IMDb > "Lab Rats" (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Lab Rats"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Lab Rats" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

26 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Don't let the name fool you

10/10
Author: junkmailstuff456 from United States
2 February 2013

Don't let the name fool you. The name makes the show sounds very weird, which it isn't at all. The actors are very good, and the characters are very entertaining. The plots are also very entertaining, and not as predictable as the other Disney shows, which is wonderful. I was pleasantly surprised that Disney made a good show. They've been making some very bad shows lately, but this one was a home run! I'm in love with the characters. Bree is so cute, Adam is such an idiot and everything he says is so unbelievably stupid and funny, and Chase is such a know it all. He reminds me of Justin from Wizards of Waverly Place. Overall, this show was a pleasant surprise, and very different than the rest of the typical Disney shows. I love Lab Rats! Give it a chance! It's so funny!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Awesome

Author: kadiotatsuryu from United States
3 January 2014

Lab Rats is hands-down the most entertaining Disney XD show out there in my opinion. Lab Rats has a great combination of comedy, adventure and superpowers. The name may not do the series justice and might give you know idea on what the series is about. But Lab Rats has an awesome plot.

The show is flipping hilarious for a Disney show. The funniest characters to me are Leo(Williams), Dr.Davenport(Sparka) and Eddy(forgot who plays him.). It tells jokes that for once not only little Disney kids can laugh at. Funny moments that are actually clever, not dry and overused.

The overall plot is jokes and a seemingly normal sitcom show. The story is based on 13/14 year old Leo Dooley who with his Mom, moves into his new super-rich new Dad's house. He discovers 3 bionic super-human teenagers with bionic superpowers and abilities in his basement. Leo learns to get used to life with his cool bionic friends, his billionaire step-dad and they go on crazy adventures in school, home and when the team goes on missions to save the world.

Leo and the Trio get into plenty of silly adventures and try not to get in trouble or reveal their bionic secrets. Adam has super strength, Bree has super speed and Chase has super smarts, the 3 S' of Superpowers! They can also do other things.

Leo is young and has no abilities. He's mischievous, clumsy and reckless and useless if not the cause of the problems the gang has many times at first. Nonetheless, Leo is the star of the show and although there are very very few scenarios in which he provides anything useful in combat, he's the one that holds the story in place and matures over the story until he becomes part of the group and eventually the guardian of Adam, Bree and Chase when his step-dad Dr.Davenport is absent. He teaches the "Lab Rats" to have normal lives as regular teenagers and have fun, but tries to keep the out of trouble at times. They save one another's lives at different points in the show.

The plot in most of season 1 is funny and entertaining, but season 2 is when it gets much more serious. They make enemies and meet foes who seem nice but aren't who they appear to be. The Lab Rats discover more about their past and about their abilities in hope to master them. They struggle between normal life and saving the world.

So overall this show has a great plot, decent comedy and plenty of superpowers and action! It's a show that signals much-needed change in Disney shows. It's not perfect, but there are bound to be a few bad jokes here and there, they can't all be winners. Unfortunately, the show is in some ways, low-budget which is demonstrated mostly in scenes with special effects. Overall, it comes down to judging this show with all things considered. And all things considered, it is a Disney XD show. Any issues that might be considered major defects in the score are issues every single last one Disney Sitcom has, being why I grant this show a 10/10!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Excellent Disney XD show

9/10
Author: Catherine_Grace_Zeh from Fairfax, Virginia, USA
18 May 2014

"LAB RATS," in my opinion, is an excellent Disney XD show. I watch it with my 9-year-old nephew from time to time. I always smile and laugh whenever a mishap occurs. One of the funniest mishaps I've ever seen occur on the show is when Leo (Tyrel Jackson Williams) gets shrunk. Another thing that makes this show funny is Donald's (Hal Sparks) comic relief. If you ask me, he always know just what to say and do to make the audience laugh. The writing is always strong, the performances are always good, and everything else about the show is good.Before I wrap this up, I'd like to say that if you don't have basic digital cable channels, you should get them. Now, in conclusion, I hope this will be on Disney XD for many years yet.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Lab Rats Is Hilarious

10/10
Author: joeywyss from Jackson, MS, United States
2 September 2013

Lab Rats is one of those rare Disney shows where everybody on the cast has "It". The kids, the parents , the supporting, they're all perfectly cast. Even the house security bot is hilarious, "he" has some of the best one liners on the show. Luckily, all of the actors are great in their roles instead of just one funny kid surrounded by duds (like on a lot of Disney sets). The writing is consistent and funny, and it carries the show instead of just gimmicks. And the characters are actually written for which allows the actors to show some range. It's great the show actually has a continuing sub-plot with the Evil Davenport brother that should carry it through seasons. I hope this is one Disney series that goes on for years, and none of the kids decides they want to be the next Britney or Justin and gets the show canceled after a couple of seasons.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

The Best Live Action Disney Show Currently Airing

8/10
Author: Shell T
4 September 2015

Lab Rats is a pretty great show, especially coming from the live action department of Disney. It's my third favorite Disney XD show, preceded by Gravity Falls and Phineas and Ferb.

The characters, for the most part are well written. Finally: the stereotypical "strong, tall guy" isn't the bully. And while Adam is fairly unintelligent, he has his moments (ex. in Leo vs Evil he comes up a simple solution when everyone else was trying to over-complicate things). The stereotypical "small, nerdy kid" actually has self esteem, and is able to fight. And Bree, the only girl of the main cast, IS NOT A LOVE INTEREST! Sure, she has crushes, but what girl doesn't, and they are such a small part of the show. Even Tasha, part of the supporting cast, is more of a mother figure than a love interest for Donald. Plus she has a career and is able to manage probably the four most destructive kids in the planet. And Janelle, the love interest whose smart, doesn't put up with crap, and isn't even all that romantic, is a breath of fresh air. You go, girls! I will admit that there are some still very poorly written characters. Trent, for example, is your typical football jock bully. Principal Perry is that typical mean authority figure that everyone hates yet has to put up with (although I do like her in the episode Chip Switch). And Mr. Davenport himself is way too self absorbed (although I still like how he is a legitimate authority figure for the kids).

The plot of Lab Rats, which really starts to pick up in Season 2, is great. And I love how some of the first supporting characters you see in season one are seen all the way up into season four (ex Janelle and Principle Perry). (That is one thing that really bothers me about Disney's Kickin' It: Eddie is a main character for the first two seasons, but then he disappears without explanation and everyone else acts like he never even existed.) This show has its fair share of problems, but, all in all, is a pretty great show. If I were showing this to my kids, I would explain why some things shouldn't be tried in real life, and make sure they understand that its portrayal of school is not accurate at all, and then let them enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Excellent show!

10/10
Author: sanahussain171 from United Kingdom
4 June 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Love this show! In each episode the funniest person is either Eddy the security system or Leo the non-bionic human. I like everyone but my favourite character has to be Chase, who has super smarts so basically, he's the smartest guy on the Earth although, his ego can take over like Mr Davenport (aka Donald) who also has a big ego. In Commando App, we find out that Chase has a Commando app which allows him to be Spike who is a cocky, fearless soldier who comes when Chase is feeling threatened or in danger. Spike made his last appearance in Spikes Got Talent. In Leo's Jam, Bree glitches when she is trying to dance with Ethan, her crush. Sometimes when Adam angered, he loses control of his heat vision. I would totally recommend this show to friends who just love comedy. I never miss a episode because I just love it and love seeing all the action on Disney XD.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

More Disney Hipster recycled trash for todays generation

1/10
Author: tubeindustriesbroadcastingco
22 December 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Oh where to begin? Lab Rats is a live action show produced by Disney and aired on Disney XD. Its a show about a man child tech hipster millionaire who through unexplained means creates "bionic super humans" to help humanity.

This show lacks any sort of logic on any level, it's so glaring It's impossible to avoid.

So the plot is simple; Mr. Davenport (tech hipster) re-marries presumably, a woman. The Woman's son (Leo) discovers Mr. Davenports underground facility where he is keeping teenagers with "bionic abilities".

The story from then on is a simple copy paste formula; lame jokes, lame adventure, copy and pasted episode after episode after episode.

That's just about it.

Now, Disney decided it would be a wonderful idea having an all white cast and then decided to throw in 2 African American actors for diversity, which presents no problem really. If we are going to talk about racial diversity I would like to see some Asian actors but whatever. They go on lame episodic adventures with no message, moral, or meaning.

The underlying plot that's supposed to be relatable to the actual audience, mainly pre teens and children, is the struggle of ""bionic"" humans trying to be normal in high school which is VERY cliché for even Disney live action.

Leo convinces Mr. Davenport to let them go to high school and try to be normal teens. The series tries to balance this with saving the world which is supposed to make it feel conflicted and emotional interesting, which it does a terrible job at. It gives up on the 3rd episode and just turns into a lame "super kids save world" cliché TV action comedy.

It has a season climax where every once in a while where "oh I stole the teens from my brother to stop him from using them for evil" or "oh Leo loses a limb" or "oh the brother is really good and was just a pawn in a bigger plan made by this literal Deus ex Machina rip off who is trying to take over the world with more bionic teens." And that's literally all that ever happens in the show.

As far as acting goes, it's pretty mediocre. Leo is the misfit who eventually learns to fit in (despite not having any appreciable skills) Mr. Davenport is the techy hipster who is an immature man child (everyone in silicon valley) Sasha the wife is the over protective, and the other three, Adam Bree and Chase are typical copy paste fat dumb idiot(Adam), feminist empowered woman(Bree), and sarcastic genius(Chase).

Now, in all of my reviews I point out the logical errors a piece of media may have.

1) Where did Adam Bree and Chase come from? This topic is lightly touched on but it is discovered that Mr. Davenport stole them from his brother. But that still begs the question? WHERE THE HECK DID THEY COME FROM? It is said they were genetically engineered and then had bionic implants shoved into their person but that says little about their origin. Would Mr. Davenports brother have children, violate their human sanctity by genetically engineering them and shoving implants into them, just to cause havoc around the world? This crucial question about their biological origin is not explained in It's entirety. It could actually add emotional depth to the little this show has but probably to controversial for Disney who apparently thinks it's morally acceptable to use your children as science experiments, what is Disney Trying to promote here? 2)This show doesn't explain how bionic abilities work. It says they have implants in their neck which gives them abilities which is garbage science. An implant doesn't give Sonic the Hedgehog speed, or hulk strength. No one used any logic here. There are no ways a single implant could do any of that. They are closer to cyborgs than whatever they are now. They want us to just accept their silicon valley technobabble as science and hope it makes sense.

3)Why does this show try so hard to make being "bionic" such a struggle in high school? It's obviously a pathetic attempt to connect to the prime demographic right? This would be a struggle if any thing was actually at stake. The only way their operation could get exposed is if one of them uses their powers out of anger or something lame like that. Even if they do get exposed what are the chances they would actually get in trouble. This show tries so hard to make you think something's at stake here when nothing is. It's already a stupid nonsensical scenario. What would the consequence be for genetically modifying human beings to do the bidding of a wealthy tech CEO. There are no federal or state laws that come to mind. Fake tension completely.

This show tries to capitalize on Americas tech possessed dying culture to make a quick buck without putting the effort in.

The show is copy and pasted, with an occasional climax to get viewers interested and make sure they haven't figured out they have been are being starved of good media.

It tries It's hardest to appeal to millennials especially with the lame jokes, cheap story telling, and shiny tech things they have been brain washed into buying by companies line Disney, Apple and so on.

Honestly a waste of air time, totally empty recycled trash without a purpose.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

best Disney show ever

10/10
Author: juliekwok
1 September 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Like someone else said, don't be fooled by the name. In the first season, it is mostly comedic and MORE of a funny show. But it evolves towards the end of season 2, when *SPOILER ALERT!* the Lab Rats' friend Marcus turns on them and works for Donald's brother who is thought to be dead but is alive. This makes Season 3 action Packed when you meet Victor Krane, a very awesome villain. Season 3's You Posted What?! is definitely the best episode. It is action packed, surprising, and kind of tense. In Sink Or Swim, the Lab Rats are seen using their bionics on one condition: she gets money from Davenport whenever she wants to buy her silence.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

I like it

7/10
Author: SanteeFats from United States
7 May 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is a pretty funny show. I like all the characters. Davenport is a bit hard to believe as an adult genius since has so many emotional issues to overcome but this is rated for a really young audience which lets me out. Leo does get a little tiring as the screw up who continually screws up time after time. He does come through when things get to crunch time though. Since this show is rated TV7 I make allowances for some of the hackneyed, juvenile antics that crop up from time to time. Overall I do enjoy watching the episodes. The computer programmed house butler,Eddy, is a nice sarcastic and jealous addition to the series. Of course I don't know how a program can get jealous but oh well.

Was the above review useful to you?

I love this show

10/10
Author: goldencompass1999 from Turkey
28 May 2017

Its very entertaining show.I watched the whole episodes and love it. The characters are awesome :).Bree is cute,Adam is look like dumb but he is funny, chase is nerd but he is good also and Leo half bionic person.Eddy was annoying and hilarious.

AND BOB WAS AWESOMEEE.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history