The Chew (TV Series 2011– ) Poster

(2011– )

User Reviews

Add a Review
16 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
8/10
Love this show!
jason-e-chapman12 October 2015
I can't understand why so many negative reviews of The Chew! I really like this show! All of the cooks seem very friendly, and it seems they're just having a good time doing what they're doing - cooking and entertaining. I suppose another reason I like this show is the hosts just seem so normal. I don't think any of them are celebrity chefs. They're just people sharing their passion for delicious food.

I must admit, I haven't tried making very many of recipes on The Chew, but many of them do look simple and delicious.

This show adds variety to the typical cooking show, with silly games for the audience members, and having guest cooks.

The Chew is very watchable day time programming and a good way to pass time.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I give everything a chance; take it from me, skip this show
ArtBuff864 November 2011
I will confess, I have watched All My Children before (but I wasn't a long time viewer or anything- I just appreciate the genre and think highly of it, despite the cultural stigma); I'd watch the soaps when I was home, sick from school, or on holiday. Frankly, my review of 'The Chew' doesn't really have much to do with the soaps, except to say that it is an utter shame that something so preciously multi-generational and meaningful in TV history- not to mention to countless fans- was replaced by something so insulting. I just feel insulted by 'The Chew'.

I don't understand how this show could ever captivate people? It certainly didn't captivate me. I watched the first episode with an open mind; it was fake and contrived and boring, to be honest. I can't imagine 'The Chew' ever lasting more than a year or two. I watched it a total of 3 times (and that was quite a task, not turning it off!), and I feel like I have seen enough for a lifetime. The premise of this show is meaningless and the show itself is lifeless. There are countless food channels, which I turn on occasionally, but these hosts are not 'stars' nor are they authority figures of any sort. This show is not an art form either. It's plain meaningless and hard to watch. Maybe this show is a way of passing the time by while saving money, but it certainly does not help me- as a viewer- 'pass the time by' nor does it entertain or inform. Don't waste your time; I already wasted too much of my own time giving 'The Chew' a chance.
23 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
The Chew is Chaos
matthewvern-733-4502865 January 2017
This show wants to be something it is not. It wants to be a fun, energetic show containing various perspectives regarding approaches to cooking and food in general. It is actually a show with a bunch of "people" running around like their heads have been cut off. It appears the producers dose the hosts with uppers at the beginning of the show, so that in the end there is a mess of food and each person can barely speak due to exhaustion. There is nothing cohesive about this show. The hosts appear to compete with each other as they fight one another for the spotlight. There is never enough time to finish a recipe as evidenced by the throwing of food amid acknowledgements that "TIME IS RUNNING OUT"! Is there a bomb hidden somewhere? Who sets the clock for these segments? Jesus Christ this show needs to relax because it is painful and anxiety inducing - far from helpful in any capacity.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Love this show! Poor ratings due to soap-lover sour-grapes!
jovara19 December 2011
Okay, I'm not a soap watcher and couldn't care less that one has been cancelled. It probably is unfortunate that The Chew replaced a soap, time slot-wise. If you're expecting a soap, The Chew is not going to make you happy. However, if you LOVE Clinton Kelly and enjoy watching cooking shows, then this show is awesome! The fun interaction between the 5 hosts and the range of cooking, decorating, and health tips really make this an enjoyable show to watch when I have the time. The hosts have a great time together and present a nice range of ideas and opinions. I personally find this format to be much more rewarding than a single-host tip/cooking show. The only reason I can see for all the poor ratings is that people are upset about losing the soap opera that used to be in this time slot.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Not as good as it used to be...
wwroblic20 March 2013
I like to cook (and eat) and enjoy watching food-related shows on TV including, in its early days, The Chew. More recently, however, I've lost interest in it, as its emphasis has gradually shifted away from cooking and food and more toward idle chit-chat among the hosts and various second-rate guest celebrities, most of whom seem as if they've never set foot in a kitchen before. In fact, when you subtract time spent on silly games, craft demonstrations, dubious fashion tips, the aforementioned gossiping, and frequent, interminable commercials, there's probably less than ten minutes out of the hour-long show that concern anything edible. And when someone does get behind the stove on the set, all we usually get to see are billowing clouds of greasy smoke from burning fat and shots of food scorching in a blackened pot -- not very appetizing.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Give this show a try, if you just enjoy a relaxed program
midway-344-42820022 August 2012
Here's how I see it. The co-hosts of the show seem to enjoy being there and each other, and even though they have been in the public eye in some capacity or another, they really seem truly relaxed with each other. We were not fans of any of the hosts and came across the show early in the season when searching for a good recipe. We came across Carla Hall's Pumpkin Beignets and the rest is history.

The atmosphere is comfortable, the recipes are great, craft ideas, makeovers and all the rest just needs to be enjoyed for a lighthearted change to all of the high pressure cooking staged competition shows. It is a very pleasant change to much of what is pushed at us on TV today. We DVR it everyday and have prepared many of the recipes.

Give it a try, and it is getting better with every show. It doesn't make any difference if all of the hosts aren't there everyday. This isn't a competition, it is just an enjoyable show, and more real than the reality shows that seem to get all of the hype.
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Worst show on TV.
coolklr29 October 2012
By far the worst show on all of TV. I can't wait until its gone. I have watched the show several times. Most of the time I cannot make myself watch the entire show. Most of the time it is so annoying that you just can't watch the entire show. I have no idea what Mrs. Hall use to do what ever it was I hope she did it better that she does on the view. The only thing that I can come up with that she would could be a witch for Halloween, only part time work but she would fit the part. Now as for the rest of the crew, what a joke. Very poorly done form slob looking outfits. To the 70's style hair with the nice roots shine in the studio lights. Who puts crap like this on this network. sad, sad, sad.
9 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Daphne Oz-The Chew
munterl5 June 2017
Daphne Oz is a waste. She doesn't know how to cook. Occasionally, someone will let her zest a lemon or chop some parsley. Otherwise, she just stands around and watches or sits and eats everything in sight. The other four people have something to offer but not her. They know how to cook and have professional culinary experience.

She is on other shows and there too, she doesn't have professional insight in judging contestants.

She is a fifth wheel and probably knows someone who got her the job.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Who cares?
eurotom21 March 2013
Even if it was a fun show or interesting people, what ABC did to further destroy the anchor daytime programs aka: ALL MY CHILDREN and ONE LIFE TO LIVE is simply wrong. For that alone I would REFUSE to have anything to do with this program. "Reality" shows are not real to begin with. Nice to fire many actors and actresses that have brought pleasure and happiness during the years of the soaps. No one has to agree, but NBC did the same crap on ANOTHER WORLD in 1999, and that was the end of my viewing on NBC. P.S. If you want to cook, get a cookbook. It may not be fair to criticize the program because of ABCs draconian actions against daytime dramas, but soap fans are PASSIONATE, even more so than ANOTHER "reality program."
7 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Loud, Obnoxious, Too Silly, and that's just the first five minutes
aimeemccarthy13 December 2017
I'm American, but I usually say this is an "American show". I'm fine with adults being silly and all, but come on, do they have to laugh every 3-5 minutes? But it interesting, actor/comedian Dax Sheppard was on and he started making dry, casual, funny comments about the food; he got laughs, but not the same laughs as when someone does something super silly. Ending on a high note, Michael is adorable, ya just wanna give him a hug.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Annoying at best.
Wayne Dunn6 December 2017
A show which has people who are repulsive to see and mannerisms of mincing queens is not my cup of java. As a gourmet chef, I have attempted to watch the show multiple times. However, it is obvious that nobody ever did basic barf test on viewers because this is one ugly group of people. It hurts my eyes to watch. I myself am at best a 2 but then again my face isn't plastered on a 55" screen either. The over the top mincing queen behavior is intolerable. I am gay but really, do we need massive stereotypes with over reacting personalities in front of us. I will leave the TV off thank you.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
New Season
maggieangel111726 September 2017
I love The Chew. Its a very informative and fun show. I am also very glad that Daphne Oz is gone. It seems to me watching the new season, the cast is more lively now that she is gone. I had nothing against her eating healthy, but I felt like she pushed her beliefs on the cast sometimes and got upset when they didn't always agree with her. Who knows. I just feel the show is better now that she is gone.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Love the show, not Carla.
freeb-6481527 June 2017
My husband and I were appalled by the actions of Carla. she pushed her co-worker right off his chair. she is a bully. Still watch the show, we love Michael and the rest of the crew. also love the variety of food. The different nationality of crew and their recipes. It's awesome watching them cook.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The Chew
rem27 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Even if you love cooking, and some of these recipe ideas...watching the show is pure torture. Loud, silly, and basically annoying...you can get recipes by going to the website....I really think the world needs more adults acting like adults. Sad really.

http://abc.go.com/shows/the-chew/recipes

the recipes are up to 4/28/17 so I checked the Spoiler box.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Please make it stop!!
msjones-7802616 June 2016
Rechewed fake Narcissistic formatted show. To many hosts, lots of idol talking, very little substance, and they do not seem sincere at all. We can do better. Reduce hosts, Focus. should always be about food. Tell Mario to get off that host desk, and do what he does best. Creating great food. NOTHING ELSE. This show could be better, by stop being like other shows. Outside great recipes, the show can focus on issues about food. You see the hosts try and up one another. There are too many of them. I believe that The Chew is at the crossroads. It needs to find out what its true DNA is, and push forward. The actions of the hosts seem manufactured and not real. If you are in it to win it, then I would suggest you talk about food, cooking, techniques, cool food trends, and cut out the blah blah blah.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
the giant orange mortar and pestle. I want one!
loriwilli27 March 2014
Im in love with that big awesome mortar and pestle. Please! Tell me where I can get one. I've been able to find it on Amazon but they are out with no promise it will be restocked. I have several in my collection, which I use frequently. . But...I simply must have one like that! Can you help me in my search? I'm wanting to see some shortbread cookies demonstrated by one of the awesome iron chefs or both that would be great. I make mine in spring form pans and use my homemade vanilla and vanilla sugar or pure almond extract and amaretto, topped with the fine sugar matching the flavorings. I would like to see variations I could try. I usually don't leave them in the oven till they'll be crunchy, I like them soft and moist in the center. I love "The chew" its the perfect combination of personalities. Thank you.

Lori Williamson

Thank you. Lori Williamson
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews