Thanks for Sharing (2012) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
52 Reviews
Sort by:
6/10
It was OK!
huggibear20 March 2017
I give it a 5.5-5.9. The plot was unique, but do we really think sex, a perfectly healthy act, is over-rated?? Maybe, to some degree by society's perception because of over-commercialization and how we have exploited sex. We should have kept sex as a private and very personal act. To each their own though. Whatever the case, this movie has some great stars in it and great acting as well! And it's kind of funny! The doctor is a hoot! I don't anyone who would do the perverted things he did in this movie, but I don't know everyone either. My thoughts: These are just imaginary minds thinking EVERYTHING is a problem, as always, including one of the most desirable actions with the body? Go figure! I'd still watch it if I were you, but not more than once. I got my fill on the first viewing.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
The little movie that wanted so bad...
PeterBanckSweden3 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Too little contact with reality for me. This is a subject that humanity first now dare tread into and coming with spiritual healing as a cure for something that we still do not know is a disease. The 2 stars above the 1 I first wanted to give, is because the last message is that we will fix this TOGETHER. No pills or that Jesus was the answer (Thank God, pun intended).

Casting of Ruffalo and Gwyneth Paltrow two sex symbols makes this movie a masturbation marathon rather than shining a light on what these things means to ordinary people.

Rest was the stereotypical imprint we humans have on addiction. The worst kind.

For all you who feels stigmatized by this movie, I recommend: Sex at Dawn: How We Mate, Why We Stray, and What It Means for Modern Relationships, by : Christopher Ryan, Cacilda Jetha.

Love to all, peace and no greed!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
"Thanks for Sharing" will make you thankful that the filmmakers and actors shared this story with you.
Dave McClain6 October 2015
There are many reasons that a given movie can be called entertaining: It's dramatic, it's funny, it's cute, it's educational, it's original, it has great acting, it has an interesting story, etc., etc. "Thanks for Sharing" (R, 1:52) has all of the above. It's a movie that explores the very real, but little-understood problem of sex addiction. This is not a movie (or a problem) about people who can't stop "doing it". What this is all about is people who act out their sexuality in ways that are inappropriate and/or compulsive.

The story follows three sex addicts who are in various stages of dealing with their problem. Mark Ruffalo is Adam, a man who is five years "sober" (as addicts call it, even if their addiction has nothing to do with alcohol), but has gone so far as not even allowing himself to have any intimate or even romantic relationships with anyone… that is, until he meets Gwyneth Paltrow's Phoebe. Tim Robbins plays Mike, Adam's sponsor and the leader of their recovery group. Josh Gad is both funny and heartbreaking as Neil, a single doctor who is just beginning to grapple with his addiction.

Adam and Phoebe are adorable together, but we wonder if their relationship is doomed from the start. Phoebe tells Adam that she used to date an alcoholic and promised herself she would never be with an addict again… but doesn't realize that sexual addiction is "a thing". Adam has had such a problem with sexual addiction (and closed himself off from women for so long), that he may not have the capacity for a healthy romantic relationship. Mike has been a great help to Adam, but he has problems of his own. Mike has very high standards and shows disdain for everyone who doesn't live up to them – including his adult son who has recently come back into his life and claims to have kicked his previous drug habit. Neil is in a race against time to get his addiction under control before he loses everything. He finds an unlikely friend and mutually-supportive relationship in Dede, played marvelously by Alecia Moore, better known as the rock star Pink.

"Thanks for Sharing" sheds light on a problem also dealt with in 2011's "Shame", but is less voyeuristic and more accessible to a mass audience. This film is educational without being preachy, funny without being disrespectful to the subject matter and entertaining without letting you forget what's at stake for each of these characters. Their problems feel real, the humor feels natural and the acting is just terrific. I thank writer-director Stuart Blumberg for sharing this very compelling film with us and give "Thanks for Sharing" an "A".
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Terrible. Just terrible.
Andy McBain19 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Struggling to work out what I hate more about this film: the monumentally poor dialogue or the wooden acting. It isn't a romantic comedy. I mean, it's not a comedy whatsoever. The 'punchlines' are predictable and I spent the entire hour and a half (time I'm never getting back by the way) wishing for a meteor shower that would take out each and every character.

There were times when I thought 'hmmmm this could be going somewhere interesting'. I was wrong. So very wrong. I couldn't engage with the characters, because I hated them all.

If you have literally anything else to do, do that instead.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Thanks for making
kosmasp20 March 2015
If you ever been to an addicts group, I reckon you all too well know the term "Thanks for sharing". And most of us (if not all of us), do have a tendency to drift into addiction. Some things are just too good to let go off. The movie has some very fine actors and many story lines that keep you excited and at the edge of your seat (if you get what the characters are about and feel for them, which I think the movie does a good job of putting us there).

It's best not to keep certain things secret and if it comes to addiction that is more than true. Obviously there are more than one sort of addiction and it's really good to see the characters interact in and around those addictions, but also family issues those will result in. There may be some flaws, but the movie has a heart and feels more than sincere in what it does
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I hate everyone except for you
tieman646 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Stuart Blumberg directs "Thanks for Sharing", arguably the best of a recent spate of films about sex addiction ("Don Jon", "Shame", "Nymphomaniac", "Welcome to New York" etc).

The plot? Several men and women assemble periodically at a support group for addicts. Some are alcoholics, some have anger issues, some have eating disorders, but most are addicted to pornography or intercourse. All find their public lives wrecked by seemingly uncontrollable urges.

Though flatly photographed, and though peppered with indie-clichés, "Thanks for Sharing" is elevated by some fine acting. Mark Ruffalo and Gwyneth Paltrow are cute as a couple of dysfunctional lovers, and pop-star Pink is excellent as Dede, a young woman addicted to bouts of sex. Tim Robbins, always charismatic, gets the film's least interesting subplot; he's a middle aged man attempting to reconcile with his wayward son.

Whilst "Sharing" has a certain wisdom about it, it nevertheless never really gets to the root of why its characters are suffering. The external factors, or social causes, which push these characters toward addiction are never brought up, though this is largely because Blumberg's characters are all shameful and so guarded about their pasts. "Sharing" was Blumberg's debut.

7.9/10 - Worth one viewing.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Josh Gad gives "metrosexual" a new meaning in this involving comedy-drama
The_late_Buddy_Ryan28 November 2014
For his directorial debut, Stuart Blumberg, co-writer of "The Kids Are All Right," has stepped away from the reproductive side of things. "Thanks…" interweaves three stories of sex addicts in recovery, each with a different tone—an edgy romance between Mark Ruffalo and Gwyneth P, a family drama with Tim Robbins and Patrick Fugit as embattled father and son, and a less complicated tale with Josh Gad and Pink as perfectly matched recovery buddies. The conflicts in the first two stories may seem contrived—you get the feeling Blumberg doesn't like to create difficulties for his characters—but the atmosphere of camaraderie in "the rooms" and the gritty twelve-step humor ("It's gonna hurt like a back-alley colonoscopy," says Robbins at one point) come across as authentic. Nice work by Emily Meade as the booty call from hell; the final montage of twelve-steppers testifying, with a great Billy Bragg song on the soundtrack, is genuinely moving. Without a skilled director like Lisa Cholodenko at the helm, this one's not as solidly constructed or as emotionally involving as "The Kids Are All Right," but it's an entertaining film with some real substance to it. Available on streaming Netflix.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
No thanks
meeza11 November 2014
*** Average

"Thanks for Sharing" does not really warrant your welcome. It' s not a total disaster but Director Stuart Blumberg's movie about a trio of recovered sex addicts was mostly a turn off. Mark Ruffalo leads the cast as Adam, an easygoing New Yorker who falls for Phoebe played by Gwyneth Paltrow. The thing is that Adam has not informed Phoebe about his addiction. When he does, Phoebe says "let's just be friends"; not really, just wanted to include "Phoebe" and "Friends" in the same sentence. Next, there is Mike (Tim Robbins), the senior sex addict, who has been longtime married to his high school sweetheart and trying to fix his relationship with his estranged kleptomaniac son. To round out the sexoholics, there is Neil (Josh Gad) a young chunky doctor who clumsily fights his addiction in a semi-comedic way and befriends a new addict named Dede played by Alecia Moore (or otherwise known as Pink); hey, the pink stuff had to be included in a movie about sex addicts. "Thanks for Sharing" lacks substance and you don't really care if the characters get it up in their relationships with others, pun intended. That is all I have to share for "Thanks for Sharing"; thanks for reading.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Very intense, with many funny moments, explores recovery from sex addiction.
TxMike13 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I came across this movie on Netflix streaming movies. It has good actors, is very nicely written and acted. The subject is intense, sex addiction, and there are many very intense scenes. But it is so well written that most of it comes off as very believable.

Mark Ruffalo is the main character as Adam, who is celebrating 5 years of "sobriety", meaning in his case no sex and no masturbation. He does some very drastic things, in today's environment, to avoid temptation, no TV and no computer. When he travels to D.C. on business he has the hotel remove the TV from his room. He also acts as a coach for others who are still struggling, and after 5 years is thinking it might be time to explore a relationship.

Adam's coach is Tim Robbins as Mike, who has been sober for a lot longer. But he has some residual issues with his son, 30-something Patrick Fugit as Danny, who has been estranged for a few years getting his self together in his own way.

When Adam meets Gwyneth Paltrow as Phoebe, who seems to be perfect, he starts to explore the relationship, but it has some rough spots as he finds out she isn't perfect after all.

Perhaps the most interesting is is Josh Gad as Neil, a young physician who is on probation for inappropriate touching in public places, attending meetings on a condition of his probation, but not at all committed to it. His low point is when he is fired after getting caught filming up-skirt his supervisor at work.

Which brings me to my favorite character, Dede, played by Alecia Moore who is better known to most of us as the singer known as Pink. Dede is a mess, but she seems better equipped to handle her recovery than most of the others. She and Neil exchange phone numbers and become recovery friends, just a call away to support each other. Not a trained or experienced actress, Pink is just right in her role.

The movie is very gritty and difficult to watch at times, it is so believable. But well worth the time.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
This Film Has Definitely Been Moved To My Top 5
bregan1992-392-77340129 August 2014
I wrote this big-ass review (my first ever) about this movie which BLEW ME AWAY... But then I realized it was garbage and so I deleted it.

So let me just sum it up with this: this film explored sooo many elements of a great movie, not just in a true, in-depth view of what addiction and recovery looks like, but more than that— damn it I wish I knew how to get my thoughts out on to paper!

Screw it. I can't. Stellar performances from everybody. Great writing. Possibly biased reviews from addicts who can empathize, but, oh well. Watch!

PS: how the hell did this get a 6.6 ??? Trust me, it is so much more deserving of a higher rating.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Well made and extremely well acted movie
Raymond28 August 2014
I hadn't heard of this before watching it. Didn't really even know about the plot, other than that it would portray people with different addictions. Most of the characters suffer from sex addiction and they attend a group meeting like AA for alcoholics.

This is a very good "dramedy", it works very well as a drama, but there is a healthy dose of humour that really works and never feels pushed or appearing in a wrong place. Even if the "funniest" character is your stereotypical Jack Black kind of guy.

Mark Ruffalo is probably the lead here, but there are quite a few characters getting pretty much equal screen time. Tim Robbins, Josh Gad, Pink, Gwyneth Paltrow. Patrick Fugit and Joely Richardson in a little smaller roles. All in all this has some of the best acting I've seen in a while. Especially Tim Robbins and Patrick Fugit really create strong roles. I would've liked to see a bit more of Carol Kane tho, her character seemed like an interesting one, but the role was very small.

I just recently watched Shame with Michael Fassbender, which portrays a bit of the same subject. Shame being very bleak and depressing, this is much lighter, although it does have quite dark moments. Still very well balanced as a whole. Recommended.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
I wish it was more naturalistic
SnoopyStyle22 July 2014
Adam (Mark Ruffalo) is a recovering sex addict sober for 5 year. Mike (Tim Robbins) is his sponsor. Neil (Josh Gad) is the court ordered newcomer to the help group. He struggles with the program. Adam meets Phoebe (Gwyneth Paltrow) who vowed not to date another addict and he hasn't been in a relationship for a long time. Mike's son Danny (Patrick Fugit) is a drug addict and his wife Katie (Joely Richardson) still believes in him. Neil is slacking his group work until things go wrong at work. Dede (Pink) is another new member of the group and Neil develops a friendship with her.

Recovering sex addict in a rom-com is something different. Ruffalo and Paltrow has a sweet chemistry. Josh Gad is playing the fool with limited comedic effects. Tim Robbins needs to build to the conflict better. The actors generally do a good job. The whole movie feels more manufactured rather than naturalistic. It's the subject matter. It demands to have it done realistically rather than as a device. The multi-thread structure adds to the written feel of the movie.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Matter of turning point in the lives of three sexaholic.
Reno Rangan3 July 2014
A comedy-drama set in the backdrop of a group therapy. From there the narration derives multiple direction with the multiple character's story. Looks like a television movie, in the end a better implementation in every aspect escorted to the silver screen.

It mainly centralizes the stories of three people, Adam, Niel are the sex addicts and Mike who is an alcoholic. These are the friends through the group session they attend. They are desperate to recover from their addiction. The change needs a strong support and that is what the movie describes theirs solution discovery through another person. Theirs self control is tested once they are in the healing process. How far it lasts and do they come out of it is revealed at the end of the movie.

''United, we stand. Divided, we stagger.''

It was good written story having multiple lead characters. All of the three were expressed on the screen effectively. The turn out between what we see in the opening few minutes and the end few minutes was remarkably achieved. Because we won't expect characters to transform quickly and convincingly, which kind of inspires you know. The setback was the second stream characters had not brought in a right way. Phoebe, Dede and Danny just appear on the screen without the proper reasons. Simply bothered me, but many people won't mind that. What matters is that how everything going to advance and ends.

Great performances almost by all. Gwyneth Paltrow was so pretty and attractive, I never ever thought she can seduce like this. Surprisingly, Pink delivered best out of her that I was not expecting. A movie worth to take a loot at it. All the humors were handled by Neil, the romance from Adam and family drama from Mike. So it was well balanced ingredients to laud the outcome moral message about the principles to adapt in our lifestyle. The movie worked for me, so it may to you as well only if you give it a try.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bad
adventurer_ci15 June 2014
My attention to this movie only lasted 27 min,quite a long time to attract one's interest to continue. So what did it show in the first 27 minutes? Empty, pointless and dull dialogues that have nothing to do with developing of the story. That verbal exchange between Adam and Phoebe in a park was annoying and meaningless. Josh Gad's character was quite absurdous and did not go well with me. The scene where he talked to a doctor and some sort of device fell out of his sleeve was the point where I decided to stop wasting my time. Tim Robbins could not be associated with his character. The group "sharing" part was very bad,especially Dede's (Pink).Well, I could only last through her introduction. And above all,we have seen it all many many times before-the 12 step program.Nothing is new or original here-not a material for a movie.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
I'd Like To Share This One With You
GenXSurvivor21 May 2014
I just finished watching this drama on DVD, and I was impressed. The film made me examine my own views on sex, and I think many men will as well. I'm sure a few women will too. Addiction takes many forms, and this is a new one to explore. The cast was uniformly excellent. Leads Mark Ruffalo, Tim Robbins and Gwyneth Paltrow were great, and the supporting actors were too. Josh Gad was good as the schluby guy, or at least one who appears that way. Alecia "Pink" Moore was also very good in her first film role. I was really dazzled by young Emily Meade in as Becky, and I look forward to seeing more of her. Patrick Fugit made me forget all about that nice boy character in "Almost Famous." Congrats to director Stuart Blumberg and all involved.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An enjoyable film to watch
Gordon-1115 May 2014
This film tells the story of several men dealing with sex addictions in a twelve step recovery group.

"Thanks For Sharing" looks like a drama on the surface, as it deals with a rather serious topic. The plot is quite well written, as it details the individuals' lives and their states of mind. The main characters are very well developed, and I care for all of them. On the other hand, the story telling is quite light hearted, making it a romantic comedy as well. I particularly like the subplot between Josh Gad and Pink, because they offer the most surprises. And I didn't know Pink can act so well!
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I Could've Lived without Seeing Mark Ruffalo's Sex Face
utgard1426 April 2014
I have to laugh at some of the pretentious comments about this movie. Courageous? Daring? Open a window, people! The subject matter is ridiculous, in my opinion. Whenever I hear people talk about sex addiction I roll my eyes. Times we live in, I guess. It's not a comedy like the trailer made it out to be. It's a drama with some bits of 'comedy' here and there, mostly from Josh Gad, whose character we first see physically molesting a woman on a subway train. But he's an addict, folks! Not a pervert. He can't help himself. You would think any movie with Pink playing a sex addict can't be all that bad, but you'd be wrong. An overlong, boring mess of a movie rife with clichés and misplaced priorities. A low point in the careers of Ruffalo, Robbins, and Paltrow.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Realism with the breadth of light heartedness
vanettelstarr24 February 2014
I loved this movie!!! bravo for the brave souls who tackled it! I own a masters as a movie connoisseur, and have some familiarity with the 12 step program, myself. Amazing and righteously done! This film is so close to the experiences of an addict and or co-addict, that I was utterly convinced that the many who worked on this film really have a grasp on how quickly ones path can take a dark turn, if he/she is honest enough with themselves to broach this topic and turn themselves over to 12 step community and a higher power to get the help they need.This film elegantly captures the reality of "the life". Grace and nurture are definitely found and used, here, in the face of such grim subject matter of this film, which for some means life and death. This is a beautiful compassionate film which shows not only how tough relationships are in a "normal persons" life, but goes out of its way to show how much harder they are for those who face the imbalance of sexual/relational addiction in ones life; but it offers it in a compassionate mannerism of hope and faith in the light of such difficulties for those who are afflicted. WE still don't know what causes the mind this imbalance, but Im grateful that there are those out in the entertainment biz, who handle such delicate matters with a grace, compassion, love for our human brothers and sisters who suffer with this (and similar maladies), and maybe even offer a light to a better path...perhaps even an easier softer approach for many circumstance covered in this piece of work. Its not just a piece of art, but educational informative work and sometimes shows we can approach life with all the joy, humor and brevity needed to get us through one day at a time. Even one those played their part were showing the honesty of how humans behave and how forgiveness and love goes sooo far in the human condition of recovery. Thanks to all who worked on this film; its beautifully honest while being real.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A film of connection it shows that love, passion and sex is a hard habit to break!
Danny Blankenship20 February 2014
"Thanks for Sharing" is one of those sweet cute and nice little independent films that connects each character with an important theme in this case it involves how sex addiction has taken over their lives! It's not porn though it's a film blended well with romance and comedy drama! It's focus is in the therapy session rooms for these sex freaks with the story showing Adam(Mark Ruffalo)as a single man who cannot fight his sexual demons it's a relapse for him as he just can't stop from getting it on with a hot beauty named Phoebe(Gwyneth Paltrow is so hot in a sexy black bra!)And then the elder married man Mike(Tim Robbins)who's problems are in the bedroom with his wife plus he's got a son with a substance abuse problem. And last but not least Neil(Josh Gad)an overgrown overweight big boy who loves the sight of pretty women and he's an excessive champ of masturbation. Overall a nice little film of connection and at the same time you feel the pleasure and sorrow of the characters. Sharing pain and pleasure helps us get thru our daily lives.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
'It's like trying to quit crack while the pipe is attached to your body.'
gradyharp16 February 2014
'It's like trying to quit crack while the pipe is attached to your body' Stuart Blumberg is a director who takes chances (The Girl Next Door , The Kids Are All Right, Keeping the Faith). Using a screenplay he wrote in conjunction with actor Matt Winston he approaches a subject rarely touched upon (or even known about to the general public) – sex addiction – and with the very capable assistance of a superb cast of actors he brings it off. The film may disturb some, especially those easily offended by the degree of self indulgence that story addresses, but stay with this story to the end and be enlightened and touched by the triumph of the human spirit over seemingly insurmountable odds.

The story centers around three sex addicts who must attend 12 step meetings, have a sponsor, and refrain from onanism or frottage or viewing pornography, sharing their shortcomings at eh meetings of fellow addicts. Adam (Mark Ruffalo) is an environmental consultant whose has been 'sober' for five years and has as his sponsor Mike (Tim Robbins), a small business owner married to the supportive Katie (Jowly Richardson) with whom he has a disowned alcoholic son Danny (Patrick Fugit), and who is sponsor to the obese foolhardy voyeuristic frottage obsessed ER Doc Neil (Josh Gad) whose mother Roberta (Carol Kane) has no clue about her son's debilitating condition. The three men – Adam, Mike, and Neil - interact in needy ways and each faces a crisis he must address: Adam finally meets a girl to whom he can possibly relate, breast cancer survivor Phoebe (Gwyneth Paltrow); Mike must deal with his son Danny's return to the nest; Neil becomes tied to Dede (Pink) who is a sex addict of the first order and desperate to change. It all works in at times confusing ways, but always with a focus on the fragility of the addicted human being – no matter the source of dependency.

The film has its light moments, but it is certainly more of a drama than a comedy – except for the fact that 'all of life in the human comedy.' It is good to see a capable group take on a controversial subject and deliver it well.
25 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Great Watch! 7/10
leonblackwood8 February 2014
Review: For years, the subject matter about sex addiction has carried a certain stigma that someone is a pervert, but this movie proves otherwise. It shows that ordinary every day people with normal life's can be addicted to sex and that it's a hard addiction to deal with. That's what made the movie a joy to watch because this subject matter hadn't really addressed. The acting from the all star cast, was brilliant and they made the movie believable and enjoyable. Even Pink put in a great performance and her role was chosen well by the director. Each character shows how they deal with there addiction and the trouble that it can cause in there everyday life's. It's definitely one of those movies that will change peoples perception on the addiction and I'm glad that the director also showed that women can also suffer from this disease. In all, a great watch and one not to miss. Great Movies!

Round-Up: It's good to see Tim Robbins back on screen after being missing for a while. His role was also chosen well by the director, as well as Mark Ruffalo and Gwenyth Paltrow who showed the addiction from a different angle. It's a shame that movies like this don't get the big Hollywood treatment because it will be forgotten even though it is a great movie.

Budget: N/A Worldwide Gross: $1million

I recommend this movie to people who are into there dramas and a group of people who suffer from sex addiction. 7/10
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Insulted
Steve Wolf (stevewolf57)8 February 2014
I was completely insulted by this movie. I have been a member of a 12 step program for over 30 years. I felt the movie was making humor of 12 step programs. Maybe that was the intent but for me lines were crossed. The sponsor/new member relationship may be the deciding factor to someone's recovery from alcohol or drugs. The movie used terms like "sobriety" and "any length to get it" as a setup for humor. These terms are important and should be respected. I understand movie makers are trying find topics we all can relate to but is nothing sacred? Soon everyone trying to recover from some serious problems will be saying, "I know all about that 12 step stuff. I saw it in a movie".
3 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Waste of Talent and Time
nerfball_king27 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
To be clear, this isn't really a comedy, whether it be an indie comedy, romantic comedy or any other genre one would consider. It's about a group of men who have a hard time controlling an overwhelming sexual desire, some guys battling chemical dependency issues, someone who beat cancer, etc. If you're expecting this to be something with a lot of laughs, look elsewhere, chum, because this ain't it.

The movie did have some good performances, although one of the minor characters you just wanna slug. Also, some of the requirements for maintaining the "sobriety" of not having sex seemed a bit unbelievable, and conflicted with having a healthy sexual life.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
I guess it is OK!
petarmatic26 January 2014
What to say about film like this? It was always amazing to me how Americans perceive sex. Sex addiciton?!? What is that? There is nothing like that. Sex is good for you, exotocin is being discharged during sex, and feeling happy lasts for several hours afterwards. More sex it is better for you. So sex addiction is an invention of some loony psychiatrists.

This film is about New Yorkers in this day and age. It changed significantly since Woody Allen started making films about it. They still are crazy but in more a mellow way. They are not so jumpy, but some are. With such a big city, it is normal that these things happen.

Acting is very good, what do you expect from the actors like that but to be excellent? If you are into mellow films this one is for you, slow and intelligent, certainly different from those high budget blockbusters.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Great recovery story not a rom/com!
greig-mckellar26 January 2014
The film gets into some accurate portrayals of sex addicts in recovery trying to live life on life's terms with all that entails. This film is likely to resonate with addicts, alcoholics and people who are going through or have been involved in recovery, even family members and friends of, are likely to identify with the language used and the difficulties faced in this story. This could also be a decent bit of drama and educational story telling to anyone not associated with addiction but open minded and earnest enough to ask genuine questions on the subject. Some of the best recovery meeting scenes and dialogue in this type of film in years.

If how ever you are looking for light entertainment in the form of a Rom/Com then please look elsewhere, you are likely to be disappointed.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews