IMDb > American Mary (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
American Mary
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
American Mary More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 11: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 103 reviews in total 

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

fantastic instant cult classic

10/10
Author: crys23 from gretna scotland
28 March 2014

Brilliant piece of film making I enjoyed every second of this movie, Katherine is absolutely fantastic as Mary it is easily her best work to date. Watcing this movie is like reading a good book and not being able to go to sleep until you know how it ends you just can't stop watching.

This movie is a must for horror/gore fans it really grips your attention an keeps you glued to it the whole way through,its a shocking dark disturbing sexy gory edge of the seat pleasure to watch. for me its a fantastic instant cult classic and a movie I would happily watch again and again and one I highly recommend. If you love films like Wolf Creek and Hostel you will love this !!! 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Find the American dream through plastic surgery in American Mary

7/10
Author: rgblakey from United States
2 July 2013

It is becoming harder and harder to find something new in the horror genre, but when you do it can always go either way. The latest film American Mary kind of snuck under the radar but has been getting some positive buzz directed by the Soska Sisters, but does it deliver something new to the genre or will it be just another forgettable attempt?

American Mary follows a medical student who is struggling financially and slowly becoming disenchanted with the surgical world. When she is put in a situation to earn some easy money sends her into the world of underground medical field that leaves more marks on her than her freakish clientele. While this film falls into the horror genre it isn't really a horror film at all depending on how you look at it. This could fall into an aspect of the torture porn genre, but from a self-inflicted nature. The story is pretty simple and starts off with little feeling new, but then it takes an insane turn creating a strange a bizarre world that is unlike most out there. There are a few characters that are hard to look at from the start both looking fake and strange, but as it moves along they seemingly become the norm as the twisted nature of this film takes over. Watching the evolution of this character from struggling medical student to this freak surgeon creates a film that is both interesting and original standing out from anything out there. There are a few gory moments and torture sequences that are really effective, even when you don't actually see what is happening. Part of the reason this film works is they weren't afraid to push the boundaries without feeling the need to force the gore down your throat.

Horror fans love their gore, but sometimes less is more and here they mess with you visually as well as mentally creating a world that is sure to please. This is one of the most inventive horror-esque films to come along in this genre in a long time that actually builds to something and leaves you both creeped out and satisfied all at once.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

An Impressive Breakthrough

7/10
Author: gavin6942 from United States
1 September 2014

The allure of easy money sends Mary Mason (Katharine Isabelle), a medical student, into the world of underground surgeries which ends up leaving more marks on her than her so called "freakish" clients.

Since this film's release, the Soska sisters and Katharine Isabelle have been touring the convention circuit creating plenty of buzz about this film. But it is not just the buzz -- there is plenty of substance to back this up.

Isabelle is best known for playing Ginger in "Ginger Snaps", but her role as Mary might just make people start forgetting that. (Although "Ginger Snaps" remains one of the best horror films of the last few decades.) She is quite a strong character that should appeal to a wide audience.

The Soskas made a mark with "Dead Hooker in a Trunk", but this film proves they are serious. The writing and directing are strong, with some very beautifully colored cinematography. The story does lose some steam later on, but this is far above and beyond the average film being made today.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Dark, sexy, with a touch of odd and bizarre. Great Movie

9/10
Author: Tcarts76 from United States
25 September 2013

"American Mary," is a offbeat horror/dark comedy that was a pleasure to watch. There is a dark sexiness that will keep anyone interested and the bizarre nature of it just works well. The basic storyline is of a surgical student who is in debt begins doing underground body modification surgeries of the extreme kind.

The story is great and original. The acting is also exceeded my expectations from what I had read here on IMDb. There is a pervasive, dark , sexy aspect that is just enough to tease and titillate. the subject matter is dark enough to fit into the same mold of classics like American Psycho, and in a way kind of reminds me of that movie.

I give it a 9, I loved it. Usually Canadian movies with a storyline like this get me excited to watch them but usually fall flat in the execution and come off a bit inhibited. This one fulfills my expectations in a way that most Hollywood movies don't. If your a fan of a bit off beat horror, and dark comedies, be sure to check this one out, I highly recommend it!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

American Mary, Stay Away From Me!

7/10
Author: Coventry from the Draconian Swamp of Unholy Souls
14 September 2013

In these nearly hopeless times of redundant remakes, lousy amateur nonsense, dire zombie comedies and lame found-footage flicks, "American Mary" definitely stands out as one of the most innovative and surprising new horror films in years. The basic plot concept leans closer towards the classic genre movies from the 50's and 60's, featuring mad scientists and deranged surgeons, than towards the nowadays booming trend of torture-porn flicks, but the twisted eccentric characters and sickening gore effects are very much 2013. Mary Mason, a med student of Hungarian descent, most certainly has the intellect, ambition and talent to realize her dream and become a successful surgeon, but unfortunately she struggles financially and applies for a job in a striptease club. Instead of taking off her clothes, the dubious owner Billy urgently needs her to perform an illegal underground operation in the club's basement. Her surgical talents are noticed by uncanny Betty Boop obsessed stripper Beatress and, through offering a lot of cash money, she enrolls Mary into the freakish and deranged world of "body modification". Because of meeting all these crazy characters, and facing a personal disillusion regarding her medical education, Mary herself also increasingly grows dangerous and insane. As said already, the main trump of "American Mary" is the originality and the overall shock-effect. Finally we have a new horror movie that is genuinely unethical, effectively satirical and downright revolting. The Soska twin sisters, Jen and Sylvia, take a deep dive into the bloody underbelly of illegal surgery and the result is a freshly inventive, flamboyant and uniquely twisted film. The twins both appear briefly in the film, as patients with an awkward physical desire, and they look as creepy and bizarre as the scenario they penned down. The gorgeous, sexy and charismatic Katharine Isabelle (forever a horror muse since the "Ginger Snaps" trilogy) is terrific in the titular role and many of the relatively unknown supportive players deliver good performances as well. My only main complaint is that the plot takes a couple of abrupt and illogical twists and turns near the climax.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Thoroughly impressed

8/10
Author: movieman_kev from United States
5 September 2013

Mary Mason (Katherine Isabelle, Ginger Snaps), a promising medical student whom is having financial problems, has a fateful encounter when she decides to take a job as a stripper on the side, but a chance freak accident presents her with a stranger yet far more lucrative opportunity with the world of body modification.

This was a sleek, well-made horror film that initially caught my eye based on Isabelle's involvement in it (loved her work in Ginger Snaps), however I found myself intrigued by the movie. It was the most original recent horror movie I've seen in quite some time. Based on this move The Soska Sisters are definitely ones to keep an eye out for in the future.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A true 'must see'.

6/10
Author: Angus Kyprianou from United Kingdom
9 August 2013

Hands down my favourite film of the year. AM is not a studio big budget picture. It's a beautifully shot and well structured - albeit rushed - story about a girl name Mary. I won't say anymore about the plot, that's not how I do things. Let's talk about the film.

American Mary is the second film by legends-in-the-making The Soska Sisters; a Canadian film duo (who are really twin sisters) with a big vision and a scrupulous eye for detail.

The films has many amazing qualities and only a handful of flaws. The best choice the Soska's made was with casting Katharine Isabelle as Mary. I haven't seen that much alacrity in the eyes of a lead actress in a long time. Also, a surprising treat for those with an eye for film, are the homages paid to strong women in film, particularly Michelle Pfeiffer's CatWoman.

I highly recommend the film and order anyone with an interest in independent cinema to take a gander. But don't watch it if Tom Cruise is your man and you're one of those suffering from big budget addiction (Hollywoverdose) as American Mary ISN'T a studio picture. It's an inventive second film from a pair of severely underrated (and shockingly unknown) film visionaries and a promise, if you like, of more to come. It's sexy, nuanced, deep in places, it deals well with common social issues and it's claustrophobically involving.

However, I disagree with it's classification as a Horror, (even Canadian Horror), it's gory and it's shocking but it isn't horrifying as such; it's more a revenge thriller.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Mary had a little Lamb ..... Had!!!

9/10
Author: ASHakaSID from United Kingdom
8 August 2013

Over the years I have spent many hours of my life watching all sorts of movies from the Weird to the Wonderful, Small independent movies to Hollywood blockbusters across all genres, no stone left unturned, I guess thats what an eclectic taste is... American Mary is a difficult movie to place in any one genre which immediately ticked all the right boxes for me, When I first came across the said movie the synopsis had me licking my lips. Right from the opening scene I knew that a strange and intriguing journey had just begun. Everything about this movie had me "hooked", Characters that although darkly disturbing made me feel like I really wanted to know them "for real", I had previously watched The Soska Twins first movie Dead Hooker In A Trunk which is a twisted fun ride of a B movie (loved it) so in comparison... um well there is none, It is a mountainous leap from the depths to the ultimate level and The Twins should be commended for sharing their masterful surgical show piece, I for one will be waiting in anticipation for the next project to surface even though I See No Evil....

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

I want to marry the Soska sisters

9/10
Author: Sickcess from Sweden
2 April 2014

I want to marry the Soska sisters, but so would probably every male horror lover in the world. But I would probably settle for being their pet if they asked me.

Anyway, American Mary is about Mary, a promising medical student, who has financial troubles, so she decides to try stripping, but instead ends up performing surgery on a beat up snitch, when the owner of the strip club convinces her with plenty of money. I would give away the story if I told you too much more of what happens, besides that Mary ends up performing illegal, extreme body modifications, while at the same time having some other secrets.

This is a very interesting and original film. The only horror film about body modification besides this one I can think of is Strangeland, which also is a very good film, but completely different from this one. I also think it's cool that they have brought in a guy who has real body modifications. Apart from that, the violence is well balanced, leaving some, but not too much, to the imagination. It also has some other really bizarre and interesting female characters beside Mary. I think movies like May, Alyce and now American Mary is showing that women are capable of making scary killers on their own terms with their own particular style very well. A lot of the older female killers has been characters that didn't differ that much from male killer and they also most of the time failed in being genuinely scary. This is not the case with those new ones.

This is also, to my knowledge the first of those films that has a female director, and here there is two of them! And they are a couple of freaky, beautiful twins! Apart from that I also have a hard time deciding which one I liked best, this one or Alyce. Overall I would say this one is better, but Alyce has some peaks which American Mary doesn't reach. Anyway, luckily you don't have to choose, so see them both!

And I really hope to see more from the Soska sisters soon. They are both talented and cool. And I also want to say that I found out that the film had female directors after I watched it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Dark Sexy Ride

7/10
Author: ihearthorrorfilm from United States
17 February 2013

American Mary was a very unconventional story about a girl attending medical school who gets mixed up in a dark world of bizarre surgeries. What makes this movie so different from other films about a sweet girl that goes to the dark side is that Katharine Isabelle is so damn good as Mary Mason. Hear acting chops are incredibly strong and she makes the movie extremely entertaining. There is something very cool about a chick in stilettos and a black nurses apron cutting up willing participants. My only complaint is that I wanted to see a little bit more of Mary's revenge and maybe a different ending. The ending didn't feel very satisfying in my opinion. But overall, American Mary is a very sexy dark ride.

Please like me on Facebook! We love getting suggestions and warnings on everything horror: http://www.facebook.com/pages/I-Heart-Horror/338327476286206

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 11: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history