IMDb > Revenge for Jolly! (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Revenge for Jolly!
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Revenge for Jolly! More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 17 reviews in total 

18 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Big Disappointment

5/10
Author: laballatician
11 May 2013

I've had this movie on my Watchlist since it first popped up. A comedic overly-serious bloody revenge flick over the murder of a dog? Plus this cast? Count me in. I love "stupid" movies (see Smiley Face, The Ten).

Sadly, it's not very good.

The concept is pretty funny. The sincerity in which the characters behave adds to the ridiculousness of the plot. But there's a shockingly small amount of humor. I appreciate subtle comedy, but it's nearly non-existent here. There is a funny moment where a character freaks out about getting ranch dressing on his pants, but that's about it.

It doesn't help that the two main guys are dull and unlikeable. I wanted to root for the main guy, cuz I'd totally wanna react the same way if anyone hurt my pets, but I ended up thinking he and his cousin were just a-holes. But their real problem is they just recent interesting enough to make me care.

Finally, and worst of all, the film completely wastes Kristen Wiig. I'm all for seeing her in different kind of roles, but different here doesn't mean better.

I feel like I'm being harsh, but I feel that it would be unfair to make excuses for the film just because of the goodwill I had built up toward it. I wish I liked it more than I I did. That's probably the best thing I can say.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Nonsense comedy and extreme violence that did not fit together

3/10
Author: napierslogs from Ontario, Canada
20 May 2013

"Revenge for Jolly" is a crime drama masquerading as a dark comedy. It starts out very serious. Harry (Brian Petsos) is a good guy who has done bad things and is in over his head. But then bad guys kill his dog and he and his cousin, Cecil (Oscar Isaac), are out for revenge. And then with another bad decision Harry kills a guy. Ha ha ha, isn't that hilarious?

Seriously. At that moment the film decides to take a dark crime drama and turn it into a comedy. Follow up a murder with witty repartee which should only be attempted by good writers. These are not good writers. The entire beginning of the movie was told by narration, the rest of the movie was one-off scenes with good actors. Some of which were mildly funny, most of which were extremely violent, none of which were cohesive.

This is one of the worst attempts I have ever seen at a dark comedy. The actors played it all so seriously (and frequently it was very serious) but then there would be a number of ridiculously violent acts and then they would have a ridiculous nonsense conversation to be played for laughs. I get the juxtaposition, but none of it worked together.

The lead actor couldn't play subtle at all. Isaac does a great job of playing a bad guy who isn't so bad (he can also throw in some subtle comedy) but his character was terrible. Cecil was supposedly a good guy with a bad cousin but he was just bad with no redeeming qualities. I think the writers thought that since he wasn't as vicious as Harry, the audience would like him. As for Harry, extreme pet fanatics would understand him. But has no one ever heard of moderation?

A number of good actors come in for one scene. Most of their comedy was non-sequitors, and most really weren't funny. I did laugh at Adam Brody and Bobby Moynihan playing unscrupulous lawyers, but that was just the beginning of one scene. Most of the comedy was to come from the dialogue, but it was terrible dialogue and shouldn't be uttered by any actor no matter what the skill level.

I do at least understand why all of the big name actors agreed to be in it. What's the one type of scene that all actors love? Well, they all get to do it. I don't think that's a good reason to be in a movie, but that's for a different discussion. The problem with "Revenge for Jolly" is that it couldn't get across what kind of movie it was. Is it a crime drama? Or a dark comedy? How about a satire of a crime drama? Or is it a satire of a dark comedy? There was crimes and there was comedy but they didn't go together.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Dog eared

2/10
Author: Prismark10 from United Kingdom
12 September 2015

Well after 20 years after he burst on to the scene with his take on the gory, dark comedy thriller genre there are still Quentin Tarantino fanboys who think its easy to make such films.

Revenge for Jolly is revenge drama as Harry (Brian Petsos) in debt to some bad guys finds out that they killed his dog and he is not happy.

Along with his cousin Cecil (Oscar Isaac) they go out for revenge which involves killing lots of other people even if they are not that bad. There are scenes of violence mixed in with silly conversations, getting wasted and tagged on narration none of which makes the film funny or dark.

So much bloodshed over one dog which involves Harry killing even one of his friends, no police in sight and lots of star cameos many of them wasted

Oscar Isaac is too good for this type of picture. Writer and star Brian Petsos needs to learn what makes a Tarantino film tick.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Moronic trash

1/10
Author: jimbo-53-186511 from United Kingdom
5 August 2015

When Harry's (Brian Petsos) beloved dog Jolly is killed in mysterious circumstances he decides to track down the person responsible for killing his dog with his cousin Cecil (Oscar Isaac).

In England, we are widely considered a nation of dog lover's so in principle a film such as Revenge For Jolly could easily have worked (I'm going to assume that's it's the same story across the pond in America). This could have been a very easy film to like and could have been an easy film for an audience to become involved with, but sadly, for me, it was an awful and ungodly experience.

The initial set up is OK and the narrative establishes Harry as a very lonely person, a man whose best and only friend is a dog - he's a believable character and this aspect of the story is something that many people could easily identify with. Unfortunately, almost everything that follows practically undoes any sympathy that we may have drummed up for the protagonist. Let's look at the problems....

Well for a start, Harry is up to his eyes in debt and is on the run from some heavies (what a great way to undo any sympathy you have with a character). Despite the fact that he's initially set up as a character we can identify with, he then goes on a manhunt to find the person who killed his dog with his cousin Cecil (who isn't as bad as Harry, but is still a character that is very hard to care about). The writers then randomly switch from Cecil and Harry being stone-cold mercenaries on the hunt for Jolly's killers to care-free lads on a night out on the booze (this seems to happen a couple of times throughout the film). It seemed strange that Harry's dog's death was very traumatic to him, but yet he seemed to find it OK to get wasted during his quest to find the killer of his dog. It's billed as a 'Dark Comedy' so perhaps their goofball antics were supposed to act as some form of 'comedic relief' but their antics never made me laugh and despite the fact that the film is only about 80 minutes long I found myself continually seeing how much longer the film had left to go.

The worst part of the film comes with the eventual showdown and all I'll say is that if you're expecting a good pay-off for the unbelievable tedium that you've sat through then you're going to be disappointed. An absolute joke of a film that is easily one of the worst I've seen.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Who the ... is Jolly?

6/10
Author: kosmasp
9 March 2014

You will find out watching the movie of course. Only if you like low budget movies that are violent, with a lot of puns in them that is. The movie managed to get quite a good cast together (which partly owed to the fact, that most actors are in it for a few minutes). You'll either love that "I know him" game, that is going to happen or you're going to wish there was more meat to some characters (no pun intended).

It will be apparent where this is going early on and it might feel a bit repetitious at times (once again, swearing and blood). But while that works against the movie, it's still fun to watch. So no big surprises here, but a fun little action comedy

Was the above review useful to you?

Wonderfully dark and twisted...

6/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
20 December 2015

This movie was a wonderful surprise, and the dark, twisted comedy used here was just phenomenal. If you like offbeat comedies, then "Revenge for Jolly!" is definitely one to watch.

The story is quite simple, but still very entertaining given the situations and the colorful characters. The story is about Harry coming home to find his beloved dog Jolly dead, and then Harry sets out to find the one who killed his dog.

It is the outrageous characters in particular that really adds flavor to this movie. And there were some great talents on the cast list and some familiar faces here and there, which was quite nice.

While this is a comedy, it is not a movie with comedy that will make you laugh yourself crazy. However, the comedy here is so bizarre and outrageous that it just works out quite nicely. I enjoyed this oddball comedy and was rather entertained by it, and I am glad that I took the time to sit down and watch "Revenge for Jolly!".

Was the above review useful to you?

Fun, interesting and funny

8/10
Author: ilovedawko
13 August 2015

I really enjoyed this movie.

The plot is darkly funny, with elements of Kill Bill and Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, but all with an absurdist twist.

The main characters are both strangely believable, in amongst all the insanity of the plot. Their emotional connection is plausible and well done.

Cartoon violence is interspersed with some relatively poignant and deep dialogue. If you have seen Llewyn Davis then one side of the dialogue will seem vaguely familiar - the same actor brings his brooding, terse delivery to this movie with good effect.

Overall, I would definitely recommend watching this. Ideally late at night after a few drinks for authenticity...

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I actually enjoyed this movie! 7/10

7/10
Author: leonblackwood from United Kingdom
3 May 2014

Review: They should rename this movie to One Man & His Dog! Anyway, for some unknown reason, I actually enjoyed this crazy movie. The mad situations that the duo find themselves in, really made me laugh and they were shockingly, witty and quirky. The 2 actors that play the leads were a great choice by the director because they are total opposites. One man is completely focused on catching the guy who killed his dog, while the other guy is rational and just out to help cousin. The music throughout the movie, set the tempo well and it's obvious that other people liked the script, judging by the amount of stars that are in it. Anyway, it's a great roller coaster ride that ends abruptly, but will make you laugh. Enjoyable!

Round-Up: It's not very often that I say this about movies, but this film could have done with an extra half an hour. The storyline was well put together by the director, but there was some gaps that needed to be filled. I was hoping for a big showdown at the end, but the director chose to leave it up to the audience to come up with there own assumption. I haven't seen the guy that plays the lead before, so I can't really comment on his previous performances, but in this movie you do believe that he would die for his dog. Anyway, on the whole, it's worth a watch just for its originality and funny scenes.

I recommend this movie to people who are into there comedy thrillers about a man whose out to revenge the mysterious death of his dog. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Unfunny insane killer rampage with great supporting role cast

4/10
Author: OJT from Norway
18 January 2014

This is the feature film debut of Chadd Harbold, after six short films (of which one is free to watch here on IMDb), with a script by main role man Brian Petsos, which here is Harry and really what we could say is a dog's worst friend.

The film appears to be a black comedy with a great cast, but is not as funny as you think if is.The first 15 minutes seems OK, but then we understand this isn't a black comedy. It seems like Harbold wants to make a Tarantino-flick, though it's quite far from it. The plot has a good idea, and this film could have been great. The problem is that it isn't very funny, just violent. It's so not funny, that I wonder if it's supposed to be funny at all.

It's about two low life (or no life) drinking buddies which goes on a killer rampage to revenge the killing of a small dog, Jolly. They're completely unsafe and insane, played by Brian Petsos and Oscar Isaak.

What is always great, is small supporting Rolex by know actors, and there's a bunch of them here, like Elijah Wood, Kirsten Wiig, David Rasche, Ryan Phillippe, Adam Brody, Garret Dillahunt, Kevin Corrigan, Stephen Payne, Gillian Jacobs, Amy Seimetz, Helen Rogers, Bobby Moynihan, John Di Benedetto, Brian Donahue and so on...

The wedding scene is the most violent since the Kill Bill parody "Kill Buljo", a strange mix of provoked killings and mercy killings confuses a bit. Such a shame the potent cast didn't get a better script to work with. The film ends without being fulfilled, neither do we as an audience. Obviously some talent here, stylish, and some great use of music, but it falls flat to the ground, I'm afraid. An premature unfinished film, which any remake would be better.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The Ultimate Movie Review! - http://tss5078.blogspot.com - @tss5078

1/10
Author: Tss5078 from United States
18 February 2016

Harry (Brian Petsos) is an alcoholic, a degenerate gambler, and just an overall miserable person, but one thing does make him feel a little better, his chihuahua, Jolly. While Harry is out, a bad man comes looking for him, and when he doesn't find him, he leaves a warning, and hangs Jolly from the ceiling. Upon returning home, Harry finds Jolly and loses it before meeting up with his cousin Cecil (Oscar Issac). Together, they go on an alcohol fueled revenge trip. At first I thought this was supposed to be some kind of farce on Tarentino films, but soon realized it's not sophisticated enough for that. These two guys are drunk the whole film and I suppose their bumbling actions are supposed to be funny, but they are far from it. The Producers must have known this and that's why bigger names have cameos in just about every scene. No one can believe this is all over a dog, what I can't believe is that the two leads weren't re-cast after the first day of filming. I really am at a lose to think of a comedy that was less funny than this. I gave it one star, because of the appearance by Elijah Wood, which was absolutely the only reason anyone should even think about seeing this piece of trash. Other than that, Revenge For Jolly! is just another independent comedy, that falls flat on it's face.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history