IMDb > He's Way More Famous Than You (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
He's Way More Famous Than You
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Mind Numbingly Awful

1/10
Author: filipadonaldson
4 July 2015

I never write reviews, but I had to make an exception for this 'movie', mainly because the reviews already written do not do it justice. Alas, this is not technically a review but rather a warning. If the shockingly low score doesn't deter you from seeing this movie, then please let this review do the trick. The movie is pathetically self- referencing, and while assuming it is being funny, it is, in fact, annoying, lacking and completely awful. I couldn't even finish this movie! The main character's voice is squeaky high and forces you to grimace throughout the movie. Though plot is not the worst idea ever, somehow in this movie's execution of it, it becomes sub par and laughable, and not in a good way. Writing, photography and directing is at a level of a high school AV club after school project. Humor is crude and virtually non-existent. Just avoid at any cost.

Was the above review useful to you?

Not everybody's cup of tea

1/10
Author: kaknieke
8 July 2015

The rudest, most forced, most annoying, most unpleasant comedy movie ever been made. This is so far the worst movie i've ever seen in my life. The main character incessantly shouting out shrieking voice, almost as annoying as the sound of nails scratching on a blackboard. No lesson to be learned, no clear direction where the story leads to. It's a complete mess. The only good thing about this movie is i didn't sleep at all. I was curious to see what happened, hoping, and waiting for any surprise, and i didn't get any. Nothing beautiful can be seen in the movie at all. Ugly characters, ugly attitudes, ugly voice, ugly story-line, ugly ending. This is a bad movie about making a bad movie. Ugghhh!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Lots of positive emotions

10/10
Author: Nina Norman from Germany
30 August 2013

When you feel like you've seen everything before and no movie can make you laugh out loud than just see this one. Seriously. When reading the storyline I thought it would be another stupid comedy with a few funny moments… Nope. This movie is something special! To tell the truth sometimes I burst out laughing and crying as the humor was just killing fun!! The main characters are so optimistic and energetic that you really believe in their success. Ha-ha, I wasn't disappointed by their results, you should see what kind of movie they shoot!

I should admit that the script is absolutely superb. One can't even imagine what's gonna happen in a second and it's cool that you don't have a clue of what Halley will do next. Want to notice that Halley Feiffer rocks as an actress. I've never seen a single movie with her or with Ryan Spahn, but I was impressed by their talent. Hope to see more good movies with them starring. If you hesitate whether to watch it or not - don't doubt as it will make your day!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Laughed Harder Than I Have In Years

10/10
Author: Brett from United States
13 April 2013

I just saw this fabulous Indie film, written by the hilarious Halley Feiffer. I laughed throughout the entire movie, and could not disagree more with the review that gave this a 1 out of 10. Their reason for this was how awful the lead character was, but that was the whole point of the movie. Her alcoholism led to her awfulness, and the movie is making fun of the lead character and her ridiculousness while dealing with her B movie star status. It is a take on the film industry, and somehow made alcoholism funny without trivializing it. Well done.

I saw this film at the Cleveland International Film Festival and Halley was generous enough do to a question and answer session after. She seemed unlike the girl she played in the film, although she said she based the film on some real life experiences. To put herself out there like that is not only brave but also brilliant.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Not for Everyone, But Perfect for Some (and Me)

8/10
Author: portulaca13-650-434383 from Los Angeles, CA
3 April 2013

I cannot abide there being only one review (and a scathing one at that!) available.

Everything the last reviewer hated, I loved. I found the movie's sensibility to be fun and over-the-top, campy and playful. The main character is, of course, totally awful, but she's living in a world of insanity and that's sort of the point.

She's insufferable past the point of realism (I hope!) and if you just grab some popcorn and sit back, you will witness a very colorful and original type of train wreck.

I would recommend this to people who like extreme characters, appreciate movies about "the industry," and are bored with movies who play it safe with their characters' likability. This is way more risky and fun!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly entertaining

9/10
Author: Vladislav Torgan from Lithuania
3 September 2013

My expectations weren't too high when I went to see "He's way more famous than you". But then I changed my mind. The gimmick is that this movie was written by Halley Feiffer who also played the main character, so it claims to be a little bit biographical though I don't think the real Halley is as crazy as her character is. Basically this is a movie about people mad on Hollywood. It's amazing how supportive people around Haley are. She drives them crazy, but they continue to believe in her ideas. I laughed during the whole movie as the actors are hilarious! I even didn't notice how the time passed by. Wish the movie was longer so I could have more fun! Also the movie has a few soppy and touching moments which fit in with the main message about "family" and "sticking together". I would recommend it to people who are tired of cliché. Unexpected events, sarcastic jokes and mind-blowing ending, all you need is here. To my mind the movie deserves 9 out of 10 and no less.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A good movie about making a very bad movie, and more...

7/10
Author: eventpix from florida
16 May 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is a movie about making a movie, a genre that goes back many decades. As such, I found it entertaining, funny, and particularly original. It is, I admit, somewhat confusing for a couple of reasons. The first is that the 'movie' which the characters are in the process of making is really an inconsequential bit of slightly offensive fluff. The second is that there is a sort of double-vision blurring of characters, cast, and reality going on here.

We live in an age when just about anybody can make a movie and sometimes it seems as if everybody is doing just that. Halley (the character) seems to think that she can simply copy and paste a short dramatic segment of her life onto a big screen and it will become a film. It's interesting that even when she comes to her senses and tries to soberly pitch her ideas she's got nothing more than a song and dance….. literally.

This movie, "He's Way More Famous Than You", does have a plot however. It's "A Star is Born" for the 21st Century with Halley Feiffer never quite realizing that she has actually been cast as Norman Maine. Jesse Eisenberg plays Esther Blodgett off camera. The movie has a sober beginning and an alcohol induced haze of a middle. It could have ended on an up-beat, 'well, who knows where this will lead' note, but wouldn't it be hard to not assume that the real ending must be the actual existence of the movie itself. There's even an appendix where we see yet another movie that shows where this one might have gone, but didn't: darkly lit dramatic vomiting, incest, intergenerational angst, and suicide. (Is it a spoiler to reveal a plot line not followed? i.e. Rosebud isn't a dead baby)

I will admit that the overlap of fiction and reality in this film can be disorienting. Only a few of us outsiders will ever really know where one begins and the other ends. But isn't that all about the world we live in? Isn't it ironic that the very first, very nasty IMDb review of this film spends half it's time panning Jesse Eisenberg not for his performance here but rather for his participation in another film. Nobody wants to see Liberace and what's-his-name kissing, but Michael Douglas and Matt Damon? I'll pay for that(well maybe not). Last night I went up to my alma mater (Juilliard didn't even have a drama department when I attended) and saw a production of Twelfth Night. The character Sir Toby Belch was ably played by a student named Ryan Spahn. In that context his private life was of little consequence. But I doubt it would be possible to make this film, with Michael Urie directing, and not take it into account. On film we find him playing himself and someone else at the same time and that someone else is desperate to have a part in a movie playing someone else who is actually playing himself in this movie too. Or is he? Wait! Am I talking about Twelfth Night? I'm getting confused here, but in an entertaining way.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Impressed!!

8/10
Author: Audrey Canavesio from United States
21 April 2013

I had good expectations prior to watching this film thanks to the hilarious Michael Urie, and I was not disappointed! It was great to see big name actors mixed in with the much lesser known cast, and everyone held their own and really embraced their characters. There wasn't a dull moment in the movie and my favorite scene was watching Ryan Spahn show off his comedy/singing/dancing skills!! Great director, great cast, can't wait to see what else Ryan and Michael will attempt to conquer in the future. Great job guys!!!!!! Michael directing the movie and being a director IN the movie was a great nod! Also really starting to love Mamie Gummer...I've seen her on TV and was pleased to see her in the movie as well!

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history