IMDb > "America in Primetime" Independent Woman (2011)

"America in Primetime" Independent Woman (2011)

1 of 4 Episodes | Next »

America in Primetime: Season 1: Episode 1 -- Independent Woman reveals how women have transformed from model housewives to complex; and sometimes controversial; characters.


User Rating:
7.4/10   34 votes »
Your Rating:
Saving vote...
Deleting vote...
/10   (delete | history)
Sorry, there was a problem
View company contact information for Independent Woman on IMDbPro.
Original Air Date:
30 October 2011 (Season 1, Episode 1)
In the early days of television, American prime time provided an idealized and stereotypical view of the American woman... See more » | Add synopsis »


 (Episode Cast) (in credits order)

Julianna Margulies ... Herself / Alicia Florrick, The Good Wife
Robert King ... Himself - Co-Creator, The Good Wife
Michelle King ... Herself - Co-Creator, The Good Wife

Archie Panjabi ... Herself / Kalinda Sharma, The Good Wife

Roseanne Barr ... Herself - Executive Producer, Roseanne (as Roseanne)

Diane English ... Herself - Creator, Murphy Brown
Liz Brixius ... Herself - Co-Creator, Nurse Jackie

Jenji Kohan ... Herself - Creator, Weeds

Patricia Heaton ... Herself / Debra Barone, Everybody Loves Raymond

Steven Levitan ... Himself - Co-Creator, Modern Family

Will Scheffer ... Himself - Co-Creator, Big Love

Linda Wallem ... Herself - Co-Creator, Nurse Jackie

Danny DeVito ... Himself / Louie DePalma, Taxi

Ron Howard ... Himself / Opie, The Andy Griffith Show

Dick Van Dyke ... Himself / Rob Petrie, The Dick Van Dyke Show

Carl Reiner ... Himself - Creator, The Dick Van Dyke Show

Mary Tyler Moore ... Herself / Laura Petrie, The Dick Van Dyke Show

Julia Louis-Dreyfus ... Herself / Elaine Benes, Seinfeld

James L. Brooks ... Himself - Co-Creator, The Mary Tyler Moore Show

Shonda Rhimes ... Herself - Creator, Grey's Anatomy

Candice Bergen ... Herself / Murphy Brown, Murphy Brown

Marcy Carsey ... Herself - Executive Producer, Roseanne

Diablo Cody ... Herself - Creator, United States of Tara

Tom Werner ... Himself - Executive Producer, Roseanne

Laurie Metcalf ... Herself / Jackie Harris, Roseanne

Judd Apatow ... Himself - Executive Producer, Freaks and Geeks

Kevin Reilly ... Himself - President, Fox Entertainment

David Chase ... Himself - Creator, The Sopranos
Mike Royce ... Himself - Co-Creator, Men of a Certain Age
Stephen McPherson ... Himself - Former President, ABC Entertainment
Sue Naegle ... Herself - President, HBO Entertainment

Darren Star ... Himself - Creator, Sex and the City

Sarah Jessica Parker ... Herself / Carrie Bradshaw, Sex and the City

Elisabeth Moss ... Herself / Peggy Olson, Mad Men

Marc Cherry ... Himself - Creator, Desperate Housewives

Eva Longoria ... Herself / Gabrielle Solis, Desperate Housewives

Felicity Huffman ... Herself / Lynette Scavo, Desperate Housewives

Sandra Oh ... Herself / Cristina Yang, Grey's Anatomy

Mary-Louise Parker ... Herself / Nancy Botwin, Weeds

Edie Falco ... Herself / Jackie Peyton, Nurse Jackie
rest of cast listed alphabetically:
Alan Yentob ... Himself - Presenter (UK version) (2013)

Episode Crew
Directed by
Lloyd Kramer 
Produced by
Courtney Balaker .... talent producer (as Courtney Moorehead Balaker)
Scott Chestnut .... co-producer
Heidi Christenson .... supervising producer
Joanna Cohen .... associate producer
Dalton Delan .... executive producer: WETA
Linda Hirsch .... producer
Kayce Freed Jennings .... senior producer: The Documentary Group
Mark Kachelries .... associate producer
Lloyd Kramer .... executive producer
Richard Robbins .... senior producer: The Documentary Group
Susan Schaefer .... producer
David S. Thompson .... executive producer: WETA
Tom Yellin .... executive producer
Original Music by
Peter Nashel 
Film Editing by
Scott Chestnut (edited by)
Jon Vesey (edited by)
Sound Department
Susan Pelino .... sound re-recording mixer
Visual Effects by
Priscilla Hobbs .... graphics producer
Kalika Kharkar Sharma .... senior motion graphics artist
Christina Mitrotti .... graphics producer
Camera and Electrical Department
Craig Cockerill .... camera operator
Logan Schneider .... camera operator
Vince Vinetti .... camera operator
Animation Department
Randall Balsmeyer .... graphic animation
Editorial Department
Marc Tidalgo .... post-production coordinator
Music Department
Brian Deming .... assistant to composer
Brian Deming .... music score mixer
Brian Deming .... recording engineer and mixer
Jeff McSpadden .... additional music orchestration by
Other crew
Jo Budzilowicz .... production coordinator
Adam Haracz .... key production assistant
Adam Haracz .... production assistant
Brian Henry Taylor .... production associate and researcher
Lauren Mitte Wood .... production coordinator (as Lauren Kristine Mitte)

Series Crew
These people are regular crew members. Were they in this episode?
Produced by
Courtney Balaker .... talent producer (2011)
Linda Hirsch .... producer
Susan Schaefer .... producer
Tom Yellin .... executive producer
Original Music by
Peter Nashel 
Cinematography by
Logan Schneider 
Production Design by
Max Biscoe (2011)
Sound Department
Glenn Bates .... sound recordist (2011)
Brian Whitlock .... sound mixer (2011)
Other crew
Libby Kreutz .... archival research supervisor (2011)
Production CompaniesDistributors

Additional Details

54 min

Did You Know?

Movie Connections:
Features "Grey's Anatomy" (2005)See more »


This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.
See more (1 total) »

Message Boards

Discuss this movie with other users on IMDb message board for "America in Primetime" (2011)

Related Links

Main series Episode guide Full cast and crew
Company credits IMDb TV section IMDb Documentary section
IMDb USA section

You may report errors and omissions on this page to the IMDb database managers. They will be examined and if approved will be included in a future update. Clicking the 'Edit page' button will take you through a step-by-step process.