IMDb > Bad Johnson (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Bad Johnson
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Bad Johnson More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 22 reviews in total 

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Bad acting and directing. Hilariously crude writing.

5/10
Author: chasequailman from United States
24 September 2014

Overall this movie was bad, not compelling, completely predictable (pun intended). The acting in it was fairly bad, as well as the directing and overall production of the movie. That sounds like a recipe for a 1 or 2 out of 10. But no, the writing and jokes in the script, although VERY crude, are hilarious to a certain audience. If that script had landed on the doorstep of the complete cast of This Is the End I think it would have been a success. The script and jokes therein are the only reason to watch this film. If nothing else, you can take away the one-liners and jokes from this crude and hilarious could-have-been. Jeff Tetreault needs a broader audience and larger scope of people to work with. And yes, I did have to look up him name on IMDb.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Bland boring unfunny tedious awful movie

1/10
Author: asiroka from United States
31 August 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I would venture to guess any review submitted above a 1/10 is submitted by people involved with the film. This is a film no one will enjoy. The type of person who would want to see a movie about a talking penis wouldn't want their main character to be an unrelatable stud. The type of guys who would like a movie about a stud guy who gets all the chicks and works out all the time are not the type of guys who would want to hear long winded speeches about how sleeping around is bad because women are people blah blah lame speech you've heard in 9 million other bad movies. Women wont like this movie that treats them like they are fleshlights who can never have more than 3 lines of dialogue in a scene. Its really bad but Its not so bad its good. its just unfunny cliché and bland bad. This movie is for no one.

It doesn't even have the premise the poster and title say it does. his penis is not replaced with a man who talks to him. There is just a full grown guy walking around who says he's his penis but rarely says anything that would lead you to believe he's anything other than his lousy brother. If you were to miss the unbelievably horribly acted scene where his penis calls him on the phone while wacky music plays and he acts like it makes some sense that his penis could call him. I guess he lives in a world of magic and wonder that we only see glimpses of in that every woman he meets wants to have sex with him after 1 second like in a porno.

The jokes aren't even jokes most of the time they don't even make any sense a lot of the time. Nothing in this movie is funny. sometimes gross things are mentioned which is not a joke. he mentions a girl had hairy nipples' that's gross and not a joke and makes me hate the movie. he said his "privates look like a Japanese mans armpit". What does that look like? thats not a common thing most people can relate to. a guy says oh "its like carrot top people go to see him but no one wants to sleep with him" Thats such a stupid thing to say carrot top is known for only having 3 somes because he has so much sex because he has 100 million dollars. oh that reminds me

That carrot top line was said while a character explains not to go to the hospital after his dickis cut off because hed be put on TV shows and exploited by the media. That's dumb logic even by this movies standards.

This movie sucks its painful to try to get through it. Its maybe the worst movie iv ever seen i mean there is nothing to like for anyone for any reason. its just lazy, unfunny and boring.

boo

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Interesting storyline, but not a great movie...

4/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
25 August 2014

It should be said that "Bad Johnson" at least is a different kind of comedy. And when that is said, then it should be said that the movie was kind of a slow-paced and actually disappointing comedy.

Why? Well, for starters, then I didn't laugh a single time throughout the movie. And the little comedy that was incorporated in the movie just didn't really punch through on any scale.

The story is about Rich (played by Cam Gigandet) a guy who cheats on just about every woman that he goes out with. Until one day when he makes a distressed wish to be distanced from the source of his trouble between his legs. Waking up the next day, Rich gets a call from someone he knows intimately and things starts to go awry.

I will say that the idea behind the movie was interesting, but just a shame that it wasn't executed skillfully on the screen.

The acting in "Bad Johnson" was adequate, but the lead part could perhaps have been given to someone more enthusiastic and involved in the role. Cam Gigandet didn't really bring anything to the movie in any way.

"Bad Johnson" was a stale experience as comedies go, and I wasn't really properly entertained. As such, I am rating the movie a mere 4 out of 10 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The Ultimate Movie Review! - http://tss5078.blogspot.com - @tss5078

6/10
Author: Tss5078 from United States
11 July 2015

Some comedies are hilarious, others are down right stupid, and then there is the story of Rich Johnson (Cam Gigandent). Like most men, Rich only thinks with his penis, and it often gets him into trouble, so one night, Rich makes a wish that his penis would leave him alone, and that's exactly what it does. Rich's penis detaches, and comes to life in the form of a walking, talking, human being. In the beginning, this film is an absolute riot, but how many penis jokes can you squeeze into a 90 minute film? Eventually Bad Johnson deteriorates into an eighth graders favorite movie, and becomes really tiresome, but in the insanity, something emerges, (besides Rich's penis), Cam Gigandent. I've seen Gigandent around, and he's usually playing the good looking guy, who's roles really doesn't have much substance, until now. As is the case with most actors, it takes time to find their niche, but Gigandent's may very well be comedy. He was the level headed one, who really blurts out the hysterical line when it is sorely needed, and he was far better than Nick Thune, the man who literally was playing a penis. Bad Johnson isn't the kind of film you'll want to see twice, the jokes are old before the film is even over, but if you're looking for a few good, cheap laughs, this film is absolutely perfect.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Lose more faith in humanity.

4/10
Author: rushknight from United States
30 August 2014

Ever say something you thought was funny but was sort of inappropriate? And for some reason you wondered what sort of scenario it would take to make it appropriate? This is the movie that creates the scenario that makes silly puns about genitals work.

There are few other qualities. There is also plenty of babbling and speculation about human love and relationships and the complexity therein. Although they generally try to treat the topic respectfully, the constant oversimplifications and stereotypes presented leave you shaking your head and simply saying, "No. It doesn't work that way, it's not that simple."

The implication that men can't help but think with their genitals is an old cliché that can really be fun if it's played well, but is still generally demeaning. Whereas the insinuation that women are so easily seduced by someone like this "Johnson" character is somewhat demeaning to the female gender.

All of it could have been done well, but really the whole film comes off pretty dry. It's only moderately entertaining, and not very romantic.

It also reminds me of a similar movie that came out in 1988 called "Me and Him." (tt2091325)

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

An impressive first-time feature.

8/10
Author: fmarquez1994
7 April 2014

I ordered this film on iTunes and was surprised at the layers it holds within its "raunchy- com" feel. What surprises the most about Bad Johnson is its versatility: it can be a dude's film, a sex comedy, a date movie, and many other things. Most important, however, is the genuine plight of this man with his sexual drive, and trying to come to terms with it as he finds an authentic, and committed relationship in his life.

Despite the comedic surrealism of the film's plot, Bad Johnson tells the story of many people today, both men and women and everyone that has dealt with some sort of hindering addiction. This works in delivering both the hilarious element of a detached penis, a man's worst night, but it doesn't shy away from telling a true and relatable story about an addiction, and a closer look into the modern-day womanizer.

As for the comedy, Jeff Tetreault's first feature film is an impressive debut that takes into consideration both the story and the necessary gags. Looking forward to seeing more work by this up-and-coming writer. But what really takes the prize here is the fantastic cast. All actors are in-tune with the comedic elements and the timing: Jamie Chung delivers the angry girlfriend stereotype brilliantly, Nick Thune is equal parts terrifying and hysterical, Katherine Cunningham is a newcomer to look out for, and Cam Gigandet steals every scene with a natural charm and a previously unseen versatility for every kind of role.

The film has its silliness, and its slips in over-doing some of the jokes, as any first feature will have (and especially one of the comedic genre)—however, I was surprised at how much work went into the making of this film.

Definitely worth it, a fun and impressive first-time feature.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Bad Movie

2/10
Author: dsody from Canada
9 February 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This film should of been called "Bad Movie," instead of "Bad Johnson."

I think this film had potential that went to waste. I like the premise. I wanted to like the movie but it disappointed.

The main character was a horrible person that did horrible things but by the end of the movie he didn't learn anything. I have seen many films, that were comedies about sex. Films like American Pie, for example. That film at least had a good story and main characters that you cared about. There was a point to the whole story. This film was completely pointless, about some guy who cheats on and hurts the women he cares about. It also wasn't funny at all. If you are looking to watch a funny comedy about sex then I recommend the American Pie series instead.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining, but wait.....

2/10
Author: Moses Bernard from UK
5 April 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The premise of this film is entertaining... I mean, a sex mad bloke with no respect for women loses his penis (who itself becomes a sex mad bloke) leading to the original penis owner getting in touch with his descent side. OK, we get it... But riddled throughout the films dialogue are random unnecessary comments that are simply appalling.

An example being at the 48 minute mark. The penis, wearing a hoody, gets into a kids car. The kids thinks he is being robbed and shirks in shock/fear, to which the penis says "Relax, I'm white", resulting in the kid feeling immediately relaxed. I mean please.. I took offense to this straight away and thought enough was enough.

Slyly enforcing stereotypes of this nature is just petty and aids the erosion of faith in an entire demographic of society. Are we really saying that all carjackers are black... Not funny... not funny at all!!! Needless to say... I stopped watching at this point!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Could of been better!

4/10
Author: Harry Bond (mrharrybond) from United Kingdom
25 November 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Okay, not the world's most greatest movie about (SPOILERS) a Penis becoming A human, exactly what other movies are like that? None. It bugs me that the idea was wasted on something like this movie. The movie had no actual funny moments apart from one moment that made me giggle. The movie is obviously aimed at young teens/adults but some of it just reminded me off a Kids program, which is shocking as it contains a lot of sex. I mean the movie seemed rushed towards the 2nd half. He went on to have met this women for the third time and he's in love already. I mean the movie was totally rubbish, but it's not a buy worth movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Better than what I thought

6/10
Author: BlindMan-11 from Canada
20 January 2015

The concept is original and the actors, working with a script that could have had a bit more work done to it, did still come off as entertaining.

Actually, this movie could be really one for ladies more so than guys. There are so many ladies who could understand how a guy can be the way that he is with his junk. Not that anyone should want to have a guy lose his junk but just take some responsibility for it.

And guys could laugh at the prospect of their junk taking on their own life so that they could see how it looks to actually watch their junk in action and cringe.

Well worth the watch!!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history