IMDb > American Mary (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
American Mary
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
American Mary More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 11: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 106 reviews in total 

There's something twisted about Mary

7/10
Author: bowmanblue from United Kingdom
3 December 2014

I'm not sure how best to describe 'American Mary.' The easy option would be to call it a 'horror,' but that doesn't seem to do it justice on its own. It's more of a dark, horrific drama, charting a young medical student's disillusionment with her studies and pursuing the 'easy option' instead. This takes her into the path of some particularly weird and unscrupulous people.

I read online someone describing the film as having a great beginning and middle, but lacking in the end. I'd tend to agree with that. The ending does seem a little sudden, like the film-makers kind of didn't know how best to end it in a way that would appeal to everyone. Your view of the ending will depend largely on how you view the characters.

And the characters all play their parts well. Special kudos to Katherine Isabelle, who plays the title role. The film depends on making her role work and I think she succeeds.

I don't know who I'd recommend this film to: it's one part 'torture porn,' one part horror, one part revenge movie and some general bloodthirstyness thrown into the mix. I suppose if you dabble in any of those sorts of genres, you should get something out of it. For some reason, I found the overall feel and 'story structure' most similar to the similarly titled American Psycho.

Was the above review useful to you?

Hail Mary

6/10
Author: begob from The Undertow
19 September 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Good performance from the lead actress, but plenty of problems with the rest.

Some interesting oddball characters hanging around, but I just didn't buy the cabal of pervert surgeons because there was no background for it. The role of the niteclub owner was a bit vague and contradictory - vicious and meek at the same time - maybe they shouldn't have cast a pretty boy when he was never going to conquer Mary. The killer was well hidden, maybe too much. And the detective was pointless.

Too many characters for a limited number of roles?

Lots of energy and ideas + good gore. I thought the plight of the amputee surgeon could have helped develop Mary's character. She was played really well, and in the end I was wishing she managed to stitch herself together, leaving a trail of blood for the detective to follow.

Recommended, but the story was a bit loose.

Was the above review useful to you?

some really freaky and imaginative concept, yet is not fully developed // instagram: moviesmaniax

7/10
Author: moviesmaniax from Los Angles, USA
26 July 2014

So I was expecting some weird twisted body modification sh*t after I saw the trailer and the result is what I quite expected. However, there seems to be much doing but not so much showing (the result) which was quite disappointing. The GORE effects here look really realistic in a surgery scene and was very twisted and disturbing to watch. The SCARE here is probably how realistic the surgery looks but again, they show the cutting scene and stuff in which it has a really cool, bizarre, and jaw-dropping concept but unfortunately the film chose to not show much of that final result which was a major disappointment for me. Another disappointment here is the cluttered plot and the climax that just came out of nowhere making the pacing here moves quite slow and loses interest from time to time, but thanks to Katharine Isabelle's hot and tempting performance making the film more enjoyable to watch. Overall, the FUN of this film is seeing some unique and likable character personality in a weird way and some really freaky and imaginative concept even though it might not have been fully developed at the end >>C+<<

Was the above review useful to you?

Flawed, but Still Entertaining

7/10
Author: (ikeybabe) from United States
29 March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this film, despite the fare to poor acting by some of the key cast members. The script was seriously original and spooky. The atmosphere was creepy as were the real villains - the professor and doctor who were teaching American Mary how to be a surgeon. The actress who played Mary did a good job, even though, her acting "dead" inside was a little too on point. It just seemed like she couldn't really act at all after a while. But, overall, this was a good flick. I have to agree with earlier reviewers. American Mary would be a great spin off on HBO or FX, like "Dexter" or "Nip/Tuck." I wasn't really thrilled with the ending, but it worked. Overall, it was a fun and thrilling ride.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Blood is Never Boring

7/10
Author: frizzysemonsoni from United States
19 November 2014

There is something just so bloody good about a horror film that is nice and gory. "Ginger Snaps" alum Katharine Isabelle returns to the big screen as a medical student named Mary. Barely destitute but desperate, Mary answers an ad for a strip club, but is interrupted to perform surgery for a large sum of money. She begins in this vein as a very innocent and frightened young woman, who doesn't understand the world she is thrust into, but a thirst for revenge quickly spirals her into a realm of darkness and fury. This film screams for me to love it, and I do easily, thanks to its insatiable blood fest, grotesque imagery of surgeries, Katharine Isabelle's cold and conniving performance as Mary, and the exploitative antics on screen. Her professor (Lovgren) is probably the most gnawing thing about this film, because his behavior is insufferable, and his warped sense of entitlement over his students is just not realistic. I know we're supposed to hate him and that's the reason why he is designed in that way, but he's just so blatant about it. Mary changing to a bloodthirsty horror villain over his crime seemed a bit extreme. The ending was also anticlimactic for the story set up, and came out of nowhere. Otherwise, this film brutally entertains, and does so with all the lust and plasma it can muster.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I thought it would have been better

5/10
Author: atinder from United Kingdom
17 January 2014

I heard mostly good things about this movie.

I did find this movie was very slow, for the first hour or so, I was getting a bit bored, I wasn't really into.

However I did enjoyed the second part of more.

There were some decent, bloody moments, nothing we not really seen before, in others movies like this.

I say it was okay horror movie, nothing really stood out for me,

I was little disappointed, It did have some hype around it.

The acting was decent most

I going to give it 5 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant!

10/10
Author: magorman from United States
20 May 2015

The thing that annoys me most about the internet is that weirdo losers living in their mom's basement can stand in judgment of absolute brilliance. Anyone who gave this film a bad review is a complete and utter jackass. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion but if you didn't like this film then yours is just wrong. The Soska Sisters have done it again, and with endorsements of their genius by such horror luminaries as Clive Barker, Eli Roth, and Daniel Schaffer I cannot for the life of me understand how anyone could not recognize the importance of this motion picture within a genre with so traditionally bereft of great offerings. Whatever kind of crack you're smoking perhaps you should share it with the rest of us so that we might, too, become so blissfully ignorant about the world around us. Here's an idea: shave off your stupid chin beard, lay off the Fritos, get out in the sun once in a while, and stop judging the innovative and refreshingly unique perspective of artists who are out there doing amazing stuff when you clearly know @#?! all about the creative process, writing, filmmaking, and perhaps, most importantly, the female experience. Just a thought.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

fantastic instant cult classic

10/10
Author: crys23 from gretna scotland
28 March 2014

Brilliant piece of film making I enjoyed every second of this movie, Katherine is absolutely fantastic as Mary it is easily her best work to date. Watcing this movie is like reading a good book and not being able to go to sleep until you know how it ends you just can't stop watching.

This movie is a must for horror/gore fans it really grips your attention an keeps you glued to it the whole way through,its a shocking dark disturbing sexy gory edge of the seat pleasure to watch. for me its a fantastic instant cult classic and a movie I would happily watch again and again and one I highly recommend. If you love films like Wolf Creek and Hostel you will love this !!! 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Find the American dream through plastic surgery in American Mary

7/10
Author: rgblakey from United States
2 July 2013

It is becoming harder and harder to find something new in the horror genre, but when you do it can always go either way. The latest film American Mary kind of snuck under the radar but has been getting some positive buzz directed by the Soska Sisters, but does it deliver something new to the genre or will it be just another forgettable attempt?

American Mary follows a medical student who is struggling financially and slowly becoming disenchanted with the surgical world. When she is put in a situation to earn some easy money sends her into the world of underground medical field that leaves more marks on her than her freakish clientele. While this film falls into the horror genre it isn't really a horror film at all depending on how you look at it. This could fall into an aspect of the torture porn genre, but from a self-inflicted nature. The story is pretty simple and starts off with little feeling new, but then it takes an insane turn creating a strange a bizarre world that is unlike most out there. There are a few characters that are hard to look at from the start both looking fake and strange, but as it moves along they seemingly become the norm as the twisted nature of this film takes over. Watching the evolution of this character from struggling medical student to this freak surgeon creates a film that is both interesting and original standing out from anything out there. There are a few gory moments and torture sequences that are really effective, even when you don't actually see what is happening. Part of the reason this film works is they weren't afraid to push the boundaries without feeling the need to force the gore down your throat.

Horror fans love their gore, but sometimes less is more and here they mess with you visually as well as mentally creating a world that is sure to please. This is one of the most inventive horror-esque films to come along in this genre in a long time that actually builds to something and leaves you both creeped out and satisfied all at once.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

An Impressive Breakthrough

7/10
Author: gavin6942 from United States
1 September 2014

The allure of easy money sends Mary Mason (Katharine Isabelle), a medical student, into the world of underground surgeries which ends up leaving more marks on her than her so called "freakish" clients.

Since this film's release, the Soska sisters and Katharine Isabelle have been touring the convention circuit creating plenty of buzz about this film. But it is not just the buzz -- there is plenty of substance to back this up.

Isabelle is best known for playing Ginger in "Ginger Snaps", but her role as Mary might just make people start forgetting that. (Although "Ginger Snaps" remains one of the best horror films of the last few decades.) She is quite a strong character that should appeal to a wide audience.

The Soskas made a mark with "Dead Hooker in a Trunk", but this film proves they are serious. The writing and directing are strong, with some very beautifully colored cinematography. The story does lose some steam later on, but this is far above and beyond the average film being made today.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 11: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history