Nurse 3D (2013) Poster

(2013)

User Reviews

Add a Review
81 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
6/10
Popcorn rating 6/10
neolestat12 February 2014
Just watched this. An odd film; a mix of film noir narrative overlay, slasher, sexploitation and a moral message. Paz de la Huerta as the 'nurse' is super sexy and undressed for about 30% of the movie. Having watched her in Boardwalk Empire and this, I can't decide whether she can't act at all, is a one trick pony or held back by typecasting. Here she plays an entirely competent serial killer so cold she'd make Henry and Otis squirm. Pretty high production values for what I would say was a film on a tight budget and the gore is plentiful and at times enjoyably gratuitous. Definitely not a keeper but fun for a Saturday night on the sofa with a bowl of popcorn. 6/10
26 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Can't believe I watched the whole thing...
sawilson0057 February 2014
One of the worst things I have seen in a long time! The only saving grace was Katrina Bowden. I don't think I've ever said this but there was just way to much nudity, that even felt wrong typing, but it's all the movie is. It's like they knew they had a stinker so they threw in a bunch of T&A and hoped no one would notice how bad it was. Well, I noticed and I want a refund.

Paz De La Huerta CAN NOT act. It was like watching someone run their fingernails across a chalkboard. Yes, it was that bad. Save yourself some money, more importantly, save yourselves the hour and a half of your life that you'll never get back. Stay away, stay very far away.....
91 out of 146 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great Grindhouse. Crappy Ballet.
sludgesifter8 February 2014
Look, if grindhouse isn't your thing, that's cool. I hate ballet. I would review every ballet I see as the most boring experience one could have in a theater. But as one of the best representatives of the genre given us in a long while, Nurse delivers just the right dose.

Is Paz de la Huerta going to win any Academy awards any time soon? Hell no she's not, but this isn't a movie in which you are expected to suspend disbelief any more than being on a roller coaster is trying to make you feel like you're driving on the freeway. This is over the top mayhem with hearty helpings of sex, gore and dark humor. For me her acting (and perhaps especially her voice over work) elevated the movie beyond what it would have been with a "good" actress. Frankly I'm not even sure much acting was required, as those familiar with Paz's real- life adventures might agree.

The rest of the cast is decent with Katrina Bowden bringing the requisite wide-eyed innocence about to be shattered, and Judd Nelson doing his best creepy shaggy mustache. But Paz and the smart, brisk writing are what breathes life into Nurse. And the gratuitous T&A certainly didn't hurt my enjoyment either.

Even so, if grindhouse is your ballet, you probably want to skip this.
43 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bad acting/story
mary-179-6773837 January 2016
I couldn't watch this movie to the end. I got about 20 minutes in and decided I might re-read a book instead of watching bad movies on Netflix.

The first thing I noticed is Paz de la Huerta who plays the main character Abby Russell. Probably the worst acting I have ever seen. I have seen better acting in commercials and soap operas. Her voice was the most irritating. Not helped at all by the terrible script. I had no idea who she was but I looked her up thinking it must be her first movie, but apparently she has 48 credits. She has no emotion, resting bitch face and bad delivery of lines and body language. I can say she was likely hired because of her body and willingness to appear naked in the film.

Katrina Bowden who plays a nurse Danni, has much better acting skills and would have made a much better lead.

Okay so the movie - the part I watched anyway

Abby Russell is a nurse that 'disguises' herself as a slut and goes out to bars and clubs wearing barely anything and waits for married men to hit on her. Of course a married man does. She 'ALWAYS' gives them a chance to change their mind. He doesn't and then the movie starts.

We then discover she is more interested in woman than men. We find this out during a scene at a nightclub that was the most nauseating to watch. The lights flashed across the screen, if I had epilepsy I would have had a fit. Then we see her prance around naked at her house and walked unnaturally as if she was strutting on a runway. (You know she is a bad actress, when she can't even walk naturally).

Then I turned the TV off.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Awful Lead Actress
Claudio Carvalho13 June 2014
In New York, Abby Russell (Paz de la Huerta) is a nurse of the All Saints Memorial Hospital and a serial-killer of unfaithful husband after hours. When the rookie Danni (Katrina Bowden) is hired to work in the hospital, Abby is into Danni but she has a boyfriend and does not suspect of the intentions of her friend. Abby believes that if she kills Danni's stepfather, Dr. Larry Cook (Martin Donovan), she will live with her. But soon Danni suspects that Abby has murdered her stepfather and moves apart from her. When the new HR manager arrives at the hospital, she is impressed with the resemblance of Abby with a woman named Sarah Price. Danni investigates Sarah and discloses dark secrets from the past of Abby.

"Nurse" is a horror movie with one of the awfullest lead actresses that I have ever seen. Paz de la Huerta seems to have speech problem and is neither beautiful nor sexy or funny and her nudity is depressing. Douglas Aarniokoski directs the movie with heavy hand and scenes that should be funny to relief the tension do not work. Last but not the least, the story is terrible. My vote is three.

Title (Brazil): Not Available
24 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
very lame
ttron20009 February 2014
i'm one of those guys who likes a movie that can be appreciate being stupid while having a whole lot of fun...this is not that movie. it tries to develop as part American psycho, part fatal attraction, but has neither the brains nor the class to be either. seeing the trailer, i was hoping this would be some fun crap, but there's no humor, the gore is cheap and (by the end) downright cruel and ludicrous. the premise is simple enough: Abby (Paz De la Huerta) is a nurse by day and a seductive killer by night, targeting unfaithful men. enter Danni (Katrina Bowden), the new nurse under Abby's wing. Danni has a few rough patches, from freezing up on her first blood-drenched patient to being subjected to verbal abuse and arcane sexual advances from the hospital's lecherous, scumbag excuse for a resident surgeon (judd nelson). things only get worse when Abby develops an unhealthy attachment to Danni, obsessing over her. despite a drunken indiscretion, Danni rebuffs Abby, realizing she's unstable. that's when Abby goes from sabotaging Danni's relationship with her ambulance driver boyfriend (Corbin Bleu) to making a project out of Danni's cheating stepfather (Martin Donovan). this is all typical stalker-movie formula that practically goes nowhere. its weak attempts at a bloody slaughterhouse ending just gets dumber and dumber and while a smack-down, cat-fight brawl between De la Huerta and Bowden appeals to many a man (including myself), this doesn't deliver enough of a payoff. the violence is nothing we haven't seen before, nor will it impress any horror geeks. and where it fails in gore (weak CGI gore, no less), it tries to make up in gratuitous nudity and there's plenty. De la Huerta has a strong aversion to clothing and struts her dominatrix physique well. she knows how to be sexy and is certainly fearless, especially when two full scenes call for her to walk around wearing no pants...at all. her line delivery...yeah, that leaves much to be desired, coming off more of a brainless bimbo than a frightening murderess. Bowden is a lovely girl, but she has nothing to do here but play the generic helpless victim. Kathleen turner has a pointless cameo. this leaves nelson, who borders between entertaining and ridiculous in a thankless role. if there is any winner in all this, it's the underused Niecy Nash, who scores as the sassy desk nurse who's got a line for everything. i wanted this to be fun. i really did. disgusting, nasty, trashy fun...but no. this is pointless drivel that offers nothing. yes, the two leads are two extraordinarily attractive women, but they look just as hot and serve their talents in much better work. this really isn't worth anyone's time. skip it.
41 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Garbage 3D
Snaggletooth .8 February 2014
Oh man, Nurse 3D is baaad. The acting is atrocious, really atrocious. And that woman in the lead role? I don't know anything about her, but apart from when she's half naked (which she is a lot) she actually looks like a drag queen haha. I'm only saying this because everyone kept saying how gorgeous she is - but not for me, and if you see the film you'll agree that they seemed to be trying to drive the entire movie on her (apparently great) looks, but she can't act to save her life, and has a face like a busted sofa lol. The first half is just a bunch of tits, ass and titillation, which ain't what I want to see in (what seemed to be) a horror flick. There's a bit of CGI gore towards the end but it fails to lift the dud from the gutter. The movie stinks like a fart in the bath. Avoid, unless you really are desperate to see the lead character naked. I want my friggin money back.
59 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Not as bad as people are saying.
Ruben Myers9 February 2014
Let's just make thing one thing clear. Horror films are suppose to be purely entertaining and you shouldn't expect some Oscar acting. Paz is not the best actress, but neither was she down right horrible as some are claiming. I feel Huerta's acting was pretty amusing it's obvious it was meant to be over the top cheese and humorous.

As for the film goes yes there's not much originality behind the story, but what horror film is now a days? I personally enjoyed this film due to the ridiculously funny dialogue and watching Paz be a crazy obsessive murdering bitch. There was enough blood to satisfy me and yes there's tons of nudity, but hardly any graphic sex scenes so I don't get why some are calling this soft core porn.

The ending climax was pretty great in my opinion because it was filled with constant bloody deaths and a big cat fight that kept me thrilled. I believe this film is worth checking out for any horror fan. It was a fun erotic horror thriller and it defiantly entertained the hell out of me.
26 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The director must hate men.....
FlashCallahan7 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Abby Russell is a nurse of the All Saints Memorial Hospital and a serial-killer of unfaithful husbands after hours.

When newly qualified nurse Danni is hired to work in the hospital, Abby is instantly drawn to Danni, but she has a boyfriend and does not suspect the intentions of her friend. Abby believes that if she kills Danni's stepfather, Dr. Larry Cook, she will get to live with her.

But soon Danni suspects that Abby has murdered her stepfather and moves away from her. When the new HR manager arrives at the hospital, she is amazed at the resemblance of Abby with a woman named Sarah Price.

Danni investigates Sarah and discloses dark secrets from the past of Abby.....

Well this film clears the question that all feminists have been asking since the sixties, yes, all men are abhorrent, insufferable pieces of work......even in flashbacks. And the ones who are not completely disregarding women as pleasure things, are simply too idiotic for there own good.

This complete waste of a film depicts almost every make character as some sort of sexual predator, and only one wooden actress can save the day.

You can that the film has gone for the feel of eighties exploitation movies like Angel, Savage Streets, and Ms. 45, but whereas those films had a shocking, almost unwatchable narrative in places, this thinks that the added dimension and extra gore will make up for its shortcomings..........it only enhances them.

So by day, the titular character stalks her work colleagues,who wear the most ridiculous nurses uniforms I've ever seen, and by night, goes out of her way to right the wrongs of adulterous men.

It's terrible in every sense, acting is woeful, Nelson, Donovan, and Turner should be ashamed of themselves, and it's truly offensive to almost every culture, sexuality, or anything with a beating heart to be honest.

Terrible, offensive poison.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews