IMDb > Deer Crossing (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Deer Crossing
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Deer Crossing More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 27 reviews in total 

27 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Low budget rubbish

2/10
Author: Jam_Man_UK from United Kingdom
29 September 2012

Don't be fooled by the fake 10/10 reviews, this is absolutely awful.

Low budget doesn't mean guaranteed poor movie. It certainly increases the possibility and this film shows it.

Awful acting.

Terrible "script".

Unimaginative characters, typical hillbilly stereotyping.

There may be hidden low budget gems out there, this isn't one of them, its complete rubbish. Cant think of one redeeming quality.

I rarely switch a movie off, and in this case didn't, but came very close.

Avoid.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Brutal Movie.... but well done crime and mayhem.

6/10
Author: Lyle Donner from United States
28 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Some of "Deer Crossing" will put off a lot of people, mostly women. The good news is that this movie goes pretty far on the exploitation scale to please hardcore fans of low budget crime/horror fans. It's like a Jack Ketchum story line, mixed with classic moments of pathos with rich characters that will not be forgotten.

"Bad Day at Black Rock" and "In the Heat of the Night" are inspired and classic movies that are reworked into something new and frightening. A mother and young boy get lost on the way to grandmothers house. An accident brings them captive by a real monster, Lukas Walton. A farmer with a perverse habit of collecting women for his psycho-sexual pleasure. After years of torture, and raising the young boy as his own, a retired lawman comes to sleepy Carvin County for closure to this lost case. A former cop that does not fit in (yes, he is black and Carvin County is a hotbed of racist white folk). The local sheriff has his hands full with the local thugs and bikers that rule this nightmare town. A drug addict sheriff is a puppet to a lady pimp and her lunatic henchman. But Luke Walton is connected somewhere in the mix, with an interloper snooping around his homestead. Christian Jude Grillo lays it all out on the screen. No holds barred! That's his style, and his first film "Booley" was a prime example of his mindset. It's off the charts with the brutality.

The jewel in the Cracker Jack prize bag is K.J.Linhein as our real life monster, Luke Walton. A asset to making a great movie is it's villain, and Grillo found a great actor here. Filling in the main role of troubled hero is Christopher Mann (Booley alum) as the cop. Excellent support from "Hellraiser" star Doug Bradley as the corrupt lawman in the way. Tom Detrik (Booley's titular star) brings a fine turn as Dick (one-eyed loony with a long knife) and guest star Ernie Hudson in an extended cameo.

The movie is not perfect.... and some performances are miscast, but it does not hurt the movie. Down and Dirty, for it's worth. Grungy scenes will make you squirm.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Two thumbs up for Deer Crossing!

Author: Aurora Baker from United States
1 February 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Deer Crossing is a complex story that starts off being about a woman named Maggy (Laura Lynn Cottrel) who has left wit her young son, Cole, to go on a trip somewhere. When she detours she ends up hitting a deer and her and her son end up being picked up by mountain man who holds them captive for eight years. Maggy is kept shacked up in his shed as some sort of play thing and he raises Cole to be his son. This is one of three stories intertwining into the main plot of the film. The disappearance eventually ends up in the hands of a retired detective named Stanswood (Christopher Mann) who is reluctant to take the case after Maggy's husband desires to hire him personally. Before he knows it ends up in Carvin Country where as the story progresses, other disturbing tales unfold as well. Doug Bradley performs very well in Deer Crossing as Sheriff Lock, a cop who takes himself more seriously than the rest of the town does. This film will not be for everyone. It's disturbing but not in a typical blood-filled, over-gored, torture chamber sort of way. This film is disturbing because it's more realistic and emphasizes on the violent impulses and corrupt nature of human beings who you would hope don't actually exist in this world. I'm not big on Independent films but this one really stands out. It certainly doesn't look like a low-budget flick and I'm actually surprised that for the amount of money spent on Deer Crossing that such great visual effects and production was put into this film. I admire the director's effort. Grillo obviously is setting out to change the world of cinema and get us all out of the mainstream of typically tired horror films. I also very much liked the acting in this film. Aside from Bradley and Ernie Hudson I think Hollywood might need to start keeping an eye on Deer Crossing's talent pool. Laura Lynn Cottrel as Maggy was one of the best performances in the film. She was so emotional ad convincing that I still think of Maggy sometimes and what she's been through. Christopher Mann's performance was also top-notch. The most memorable indeed was K.J. Linhein as Lukas Walton. I have no doubts that people will be having nightmares about him for years to come. Tom Detrik really stood out in this film as Dick, the flamboyantly-ruthless villain of the film. He actually wasn't the main villain but I think he should have been. I thought Carmela Hayslett's small part was very good as Olivia. It was nice to see Carmela Hayslett outside of her Roxsy Tyler Carnival of Horrors persona. She plays some sort of cop. She's not convincing as a cop but I don't think she was supposed to be. Her character's job was obviously to not come across as a cop to the person she was interrogating. And Kevin Fennel as older Cole, I've never seen Fennel before but I can't imagine his role being played in any other way than how he did it. If he's new than he has a great career ahead of him!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

God Awful

2/10
Author: billcr12 from United States
7 December 2012

Oh what a mess this is; a completely unstructured disaster of a movie. The storyline and editing are as bad as anything that I have ever seen. It begins with a Charles Manson lookalike who sounds exactly like Jack Palance, degrading a woman chained to a cement floor. The next scene shows a man saying goodbye to his wife and child as they depart in a Mercedes. On the drive, the car strikes a deer and the mother appears as the captive of the Manson looking dude. Next up, a guy is at a bar saying farewell to his fellow cops as he must retire to take care of his wife, who is in a wheelchair for some unexplained reason. Eight years ahead, the boy who was missing with mom calls his dad from a payphone. Most of the characters are hillbillies behaving badly with drugs and alcohol and an inexplicable gay sex interlude which seems to be from gay porn. This is simply a god awful film, written and directed by Christian Grillo. He needs to be expelled from the movie industry forever.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Sums up in 5 words.

2/10
Author: garycbelleville from Canada
27 November 2012

This movie tries very hard to be something it is not....Good. I read every review before watching it and I watch encouraged to the thought like one stated this movie doesn't take it 's audience as fools.

From my view point I just finish watching a movie that pulled out every single stereotype and put them all together into 1 movie.

It 's just too much but yet i'm no fool just Stupid for believing the reviews. Any how I stated that this movie could be summed up in 5 words and those words are "What the hell was that" If I had to write the plot keywords for this movie i guess they would be : Abduction, Rape, crime,drugs, racism, hillbilly, ex-cop, porn, gay porn, serial killer, drug abuse, cults, etc etc.. The list goes one. Yet I still have but 5 words for this, What the hell was that

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Don't spend your money!

1/10
Author: jessicaarlint from United States
31 December 2012

We just finished watching this film and it left us definitely not wanting more. The only reason we finished it is because we were hoping it would get better. Trust me it doesn't. You will regret spending your money on this film. The acting was terrible on all levels, the camera shots were horrible, all-in-all a waste of my night. If you find yourself reading the back cover and think "hey, this sounds good" keep in mind there are other worth while movies out there. It needs to have a rating of 0 being never watch or think about again. The character choices could have been alright if they knew how to act. I heard that there was going to be a part 2 in 2014... how can they think the first one was good enough to need a part 2? This will definitely be one that we will not be seeing in 2014 and I hope for sanity sake neither will any of you. Good luck and I hope you take in this consideration.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Multiple Personality

2/10
Author: Becky Sagona from United States
8 March 2013

This movie seemingly has multiple personalities. It tries to be funny or horrific, though never at the same time. The "horror scenes" are pretty good, frightening even. The menacing kidnapper is believable, as are his hostages. The "comedic scenes" are just fillers to occupy space. It seems to have separate story lines, twisting within the main selling point. The lack of typical horror tricks, like lots of gore and weapons, brings a certain anxiety that makes this film a thriller. Most of the acting is terrible, yet if you're a true movie enthusiast, you'll endure the obvious "b movie" atmosphere. The plot isn't a bad idea, the production of it is. I won't advise against seeing it, I'll just advise not to get your hopes up. Though obviously entertaining, some of its scenes are hard to watch, due to realistic subject matter or the obvious terror of horrible acting.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

The worst movie I have ever seen!

1/10
Author: horrorbrother from Philly
28 January 2013

I've seen many positive reviews on here and as someone who wanted to like this movie, I know that these reviews are bogus, obviously written by Grillo himself, his wife (whose acting in the movie is perhaps the most hideous performance ever seen in any film...ever) and their family & friends. The movie is bad. No. It's the worst! Ever! The direction is amateurish, the cinematography is haphazard at best, the acting (especially that of Carmela Hayslett-Grillo) is horrendous and the soundtrack is senseless. All in all, it's the worst movie I have ever seen....literally. None have ever been any worse than this. The director takes to the internet to attack anyone who dares to say that they didn't like the movie, so basically he attacks anyone who doesn't lie to him and tell him that his movie is good. He has even compared himself to the likes of David Cronenberg and David Lynch on his Facebook page! And he was serious. He sees himself as a visionary film maker in the mold of Lynch, John Waters and Cronenberg. You're a rebel alright, Mr. Grillo, as you rebel against what a film is supposed to be; watchable! He even posts copy & pastes of Redbox reviews on his FB page, mocking those who are honest by saying that the film is crap! The man is proud that his film is always out of stock in RedBox machines near his home area of Philadelphia. Now I ask you, is it something to be proud of that, because of a DVD cover that may make one believe that a movie may be good, it's always being rented for a whopping $1.29? or whatever RedBox charges? (To be honest I don't use them, so I'm not sure what they charge however I know it's a very small fee!) Those same people who have dropped their $2.00 maximum (In case I'm a bit off on my guess as to what they charge per rental) are surely angry that they chose to rent Deer Crossing rather than buy a Big Mac at McDonalds or play the Skill Crane at the WalMart a few times to waste that money. The latter would have been a far better use of the money than renting Deer Crossing, obviously!

As for the bogus reviews and attacks by Mr. Grillo right here on IMDb, it's a shame to see this kind of conduct, amateurish behavior, plague a respectable site like IMDb. I believe that IMDb needs to find a way to disallow bogus films from even being listed here, or perhaps they could create a separate section for do-it-yourself homemade movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Worst...Movie....EVER (For real!)

1/10
Author: sukihiroko
6 September 2013

I just posted about how bogus reviews for The Black Dahlia Haunting scammed me out of my hard earned money and it reminded me that I hadn't posted to this atrocity of a "film" yet. I saw it about 3 months ago after reading all of the great reviews here. I saw a few people state that the reviews are fake, that they were left by friends and family members of the director Christian Grillo but I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. What a huge mistake. This "movie" is literally the worst piece of S$*t I have ever seen! And no, I don't say that because it offended me in the way that some claim it will. It offended me as a lover of horror films. It wasn't gory, it wasn't extreme, and it wasn't horror even. What it was is HORRIBLE! Bad acting, awful direction and unreal writing equals a really unwatchable movie. You stole from me Mr. Grillo and I demand a refund! You should be ashamed of yourself and you lies! I recently met Ernie Hudson at a Celebrity Photo Op and signing. I asked him who he was in debt to that landed him in such an awful movie. His response? "Well, you know, sometimes you take an easy job just for the money even if it's a very bad movie. I haven't watched it so I don't know it's bad but I've been told, you know..." and then he laughed. Not too proud. Oh one more thing, the girl playing the FBI agent, the director's wife, is the worst actress ever! Girlfriend, stop acting NOW!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A True Atrocity

1/10
Author: SqueakyMcKee from United States
15 April 2014

This is literally the worst movie I have ever seen. Poorly unrealistically written dialog, odd cinematography and some of the worst acting ever seen in a film. The girl playing the FBI agent is a joke. She is quite obviously married to or dating the director because there is no way anyone would hire someone with no ability! As a matter of fact other than the likes of poor Ernie Hudson and Doug Bradley I would suspect that the entire cast was related to or close friends with this Christian Jude Grillo person. Not that it's something that really matters but really, drop the middle name. It's pretentious and makes you look like a 12 year old would be film maker who is trying to appear to be mature and important. Back to the "stars" in this film. Doug Bradley and Ernie Hudson had to have been tricked into doing this movie. There is no way that they saw this script, complete with dialog worded in a way that no one actually speaks) and still signed on to do it. It could not have been for the money since this film could not have cost any more than $500 tops.

This may, to some, sound like I have an ax to grind or some personal beef with this film or it's creator but that's simply not the case. What I do have a personal issue with is when someone scams me out of my hard earned money. I actually bought this catastrophe and never expected it to be this awful. It's funny but not the kind of funny that makes it one of those movies that are so bad that they become good, in a sense. No sir. It's funny in a pathetic sort of way. Funny that these people made this movie, and then released it, believing that it's a good film. Funny, again in a sad way, that someone actually invested money into it in order to get distribution for it. I suppose they sort of won though, didn't they? Poor fools like myself shell out the money to buy this trash so they win and we lose but it's a temporary win for them. It's temporary because it then falls into the "fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me" realm. I would never again purchase any movie created by Grillo nor any produced by or distributed by anyone connected to this film. And I am certain that I am not alone with this line of thinking. Therefor, the last laugh is on all of us poor fools who laid down the cash to buy this and we are laughing at those connected to it since it's the last time they'll get any of our money!

I do not participate in illegal movie downloading but I have to say that it's movies like this that lead people to illegally download it and other films like it. Why would anyone pay for such garbage once they've learned the truth about it? Now that may lead you to ask me "Why would anyone even wish to see it now that they've been told how awful it is?" and the only logical excuse I could find would be one that is similar to a car crash. As you drive my an accident you have a morbid curiosity that makes you crane your neck to take a look in an attempt to see how bad it all is. That must be why anyone else would now wish to see Deer Crossing, or any of Grillo's films, past, present or future, after learning that the guy cannot write nor direct a film?

In closing I'll just say that if you feel I was being harsh here I'd like you to know that I was actually quite kind. This is the less critical review of the two that I wrote for this "film". The first was far more detailed but I opted to play nice and go with what you have just read, because, although I may be blunt in life, I sometimes try to play it kindly and not blast with both barrels blazing. Perhaps I should have yanked that band-aid off quickly rather than the slow, more painful way that I've removed it here but hindsight is 20/20 and this has been written and so it shall stand.

One last note! I have read all of the comments and reviews on this page and the external reviews posted at the top as well. It's quite clear that many of the on-site reviews have been written by people close to those involved in the production. Perhaps family members and friends and also, and quite likely, written by the likes of the film's director and others on the cast/crew using pseudonyms.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history