. Sarah Manninen handles the bitch girlfriend character with class. She just an insecure person that is never sure what she really wants. Emily Hampshire as the stripper, is able to be tender but strong; enough to fall in love with her.

I hope this movie gets distribution in USA and UNCUT. It is really a surprise that a not so original story could be handled with such an intelligent way.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Generic RomCom. Watchable until its last 20minutes where becomes moronic.

Author: Dr_Sagan from the Edge of the Cosmos
14 January 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Most romantic comedies follow a very specific recipe and have more or less the same ingredients. By definition they have a happy ending. A few misunderstandings. A few regrets and changing of opinions. Lots of awkward moments. A best friend who is promiscuous and wants the main hero to "go out there". A mother who lacks understanding. Troubles at work etc. etc. etc.

Well, "My Awkward Sexual Adventure (2012)" is as generic as it can be. It has all these elements plus some raw humor and a couple of "American Pie" moments but with a cantaloupe.

Not sure about why exactly, but it is watchable (not funny or cute though), until the last 15-20 minutes or so, where the obvious resolution becomes abrupt and incoherent without a reason, like the movie needed a boost of extra drama and tension.(Read Spoiler paragraph) SPOILER PARAGRAPH FOR THE LAST 20': As I recall the 2 main characters have their initial (more friendship than) "relationship" for less than 5 days. The "hero" returns to his eternal (for 24 years) love, he proposes again, she accepts, yet he ditches her at their marital reception in front of all their relatives and friends, talking about clitorises in front of little children. Also his best friend didn't attended that event and his little sub-plot arc becomes totally ludicrous while he turns from "slut" to "romantic" and slut again, only to discover by pure coincidence that his "romantic" fiancée was a "slut" too.

So, the effort of the writer (who is also the main actor and producer) was to build some pretentious ups and downs, admitting in a way that his story was paper thin and with no substance.

Be careful! if you are a man and you are going to watch it with your spouse or your girlfriend, BE SURE that you are into cunnilingus, because after this movie you will be forced to learn and do it...the right way.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Awkwardly Fun

7/10
Author: in1984 from United States
6 April 2013

In addition to hot chicks, it gets a point for a double-entendre in the title. There are multiple awkward adventures and the main adventurer is truly awkward. Something along the lines of a romantic comedy involving a socially awkward, insecure man, or possibly even worse, socially retarded.

The version I saw probably needs a cut or 2 to get an R or NC17 rating for theaters, which should give you the correct impression that it's also a very sexual film. There's plenty of sexual, adventurous fun to help balance the awkwardness and to avoid this becoming a gross-out comedy.

It's mainly over-the-top comedy with a lot of role reversals to add surprises (the direction of the film becomes as obvious as where men entering a sex club are going). The writer/director also throws in enough loops to make you wonder.

Besides capturing discomfort on film, add this to the list of 2012 films (For a Good Time Call, Giant Mechanical Man) using a breakup to launch a distinct story with some innovative techniques that don't require massive FX or superstar actors.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Subtle paradigm breaker!

9/10
Author: lodewijkadlp from Netherlands
15 April 2013

This movie is a wolf in sheep's clothing. It presents itself as the stereotypical commercial comedy. All the characters are easily understandable stereotypes. It's main storyline is basically a total cliché.

So why is it different? It breaks every one of the cliché's it uses. It tells us the story of what happens when our stereotypes become real, actually live their lives. And its easiness about sex is refreshing too, it's not a pornographic movie at all. Sex is just an aspect of it. And yet, even though of the controversial content, if you don't think about it: it's just another boring commercial romance comedy.

(So: controversial perfectly hidden in a cliché feelgood. Remarkable really.) (Did I mention it's excellently produced. Seriously. Excellent production value!) (I wonder if I'd still think this positively about it if I watched it a second time. I guess some parts were pretty weak. But I practically wonder if it's intentional. Nice!)

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

My Awkward Viewing Experience

6/10
Author: Michael Radny from Perth, Australia
16 September 2015

When you go see this film, you almost certainly know what you are going to get. However, my expectations of being low were conquered by an above average story and is decently uncliched. But my main problem with My Awkward Sexual Experience is the characters. They lean too far one way so it tries to tug at your emotional strings and this try-hard approach is too cringe worthy for a really pleasant viewing experience.

This film almost works perfectly, but the things that fail this film almost take it down. Characterisation and poor decisions by the filmmakers are almost devastating, but are saved by how original and different the storyline and plot are.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A total surprise, a fun, raunchy adult comedy that Canadians can be proud of

8/10
Author: Robert W. (Robert_duder@hotmail.com) from Ontario, Canada
9 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you read my reviews you will know I am not a huge fan of comedies. I am VERY particular about my comedies. I am also NOT a fan of the rash of raunchy, disgusting comedies that permeate our theatres now. I can't stand the ever so popular comedians like Jonah Hill, Seth Rogen, Vince Vaughan and so on. Yelling sexual slang, body parts, fart gags and so forth are not funny...ever. However, I am also not prudish and I can handle very adult humour and content if done correctly. So I wasn't sure what to expect from My Awkward Sexual Adventure which is described as the "funniest Canadian comedy in history." Well to say I was pleasantly surprised is an understatement. I expected a solid 2/10 at most and that was only if I could force my way through it. What I experienced was a very adult, raunchy (but not disgusting), funny, cute, quirky love story that tries very hard. Maybe it tries just a little too hard but it is a Canadian film trying to be a mainstream blockbuster. It is the American Pie of Canadian movies and definitely for adults. The characters are not teenagers or twenty somethings being all awkward but instead middle aged adults being awkward and coming of age in their own way. Its quirky and indie and really well done.

Jonas Chernick does double duty as writer and also star of the film. He is perfect as the awkward, geeky but very real Jordan. He is the perfect person for this role. He clearly knows his own character very well and he is not afraid to put himself out there in the most disturbing, naked, self-deprecating ways. Sarah Manninen is ridiculously good at being awful. She is perfect at being annoying, and generally you'll love to hate her. Emily Hampshire is the wild and vivacious Julia. She is Chernick's sex guru that inevitably sparks will fly between them. At first I thought their chemistry wouldn't really work because I figured their relationship would be the focus. But their awkward banter and friendship wins you over! Hampshire has terrific comedic timing and plays her role very well. I am a huge fan of Vik Sahay. I fell in love with his comedic brilliance in the TV Series "Chuck." Another reviewer on IMDb mentioned that he steals every scene he is in and that is so true. He isn't a major player in the film which is almost good because I think his large personality and character would almost overshadow that of Jordan (played by Chernick.) Sahay and Chernick have amazing best friend/comedy chemistry and I could watch a whole film with them.

Great cast, good writing, fun story...this is good solid entertainment. Best film of the year? No, not even close. The film does drag just a little bit around the middle mark and it is nearly painfully formulaic. You know exactly what is going to happen at each step of the way. However, formulaic doesn't make for a bad movie. Sometimes we love a genre or actor because we know exactly what to expect. My Awkward Sexual Adventure brought exactly what I wanted to the table. Now I suppose I am slightly biased because I love Toronto, it is my city of choice so seeing some of the local scenery and some geographical humour made it even more fun. Adults looking for something quirky and indie but with mainstream laughs will enjoy this sweet, awkward romantic comedy about sex. Definitely 100% for adults though!! 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Better than it sounds!

8/10
Author: JenEvans1 from United Kingdom
12 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The plot summary on IMDb describes this as a quest for sexual experience, with strip clubs, sensual massage parlours, cross-dressing and S & M.

Now if all this sounds a bit exotic to you, don't be alarmed, 'cause it is really just a comedy romance, and a very good one at that! (although I must admit that my husband, not a fan of my romcoms, elected to watch this with me haha) Basically its the same old story of nice guy taken for granted by selfish girlfriend who meets stripper with heart of gold and as you might have guessed it all ends delightfully. The nice guy (Jonas Chernick) was not much of a catch in my opinion - he chased after his ex girlfriend with annoying eagerness even to the point of leaving the stripper manacled and helpless - not very promising boyfriend material!. (And for the life of me I didn't really understand why he had to dress up in womens clothes, - or for that matter why he enjoyed it so much??!!) Still, everyone to their own taste ...

His selfish girlfriend Sarah Manninen) was entertaining and bitchy to the max - go Sarah! I enjoyed her performance. And the stripper (Emily Hampshire)turned out to be just a home body at heart, and a dab hand at home baking - Yes its true!!

Id recommend this - despite the fact that it was very predictable it was also funny, and really enjoyable to watch. Im giving it an 8.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

A fun film

Author: Gordon-11 from Earth
18 May 2013

This film is about a man exploring his wild side with a stripper, after his girlfriend dumped him for being to mild.

Despite its title, "My Awkward Sexual Adventure" is more a romantic comedy than a raunchy comedy. It shows how a socially inept man trying to learn his skills to charm the ladies, with hilarious effects along the way. The girlfriend and the stripper have their personalities portrayed well, making a decision between the two is not difficult! The plot is explicit, with lots of kinky elements to help Jordan explore the wild side. The explicit sexual references are handled quite well, as they are presented at the right time; and do not come across as too contrived, in your face or gross. "My Awkward Sexual Adventure" is fun to watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Great lighthearted movie, something like "Along came Polly" but sexy

8/10
Author: mrtnalvrz from United States
19 July 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The movie was light but fun to watch. If you are in the mood for something in the lines of "Along came Polly" mixed with "Pretty Woman" but with some nudity and erotic moments watch this enjoyable Canadian flick.

I am not going to tell you more so you enjoy the ride, but my one big criticism (a bit of a spoiler ahead) is that the producers could have spent another 10 minutes to really develop a stronger attraction and credible love between Jordan and Julia. Also, the change of heart that Jordan has towards the end is a bit weak. After he rejected Rachel at Julia's apartment he should had not come back and totally bare his heart at Rachel's door. It could have been more credible that after the fight, Julia called him and "manipulate" his feelings and then on his way to reception something happened to Jordan so he realizes what Julia really means to him and compared her with Rachel's "conditional love". I know this could have had the movie look more like "Along came Polly" but it could have made the story feel much more real.

Emily Hampshire is funny, very believable and sexy as hell.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history