IMDb > Run for Your Wife (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Run for Your Wife
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Run for Your Wife More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 14 reviews in total 

35 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

The worst film I have ever seen

2/10
Author: Rahil Sachak-Patwa from London, England
21 February 2013

I was lucky, or should i say unlucky enough to attend the premiere of this film. And after about 10 minutes it was clear to me that what was in front of me was nothing better than a high school film project. Every aspect of this film was appalling. The screenplay was horrific, containing the most crude and unfunny jokes imaginable. The acting was as bad; poor Danny Dyer did the best he could considering what he had to work with but the two wives, Sarah Harding and Denise Van Outen took acting to a new low. Ray Cooney's directional ineptitude was also clearly apparent however good a stage writer he may claim to be.

The 90 minutes I had to spend watching this was truly the most tiresome experience I have ever had in a cinema. The hocus pocus plot I'm sure drove most of the audience round the bend and I felt a great deal better when the credits started to role. Everyone who had anything to do with this film must be regretting being a part of this project. It seems that the only point of this film was to give has beens of British film and television a few seconds of screen time.

It is no surprise Run for your Wife took a grand total of £602 in its first week and is being heralded as the worst film of the year.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

So bad that its actually.... terrible

1/10
Author: marshythehobbit from Belfast
23 September 2013

i was astounded at how bad this movie actually was. I had heard all the bad reviews and thought that nothing could be that bad, so in a way i was actually looking forward to seeing it. How wrong i was. The best thing i can say about this movie is that Danny Dyer isn't the worst thing in it, not by a long chalk. Denise van Outen can take a bow for claiming that accolade. Her portrayal of one of the wives is a nadir in acting, she screeches and gurns the whole way through the movie, chewing every bit of scenery and being so annoying that you actually feel sorry for Danny Dyer's character. She also sings the song at the end credits so do yourself a favour and switch off when they appear. Everyone involved in this movie should hang their heads in shame. there is not one single funny bit in it, even though several cameo characters laugh at the on screen action, as if trying to convince the audience it is funny. the way it is scripted , paced, filmed and acted makes it look like a Chuckle Brothers movie. In fact it makes the Chuckle Brothers look like the Marx brothers. i felt dirty and ashamed after watching this movie, save yourself that feeling and avoid at all costs.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Woops, there goes my career!

1/10
Author: scott_thompson7454 from London, England
19 September 2013

Wow, just wow. Hopefully the final nail in the coffin that is Danny Dyer's movie career. This man can just about get away with playing a cockney geezer who is a bit tasty with his fists, darling, but he can't do comedy. Comedy is really hard. It requires more than pulling silly faces and going, cor blimey guvnor, me trousers just fell down and the missus is back any minute! This film might have been funny if it were 1956. But it's not, it's 2013 and chucking in references to viagra and Spotify isn't enough to cover up pathetically old fashioned portrayals of women (Denise van Outen, bow your head in shame. I expect Danny Dyer to be terrible, but you used to be cool) and gay people (two old hams from yesteryear playing a pair of mincing queens who have to be seen to be believed). Having said that the score is awesome and deserves an Oscar nomination. As I write this, I'm still singing, run, run for your wife, double your strife, something something something something something, run for your wife!

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

What a joke

2/10
Author: ncary95 from United Kingdom
25 February 2013

So bad that it's actually funny! Why didn't they think to stop producing after the first scene? Or even at the planning stage? Plot is very bad and I am surprised it even made the money it did. Danny Dyer wasn't bad but everyone else didn't suit their roles.

For me it has to be one of the worst film this century. Even the many guest cameo's couldn't save this from being terrible. If you get the chance to watch it though, you can't say no, more people need to know about this farce of a film. I hope it wins awards for being so poor.

Give it a re-brand with reviews like "So bad it will make you laugh" and this could be the next big thing.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Terrible attempt at a English comedy. 1/10

1/10
Author: leonblackwood from United Kingdom
21 September 2013

Review: What a complete load of crap. The acting is terrible along with the storyline which was badly written with a appalling concept. This has to be Danny Dyer's worse film to date and all of the other actors should have stayed away from it. On the plus side, there are some familiar faces throughout the movie which people will remember when they were young, but apart from that, this is a massive waste of time. The pathetic situations that Danny Dyer finds himself in were unbelievable and very badly thought out. I think that you can tell that I REALLY hates this film,

Round-Up: I can't believe that someone got the budget for this film after reading the script, and to top it off, it looks like there considering a sequel, after seeing the end credits. This is also supposed to be Denise Van Outen's big break into movies, which was a bad idea. The thing that everyone should just put this movie behind them and try and come out with something decent.

Budget: £2.2million (Waste Of Money!) Worldwide Gross: N/A

I recommend this movie to people who like ridiculous comedies set around London. 1/10

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

I'm still slightly wondering what I just watched

2/10
Author: gaiter88 from United Kingdom
6 October 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

So I've given it two stars, because to be honest there is a bit of enjoyment at look at all the familiar faces in the extras in this film, its like a who's who of British stage and screen actors/actresses from the 60-70s.

However that was as far as any enjoyment went. The four leads were all a long way from their best (which in fairness probably isn't saying much for most of them). There was absolute no enjoyment in the storyline, the comedy was rushed and simply not funny and the only reason I stick with it to the end was because I wanted to see if Judi Dench pitched up again. At the end I wasn't left feeling angry or upset, just simply bewildered how in this day and age anyone can make such a bad feature film.

In essence unless you don't have to pay to watch it AND you like actor spotting, don't bother wasting your time!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Well I didn't even make it all the way through. I felt I had to stop before i kicked my TV screen off the roof.

1/10
Author: jamesewanharvey-801-494737
1 October 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Once upon a time a man wrote a story. That story was scripted and turned into a play. The play subsequently was picked up and made into a film this film.

Everyone involved in the above chain of events should be shunned from society and made to apologise for what is the most awful film you could ever imagine seeing.

Those that gave the film 10 / 10 are clearly involved with the production in some way or other.

The tag line for the film should have been

"As fun as scrubbing your skin with a cheese grater whilst on fire"

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

yes, he stands on a rake...

3/10
Author: FlashCallahan from Leicester, United Kingdom
4 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

John has been happily involved in a bigamous marriage for five years. He lives with Stephanie in Finsbury and Michelle in Stockwell.

He's a taxi driver which involves shift work. John unwittingly becomes a hero and the Finsbury and Stockwell police forces discover something suspicious in their paperwork.

During the next 24 hours John, with the help of his neighbour Gary, rush between the two marital homes attempting to evade the police and prevent the two loving wives coming face to face.....

Yes, the movie is bad, really bad, and the acting is pretty ropey, but this film has to be seen for it's sheer bawdiness.

First off, the film is at least thirty years out of date, and you could imagine Sid James and Reg Varney in key roles.

Dyer looks pretty uncomfortable in his range, because he isn't a wide boy in this, and never utters an expletive over the odd mild swear word.

The humour consists of jokes that would make a Pier comedian cringe, Dyer standing on a rake, and Morrisey sitting on a cake.

The best thing about this mess, is the cast.

It literally has dozens of cameos, from Judi Dench, to Cliff Richard.

So all in all, it's a terrible mess, but if you were fond of generic sitcoms from the late seventies and early eighties, you may appreciate it in the way I did.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Laugh out loud for all the family ..

7/10
Author: joesop90 from manchester
25 March 2014

Gem of a movie...albeit for older movie goers . I'ts based on a successful West End play. The movie is a bit like the Carry On movies. It's great to see so many old British TV and Cinema stars. Many of them were brave to appear on film so late in their careers. And they did this for charity too. It was absolutely delightful to see Judi Dench,Richard Briers, Brian Murphy and Jeffery Palmer to name but a few ! But blink and you will miss most of them...I watched it three times. It helps if you are a fan of UK GOld.Also if you watch Coronation Street and East Enders. All five of us...two men and two women and a twelve year old boy..loved it ! Please remember NO SEE ..NO COMMENT .

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Smashed it Danny

10/10
Author: cato_raworth from United Kingdom
10 March 2014

Top form from Danny Dyer as always. The young cockney reveals himself as a break out star elevating his craft to a level reached by a bare minimum of legends. A true thespian.

Throughout the movie one can not help but be astonished by Danny Dyers outstanding performance. His brilliance and commitment to the role is astounding and leaves the viewer breathless and enthralled.

The future for this man is bright and his time on the screen resonates in the mind.

The questions posed by Dannys delicate and playful portrayal as our leading man are many. Who are We, Why are We Here? All can be answered within this film.

Thank you for the laughter, the tears and your time.

Bare Bless from the t.c.m (The Camden Massive)

Come home soon.

x

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history