IMDb > Shirin in Love (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Shirin in Love More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A chick flick w/ a spin

9/10
Author: Krystal Campos from United States
12 May 2014

Despite my lack of love for chick flicks, and that is coming from a woman, I really enjoyed this film. Yes it is a chick flick but it shows life learning experiences and it's not your normal cliché COMPLETE happy ending. Putting two completely different cultures together is what made it interesting as well. There's so much to learn from Persian culture and seeing an American in a Persian setting can be comical. The actors were amazing. From Nazanin Boniadi to Riley Smith and Maz Jobrani who brings even more humor to the table along side Max Amini. They both did a good job of making their characters shine and make you laugh in almost every scene they are in. You can tell that they all worked together to bring the script to life. Overall, I found the storyline intriguing and the settings from northern California breath taking as well. I think that the film did a good job of keeping me drawn in like a good film should.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

I loved this movie.

10/10
Author: Violet Weed from Dallas, Texas, USA
4 November 2014

Apparently the person who wrote the original review of this movie was Persian. He did not like this movie, but probably because the beautiful Persian woman falls in love with the WHITE GUY not the middle eastern guy. Silly doctor! This IS a chick flick, and I've got more news for you. WOMEN OUTNUMBER MEN in this world. FURTHERMORE we are SMARTER than men. We don't all go out to be doctors or lawyers or Indian chiefs (american indians, of course), but that is easily explained. WOMEN MADE society, NOT MEN. Men are like male lions, only needed to to breed to make more more of their species, and occasionally come in and help kill the bigger game animals. Otherwise the female lions do NOT NEED the male lion. Same thing with WOMEN. We don't need men, MEN need US. I loved this movie, it has a happy ending, even though it is built off a silly premise... that an Iranian-American woman would just fall in love with a guy she doesn't know diddlysquat about, but hey, as a woman I'm here to tell y'all that is 'the' definition of a chick-flick after all. They are always built on baloney scenarios. The worst part of this movie was the mother of the female lead, because she had obviously had a terrible face lift. I haven't seen eyebrows that high up on a forehead since I last had tea with the late Mary Kay.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Adorable Rom Com

10/10
Author: aasmallw-597-379922 from United States
22 April 2014

Shirin in Love is one of those adorable rom coms that will completely melt the heart. It will make you laugh. It will give you that tickle in your stomach and looking at Riley Smith doesn't hurt either. ;-) What sets Shirin in Love apart from all the other numerous rom coms is the fact that this one actually has something to say. It's about culture and family and following your own desires. And these desires aren't just romantic. They're career-oriented as well which is very appealing. And there are genuinely sad moments in this film that make one think. It's not all just silly romance and humorous events. There is depth to this film which makes it all the more easy to fall in love with the characters.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

One of a Kind

10/10
Author: Saghi Matinfar from Texas
27 December 2014

The story itself was beautiful. Its one that many Iranian American girls can relate to. This movie shows the struggles of a Persian girl who has adapted to the American culture while her parents are still living a Persian life style. I loved having a English speaking Iranian movie which showed Persian life in the U.S. Although it might have had a few short comings, it was entertaining and one of a kind. The best part of the movie is if any people who aren't Persian watch it, they will still understand the movie, get a little insight into the culture and feel like the movie was directed towards everyone, not just English speaking Persian. I hope to see more movies like it in the future that are made in the U.S for Persian-Americans.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Feel Good

9/10
Author: victoria Roberts from NYC
14 April 2014

I watch "Bridget Jones Diary" and "Sleepless in Seattle" again and again because they are good romantic comedies that make me feel good. Like these films, "Shirin in Love" is a pleasure-a warm funny movie that hits every note I need home alone on a Saturday night. Apart from the well-known talent Amy Madigan, the film is beautifully cast-from the star leading lady Nazanin Boniadi and her (possibly) leading man Riley Smith to some very funny cameos from Anita Khalatbari as the heroine's mother and George Wallace as Officer Washington. The soundtrack is great too, and I hope will be released-and its a good looking film. But the main thing for me is the story and I love it.

Was the above review useful to you?

I was very pleasantly surprised!!

10/10
Author: dominic-m-730-399600 from New Zealand
2 April 2015

I totally disagree with the Dr and the other reviewer who gave very scathing reviews of this wonderful film. Coming from someone who knows absolutely nothing about the Iranian culture, I enjoyed learning a few things about the culture. I thought the acting was actually great because it wasn't over the top or overstated. It was very natural, and I thought the performance by Amy Madigan was fantastic. The two leads were also fantastic, especially Riley Smith. It was a film that made me laugh, made me cry, and ticked all the boxes of a rom com/chick flick and this coming from a guy. Congrats to the producers and director of this film for bringing out the best in the actors and the settings. Also congrats to the cinematographer Garrett Shannon who shot some fantastic scenes, especially those beautiful shots in Northern California. If anyone knows where exactly this is in north California I'd love to know. Cheers to all cast and crew for a FANTASTIC movie. You should be proud!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A wasted opportunity

2/10
Author: Greg from Australia
30 January 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

We had recently seen, and enjoyed, "Appropriate Behavior", a movie also featuring the Persian community in the USA, so we thought we would give Shirin a look. The one star review from Dr Farhad Javidi was scathing, but I thought maybe he was just being too critical as you can be with movies purporting to involve your own culture. Other reviews were seriously glowing. And we enjoy rom-coms, so let's go!

Well let me say, having just re-read Dr Javidi's review, that he was spot on. This is not a good movie. The script is poor, even inane. The titular Shirin is certainly attractive, highly educated and a capable writer, but inexplicably stupid. The apparently difficult, reclusive and cantankerous author Shirin goes to interview is warm generous and welcoming. Yes, we learn why she is not what we think but it is ridiculous. Shirin virtually moves in for several days (?) and they talk like old friends.

The editing is strange too - jumping from one thing to another with scenes that are disconnected and too short. There is no proper logic to the narrative, and even the most willing suspension of disbelief will not convince you that the story has any legitimacy at all. The "romantic" walking and kissing scenes against beautiful backdrops and with sickly sweet music would not be out of place in Bold and Beautiful. Good grief!

On the plus side (and hence 2 stars) the northern California coastline is spectacular, and some of the actors are half decent even as they deliver terribly under developed dialogue.

This is very low grade stuff - Dr Javidi, I am sorry I ever doubted you.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A disaster in Persian cinema :(

1/10
Author: Dr. Farhad Javidi from United States
25 March 2014

With a cast that includes Maz Jobrani, Max Amini, Marshall Manesh and Anita Khalatbari, I was expecting a Persian comedy, but the film "Shirin in Love" is, in fact, a romantic movie - a "chick flick" even. While the film's location, costumes and props were fine, its writing, directing and editing were terrible. The porno-style filming, soap opera-style acting, nonsensical still shots, disconnected scenes, stereotypical characters, weak plot and cheap humor are just a few of the film's shortcomings. The film's one bright spot is Nazanin Boniadi, who portrays Shirin. Even in a bad film you can spot a shining star. She certainly has a bright future. I don't understand why she decided to appear in this film, given her well-established career with feature roles in "Homeland," "Grey's Anatomy," and "How I Met Your Mother." The film did little to enhance the reputations of Maz Jobrani and Max Amini, and may even have hurt them.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history