IMDb > American Mary (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
American Mary
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
American Mary More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 9: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]
Index 82 reviews in total 

A Flawed Gem… • 8.5/10

8/10
Author: Dark-Matter from Universe
16 May 2014

After the Soska's aptly named their last indie effort, 'Dead Hooker in a Trunk,' I was a bit surprised when 'American Mary' turned out to be Canadian Mary. To me, it sounds more of a marketing strategy than anything else, but it didn't deter me from thoroughly enjoying the film. Just got me wondering is all. Katharine Isabelle (recently seen in the hit TV show 'Hannibal') is always an absolute pleasure to watch, especially in this genre of film. She lights up the screen with her looks, but here, she gets to show her much darker side, and when strutting about in her undies and shiny black apron, it turns out to be most effective. Her withering gaze, mixed with those looks was a sight to behold. Just look at the inset picture for proof.

I'm certainly not ignorant when it comes to body modification, and have watched several extremely interesting documentaries on the subject, but I learned a helluva lot from watching American Mary. I can't say I'm taken with this subject and find some of it downright bizarre, but when blended with horror, I can't think of another more suited for this type of movie. It's as if body-mod was invented solely to create a horror- film, but of course, it isn't. I'm actually surprised that this hasn't been done like this before, and commend the Soska Sisters for handling it so well.

There was surprisingly little bloodshed for this type of flick, yet had me squirming away when the cutting started. The thought of having nipples or genitalia removed for purely cosmetic reasons was most unpleasant, but this is the desired effect of the movie, and the body modification practitioners, or so I'm led to believe.

The movie is riddled with problems though, with apparent leaps in the story taking a lot out of this film unnecessarily, like the suddenness of Mary Mason's transformation from nice girl to absolute evil. Then there was how she quickly became so feared by the strippers working in the club, with no in-between or any kind of build up. I would also liked to have seen a bit more of Billy (Antonio Cupo) falling for Mary, other than some imagined stripping and the like, but aside from those matters, I thought this film was extremely good.

Mary Mason (Isabelle) is a med student, who is behind on her bills and badly needs cash. She's getting a hard time from one of the surgeons who lectures at the hospital where Mary is doing her internship. Mary decides to strip at a club to raise the cash, and while there, a medical emergency arises when someone needs their face stitched back up, but word gets out that she's good at her job, and is called-on to do some body modification for a large sum of money. Mary is eventually persuaded by a Betty Boop lookalike, Beatrice, who has a friend wanting her feminine parts removed to more resemble a doll.

Mary successfully performs the surgical procedure and becomes an instant hit, but the last thing she wants is to be involved. Flush with cash, Mary buys new clothes and pays her bills, but her lecturing surgeon mistakenly thinks she's hooking to make ends meet, and invites her to a party where she gets drugged, raped and filmed. She quits medical school, starts doing body-mods full-time, and opens a can of whoop-ass on the rapist and gets herself some revenge.

Was the above review useful to you?

Flawed, but Still Entertaining

7/10
Author: (ikeybabe) from United States
29 March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this film, despite the fare to poor acting by some of the key cast members. The script was seriously original and spooky. The atmosphere was creepy as were the real villains - the professor and doctor who were teaching American Mary how to be a surgeon. The actress who played Mary did a good job, even though, her acting "dead" inside was a little too on point. It just seemed like she couldn't really act at all after a while. But, overall, this was a good flick. I have to agree with earlier reviewers. American Mary would be a great spin off on HBO or FX, like "Dexter" or "Nip/Tuck." I wasn't really thrilled with the ending, but it worked. Overall, it was a fun and thrilling ride.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I thought it would have been better

5/10
Author: atinder from United Kingdom
17 January 2014

I heard mostly good things about this movie.

I did found that the movie was very slow movie for first hour so, I was getting a bit bored and I wasn't really into the movie at all.

However I did enjoyed the second part of the movie more.

There were some decent bloody moments, nothing we not really seen before in others movies like this.

I say it was okay horror movie, nothing really stood out for me,

I was little disappointed with this movie, It did have some hype around it.

5 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Mary is the only saving grace in this mess

3/10
Author: james lewis from United Kingdom
25 February 2014

A film about a struggling medical student thrown into the underground world of body modification sounds like a promising premise. Yet lack believable plot development, and speed in which she accepts the situation she's in with no real explanation makes the story feel rushed losing any credibility right from the off set. There is inconsistent acting throughout from the enjoyable Mary to the woeful strip club owner makes the experience feel disjointed. Yes there is some gore if that's what your after, but most of it is implied rather than on screen and the freaks and bizarre operations Mary conducts seem quite tame to anyone who has watched 'nip tuck'. This also brings up other issues regarding the surgeries themselves, viewers with any knowledge of the medical profession or watch medical shows will immediately pick out errors and the ease in which she conducts them with limited equipment is laughable. The disappointing and abrupt finale is so uninspired you will instantly regret sitting through this waste of time.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Find the American dream through plastic surgery in American Mary

7/10
Author: rgblakey from United States
2 July 2013

It is becoming harder and harder to find something new in the horror genre, but when you do it can always go either way. The latest film American Mary kind of snuck under the radar but has been getting some positive buzz directed by the Soska Sisters, but does it deliver something new to the genre or will it be just another forgettable attempt?

American Mary follows a medical student who is struggling financially and slowly becoming disenchanted with the surgical world. When she is put in a situation to earn some easy money sends her into the world of underground medical field that leaves more marks on her than her freakish clientele. While this film falls into the horror genre it isn't really a horror film at all depending on how you look at it. This could fall into an aspect of the torture porn genre, but from a self-inflicted nature. The story is pretty simple and starts off with little feeling new, but then it takes an insane turn creating a strange a bizarre world that is unlike most out there. There are a few characters that are hard to look at from the start both looking fake and strange, but as it moves along they seemingly become the norm as the twisted nature of this film takes over. Watching the evolution of this character from struggling medical student to this freak surgeon creates a film that is both interesting and original standing out from anything out there. There are a few gory moments and torture sequences that are really effective, even when you don't actually see what is happening. Part of the reason this film works is they weren't afraid to push the boundaries without feeling the need to force the gore down your throat.

Horror fans love their gore, but sometimes less is more and here they mess with you visually as well as mentally creating a world that is sure to please. This is one of the most inventive horror-esque films to come along in this genre in a long time that actually builds to something and leaves you both creeped out and satisfied all at once.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Dark, sexy, with a touch of odd and bizarre. Great Movie

9/10
Author: T Cady from United States
25 September 2013

"American Mary," is a offbeat horror/dark comedy that was a pleasure to watch. There is a dark sexiness that will keep anyone interested and the bizarre nature of it just works well. The basic storyline is of a surgical student who is in debt begins doing underground body modification surgeries of the extreme kind.

The story is great and original. The acting is also exceeded my expectations from what I had read here on IMDb. There is a pervasive, dark , sexy aspect that is just enough to tease and titillate. the subject matter is dark enough to fit into the same mold of classics like American Psycho, and in a way kind of reminds me of that movie.

I give it a 9, I loved it. Usually Canadian movies with a storyline like this get me excited to watch them but usually fall flat in the execution and come off a bit inhibited. This one fulfills my expectations in a way that most Hollywood movies don't. If your a fan of a bit off beat horror, and dark comedies, be sure to check this one out, I highly recommend it!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

American Mary, Stay Away From Me!

7/10
Author: Coventry from the Draconian Swamp of Unholy Souls
14 September 2013

In these nearly hopeless times of redundant remakes, lousy amateur nonsense, dire zombie comedies and lame found-footage flicks, "American Mary" definitely stands out as one of the most innovative and surprising new horror films in years. The basic plot concept leans closer towards the classic genre movies from the 50's and 60's, featuring mad scientists and deranged surgeons, than towards the nowadays booming trend of torture-porn flicks, but the twisted eccentric characters and sickening gore effects are very much 2013. Mary Mason, a med student of Hungarian descent, most certainly has the intellect, ambition and talent to realize her dream and become a successful surgeon, but unfortunately she struggles financially and applies for a job in a striptease club. Instead of taking off her clothes, the dubious owner Billy urgently needs her to perform an illegal underground operation in the club's basement. Her surgical talents are noticed by uncanny Betty Boop obsessed stripper Beatress and, through offering a lot of cash money, she enrolls Mary into the freakish and deranged world of "body modification". Because of meeting all these crazy characters, and facing a personal disillusion regarding her medical education, Mary herself also increasingly grows dangerous and insane. As said already, the main trump of "American Mary" is the originality and the overall shock-effect. Finally we have a new horror movie that is genuinely unethical, effectively satirical and downright revolting. The Soska twin sisters, Jen and Sylvia, take a deep dive into the bloody underbelly of illegal surgery and the result is a freshly inventive, flamboyant and uniquely twisted film. The twins both appear briefly in the film, as patients with an awkward physical desire, and they look as creepy and bizarre as the scenario they penned down. The gorgeous, sexy and charismatic Katharine Isabelle (forever a horror muse since the "Ginger Snaps" trilogy) is terrific in the titular role and many of the relatively unknown supportive players deliver good performances as well. My only main complaint is that the plot takes a couple of abrupt and illogical twists and turns near the climax.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Thoroughly impressed

8/10
Author: movieman_kev from United States
5 September 2013

Mary Mason (Katherine Isabelle, Ginger Snaps), a promising medical student whom is having financial problems, has a fateful encounter when she decides to take a job as a stripper on the side, but a chance freak accident presents her with a stranger yet far more lucrative opportunity with the world of body modification.

This was a sleek, well-made horror film that initially caught my eye based on Isabelle's involvement in it (loved her work in Ginger Snaps), however I found myself intrigued by the movie. It was the most original recent horror movie I've seen in quite some time. Based on this move The Soska Sisters are definitely ones to keep an eye out for in the future.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A true 'must see'.

6/10
Author: Angus Kyprianou from United Kingdom
9 August 2013

Hands down my favourite film of the year. AM is not a studio big budget picture. It's a beautifully shot and well structured - albeit rushed - story about a girl name Mary. I won't say anymore about the plot, that's not how I do things. Let's talk about the film.

American Mary is the second film by legends-in-the-making The Soska Sisters; a Canadian film duo (who are really twin sisters) with a big vision and a scrupulous eye for detail.

The films has many amazing qualities and only a handful of flaws. The best choice the Soska's made was with casting Katharine Isabelle as Mary. I haven't seen that much alacrity in the eyes of a lead actress in a long time. Also, a surprising treat for those with an eye for film, are the homages paid to strong women in film, particularly Michelle Pfeiffer's CatWoman.

I highly recommend the film and order anyone with an interest in independent cinema to take a gander. But don't watch it if Tom Cruise is your man and you're one of those suffering from big budget addiction (Hollywoverdose) as American Mary ISN'T a studio picture. It's an inventive second film from a pair of severely underrated (and shockingly unknown) film visionaries and a promise, if you like, of more to come. It's sexy, nuanced, deep in places, it deals well with common social issues and it's claustrophobically involving.

However, I disagree with it's classification as a Horror, (even Canadian Horror), it's gory and it's shocking but it isn't horrifying as such; it's more a revenge thriller.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Mary had a little Lamb ..... Had!!!

9/10
Author: ASHakaSID from United Kingdom
8 August 2013

Over the years I have spent many hours of my life watching all sorts of movies from the Weird to the Wonderful, Small independent movies to Hollywood blockbusters across all genres, no stone left unturned, I guess thats what an eclectic taste is... American Mary is a difficult movie to place in any one genre which immediately ticked all the right boxes for me, When I first came across the said movie the synopsis had me licking my lips. Right from the opening scene I knew that a strange and intriguing journey had just begun. Everything about this movie had me "hooked", Characters that although darkly disturbing made me feel like I really wanted to know them "for real", I had previously watched The Soska Twins first movie Dead Hooker In A Trunk which is a twisted fun ride of a B movie (loved it) so in comparison... um well there is none, It is a mountainous leap from the depths to the ultimate level and The Twins should be commended for sharing their masterful surgical show piece, I for one will be waiting in anticipation for the next project to surface even though I See No Evil....

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 9: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history