Jodorowsky's Dune (2013) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
65 Reviews
Sort by:
6/10
Interesting "what-if", but its premise is flawed
octagonproplex19 June 2017
"Jodorowsky's Dune" is an engaging documentary about a failed mounting of a major motion picture. However its determination to conclude that, if produced, it certainly would have resulted in a supreme testament to the profound potential of the Cinematic art form -- is not given the credibility such a claim demands. Unfortunately, the total absence of any rational opposing viewpoint (removed from the delusions of grandeur indulged to its star speaker) explaining the practical reasons why such an almost-masterpiece was not ultimately supported, renders this a masturbatory propaganda puff- piece (and forces me to knock the rating down considerably out of sheer sycophantic exhaustion). But go ahead and give it a watch -- especially if you're a confirmed cinephile, genre aficionado, or "Dune" devotee.

But with all the eclectic true talent that had begun to assemble for this project, why do I so flagrantly assert the dismissal that this film wouldn't have lived up to any of their collective potential? -- Eight syllables: Al-lay-han-dro * Joad-doe-row-ski.

Anyone with a passing knowledge of the silver tongued snake-oil salesman of highlight here, understands that -- while he may be a great teller of tall tales -- he is not a great storyteller. Not in the least. Would-be auteur Alejandro Jodorowsky comes from the "avant-garde" art scene -- which is just a pretentious way of saying he has a propensity for vacuous kitschy pop perversion, yet is able to hide under a fancy Frog word to validate it. The man is known not for great movies, but for playing to the lowest common denominator of art affectation. Oh so loving odes to the scatological and profane; incoherent posturing strung together through cute little images of blasphemy and vile sadism.

Jodorowsky wants to adorn himself an out-of-time progressive renaissance man of immense enlightenment, but his thoughtless philistinism is like a low-rent tribute to the depraved vapid vulgarity that hallmarked the careers of Andy Warhol, Ken Russell, John Waters, and Pier Paolo Pasolini -- but without even attaining their unmerited impact. It's quite telling that anyone who will indulge with Jodorowsky in substance abuse, cater to his ego, or allow themselves subjugated to his insane whims are distinguished by Jodorowsky as "Spiritual Warriors", while those with more sober senses are "Soulless". And eyes roll toward the darkest recesses of cranial cavitations having to endure the permeation of such blustering nonsense go completely unchallenged.

Instead of plausibly translating the grand universe of intricate histories, theology, political intrigue, and power struggles that "Dune" author Frank Herbert scribed so illustriously, Jodorowsky would have desecrated its eminent quality by substituting debased detours catering to the diseased of spirit, in giddy honor of degradation and silly pseudo-philosophic utopianism. Because that's who Alejandro Jodorowsky is -- a man who insist the collaborative nature of film-making and adapting authors' works has to be an act of defilement, and bolsters that claim by analogizing it to a marriage night where the husband must forcefully violate his wife, because to continue to regard her with respect could never produce a child -- so "Rape! RAPE! RAPE!... but with love". That's how this guy's mind works. He only cares about himself, and is perfectly fine to abuse others to get his way -- even though his way holds not one shred of virtue. Of course he would cast his own pre-pubescent young son to scurry about fully nude in his odious "art-films" for no honest reason other than pedophilic pleasure. This is a man who literally films defections for scat enthusiasts. Jodorowsky is not an artist, he's a charlatan of art -- he doesn't express the humanities, only dehumanization -- he's an exploitative sensationalist rather than imperative provocateur.

The most bizarre aspect of this documentary is not even the gonzo eccentric at its heart, but rather the fact that this deviant was ever even considered a viable pillar to hinge a major investment on! Of course his rambling nonsense would be forsaken once money needed milking, but before that reality set in, Jodorowsky had already recruited (most probably exclusively through vice enticement) an incredible array of superstar talent for both ends of the lens. This examination does nevertheless merit attention for the grotesque fascination of learning about an adaptation of Frank Herbert's novel that would have managed to be even more of a corruption than David Lynch's vomit, whilst simultaneously tainting so many bright young talent's careers -- after casting their bests into an abyss of excrement under the abominable shepherding of Alejandro Jodorowsky - - and possibly derailing their destinies in genre film's hall of legends. At least half of the legacy citations it stretches to tie to Jodorowsky's credit as direct lineage progeny are -- to be generous -- highly suspect, and I just don't at all agree with its ridiculous thesis that this was "the greatest movie never made".

Now if proved virtuoso, consummate professional and diligent filmmaker Ridley Scott had realized HIS planned vision for "Dune" -- maybe that truly is one of the great missed opportunities that would have birthed a legitimate masterpiece! Hmm... perhaps a sequel is in order:

"RIDLEY'S DUNE"?!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Must-See for Scifi Fans
Roger An23 May 2017
An epic behind-the-scenes tale of massive creativity gone off the rails with legends of film and music intertwined with one man's uncompromising vision of Dune. If you miss scifi's hey day of quiet introspection and larger-than-life concepts married with cutting edge visuals, this documentary will whet your appetite.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
All for the best
pniemeyer-4722212 May 2017
Jodorowsky's Dune covers the inception and eventual crumbling of one of the most ambitious film projects ever conceived. Alejandro Jodorowsky, the Chilean cult filmmaker whose films include surrealist works like El Topo and The Holy Mountain, wanted to make a miniseries- length adaptation of Frank Herbert's sci-fi novel that would elevate the consciousness of the entire human race, or something. Frankly, I'm kind of glad he never found the money. I'm not sure what film could live up to that level of ambition.

For me, what's most interesting about this documentary is how much I disagree with its thesis. This film clearly wants us to see Jodorowsky's Dune as the greatest film never made. I'm not buying it. Jodorowsky admits that he had not read the novel when he started getting his team (he called them "spiritual warriors"; the whole thing seems rather cultlike) together, and when it becomes apparent that his film would deviate from the novel in many significant ways, he claims that he was "raping Frank Herbert...with love". I don't care if that's a metaphor; raping *anyone* with love is an oxymoron. I am a fan of the novel, which might be biasing my thinking here, but I doubt anyone but the most hardcore Jodorowsky devotees would ever want to sit through this film, had it been made. So maybe the greedy studios were right to withhold backing.

None of this is to say that Jodorowsky's Dune is itself without merits. As a study in how making art is a series of compromises, and how one charismatic visionary can sweep others up in dreaming the impossible dream with him, it's enlightening. Jodorowsky is a jovial, engaging fellow, and when you consider that the team he assembled for this film included Dan O'Bannon, H.R. Giger, and Moebius, it's not difficult to accept that some of their ideas for this film later found their way into later sci-fi classics that did get made. If nothing else, you will marvel at the sheer absurdity of it all. The 70s were a good time to be a groundbreaking auteur. But not everyone gets to be Scorsese.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The movie has to be just like I dream it
Micha Hilliard22 April 2017
Jodorowsky's adaptation of "Dune" would have been wildly ambitious. He wanted to change the human consciousness, recreating the hallucinations of LSD. "For me, Dune will be the coming of a god." Jodorowsky is incredibly charismatic in his interviews. I can see why people wanted to work for him. He assembled an eclectic group of artists: H.R. Giger, Chris Foss, Jean Giraud, and Dan O'Bannon. It was important to him that everyone on his crew was not only technically savvy but also spiritually aware. They had to believe in "Dune." Once he found the right people, he gave them total freedom. He let Giger be Giger. "I was searching for the light of genius in every person, with an enormous respect, an enormous respect. And then, every day I was feeding them in order to be free, to do what, to do the best of them." Jodorowsky also cast Salvador Dali, Orson Welles, and Mick Jagger. He knew what it took to make people believe. After "Dune" fell through, O'Bannon wrote "Alien" based on Giger's work. Foss and Giraud were also part of that project. I'm not sure if "Dune" would have been any good. Jodorowsky wanted it to be 14 hours long. However, while watching the documentary, I couldn't help feeling awed by the grandiosity of his vision. He wanted to make a work of genius and he wasn't going to settle for less. "The movie has to be just like I dream it."
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
What I call a memorable movie
jx18 April 2017
"Almost all the battles were won, but the war was lost,"Jodorowsky writes in an essay on his experience with the project. "The project was sabotaged in Hollywood. It was French and not American. Its message was not 'enough Hollywood.' There were intrigues, plundering. The story-board circulated among all the large studios. Later, the visual aspect of Star Wars resembled our style. To make Alien, they invited Moebius, Foss, Giger, O'Bannon, etc.," to say nothing of its traces visible in Blade Runner and The Matrix. While the 80+-year-old Jodorowsky has made a return to filmmaking in recent years, his Dune will most likely remain on the lists of the greatest movies never made. But its influence, if not its scale, will no doubt continue to manifest in generations of sci-fi cinema to come.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The best minds never opened.
wouteeckhout11 November 2016
If you love the metaphysical, if you love the spiritual, if you love passion, documentaries, science-fiction, or movies, watch this.

This documentary on 'the best movie never made' takes you through the process of an uprising director on the path to making one of the 1960's most ambitious movie-projects.

Jodorowsky's intent was to change the perceptions of the public by adapting the sci-fi novel Dune into a glorious big-screen piece of art. He wanted to do this by subtly reproducing the effects a drug like LSD has on you in order to 'open the minds'.

I especially loved how he talked about several synchronicities, spiritual concepts, and other things like working from the heart.

Jodorowsky is a legit artist and one massive ball of energy, even at the age of 84. This was a very inspiring watch and I highly recommend it if you're into the more qualitative documentaries.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Sycophantic, miserably off-target salute to yet another so-called "visionary"
lor_22 April 2016
"Visionary" is the most misused term in film circles of late, thrown around by idiots who wouldn't know a D.W. Griffith film from a Warhol. Such is the fate of Alexandro (proper spelling) Jodorowsky, a darling of cultists.

Unlike the particularly lame set of experts rounded up here (fan boys as film critics and untalented film directors Richard Stanley and Nicolas Winding Refn), I was a film buff in the '60s and '70s and properly placed Alexandro's work ("El Topo", "Fando & Lis", "The Holy Mountain") in the context of his betters: Glauber Rocha from Brazil and the fabulous European surrealist Arrabal.

Frank Pavich who directed this documentary fails to mention even in passing that "Fando and Lis" was adapted by AJ from a play by Arrabal. "Viva la Muerte!" by Arrabal was just as influential a midnight movie at the outset of the '70s as AJ's "El Topo", and all the art-house directors of that era owed plenty to the innovations of Rocha in a series of films from which "Antonio das Mortes" stood out, and would still be a reference point if folks did their homework.

In covering AJ's work this documentary is incomplete and misleading. The most famous anecdote regarding "The Holy Mountain" concerns star Dennis Hopper going crazy during filming and leaving the set, forcing AJ to replace him. Nowhere is that level of historical research encountered here.

Instead we have AJ pontificating, gesticulating, and basically acting the part of "the mad genius" for Pavich's camera. This routine, favored by Werner Herzog in recent decades gets old in a hurry and made watching "J's 'Dune" a real chore. I interviewed Terry Gilliam in 1981 in Manhattan on his promo junket for the release of "The Time Bandits" and he behaved in person one-on-one quite similar to the way Jodo acts here. Both men are so full of enthusiasm and passion concerning making movies that they literally seem about to blow a gasket at any moment.

Both Jodorowsky and Gilliam have become famous over the years for the outlandishness (and scale) of their projects, and their becoming folk heroes by going Don Quixote-like up against the windmills/giants of the Film Establishment, i.e., the guys who hold the purse-strings.

Much is made here of Hollywood's inability to see the power of AJ's meticulously (and permanently) enshrined shooting script that is bound in hardback the size of an unexpurgated Webster's dictionary. Both he and Gilliam seem to have a mental block against recognizing the difference between making a large-scale, say mature David Lean- scale, movie and writing the Great American Novel or crafting the ultimate Broadway Play. Self-appointed "visionaries" need not apply - only fools like Bob Guccione and his "most expensive porn film of all time" Caligula can do that. Artists like these should sensibly follow in the footsteps of avant-garde filmmakers, Maya Deren, Ed Emshwiller, Stan Brakhage and Stan Vanderbeek: create independent, no-budget, uncompromising underground cinema. Leave the $200,000,000 projects to hacks like Michael Bay.

It was Dino De Laurentiis (along with Joseph E. Levine and Alexander Salkind) who initiated the era of big-budgets we currently live with: back when Dune by AJ was being worked on and shopped the entire film industry was functioning under very tight budgetary restrictions following the near-collapse of the studios in 1969: no film in the '70s was being green-lighted with a budget as high as $15,000,000, which Dune would entail.

For the record, it was 1976 when Levine's "A Bridge Too Far", Dino's "King Kong" and Salkind's "Superman" were independently produced at much higher budgets, opening the floodgates. And not coincidentally it was Dino, through his daughter, who ended up producing the David Lynch flop of "Dune".

So the doc's argument about AJ's war with stupid studio execs is completely off- base and ignorantly presented -their hands were tied at that time.

Worse than that, the movie's implication about the power and influence of AJ's Dune, even without it being made, is 180 degrees off the mark. Sure, we see trotted out a who's who of ultra-creative talent that was working on preparing the movie: Giger, Moebius, O'Bannon, even hangers-on like Welles and Dali. Ridley Scott is rightly shown to be the chief recipient of the fruits of their labors -going from the promising art-house director of "The Duellists" to fame and fortune (via hiring AJ's technicians) with increasingly bigger- canvas epics like "Alien", "Blade Runner" and ultimately "Gladiator" and many others all of which not coincidentally resemble the '60s epics that sank Hollywood's fortunes and led to that moratorium on big-budget projects in the first place.

The legacy of this unfinished film is not launching top technical and creative talent in a host of blockbusters but rather the industry's ongoing fascination with flashy, mindless crap, currently emblazoned by the application of 3-D (a tarnished medium from the early '50s) to so many pictures as well as fake IMAX (not using the IMAX photographic system) to market the junk.

What Pavich presents as AJ's strengths are in fact his fatal flaws. Rounding up the top talent - it seems like he has the Midas touch in finding the best in each field, does not disguise the obvious fact that had he actually been able to make "Dune", AJ would be calling all the shots, like a Robert Rodriguez (writer/director/cameraman/editor). Evidence of this creeps into the doc with the segment dealing with Doug Trumbull, who is sloughed off as arrogant or not a team player when AJ rejects his participation out of hand, when in fact it is obvious that AJ is the arrogant s.o.b., not Doug.

AJ would have a firmer and more legitimate place in film history had he remained independent and tackled smaller-scale films that expressed exactly what he wanted to say, a la the models of Jim Jarmusch or Woody Allen.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Looms Large in the Imagination...
poe-4883325 January 2016
JODOROWSKY'S DUNE as laid out in this documentary could've rivaled 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY for sheer Nerve. 2001 crept along at a snail's pace, to be sure, but it eventually attempted to give us a glimpse of what lay at The End of the Universe. Good or bad, right or wrong, it crept along doggedly until it presented its Conclusion (such as it was). DUNE would've DWARFED 2001 just in terms of Story: the book touched on so many themes that to do the idea(s) justice would've required a SERIES of movies (of considerable length). David Lynch did a commendable job, all things considered, but his version of DUNE lacked the mind-bending FEEL that the Spiritual transmutation of Paul should've engendered; THAT would've taken a filmmaking savvy that the eccentric Lynch just didn't possess. (Maybe only Werner Herzog could've given us a closer approximation to what Frank Herbert had wrought.) The Harkonnens remain some of the vilest villains in the history of Science Fiction (especially in view of worldwide events over the past four decades), and it would be great to see them done justice.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Dune:The Alt Never Filmed Version.
morrison-dylan-fan15 January 2016
Warning: Spoilers
With having found auteur film maker Alejandro Jodorowsky's The Dance of Reality to be a dazzling surreal title,I was pleased to spot on a thread on IMDb's Film Festival thread that a doc about a project Jodorowsky failed to get made was chosen for viewing,which led to me getting ready to step on Jodorowsky's Dune.

The outline of the doc:

After his movie The Holy Mountain is an unexpected hit,film maker Alejandro Jodorowsky is asked by the producer about what he would like to do for his next project.Hearing about the book,Jodorowsky decides that he would like to do an adaptation of the Sci-Fi novel Dune.Once the producer gets the rights, Jodorowsky begins writing a screenplay for a 14 hour long (!) adaptation.As he Jodorowsky starts hiring people for the film,the project starts to face cash troubles.

View on the film:

Displaying a number of the superb storyboards and drawings that Jodorowsky had done for the project,director Frank Pavich offers a bittersweet taste to what could have been by bringing the storyboards alive with a delicate use of CGI.Along with the CGI preview,Pavich dips the film into Jodorowsky's surrealist ink,thanks to images of the stars and pre-production meetings, (from Mick Jagger to producer Dan O'Bannon being high when he first met Jodorowsky!)giving the movie a dreamy fantasy atmosphere.Despite the project not reaching the screen, Alejandro Jodorowsky displays a burning passion for the project which shines across the screen,as Jodorowsky reveals what came out of the ashes of Dune.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
About ambition
sol-3 January 2016
Long before Frank Herbert's 'Dune' was adapted into a movie in 1984 and a miniseries in 2000, 'Santa Sangre' director Alejandro Jodorowsky originally attempted to bring the novel to screen and this documentary details how his ambitious project failed. The film consists of interviews with Jodorowsky and his former collaborators, as well as archive footage of those no longer alive. Through these interviews, it becomes clear that the project was always doomed from the start, but that it may have been a surefire interesting movie had it gotten off the ground. Obstacles to production are revealed to include cautious financiers, unwilling to fund a sci-fi film that would run for more than 90 minutes, and egotistical actors (Salvador Dalí apparently wanted $100,000 per minute for the privilege of appearing). As the documentary progresses though, it starts to veer off the deep end with its repeated wild claims (not suggestions) that 'Dune' would have been the new 'Star Wars' and the greatest science fiction film of all time had it gone ahead. Even wilder though is the conspiracy theory presented towards the end, with the filmmakers suggesting that everything from 'The Matrix' to 'Prometheus' took inspiration from Jodorowsky's storyboards for 'Dune' that (they reckon) were passed around all the big studios. While the film goes a little overboard in this regard, it is still fascinating viewing throughout. Animation is used particularly well to bring some of Jodorowsky's storyboards to life and to add extra detail to a record interview with Dan O'Bannon.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Movie That Never Was
Michael_Elliott3 January 2016
Jodorowsky's Dune (2013)

**** (out of 4)

Have you seen Alejandro Jodorowsky's DUNE? Of course you haven't because sadly it was never made but this documentary gives you a great idea of what it would have been like. Director Jodorowsky is interviewed as he discusses his early films and why he then wanted to make Dune even though he hadn't actually read the book. From here we learn about the pre-production, which included getting Pink Floyd on-board for the soundtrack and David Carradine for the main role.

JODOROWSKY'S DUNE is a terrific little documentary that gives one a great idea of what the movie would have been like if it was made. The film goes into great detail about what the look of the film would have been like as well as giving you a great idea of why it might not have been possible even if they had turned the movie cameras on. As one person says, this was two years from STAR WARS yet Jodorowsky was wanting to do stuff that wouldn't even have been possible twenty years from then. If you're a fan of the director or just filmmaking in general then this is a must see.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
'Jodorowsky's Dune' is one fine documentary that gives you a small glimpse into the chaotic scene of what it was like to make one of the biggest pictures ever made.
Bryan Kluger17 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I'm sure you have either seen, read, or heard of the sci-fi epic tale of 'Dune' by now. You know the film by David Lynch that starred Kyle MacLachlan, Sting, Max Von Sydow, Virginia Madsen, Patrick Stewart, and Sean Young? Well, if you saw the film, you would know that it is very similar to a lot of science-fiction movies that we have seen over the past thirty years, but it never was a box office smash or held up in later years. Sure, there is a small cult following for it now, but it has nowhere near the amount of fans that 'Star Wars' or 'Star Trek' fans have now.

'Dune' was a book from 1956 by Frank Hubert that was adapted for the big screen by Lynch ('Eraserhead', 'Twin Peaks', 'Mullholland Drive'). But did you know that before Lynch started directing his cast of characters, that cult icon filmmaker Alejandro Jodorowsky ('El Topo', 'The Holy Mountain') was set to make 'Dune' into a ten hour feature film that was going to have Salvador Dali (the painter) and Orson Welles star in his film, amongst others? Well that's true, as Jodorowsky set out on several countries constructing a dream team of filmmakers to make this epic sci-fi film that Jodorowsky himself was convinced would change the world. And even though the film was never made, his dream of changing the world or changing the ways movies were made came true.

Director Frank Pavich spent quite a few months with Jodorowsky, interviewing him, and some of the people (who are big names in Hollywood now) who worked on this movie with him, and how this project ultimately fell apart. One thing is for sure, as we see Jodorowsky flip through his two thousand page illustrated book and screenplay of his version of 'Dune', his spirit and soul are as lively today at age 85 as they were back in his much younger days. Jodorowsky was and is still not about making money for the suits in Hollywood, but rather showing an artistic and entertaining piece of cinema, no matter how obscure or insane it might be (Yes, his movie 'The Holy Mountain' incited riots in Mexico when it came out).

Pavich shows us through interviews, digital stills, and old footage what happened in those couple of years as Jodorowsky tried to make 'Dune'. Come to find out, Jodorowsky, traveled to meet actors he heard of or were fans of on screen, and point blank asked them to be in his film, to which most all of them said "yes". He also took this method to find his storyboard illustrators, special effects team, and director of photography, as he asked them all to drop what they were doing and move to another country to make this epic film. Among these people were H.R. Giger and Dan O'Bannon (the 'ALIEN' movies), who were both no names at the time.

When it came to casting, Jodorowsky asked Salvador Dali to be in the film, to which Dali responded with "yes, but only if I'm paid $100k per hour." Jodorowsky ended up offering him $100k per minute of screen-time, and he snatched Welles up by offering to hire the head chef of his favorite restaurant to cater every meal to him personally. Needless to say, Jodorowsky had an unorthodox way of making a film. But back then, studios weren't wanting to make ten hour movies or trilogies yet, specifically not one that would be rated R by a virtually unknown in the states director. And now way over budget and not receiving any more money from the studio, the project eventually fell apart after all the work that had been completed. And Jodorowsky still believes that this version of 'Dune' could have been the best film ever made, and nobody ever will see it. However, his ideas for special effects and Giger's drawings of the planets and buildings in 'Dune' were featured in other films like 'Alien', 'Star Wars', 'Total Recall', and 'Masters of the Universe'.

So in a way, Jodorowsky's vision came to life in other films, and his dream team of filmmakers went on to be the cream of the crop in Hollywood, as his gigantic illustrated screenplay made the rounds in Hollywood, and other directors took what they saw and used it as their own. This truly was one of the greatest films never made, and after watching this engaging documentary, I wanted Hollywood to give Jodorowsky money to make his version finally. But I know that will never happen. And there are many instances like this that has happened over the years, but one thing is for sure. Alejandro Jodorowsky has kept true to his nature and himself in making movies and will never yield to the execs of Hollywood. 'Jodorowsky's Dune' is one fine documentary that gives you a small glimpse into the chaotic scene of what it was like to make one of the biggest pictures ever made, only to have it not happen.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The Greatest Movie Ever Made About The Greatest Movie Never Made
Kubricksboy9 August 2015
The Greatest Movie ever made about the Greatest Movie never made. That's all I have to say about this beautiful info-graphic Documentary, following the most ambitious project by then well known and critically acclaimed Director, following it's over priced production and then it's inevitable destruction by Hollywood who at that time never supported Movies with that big an ambition like Jodorowsky's Dune.

Told in the form of Interviews by the people who were involved in the Film like any other Documentary but what makes Jodorowsky's Dune stand out is it's doomed story itself, every minor detail mentioned only makes want to see the Film more but then again it will be made like it was envisioned and shown in Jodorowsky's Dune. To the one's who are unaware about this Film will enjoy it the most for what is more Gracious and Glorious than seeing Dune come to life in the form of drawing and animation for the first time. What might astonish you the most about Dune are the people who involved in it, the likes of Orson Welles and Salvador Dali and many other greats were involved with this Film, great visionaries who would go on and make great contributions to Film inspired by their work on Jodorowsky's Dune. Try and imagine Orsen Welles playing a cruel narcissistic Film living in a Fortress which looks like him which is protected by spears arranged on the path which leads to it, set in the desert planet whose skies also run red and the winds carry sand.

Alejandro Jodorowsky narrates the story of his passion project, he starts very Enthusiastically to tell the world what happened to his beloved Dune and gradually falls to despair when he has to tell who his Dune was never made, to a point of despair that he begs people to take his material and make his Dune. The Film's concepts and story is brought to the audience in the form of drawings and animation, the very drawings and animations from which "Alien" was created, almost all the visuals in Alien was inspired from the work done on Dune. Few of the drawings are brought to life in form of animation which look strikingly beautiful. Not being able to see this movie will be the greatest regret I will ever have.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Amazing Documentary
Rick Cortez29 July 2015
Having loved the movies for a long time now, is incredible to see this film with only 8 as rating. Jodorowski's Dune proposes the inside look of a genius at it's own way. Jodorowski's movies are not for everybody, you need to see it with some kind of effort and taste for the artistic wave. However Jodorowski's Dune shows not only the work of this man, but the man himself, showing us a beautiful human being with an inspiring message: Don't you ever give up! Even if all the doors remain closed, Don't give up. Is one of the most amazing things I have seen in my life. So You have Jodorowsky's work, Jodorowsky himself, Hodorowsky's Legacy in sci-fi what else do you need to give it a try?
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Beautiful and Engaging
ptcarr23 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Jodorowsky's Dune allows viewers to peer into the mind of an artist fully committed to seeing his vision become reality. This film is not just for sci-fi fans, it's for anyone who is fascinated and inspired by the creation of art. It's hard not to be amazed by Jodorowsky's passion and excitement as he walks the audience through every stage of attempting to create his masterpiece.

It's easy to view Jodorowsky as an over-idealistic man with a screw loose, thanks both to his mannerisms and his zealous approach to art. But that's what makes the story so interesting. He almost turns down Pink Floyd because the band didn't stop eating their hamburgers while discussing the musical score of Dune. He introduces himself to Dan O'Bannon by immediately presenting him with some of his "special marijuana". He offered Salvador Dali $100,000 per minute to act in the film (granted, it was stated that Dali was set to be in the film 5 minutes at most).

You feel Jodorowsky's pain when he discusses receiving the news that all major studios were uninterested in the picture, and that the film's production had to stop right when things seemed to be heating up. You want to laugh with him when he expresses his euphoria at realizing the David Lynch adaptation of Dune was a disaster. You respect and revere him when he talks about the abundance films he had an impression on and the artists he helped inspire. And you admire him when he suggests that Dune has lived on through those films, that his hard work, effort, and vision have not, in fact, gone to waste.

The film is not for any one segment of the population. It's for those who love human expression, commitment, and diligence, and for those who are truly in awe of individuals who are driven by the love of their artistic craft.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Makes you imagine as if you had seen the film
mark-452214 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I love good documentaries and this is one of them but one thing to keep in mind about most of them is their need to steer and corral you into a point of view. The point of view of this one is that Jodorowsky's Dune wasn't made because of inflexibility and lack of vision by the Hollywood studio machine.

The film ended with me thinking that was an unfair judgment. Two key factors would kill this film even today: One was the demand by Jodorowsky that the film be 15 hours. Imagine if the original Star Wars trilogy was made all at once into a 6 hour film. We'd certainly enjoy it but would many 13 year olds who fell in love with the first film be able to handle sitting for 6 hours straight even with an intermission? Also, three movies made 3 times more money than one.

This film COULD have gotten made! If Jodorowsky started out from the Planet Caladan and ended on Arrakis just after the Baron had killed Duke Leto and Paul had escaped, for instance. The budget would have been reduced and even if Hollywood had rejected it, he could have filmed from a private investor (no doubt Salvador Dali and Orson Welles could have made some phone calls) In the end, ironically, the studio execs were right: Jodorowsky simply wasn't practical enough of a director to get the film cut. He was ingenious in negotiating and compromising with the biggest egos of all time including literally Orson Welles and Dali but couldn't figure out a way to make this project viable to a simple minded Hollywood exec? His genius could have manipulated such a simple mind if he had allowed himself to.

So it's thoughts like that which make this documentary into one of the best thoughtful experiences ever. Even if you disagree with my conclusion, the vision of what this film could have been, and why it wasn't, is as engaging as any of the three Star Wars "prequel" films. What I think the film could have been like is a 100 times better than what Lynch's Dune turned out to be.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
An Excellent Documentary for What Would Have Been a Terrible Film
Nikolas Robinson12 May 2015
Just watched Jodorowsky's Dune and I have never been so glad as I am right now that David Lynch ended up directing the film adaptation that ultimately came out. Lynch may not want to take credit for the film, he may feel more disappointed about that movie than anything else he's done, but the alternative would have been an even greater departure from the source material...would have been abysmally dismissive of the novel and the subsequent additions to the series that was Dune. There are some aspects of Jodorowsky's vision that impressed me, and some stylistic choices that would have been interesting to witness...but the end that he planned would have been enough to ruin the movie for me. Paul dying and beginning to speak through the mouths of everyone else present followed by Arrakis becoming a verdant paradise with a consciousness of its own is just stupid.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Fascinating insight into the development of early 90's sci fi
attae7 May 2015
Is Jodorowski a genius? He certainly sells it well. on the other hand, it took me two viewings to get through Holy Mountain, and I would not describe it as mainstream entertainment - or even general entertainment for that matter.

The genius of Jodorowski is in cherry picking other geniuses to work with, and developing a team that was later poached by mainstream Hollywood.

The team of Moebius, Giger, O'Bannon, and Foss is inspired on so many levels for a choice of artistic design. It's no surprise that the best we could have hoped for after the failure of this project was a classic in its own right, 'Alien'.

On the music front he was trying to bring in Pink Floyd for the Atreides score, and Magma for Harkonnen.

And actors... Dali for the emperor, who immediately demanded the highest pay in Hollywood - what better choice for emperor than such an arrogant, spoilt, self-absorbed know-it-all? Orson Wells for Baron Harkonnen is also another masterful choice.

Love him or loathe him, Jodorowski knows people. He chose some pretty incredible people to take on this project, and succeeded in pulling them all together. It's a damn shame that it failed.

Sure, Jodorowski's Dune would probably have been a financial and critical failure, but I think it would also have developed a cult following as the best film of all time.

In the end it was just too 'European' for the pay masters. Hollywood and the States love a clean cut hero in a black and white story. Philosophical and metaphysical does not go down as well there as it does in Europe. Although, that seems to be changing a bit now.

This project was far ahead of its time for Hollywood, though they do seem content to poach parts of it to splice into more mainstream and less thoughtful movies.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
A possible nice movie with a band of great talent
naoshin3 May 2015
I know very well Jodoroswsky, for being one of the best sci-fi creator around.

Though, I know he did dreamed a bit too much about a new adaptation of it, he even tell he put ideads into 'meta barons' from dune... It's crazy. Universe is totally different.

And for the rest, dune is a huge thing, far from this petty script.. I would say OK it's OK but now, great ideai to try your script in animation..

If you don't know Mr jodor, ask one french studio like the north of ankama maybe ? :)
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Spiritual enlightenment in a documentary form
StrayFeral13 March 2015
This movie is a spiritual enlightenment in a documentary form.

Let us start with this: I own the blu-ray version of the movie. Never saw any Jodorowsky movie, but I am huge fan of both books and David Lynch's "Dune".

So far somebody would expect me to judge this documentary from the perspective of a "Dune" fan, but honestly I tried to be as neutral as possible. Of course, part of me was the "Dune" fan when I was watching, part of me was trying to get into the mind of this crazy genius, as Jodorowsky appears to be.

Some quick facts and impressions: I have never seen the theatrical version of the documentary, but the blu-ray version do contains additional footage, giving even a bit more insight from both Jodorowsky and Michel Seydoux on the events and relationships of Jodorowsky and the crew. I consider this bonus material a very valuable add-on to the whole story, so I do recommend you to buy the blu-ray version.

What to say... The movie pretty much speaks about itself. It is well done and very interesting to see, especially it touches such a mysterious subject in the world cinematography, as the never made movie about "Dune". What the movie shows however in addition, is a valuable insight on Jodorowsky's mind and we are given the chance to experience from first person perspective the creative process of the mind of a genius.

Yes, I said I have never seen a Jodorowsky movie. However experiencing the way this man thinks and creates, I cannot deny he is a true genius. While we are not given the chance to see the whole book he prepared for the movie studios, showing the storyboard of "Dune", we almost feel like we could watch the movie from some of his words.

Jodorowsky's "Dune" would have been a true spectacular movie. David Lynch's "Dune" is already spectacular - we have the monsters by Kit West , the same who created the monsters in "Star Wars", we have the music of the legendary TOTO and Brian Eno, we have a whole constellation of famous actors, including Sting in addition. Jodorowsky was about to offer much more - different music for every Dune house, starting with the cult Pink Floyd, even more constellations of stars - Mick Jagger, Amanda Lear, Orson Welles, H.R.Giger and even, oh my, Salvador Dali! And all this experienced in a totally different palette of colours trough the prism of Jodorowsky's mind.

Honestly, while I think the movie would have been very very different than everything we saw and maybe considered too "mature-rated", if not even little "pervert" by some, I think the world really lost by not having this movie created.

The moral of the story however, is that even true geniuses have to consider the budget and some boundaries in the end. Otherwise we are left with nothing, but legends.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best documentary on film or art in general ever.
Colin Christian4 March 2015
I started reading Heavy Metal Magazine back in 78, and there was already talk of this movie back then,there is no doubt in my mind the Jodorowsky and his 'Spiritual Warriors' changed the face of Science Fiction forever,more than Star Wars,despite his movie Dune was never made. This marvelous film traces every step that went into the creation of Dune,and each step was a jaw dropper,hilarious and seemingly written in the heavens.I love this movie,I just get Jodorowsky,the way he sees life matches my own, it's such a loss he never got to complete his mighty idea. The scene where he talks about money and the Hollywood system has to be one of my favorite scenes ever committed to film,I felt his loss to the core. This incredible movie allows you to participate in someone else's dream,an artistic vision beyond compare,it's beautiful beyond measure.Brilliant!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Glorious
gavin694223 February 2015
The story of cult film director Alejandro Jodorowsky's ambitious but ultimately doomed film adaptation of Frank Herbert's seminal science fiction novel.

This is the missing link of science fiction history. Between 1960 and 1980, the world of science fiction evolved from cheesy robots and mad scientists to something far more visionary. Other given credit are "Alien", "2001", "Star Wars" and others... but perhaps it was this film that never got made.

H.R. Giger? Dan O'Bannon? Orson Welles? This is an incredible story, and really bridges a gap. Those watching "Dark Star" today (2015) might think it is a rather silly film, but put back into tits context and influence, it may be a much bigger piece of history than many think. How big would "Dune" have been?
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Exuberant Eye
tedg7 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I am glad the man is alive and still making films, though they don't drive my soul the way some work does. I like that he is aware of parallel narratives, is visual and fearless. His notions of sex and oppression are decoupled from the physical, and that is remarkable.

For my taste, his notion of narrative is less full of irrepressible need and more of butterflies. And they all have to rely on connectives he keeps in his imagination.

So many years ago when I heard of the rumored Dune project, well, I was interested. If he indeed tapped that material, his weaknesses would be covered, because the whole Dune series is one that well integrates the spiritual, political and personal (meaning individual drive).

Now I learn that he roped in the artistic team that later went on to give Alien its edge. And Welles! Also some simple but then famous celebrities were cast in some roles. Seeing the thin excess he put together in his storyboards, I believe the thing would have been a mess.

But now here we have this remarkably well made documentary that gives the film more value than it ever could have had! We have that almost film in many still images. We have the memory of the original book, still strong in many of us.

We have the outer wrapper of an excellent filmmaker in putting the thing together as a narrative.

And we have Jodorowsky's telling, as if the film were not a project but a child destined to become Jesus.

This manifold narrative is really effective, and the film grows and grows in importance as if it were a fictional but hardly understood celestial character. Destroying the film — he says near the end — gave it more power than it could have had.

As much power as spice flowing through urge without image.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Jodorowsky's Vision is Vapor Cinema; Conceptually Brilliant and Thoroughly Mind-Teasing, But Inherently Doomed
Sean Lamberger6 February 2015
A group of talking heads sit down to chat about the "most ambitious sci-fi epic never made." Which, I realize, sounds like some rather exaggerated, overplayed hyperbole. Thing is, between the director's intense dedication to the project and remarkable eye for talent, it quickly seems like a pretty reasonable statement. Alejandro Jodorowsky, who single-handedly provides much of the documentary's narration, is both the best and the worst thing to happen to this launchpad-implosion of a film. His confidence can often come off as egotism, and his absurd track record quickly turned off any potential Hollywood suitors (ultimately damning the picture) but in retrospect there's no arguing with the impact his hand-picked team made on the world of science fiction at large. Then-unknowns like HR Giger and Mœbius would go on to enormous careers, both in the cinema and art scenes, while many of their collaborators found themselves poached for future hits like Star Wars and Alien. There's a certain irrational appeal to the man himself, which immediately comes through in his speech and mannerisms. It's no wonder major celebrities like Pink Floyd and David Carradine would attach themselves to the project, mingling with brow-furrowing supporting acts like Orson Welles and Salvador Dali. The big question of how the film could make the translation from eccentric paper-bound concept to vivid on-screen special effect (in a pre-Lucasfilm world, no less) is never adequately answered, and that hurts in the long run, but as an exercise in unbridled, unhinged creative discharge it's fascinating. Utterly tripped-out, surreal and nonsensical at times, but fascinating.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Yawn-fest...
Diamond Geezer4 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I wanted to like this movie having read most of the Frank Herbert books and not being aware of this movie that was never made. Okay so it has connections to modern sci-fi movies having had people that were working on it then go and work on other films but man - this movie is all dialogue: people talking at the camera about what could have been, what should have been and really there's only so much of that I can take before falling asleep.

The movie they're talking about is probably one of the greatest movies NEVER made - but this is one of the slowest, boring movies ever made.

I apologise to everyone who really loved this - I see where you're coming from but balancing that out this is one slow moving, yawn-fest if you don't know what you're in for.

The guy's a genius. This movie isn't.
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews