IMDb > "Young & Hungry" (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Young & Hungry"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Young & Hungry" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 31 reviews in total 

59 out of 71 people found the following review useful:

nice!

9/10
Author: joannaloup from United States
5 July 2014

This seems to be a very nice comedy... i have seen a couple of episodes, they are fun, they are original, it does remind me of some older comedies, but at the same time it is quite refreshing. The acting and directing is good, the writing is nice, the budget is obviously seriously low but however they managed to create something really cute! will be watching for sure ! just hoped they would make these comedy shows last a bit longer than twenty two minutes.. Why do we only get 22 minutes of laughter and always 45 minutes of drama drama drama.. This is frustrating..! Anyway, as I was saying, if you are looking for a nice new comedy series for summer, you should totally check this one out.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Glorious

10/10
Author: florin-radu-343-900094 from United Kingdom
27 September 2014

Best sitcom in many many years, it would be a shame if it is not continued. The main quality for a sitcom is to be credible, to deal with real life. If it concerns hypothetical situations, it becomes artificial and unconvincing. So far, only three sitcoms worked for me: M*A*S*H, Married with Children and Taxi. 'Young and Hungry' is a worthy addition to the pile. It is spontaneous, exhibited and sparkling. You really feel that you are part of the plot, because the plot is tangible enough for you to blend in. Enjoyment, effervescence, wit, it has them all. It just reinvented the sitcom, a genre undermined by ill-fated precedents such as 'Friends' or 'Seinfeld', meant for pea brain viewers. Absolutely brilliant.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Emily is no kid anymore - This show should stay on the air

10/10
Author: CableExecPA from Drexel Hill PA USA
28 April 2015

A hilarious vessel for Emily Osment (always has been one of my favorites). Emily gets to show herself as the young adult that she is now and Y&H is filled with adult innuendo (as I said - Emily is no kid anymore and the rest of the world is all the better for it).

This group's on-screen chemistry is evident - they are fabulous together and their comedic timing is impeccable. Their characters are each their own people and I can't wait to see what happens to each of them from one week to the next.

I'm glad that they chose to develop Aimee's character as she is definitely able to pull it off. I certainly want to see more about what happens with Sofia. The same for the characters of Rex and Kym. They are all a howl to watch.

The writers need to develop Jonathan's character more if he is to be more prominent in the show, but it's not absolutely necessary. I expect we'll see more of Josh as time passes.

I expect this show to kick off chapter 2 of Emily's career, boost Aimee's into orbit and further validate Rex's and Kym's already successful careers.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

you just gotta love it!!!

8/10
Author: jvanderwalt5 from South Africa
29 August 2015

This is funny and good wrapped up in one package. It stars one of my favorites Emily osment. A young "chef blogger" gets a job as a chef at a rich tech's home.One night she accordantly slept with him.OOPS!!!! There's also a lot of funny moments,a fake pregnancy,a relationship with a car and a very funny love triangle. Let's not forget Yolanda(the housekeeper)and Elliot(the organizer) those two are hilarious. Give it a look its laughoutloud funny!!!!!!!Abc family really shows good shows I am happy that this got a second season bc its not easy to get one many shows gets canceled after a couple episodes!!!!

Season 2 is continuing in august 2015!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Deeeee-Lisha!!!

10/10
Author: PeachHamBeach from Morro Bay, Hammett Valley, Twin Rocks
27 July 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

THERE WILL BE SPOILERS...YOU WERE WARNED!!!!

Emily Osment is a revelation and a delight as one of the newest faces of prime time comedy, taking on the role of Gabi Diamond, a Po-arse aspiring chef who applies to be the household cook for a self made dot- com millionaire named Josh Kaminski (one of my male harem members, Jonathan Sadowski), a naive and sweet-natured genius who believes he's found his soul mate in West Coast Socialite Caroline Huntington (Mallory Jensen). Against the protests of his longtime publicist and right hand helper Elliot Park (the one and only Rex Lee, who I'm so happy to see since they canned one of the other delightful comedies of recent years, SUBURGATORY), Josh "sort of" hires Gabi after she makes him an gooey- gooey lopsided grilled cheese, and then asks Gabi to please make him a fail safe proposal dinner so that he can make Caroline his wife.

Oh what food porn awaits! And this is AFTER Caroline abruptly tells Josh via phone that she wants to break it off for a while, that things are moving too fast. Translation: I'm a selfish gal...and I've met a guy...and I feel like having a 14 hour ff-a-thon rather than honor my previous plans to have dinner with you. Oblivious to the fact that she has torn Josh's heart out, Caroline makes merry with her temp fling while Gabi agonizes not only about the heartsick Josh, but about the possibility that since the proposal dinner is a bust, so is her job.Both Gabi and Josh live in that most beautiful of all cities, San Francisco, but Gabi lives on the less glitzy side.

Using her telepathic abilities to know what food will comfort Josh, she begins feeding him the sexiest mashed potatoes of all time...Sweet Jesus!!! Frankly, I can't blame either of them for what happens next. It would never have occurred if Caroline hadn't been the biggest flake since the Kellogg's Rooster. Josh was crying and Gabi was upset too. Suffice it to say, that a few too many delicious glasses of cham-pag-NE changed the course of the boss/chef relationship forever. Oh me, the curious perv has so many questions...what did they say to each other? Did they cry some more? Did they both confide that they were lonely and felt empty inside because they felt like people didn't love them for who they really are? My, my, my...this is what they mean by "less is more!"

Next day, Ms. Selfish appears at Josh's door, claiming she was wrong, that her psychologist tells her it's all about how her growing up a spoiled brat has made her crave conflict and challenges. From this moment on, you can see that Caroline treats Josh like an accessory rather than a human being. Would she have fallen for him, the sweetest tech nerd in Creation, if he didn't have the money he has? What draws him to her, and vice versa? The pilot was my favorite episode, followed by the episode guest starring Ashley Tisdale, and now, the fifth episode, in which Gabi attempts to jump start her dating life with a hot little number who lives a few floors down from Josh.

I love each and every character in the show. Yolanda: "I ain't clean-in' up after no horse!" and of course Gabi's roommate Sophia, who works at some bank or law firm. I splattered my screen with lemonade during this: "Yo, Gabi I need pizza...worked up an appetite...Babe...still waiting' on that pizza!"

Oh, and the FOOD! The hog within you will love the food as much as the hyena will love the laughs...those mashed taters, Chinese duck and catfish, salted caramel creme brulee, Scandanavian princess cakes, and holy moly...sriracha jalapeño poppers and Oreo-gasms (what they should be called, right?!)

Something new and wonderful to add to my fave of all time shows: That 70s Show, Big Bang, Suburgatory, Chasing Life and The Fosters. Please let YOUNG & HUNGRY stay with us for a long long time!!!!!!! It's a keeper!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

"No, I hate good looking men with lot's of money..."

6/10
Author: sleeping_gorilla-169-489999
24 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is going to come off very sexist, and I'm probably starting a fight here.

First off. I don't hate the show at all. It has a good cast and is well written. It's even funny sometimes. My issue with the show is the female characters.

Gabi is a manipulative gold digger that has been stringing her boss along for the show's run. She's broken up several relationships with her meddling, just to turn him down once she has him interested in her again. He even bought her a car, a second business, and sent her on an expensive vacation after she ruined one of his relationships. Then she has the nerve to be mad at him for holding back his feelings. She constantly snubs him, but when things don't go her way she runs back to him for money and a hug.

Gabi is the worst, but Sophia is bad too. While the actress is funny, the character wants nothing to do with men who don't make tons of money and can't buy her stuff. Some guy likes her, but has to hide the fact that he works as a mascot so she'll pay attention to him. A successful man wouldn't have a problem with a woman working at a gym, but a rich woman would have nothing to do with a guy working there.

Again, I like Emily Osment and Amie Correro. But I hate this aspect of the female characters, and the way men are treated on this show in general.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A great sitcom!

9/10
Author: Tom Oosterhof from Netherlands
21 October 2015

This is the definition of a great sitcom.

It has great comedy, a little drama and you can somewhat relate to situations.

If you liked sitcoms like Two and a half men & The big bang theory then you possibly like this one too.

It is noticeable that the budget is very small. However, the jokes, the people and the overall harmony are very good.

I just finished watching the first season and I'm definitely going to watch the next one. I hope this show stays on for a long, long time.

This might even be my new favorite sitcom!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

A very entertaining series

10/10
Author: Klaus Me (klausosho@yahoo.com) from Romania
30 March 2015

I love Emily Osment since I perceived her as a small gem with her presence on Hannah Montana; there and then I sincerely thought she did all the job, or, let's say she was more spontaneous and natural than the main character. After I watched a few times all the Hannah series, I felt that Emily deserved more, that she could show more, only if she had a chance. I am very thankful because this chance came for her and because I got to see her develop and show more from her potential and the qualities an actor should have: spontaneity, humor, good presence and rapport between the other members of the cast, and lack of falseness. I am not a movie expert, and I talk from the heart when I say that the Y&H series is very entertaining, because the more episodes I see, the better the cast gets together, harmonizes itself and deliver very good jokes and plausible situations, and we also can learn some educational stuff, too. The entire cast does an amazing job, Emily's self-deprecation humor is very funny, without falling into dark, so I like everything I see. Keep up the best work and from me to you, Emily: I am very glad that you have received this chance (I am mostly sure that more will come for you, from the smart directors) and hope only the best for you, since you have lots to give to the audience! She will be one of the greats, someone, mark my words! (P.S.: sorry for all the "I"s)

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Dull & Painful Jokes

1/10
Author: Bernard Jalaguier from Hong Kong
22 November 2015

Barely funny and dull and found myself thinking of something else when I was watching this stupid show.

Why do some American comedies use laugh tracks still? Do they make the sitcoms funnier?

All I know is that this show is so boring that the laugh tracks do not go with the lines.

I couldn't bear to watch the second episode. The script is stupid and predictable i.e. The tech entrepreneur says "I want you to make her say Yes" and the cook answers "I will make her say Yes Yes Yes" and the laugh track roars....

This show is made for people whose sense of humour is not sophisticated or not highly developed enough but it is good for teenagers.....

My favorite is Crazy Ex Girlfriend, now that is what I call a comedy, and it does not use laugh tracks !

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Been there, done that, little to no funny aspects

3/10
Author: bigfootpat from Netherlands
22 November 2016

I haven't been able to watch more than a few episodes, but I also don't intend to. So far it seems like this show is a cheap Melissa & Joey knock-off, with the genders reversed.

The acting isn't that bad, but it isn't good either. I have the feeling that the actors have problems with keeping a straight face after something (apperently) funny happens.

I don't know the overall story, but the stories in the episodes are done a million times already and feel really tiresome to watch. Overall an episode brings a faint smile on my face once, which is pretty bad for a sitcom, but the worst is yet to come:

The stereotypes! An over the top gay character, an over the top black woman, everything is blown out of proportions with little subtlety. And that laugh track, it's incredibly annoying! And with unfunny jokes, subpar acting, and stereotypes, the laugh track is the final nail in the koffin of something that's labeled a "sitcom".

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history