IMDb > Girls Gone Dead (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Girls Gone Dead
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Girls Gone Dead More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 28 reviews in total 

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Girls Gone Campy...

8/10
Author: Josh Morgan from New York
23 April 2013

Caught this one on Netflix and was more than pleasantly surprised. However - based upon the divided love-it-or-hate-it comments on there and the low rating on here - it's a shame to see today's generation can't seem to have fun with the type of movies I grew up on. This is a nice throwback to stuff like the "Sorority House Massacre" series - with lots of in-jokes (check out the names from "Saved By the Bell" - or a direct reference to "Halloween" in the first pool scene - or even Linnea Quigley applying make-up ala "Night of the Demons"). This movie delivers lots of cheesy gore effects (I mean that in the best possible way) - and has a great B movie cast full of horror veterans (B and C grade); washed up celebrities and up-and coming names from bigger flicks (I knew I recognized the dumb girl of the group - she had a substantial role in "Sex Drive"). Even the drummer from Iron Maiden shows up to sing country (stay through the closing credits).

Scrolling through reviews on here - I saw one person complain this movie was intentionally bad - and would have been better played straight. I couldn't agree less. Most of the films this is throwing back to did the same thing; so this keeps the general tone to that of other camp classics. Good news is - the production team actually worked on making a nice looking movie - with a moving camera and solid sound mix - so; unlike most low-budget dreck I weed through - the production values add as opposed to detract from the end product.

If you like stuff with campy dialog; exploitive nudity and buckets of over-the-top gore - definitely check this out. If you don't - move on.

On a side note - the reason for such a high rating are for three scenes in particular. One involves the midget from Howard Stern - the other is a nice joke on MC Hammer during the bar sequence - and the biggest of all is how the killer is taken down. These moments alone are B movie gold and worthy of a replay.

The biggest negative is the film sinks a bit under it's own length - showing that sometimes there is too much of a good thing - but aside from this little caveat - here's a B movie treasure that delivers.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

I had very low expectations......

6/10
Author: kdogmac from United States
20 November 2012

What possessed me to rent this flick?I'm not per-say a T&A fan nor do I dig the current trough of contemporary,no-budget comedy/thrillers that pop-up on Thriller channel (say like "Andre the Butcher"-utter dreck which also features the ubiquitous Ron Jeremy).Or maybe it was Howard Stern regulars Beetlejuice and Sal the Stockbroker,a little but not really. Actually it was one-time scream queen Linnea Quigley that drew me to this,being a loooooong time fan of hers. She barely makes a cameo but it's nice to see her having a good time with her sparse material (playing a dive-Tiki bar owner with a fake Austrailian accent).I thought I would turn the disc off at that point,but I was pleasantly surprised.

The plot's pretty slasher-flick formula stuff.A straight-laced Christian girl joins her much more rowdy gal pals on a jaunt to a sparsely-populated Daytona for spring break.All the while,the hot-to-trot girls a stalked by a monk-like serial killer with a cherubic mask(a reference to "Valentine" maybe?).

Even someone with Beetlejuice's intelligence can figure out the killer's identity,even the weak plot twist at the end(a reference to "Scream 3" maybe?).But what matters is that you'll have fun getting there due to some truly inspired comic timing.Could this have been a better movie? Sure,with 60 x's the budget....but don't let that detract you,believe me,I've seen worse.

Like I said,a bigger budget would've improved this and the performances,while not Oscar caliber,are at least tolerable.The lead actress Katie Peterson is attractive and likable and the tantalizing Stewart and Whitford are hilariously bitchy.Other notables include ex-WWE great Jerry Lawlor as the goony sheriff,and the aforementioned Sal the Stockbroker,Beetlejuice,and as himself,Ron Jeremy,who curses aloud that he won't get his paycheck after the mayhem starts.

So rent this,get some brews,invite your frat bros to your dorm room and have a blast. I guarantee this'll put a smile on your face and it's 500x's better than "Piranha 2DD",which is more deserving of a 3.6% rating(no,actually lower)than "Girls Gone Dead".

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Bottom of the barrel type of stuff.

3/10
Author: Boba_Fett1138 from Groningen, The Netherlands
27 July 2012

Watching bad horror movies is like my favorite pastime but some movies are just so bad that they aren't even fun to watch. And yes, this is one of those movies.

The problem is that this is a very self aware movie. It deliberately tries to be bad and like a B-movie, which often is an approach that doesn't work out too well for these type of movies and make them annoying, rather than fun and entertaining, as clearly also is being the case for this movie.

The movie definitely doesn't play out as a serious and straightforward slasher. It's taking more of a comedy approach, with as a problem that none of the comedy is very good or clever. The movie its most fun moments are its cameo's by cult figures, such as the awesome Beetlejuice, Ron Jeremy and Sal Governale. But of course cameos can't save a movie and I think I would had actually preferred this movie done as a straightforward slasher. That way the movie at least would had been something more entertaining and thrilling to watch and might had resulted in some better gore and killings as well. There is now far more nudity than gore or blood in this movie really.

Everything in this movie gets extremely exaggerated, which gets truly tiresome after a while. I got fed up with this movie, about halfway through and it did absolutely nothing to ever win me back.

The movie is also definitely lacking a good and likable main character in it. It's all over the place with its story and characters, as if the film-makers were having a bit too much of a good time shooting this movie, which went at the expensive of the quality and eventual end result. It's not really following a good and clear enough main storyline, which only makes the movie more annoying to watch.

Really, I can truly appreciate the passion craftsmanship that went into a bad horror production but I just can't respect or like a movie that deliberately tries to come across as a silly and bad B-movie flick. It just feels far too forced and desperate, making the movie a far from good or fun one to watch.

3/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Puerile fun.

6/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
2 November 2012

Hands up if you like hot women. And hands up if you enjoy excessive violence. If you haven't got both hands high in the air, then you've got the wrong film, because babes and blood is what Girls Gone Dead is all about. Although described as a comedy/horror, decent laughs and scares are in short supply, while T&A and gore fill almost every frame.

The film sees six sexy girlfriends spending spring break together being targeted by a killer brandishing a massive warhammer (a cool weapon—part axe, part hammer). That's pretty much it as far as plot is concerned, at least until the unmasking of the maniac and we get a typical slasher explanation for their killing spree.

During the course of the film we get lots of skin from some very curvaceous cuties (blonde lead Katie Peterson and brunette Brandy Whitford are smokin'!), oodles of cool blood and guts courtesy of Marcus Koch, and fun cameos from cult icons such as ex-pornstar Ron Jeremy, scream queen Linnea Quigley, and teeny-tiny bug-eyed Howard Stern regular Beetlejuice (who gets his head chopped off!).

Obviously, it's all very puerile, but since when did a film have to be sophisticated to be fun?

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Somewhere between Slumber Party Massacre and Club Dread... WITH BEETLEJUICE!

5/10
Author: warsystem04 from United States
19 January 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'll admit that I originally decided to watch "Girls Gone Dead" because Sal and Beetlejuice of The Howard Stern Show fame are in it, and I've been BIG FAN of the show and especially Beet since adolescence. For what it is, this movie is actually pretty well done, and of course, entertaining. The cast is outrageous, and in addition to the Stern favorites mentioned above, professional wrestler Jerry Lawler and the legendary Ron Jeremey are both in it as well.

A group of girls get together to spend spring break at one of their parents' summer home, and proceed to get wasted, meet a group of guys, run into a stalker ex, and get killed off one by one. The gore is plentiful, with the slayings at the mansion where the massive spring break filming party is taking place being among the best. The movie is also propelled along by the massive amount of eye candy, with almost every scene featuring girls in swimwear or topless. The reveal of the killer, the motive, and the overall blatant anti-religious message is pretty humorous as well.

Of course, this is no masterpiece of cinema, but it isn't trying to be. I like that while never taking itself seriously, it still comes off as a watchable homage to the golden age of slasher flicks. Throw this one on with a group of friends, it's a lot of fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

For a "B" Horror Film its not too bad!

7/10
Author: scottmannen1 from Canada
23 July 2012

Once you go into this film understanding that its going to be a B horror film complete with all the things that make it one, things like gratuitous nudity, gratuitous violence, sub-par acting and all around silliness- you begin to realize that this is not that bad of a film.

Howard Stern staffers and 'sub-par celebrities' Beetlejuice and Sal are part of this film and add a little bit of trash-charm to it. The film is basically a slasher film with lots of nudity and bad acting in it. That being said overall if you enjoy these types of movies like I do then its really not all that bad. If you go into this one expecting a decent horror flick with a good story, then you will likely hate it.

The story starts with a gang of just turned 18 girls going to Daytona Beach for a 'Girls Gone Wild' style of party. What they don't realize until its too late is that a murderer has been tracking their movements every step of the way and is slowly one-by-one picking them off with a medieval battle axe as a weapon.

If you are bored and looking for a few laughs then this movie will do the trick and entertain you for a few hours! Enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

purposely made B movie but plays with a grade of D-

2/10
Author: Ashman711711 from United States
24 July 2012

Is this the worst flick I've ever happened to view? no is it good? no. The very beginning seems promising enough(confusing shameful church sacrifice dream) there's some gore, but then we play into the rest of the movie.

What's good about it - the production value is pretty decent but only slightly better than some late night skinemax weekend movies. there's cameos by Ron Jeremy and beetlejuice(which even lowbrow his lines are funny) and Jerry the King Luller from WWE fame

Okay, so what's not good about it. Other than the opening sequence, it takes damn near half an hour for anything sinister to remotely happen. the girls' acting ranges from mediocre to subpar(even for a bmovie) I kept having to tell myself I'm too far in an need to just power through. this is even with gratuitous shots of breasts mixed in. No spoilers but the killer to me seemed easily identified to anyone who cared to wonder who's actually doing all the killing (I mean they didn't even throw in an obligatory red herring!) I want the last hour and a half of my life back.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Made for teenage boys....JUST BAD!

1/10
Author: drama59 from california
25 January 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

OK..the fact that I finished this movie is a miracle. BOOBS gone wild is basically what is going on here. I am a woman...but if I had the boobs that they show in this movie I would make an appointment with a DR. ASAP! Pancake central...There are "Carrie" undertones that could have been explored much much more. I wonder when people write these scripts do they think that we are all just stupid?? OK ..let's just show T and A...that is all we need to do............sigh... We need more Stephen King's on this planet to give us all something to watch. This was just DUMB! There was some promise from the lead actress for the future but READ THE SCRIPT! OK Calgon ...TAKE ME AWAY!! SIGH!!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Stupidly funny B flick horror with lots of nudity

5/10
Author: theycallmerhino from United States
21 July 2012

I seen this movie had Jerry Lawler in it. Being that I am a huge wrestling fan, I felt it my duty to check this out. I'm just going to start by rating this movie in several categories.

Gore 5/10 (effects weren't overly realistic, but still okay for the budget) Storyline 4/10 (The revelation of the killer at the end, although not a surprise was still okay.) Cinematography 8/10 (Camera work was actually pretty good) Nudity 10/10 Overall, I'd give this one a 5/10. The killer's costume and persona was not only corny and stupid but the costume itself was unbelievably stupid. It is a B movie but actually contains some great camera work. There quite a few TV commercials/cut scenes that are so stupid they are funny.

It seems most of the budget went into paying the broads to get naked, paying Jerry Lawler, and what was left went into the camera work and the cut scenes. Character "Missy" has the best set of breasts and the anticipation for when/if she was going topless was killing me more than learning where the plot of the movie was going. This is a B flick that follows loosely in the footsteps of movies like "Broken Lizard's Club Dread". I'd say if nothing more it's worth the watch simply for the nudity and the laughs. Ron Jeremy and Beetlejuice (Howard Stern) are in it as well, although it's obvious they were just there for comedic relief. Enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 48 people found the following review useful:

At least it lacks "3DD"

5/10
Author: Steve Pulaski from United States
18 July 2012

When did rambunctious rock and roll music replace collective and subtle horror movie synth and serve as the main source of suspense when something is happening? And for that matter, when did it become hip and fun to show dozens upon dozens of bare breasts and buttocks mindlessly in a horror film? Girls Gone Dead takes both of these things and incorporates them into a rather ordinary, yet interesting horror film, almost as if there is a good, successful film struggling to overcome the weight of the lukewarm one on top of it.

The story concerns Rebecca (Katie Petersen). a young woman who has been kept tied down with harsh restrictions and a tight religious upbringing by her mother. Rebecca and many of her friends, all of whom ex-cheerleaders, plan to vacation in Manatee Creek, a place where one of the girl's daddies owns a beach-house. When the girls discover Manatee Creek is a retirement community and there is almost no fun to be had. They get the bright idea to drive down to Daytona, Florida where celebrity Beetlejuice (played by himself) is filming "Crazy Girls Unlimited," a series where girls flash every part of their body in exchange for fifteen minutes of fame. Alas, there is a stalker who is repeatedly turning up in a red cloak and an ancient weapon straight out of a grim reaper novel, and the body count begins to start.

It takes the film a good hour before even a sign of a climax appears, but in the mean time, we are bombarded with shot after shot of gratuitous nudity. It wasn't long ago I saw Piranha 3DD, a film that had me wincing at the lack of intensity, depth, and interest. All those things had been traded for gutter-minded idiocy and unnecessary female nudity. I return to my original question; when did this become a regular addition in horror films to the point where few people address it anymore? Is it just assumed from the start that audience members who will eventually pay a nice amount of money to see a horror film couldn't care less about depth and structure but more about shallow and pointless nudity? When we are finally met with consistent kills, everything happens so fast, lacks credible suspense, and becomes no different than a number of slashers that already exist. When the film does start to get mildly deep and interesting is when dialog starts to come into play during the last act, but again, the film prefers to go the way of many other low-budget horror films. That way is quick cuts, no build-up, and relentless monotony.

The characters we are supposed to sympathize with are flyweight mannequins who talk in a way that perfectly mimics stuck up girls; with a sarcastic tone in their voice and a pause between every three or four words. The dialog is solely crafted either off of redundant swear words or miserably contrived efforts to be hip in such childish insults, uttered, again, by the flyweight mannequin characters.

Girls Gone Dead could definitely be rendered as an effective piece of horror by those searching for some cheesy escapism. More power to them and I wish them a pleasant evening of viewing. The film is certainly more surprising and a tad more interesting than most straight-to-DVD titles, not to mention, the special effects work is fitfully satisfying in some parts. Its problems stem from how easily distracted it gets with scantily clad girls, its lack of suspense, how long the entire thing takes to get going, and the indifferent methods it takes to try and engage the viewer. And don't get me started on the abundance of credit cookies the film breathlessly throws at the audience after the show should be long over.

Starring: Katie Peterson, Caley Hayes, Shawn C. Phillips, Ron Jeremy, Beetlejuice, Sal the Stockbroker, and Jerry Lawler. Directed by: Michael Hoffman Jr. and Aaron T. Wells.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history