IMDb > "Game of Thrones" The Night Lands (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Game of Thrones: The Night Lands (#2.2)"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Game of Thrones" The Night Lands (2012)

« Prev | 12 of 43 Episodes | Next »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 7 reviews in total 

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

The Saga Goes on

8/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
22 April 2014

Arya is traveling with Yoren and the Night's Watch recruits when two Golden Cloaks arrive at their camping requesting Gendry, but Yoren uses his sword to send them back. However they promise to return with more guards. Cersei does not accept the peace terms proposed by Robb. Tyrion arrests Janos Stynt and names Bronn as the new Commander of the City Watch. Theon Greyjoy travels to the Iron Islands to meet his father Balon and deliver Robb's proposal of alliance that is immediately rejected by Balon. He also meets his sister Yara that is the pride and joy of Balon. Beyond the Wall, Jon Snow sees Craster leaving a baby in the woods during the night. He follows him but Craster hits him on the face.

"The Night Lands" shows Arya disclosing to Yoren who she is. The cunning Tyrion is against the babies slaughtering and Janos is the first one to pay for his action. Then has the coldest reception he could imagine from his father. Jon Snow snoops around Craster and gets in trouble. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "The Night Lands"

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Mixed feelings

6/10
Author: CharWoman from Virginia
11 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I started reading the books after the first season hooked me so thoroughly. That may make it harder for me to consider the series on its own, but I'm getting worried about how much gratuitous sex HBO is stuffing (npi) in, and the liberties with the story lines and dialogue. There are some alterations that, after a little thought, do serve to drive home a point more quickly and show the viewer what the books show in a very roundabout way. Those who have read the books will probably struggle with some of that.

This episode was particularly bad regarding the overdose of softcore porn, but hopefully they all won't be like this going forward. When you've got as many characters and as much to tell as Martin's world contains, a lot of daylight is burned on excess bootknocking. ***spoiler*** And some of it goes against character, too. We are shown Melisandre seducing Stannis with a very particular purpose in mind, in part to explain something we'll see in a later broadcast. In the book, we know it happens, but we are not shown, and this hot and heavy scene misleads us about what was likely a pretty clinical interlude, and also about Stannis' personality.***end spoiler***

Nevertheless, a lot of the acting is still very good, and I got an excellent dose of Tyrion, so it's not as if I won't keep watching. I'm pleased they chose to keep Dolorous Edd, knowing that many characters have to be streamlined out to fit the adaptation. But I do feel the tone of this episode was below the first season's, and below the books. Hopefully next one won't disappoint.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Theon returns home to talk about Robb's offer, but his father has other plans

8/10
Author: kkoller0693 from United States
9 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"The Night Lands" was another strong episode. It's funny that throughout its twelve episodes that have aired, every single one has been very strong. I don't think I ever given an episode under an 8 before. The creators should be proud of that.

Season 2's second episode, while showed a lot of characters, was mainly about Theon sailing to his homeland of Pyke to talk to his father about joining Robb in his fight against the Lannisters. And after a (cough, cough) reunion with his sister, Theon's father decides to reject Robb's offer by tossing it into the fire. Even though his reward would that he would rule the Iron Islands as King, Theon's father wants to earn his reward by declaring war even though the father does not want to attack the Lannisters.

If you don't remember, Ned Stark destroyed Theon's father's revolt to become King of the Iron Islands years before. And when he lost, Ned took Theon to Winterfell.

Even though Theon was the main plot line, there were still great scenes to be shown. The episode first starts off by showing Arya on the road to the Wall. It was also great for Yoren (the leader of their group) threaten to kill a Gold Cloak who is looking for Gendry, King Robert's final bastard son, and kill him. It was also a great scene when Gendry tells Arya that she's a girl. Those lines is remembered right from the book. Again, the writers stick with the book's dialog and that's a good thing.

The other strong point was Tyrion. He had some great scenes this episode especially with Varys and a later scene with Cersei. The Cersei scene alone was tremendous. Not only we found out that Joffery was the one who ordered the attack on Robert's bastard sons but that she knew about it. You could see that she was getting very emotional. She now knows that she has created a monster for a King.

We also see Jon Snow and the ending was basically another plot twist. It seems that where they are staying, the husband is giving babies (probably sons) to the White Walkers (we haven't seen these guys sine the pilot). While it was a good twist, I wish there was more of him.

Oh and Stannis screws his sorceress Melisandre . . . . moving on.

While "The Night Lands" was a great episode, it still lacked. Daenery's one scene was way too short and we didn't see any Robb or his mother. We are now beginning to see that one episode isn't enough to show every character because there is way too much to cover. But the episode was strong though - it hasn't lost it's interest. The hour long episode went by pretty fast. I wanted more but I know I have to wait until next Sunday to see more of this season to unfold.

8.8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

"The Night Lands", a.k.a. "The Incest Episode"

8/10
Author: axel-koch from Austria
3 August 2013

The Night Lands is an episode that has a lot of great stuff, but also more than just a few disappointing aspects that mitigated my general view on it. Most of all, they decided to focus on sex even more than usual, especially increasing the incestuous content to an unsurpassed high. The inbreeding parts don't get really explicit, but just the mentioning of it, together with the baby-slaughtering in the previous episode, leads me to believe that this season of Game of Thrones is going to be a lot more unsuitable for children than before. That's not to say that I disliked seeing Carice van Houten nude, I'm solely questioning its necessity, especially since that particular scene wasn't even included in the novels. Anyway, as long as you don't watch it with your kids, the episode is still really nice entertainment.

First of all, we have scenes with Arya again and they are some of the funniest moments the show has had up to that point. The conversation between her and Gendry, bastard son of the late King Robert, was absolutely natural and uplifting and definitely one of the most enjoyable scenes in The Night Lands, whose best part was undoubtedly Peter Dinklage's Tyrion who was present in two scenes and nailed it each time. The first one, him having dinner with Janos Slynt, the Commander of the City Watch, is hilarious and so well acted; the second one is another debate between him and Cersei that made me laugh my arse off (to stay in Game of Thrones British English) while also giving important background information. Another very good part of this episode was Littlefinger solacing Ros, which soon turned out to be a bit more than that and showed off Littlefinger's attitude so perfectly well. What happened when Theon Greyjoy visited his family is one of the incest facets the episode has to offer while actually being very entertaining and interesting since it gives us a lot of character insight.

So much for the good parts about The Night Lands; the not bad, but not really good scenes were basically everything I didn't mention in the previous paragraph. Dragonstone, the freshly introduced new setting, already got a bit boring in this episode, however, if you haven't read the source material, it will definitely help you to understand all the new characters better. The attribute 'boring' can also be given to the scenes across the Narrow Sea where Daenerys and her khalasar of some two dozen people and most of them women are planning to attack the rest of Westeros. I'm utterly convinced that this plan will work.

While not boring, the Night's Watch scenes were unappealing to me right from the start as unfunny fart jokes were made, while Kit Harrington did a really fine acting job and proved that he can be just a tiny bit amusing as well. The Night Lands ended in a scene with him that is bringing up the question: Is every Game of Thrones episode now going to end with a baby being killed?

My conclusion: I did enjoy this episode, yet I found it to be one of the weakest episodes of the show yet. There were too much things happening that I didn't like and if it weren't for the numerous and circumstantial sex scenes, this would've easily been the most boring Game of Thrones episode yet. Keep in mind that my rating always augments a bit because of the show's visuals that never fail to impress me.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Grimm Reviews: Game of Thrones 2x02 'The Night Lands'

8/10
Author: GrimmRa from United Kingdom
9 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

SPOILERS - Whole episode discussed! - SPOILERS

After a fantastic premier, season 2 stays strong with another great episode.

I think this episode we really notice Ned Stark's absence from the show. There no longer seems to be a lead character leading us through the show and connecting the different story lines as season 1 did. Hopefully this doesn't result in the story lines collapsing under the weight of each other.

Tyrion rocked this episode (as usual). From his threats to Varys declaring he won't be manipulated, to his removing of Janos as leader of the City Watch (I cheered for him after Janos had made insulting comments towards him) and promoting of Bronn which (quite funny) to his conversation with Cerser. Here we realise it was Joffery who ordered last episode's killings, and we see Cersei realising more and more that she has created a monster of a King.

It was great seeing the Night's Watch storyline making its way to King's Landing too. Tyrion seems to be more understanding of their situation, while everyone else is still in denial. I'm looking forward to when the White Walkers finally come to the kingdom's, and seeing how all these people who have laughed at such creatures will react.

The Arya crew was also part of this weeks highlights. Yoren kicked ass in the beginning, and I'm glad as I've loved this character from the beginning. The relationship between Arya and Genji was very convincing, I think and hope they become very close over the season.

Lack of Daenerys was annoying this week. Last week we see little of her too, but afterwards I felt it helped emphasise the feelings of isolation and hopelessness that her people feel. Now however it was a disappointment. Her scene was still great though.

The Iron Islands makes an appearance, and they do look very good from what we see. Theon has been one of my least favourite characters on the show, partly because of the actor who I don't think has a great performance, so this whole section was less interesting than the rest of the episode. However his sister has me very interested, and I'm anxious to see her play a very strong role in the show. And yes her introduction was very creepy but I never felt uncomfortable, was quite humours.

Beyond the wall, Sam was great this episode. His innocence and child- like qualities made me really want him to 'get the girl' as they say. Jon Snow appeared much harder and tougher, after his encounter with Craster and Mormont last week. Till this point I'd just assumed the male babies were killed, as the show hints at, but in the final scene we get another sighting of the White Walkers!!!. This is great as they are very cool and intriguing, and especially since we haven't seen them since the very first scene of the show, making the ending a great way to finish the episode off.

And in Dragonstone, Davos continues to be a very interesting character and I wanna know more about who he is and his relationship with Stannis. Melisandre seems to be making progress in controlling Stannis, I'm interested into seeing how this plays out but so far it hasn't caught my attention too much.

Catalyn and her journey to see Renly was also missed. Renly has always been one of my favourites, so I was really hoping to see more of him here.

Another strong episode overall. A few story lines yet to have me hooked and some scenes were dearly missed, but a lot of strong content. 8/10!

PS: This is my first IMDb review so my writing might be a bit messy. 

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Exotic Westeros, welcomed feminism, vivid darkness but editing seams, unbalanced writing, thirsty creativity

8/10
Author: igoatabase from France
9 April 2012

One week was at least what I needed to recover considering the premiere propelled my spirit beyond the stars. However despite its cosmic qualities I have to admit that it wasn't as jaw dropping as Winter Is Coming. It featured many stellar scenes, like Daenerys taking care of her baby dragon or Jaime's hallucination, but it lacked a knocking out ending. This second episode delivered the cliffhanger we were hoping for but sadly I have to admit that it lacked some of the elements that made The North Remembers so outstanding.

My first complain would be about the editing. I really missed how the parts were linked using the burning comet in the past installment. The mistake had already flawed the epic A Golden Crown in my opinion because it's inappropriate to cut sharp from one point of the kingdom to an other. So let's hope the upcoming episodes will surprise us with their creativity and fantastic metaphoras because a top notch production isn't enough. It leads us to the exotic sets because from Arya's lost woods to Theon's cliffs it felt like flying above Ireland, England and Scotland !

My second major complain would go to the unbalanced development of some arcs. For instance Daenerys' one was way too short. Of course it wouldn't have been entertaining to witness their slow descent toward the river of thirst but her seeing a mirage or having a daynightmare about her precious creature could have been thrilling. In fact it seems this time the dream team behind the show decided to focus more on sexuality. The red-hot Melisandre (Carice van Houten) was back and she actually reminds me of Marion Zimmer Bradley's Avalon series. Such a feminist reference is inevitable considering the number of female characters that are now moving across the board. Theon's filthy rides were controversial and The Adventures of Lady Arya were promising. A charismatic sister, not a boy wanted by Cersei… George R. R. Martin knows his classics and Littlefinger's cheering up one of his protégés was well staged.

The fat guy's naive attitude seemed slightly misplaced but when it comes to Snow shivers are sent down my spine every time ! It feels like Martin was possessed by Stephen King while writing it and that Frank Darabont (The Mist, The Walking Dead) was hired to adapt it. Last but not least Tyrion's candles lighted face off with Cersei was wicked, one second you laugh the next you cry, and of course all the challenging mind games were exciting to follow.

Note : This review was first posted on Kritikenstein, my weblog.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Nothing is happening

2/10
Author: sjensenstrad from Copenhagen
13 May 2012

I know it is based on a book, but couldn't they have done something to make it just a little bit interesting? Nothing is really happening.

First season was awesome but now it is just a lot of blablabla. The only good and positive thing with some excitement is Tyron Lannister. He is an awesome character that keeps it all from falling down.

I really hope it gets better.

Stark family where are youuuu? King Slayer where are youuuu????

Have to write a few more lines to get this review published. But I cant really come up with more to tell. It has so far been a big disappointment

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history