IMDb > The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2 (2015) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 29:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 286 reviews in total 

269 out of 461 people found the following review useful:

A Gut Punch Of A Film: A Grim Depiction Of A Revolution And A Civil War - This Is NOT Your Usual Blockbuster

8/10
Author: gogoschka-1 from wherever good films play
7 November 2015

So here it is at last: 'Mockingjay Part 2' is about to open worldwide and Katniss Everdeen's epic, tragic journey finally comes to an end. The good news: the film is much better than what many "professional" critics give it credit for. But if you're among those who didn't much care for the last film and its politically charged human drama and grim tone, you might want to prepare yourself. While the gut-wrenching conclusion to the Hunger Games saga does bring the action back (although of a far grittier kind than what we saw in the first two films), its tone and themes are a perfect continuation of 'Mockingjay: Part 1'.

I've never read the books, but I guess I'm in the minority among the non-book-readers, because I actually liked the third film. I liked it precisely for its not primarily action-based narrative and hard hitting portrayal of a fascist system including all its horrific oppression and propaganda tools. And while I had hoped the final instalment in the series would continue to explore the human drama the way 'Mockingjay: Part 1' did, I was not prepared how far Part 2 would exceed my expectations. The emotional impact this film has tops what came before in every conceivable way: 'Mockingjay: Part 2' is a gut punch of a film, and it may very well be the least "popcorny" popcorn film and least likely blockbuster ever to receive that label.

This is supposed to be a spoiler-free review, so I won't go into any story details, but I felt the most impressive thing - especially compared to the beginning of the saga - was how layered 'Mockingjay: Part 2' is. This is not the good-against-evil story anymore: this is a really smart study on how propaganda works and how one fascist system is about to be replaced - albeit with the best intentions - by another. Where the first two movies show how apathy turns into peaceful protest and peaceful protest gives way to open rebellion, the last two films show how that rebellion becomes more and more radical until the lines start to blur. A very wise person once said: "War makes Fascists of us all" - I believe 'Mocking Jay: Part 2' does an excellent job at getting that point across. Apart from the delightfully evil President Snow (who remains a believable character - not a caricature - thanks to Donald Sutherland's performance), there are no mere black and white characters here; instead, we get a story that - for once - hasn't been dumbed down and functions as a sincere and complex exploration of an escalating civil war that threatens to consume everyone. And unlike most YA adaptations, the film doesn't shy away for a second from showing what that means: the audience is left in no doubt about the human toll this revolution will take in the end.

Maybe the current situation in Syria made this film resonate more with me than it should have, but I was surprised at how un-Hollywood-like and really, really well this was done. With its well-drawn characters (portrayed by an outstanding ensemble of actors), credible dialog and a story that takes its time, this felt like so much more than just your usual popcorn movie. And I can't stress this enough: Jennifer Lawrence MAKES this film; the whole franchise, really. The emotional intensity she brings to Katniss feels so real; it's the kind of performance that, in this kind of film, sadly often gets overlooked, but I sincerely doubt a better Katniss could ever have been found (and I hope Lawrence wins her second Oscar for this).

So my final verdict on the film: 'Mockingjay: Part 2' is intelligent entertainment that doesn't have to rely on special effects and one mindless action scene after another. It's a fitting ending to Katniss' journey and a satisfying conclusion to the saga, but it's also a heartbreaking, emotionally exhausting experience that will stay with you long after viewing (even the champagne-fuelled premiere crowd in Berlin was eerily quiet for a short while when the credits started rolling). 8 stars out of 10.

Favorite Films: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls054200841/

Lesser-known Masterpieces: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls070242495/

Favorite Low-Budget and B-movies: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls054808375/

Was the above review useful to you?

125 out of 214 people found the following review useful:

Me and my son Muhammad enjoyed this excellent film.

10/10
Author: muslimbellydancer from Egypt
25 November 2015

I am a Muslim belly dancer and I love watching movies in free time. This is my first comment on IMDb. The Hunger Games:Mocking Jay Part 2 is an interesting sequel to part 1. It is the story of a strong woman rebel Katnis Everdeen fighting against a dictator president. The film is entertaining with action.When you see this movie you will feel with rebels who have been oppressed and you will come to the feeling that evil doers and dictators will sooner or later get destroyed as a result of their wickedness.

This movie has been achieving international success in every country of the world. It is a film for people who love justice and democracy.Me and my dear son Muhammad enjoyed this excellent movie and we definitely advise you to see because it is a perfect epic movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 104 people found the following review useful:

The game has come to its end.

10/10
Author: TonightTurnYourWeaponsToSnow from Ireland
20 November 2015

Let me start of by saying that this movie was the best movie I have ever seen in my entire live. YES, I may be overreacting... BUT NO! It's my opinion.

This movie truly shocked me. From the opening scene, the crowd at my showing was just truly silent from the horror in front of them.. It was stunning.

Mockingjay Part 2 is an interesting nut. Speaking of nuts, the Nut! It opens right up with Katniss travelling away to the dense mountains of District 2. I must say, it was quite the continuation of Part 1, and if you adored Part 1 like me, you would have loved this!

One thing this movie nails on the head is the 'slow, dialogue' scenes. Even these scenes in which trolls like to say are 'boring' and make the pace feel sluggish are so entertaining. I am a huge fan of The Hunger Games, so it may take you by surprise that I despised the romance in the books. But guess what? I totally ADORED it in this one. Peeta was not the little pest he was in the first one. Josh Hutcherson was a real star here, the best he has acted in this franchise. Especially during his 'hijacked Peeta' scenes. He was great.

Speaking of the cast, the whole crew here are amazing. There's not a SINGLE weak link. Donald Sutherland as the evil President Snow is truly amazing, and I may or may not be hinting at something when I say he has the 'last laugh....' But he literally does have the final laugh of these movies. This particular chuckle he lets out will truly be an iconic moment in this series forever.

Old members include Elizabeth Banks as the amazing Effie Trinket, and clearly she has her wardrobe back! But something about her clothing in this movie seems... less Capitol-esque which really screams out this movie's themes.

Jena Malone is back with the incredible and Johanna, and Johanna in this movie is maybe just as good as Catching Fire Johanna! Clearly she's not in it enough as she is in Catching Fire, but when she IS in it here, she's amazing. My audience laughed few times during this dark movie, and most of the times they were at Johanna. Incredible.

But the main star here of course is Ms. Lawrence herself. Her acting skills in this movie are truly pushed to the core, and if I were to say how, I would just spoil the movie... Or is Jennifer really the main star here?

The real MVP here is Buttercup. You may be wondering who that is because you've probably forgotten him; just give him a quick google, but don't search for any spoilers! You'll understand why a CAT steals the show once you see the movie for yourself.

People have been really bashing this movie for the lack of action.. but I say you're nuts. There are 3 action sequences in this movie that are truly incredible. None of them top each other. They're all amazing, but I must appreciate the sewer action sequence the most just from the hard work given from the cast and crew. It was truly a cinematic triumph..

Considering it's a war movie, death is bound! And boy, will you be super sad. Book readers will know what I'm talking about.. The big scenes in this movie are nailed PERFECTLY by Francis Lawrence and his team. They keep your heart racing, and you know they're coming because you might have read the book, and when they happen, you truly feel like someone punched you right in the GUT!

Mockingjay Part 2 has its flaws, but they mainly trace back to source material and overall behind-the-scenes problems. And they're mainly nitpicks. Things like Squad 451 members like Messalla quite literally getting no presence are quite bummers, but at least that made way for people like Castor, Cressida, Boggs, Pollux and Jackson to get their 2 minutes of recognition.

Overall, Mockingjay Part 2 is an amazing movie and a perfect ending for the franchise. Grab your tissues, you'll need them.

10/10.

Tonight, turn your weapons to the Capitol! Turn your weapons to Snow!

~TonightTurnYourWeaponsToSnow

Was the above review useful to you?

65 out of 120 people found the following review useful:

The one blockbuster you won't expect it to be

10/10
Author: kshirad from Jakarta, Indonesia
21 November 2015

Which I didn't mean by disappointing. From my point of view, it's different by the way the makers decided to end this movie. For a usual blockbuster, you expect some kind of triumph and cheeriness, especially for a finale. In this case it's not. Somehow it makes this particular 'Hunger Games' even more interesting than I thought.

Taking off directly from 'Mockingjay: Part 1', Katniss, now slightly damaged, and her team of rebels are still trying to end President Snow's tyrannical leadership and create a revolution. Now that Snow has filled the Capitol with booby traps that resembles the actual Hunger Games, it is up to Katniss whether her nation can live in peace once and for all.

It might sound like it is kind of an all-out-war type of movie with many thrilling obstacles to overcome. If you expect it to be like that, you'd be slightly disappointed. Not to say it's not thrilling, but it comes with a very bitter aftertaste. Unlike the previous installment, it dares to become as dark as it can be.

Some reviewers here noted that this one is quite redundant and anti-climactic, making it somehow not a very satisfying experience. I have to say that it's not true. It is in some way very satisfying because of the emotional aspect that has been given by its' main character. Jennifer Lawrence played Katniss Everdeen unlike in the previous ones. She becomes more raw, more spiteful, and more tragic. Which is why the ending left me with a very large impact that gets under my skin and a moral message that winning a war is never a triumph to begin with, that it is only a chance to survive and live for another day with the cost of lives that could be lost, and that loss only becomes a waste that should have never happened.

Some other complains about the pacing. While some of them are true 'cause when some people has a short attention span, it could get tedious. On the contrary, it's what makes it more intimate and absorbing, creating a sense of atmosphere that is altogether dull and beautiful at the same time.

While improvements should be noted based on its' predecessor, 'Mockingjay: Part 1', that I personally still love, but doesn't give any payoff whatsoever. There's no unnecessary scenes here, but there are slow moments, which are enjoyable in the way the characters communicate with each other. It keeps building up from the beginning, finishing with a conclusion that is a bit twisted than I thought.

The actors done really well, as always. No need to mention Jennifer Lawrence, who is already an Oscar caliber and on the top of the heap. She's really the one who drives this movie and giving it more layers than the script has provided. Great actors like Julianne Moore as the cold President Alma Coin and Woody Harrelson as Haymitch, who is more serious than before. Others like Elizabeth Banks, Jena Malone and Sam Claflin really supported the movie with their great character arcs. Josh Hutcherson gave Peeta more emotion and depth in this one and who surprises me the most. A noteworthy mention is for Phillip Seymour Hoffman, which I honestly knew little from his role as Truman Capote in the biographical drama 'Capote', who has a sense of attractiveness and calmness as Plutarch Heavensbee. Too bad he died too early before this movie got finished, but his absence doesn't distract anything from the movie.

And that is also because of director Francis Lawrence, who also directed the previous two. He gives precision and impeccability to the movie. Script writers Danny Strong and Peter Craig keeps the film sturdy and solid without going on to cheese and cliché, and that is true and faithful to the book.

For someone who was expecting a great feeling leaving the theater, I got more than I've bargained for, and in the last scenes (which I won't spoil any of it) I didn't really realize that I'm crying. Truly, that is because of Jennifer's portrayal as Katniss which hurts more than I thought. It is somewhat a non-happy happy ending. And that lingers in me long after I left the theater.

Some may well be disappointed by its' outcome. But overall, I hope this movie gets more credit than it deserves. Because it not only gives a true life resonance, it's a piece of entertainment that makes you think from its' moral complexity and ambiguity. And that makes this finale somehow much more memorable and a rewarding experience than it could've been, at least in my opinion.

Was the above review useful to you?

41 out of 73 people found the following review useful:

Spectacular end to the franchise

10/10
Author: weejockxxx from United Kingdom
30 November 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

At the end of 'Mockingjay Pt I' Katniss was lying in a hospital bed having almost been murdered by her 'boyfriend', Peeta after he suffered a psychotic episode due to being tortured with 'Trackerjacker' venom whilst being held by the Pschopath President Snow in the capitol of Panem. 'Mockingjay Pt II' opens with Katniss, unable to speak, preparing to help the rebels storm the capitol and break Snow's stranglehold on the Districts. The story is told briskly, with a good sense of tension building as they advance on District 2, the only thing standing in the way of the Capitol itself. After being shot in an ambush outside of District 2, Katniss finds herself being sidelined by Coin, the President of the rebels, forcing her to smuggle herself on a medical plane to get near to the Capitol, thereby giving herself the opportunity to fulfil her promise to kill Snow. Along with a small band of fighters and her 'Propaganda Film Team' Katniss negotiates several ugly and ingenious traps set in the Capitol by the Games makers. Her fight is further complicated by Coin's decision to send Peeta to join them, the reason for which she surmises is Coin's attempt to dispose of her. Now that the Mockingjay has propelled the troops to the gates of the Capitol itself, she has become a threat which Coin feels she has to eliminate. In the final fight for the palace, her sister Prim is killed in an explosion and she herself seriously burned. Back in the rebel base, Katniss gets proof that it is Coin's doing and that Gale may have had a hand in it. Mad with grief, she says goodbye to Gale and decides to deal with Coin herself. Under the pretext of killing Snow, in a public execution, Katniss shoots an arrow past his ear which instead kills Coin; after which she attempts to commit suicide but is stopped by Peeta, who has finally thrown off the effects of the venom.

Katniss, having been pardoned for the killing of Snow, returns to her home in the Victor's Village where she finally allows her emotions out in a heart-rending scene with Prim's cat. The final scene is of her, some years in the future, reunited with a cured Peeta, cradling a baby whilst a toddler plays nearby.

Very evenly paced and well directed, this film never lets up. It is a terrific, emotional end to what is the best film franchise I have ever seen.

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 85 people found the following review useful:

Utterly Brilliant

10/10
Author: Amy Lauren from England
25 November 2015

This is my first time on IMDb or any other sites similar, simply because I feel I need to set some things straight. I have no idea why this film has such bad reviews. Having been an avid follower of the series since it began I still went into this movie prepared for the worst and ready to be critical if need be (because of the reviews I had heard). Start to finish however I don't think I moved once. I genuinely think this is almost the best of the four, beaten only perhaps by the first for obvious reasons. I thoroughly appreciated the way the directors have kept the films to the book and Mockingjay PtII was no exception. Jennifer Lawrence is absolutely outstanding in this film and by all means deserves to be well recognized for her performance. The others also should not be forgotten, Liam Hemsworth really stepped out in this film as did many of the other supporting acts. For those complaining it was slow paced, I am not sure what you wanted. It kept me on edge the entire way through and was actually enhanced by the moments of quieter reflection that other "action" movies often lack. It contained immense depth, astounding cinematography and visual effects. Lastly, I think the ending was utterly beautiful. This book, this series, is somber. It's dark, its reflective and it alludes to a number of very serious themes. The directors dealt with this incredibly well. The film is a perfect ending to the series, my only disappointment is that it is the last.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 48 people found the following review useful:

Better than the book series

10/10
Author: FrankMize from United States
13 December 2015

I imagine this review will be different than most if not all reviews. I am a true 'romantic' when it comes to movies or books. I get enough real life in real life. I felt absolutely dreadful after reading the book series, and still wish I had never read it. I rated the movie a 10 on the merit of them fixing the ending of the book series. If you are a classic romantic as I am, I strongly discourage anyone reading the last book in the series if they have that option, and just see the movie for closure. In this one case, ignorance is bliss. Even so, the movie is still an emotional meat grinder, so be warned. I'll let the other reviewers describe the effects, story and whatever else may be important to them. For myself, I needed the movie, but won't ever need to see it again, or waste money on the disk, even though I own thousands...literally. I wish to be entertained when I watch movies, not emotionally drained. For those that like that sort of thing, this series is definitely for you.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 89 people found the following review useful:

A truly superb wrap up to a magnificent franchise. What I wish the Matrix trilogy had been!

10/10
Author: tkropli from Antarctica (winter over)
25 November 2015

So several years ago I heard about this series and how popular the books were. I immediately read books one and two (audio booked them actually) and really enjoyed both of them. After seeing Jennifer Lawrence in the first movie, I was so taken with her magnificent portrayal of Katniss Everdeen, that I very deliberately decided i would not partake of the final novel in the trilogy, but would instead put all of my chips on the last two films.

All of the first three hunger games movies were very well done and quite entertaining. Jennifer Lawrence brought a wonderful authenticity to the staring roll and the supporting cast was genuinely entertaining and gave top notch performances as well. Which brings us to the final installment.

Rare indeed is the story that can cleverly build upon its earlier successes. The Matrix couldn't do it, nor could the old Planet of The Apes franchise or the Jaws films. These series left viewers feeling very disappointed and wistful for what might have been. Happily for fans of The Hunger Games series, the final chapter ties the previous three films into an exceptionally satisfying package that really made me glad that I had devoted my scarce free time to this film series over the last few years. I will not provide any spoilers to my review, suffice it to say that it unfolds like some unexpectedly beautiful flower that will really have you saying "holy s**t!" when it is fully revealed. There are absolutely positively NO loose ends by the conclusion. That said, I will say that I was truly delighted by the way the story utterly surprised me. I think the last time I was so taken aback by a plot twist was the movie "The Sixth Sense." So go and see this movie after your Thanksgiving dinner, and you can have two very satisfying experiences!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

A Suspenseful Conclusion To An Epic Finale

10/10
Author: Nader Nassereddine from Canada
23 January 2016

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 serves as the best movie of 2015! It's action packed, suspense, awesome visual effects and a great emotional conclusion to a great series. Francis Lawrence has outdone himself, the visual representation of the book to the movie was on point! Suzanne Collins thank you for creating an idea that became a worldwide phenomenon. What I like most about The Hunger Games is that it represents what our world is currently going through, how society is falling apart, and how much conflict and war there is in this world. The series is sends out a message towards everyone that no matter who you are or where you came from, the courage of one can change the world. I felt that this movie didn't need to be split into two parts but who cares to be honest. I recommend this movie to everyone who likes action and suspense. Overall, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 is the best movie out of the entire series, the best movie of 2015, and the best ending to an uplifting saga that no one will ever forget. **10/10**

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Explosive story

9/10
Author: Javier Naylor from Panem
16 January 2016

Honestly, I don't understand why this film got so much hate? I feel as if the film was amazing. I've read the books, and this one was pretty true to the wonderful, but yet emotional feeling. Yes, there were a few minor slip ups, but every book to film franchise will have those. Francis Lawrence did a splendid job with this film, and I was not disappointed at all. The deaths came fast which I did like that, because it showed you there's no time to grieve, we have to keep moving forward type deal. Except the death of... with the bomb that was very depressing and I wish that scene was more like the book, but it was close, as in close to the book I wanted to see Katniss having that talk inside her mind and everything and the last pod with the lizard mutts at the bottom of the pit, that would've been very intense and gave one final punch to the gut to the viewers, but overall this series has had a huge impact on society. It's not just about fighting to the death, it's much deeper, there's so many connections between the government of Panem and our government in the US. SO hope to see some prequels if possible :)

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 29:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history