IMDb > Bad Kids Go to Hell (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Bad Kids Go to Hell
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Bad Kids Go to Hell More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 23 reviews in total 

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Nothing amazing but it is pretty entertaining. A basic cookie cutter teen horror but I have seen much worse. I say B.

7/10
Author: Tony Heck (cosmo_tiger@hotmail.com) from United States
1 March 2013

"We could find out if this place is cursed if you really wanted to." Six kids at a prep school are in detention when they wonder if the school is really haunted. What starts off as a joke turns deadly as one by the the kids meet violent deaths. At the same time as the deaths more and more truths are revealed. Can they find out who is behind it all before it is too late? To start with the movie is not that bad. It does have a lot of pretty people and some brutal deaths but there is also some really funny moments in it. One of the easiest ways to describe this is the Breakfast Club with a horror twist. The movie is geared toward the Urban Legend or Final Destination fans but for a cookie cutter teenage horror movie this isn't that bad and is entertaining. I did enjoy it but don't think I'd watch it again. Overall, nothing amazing but it is kind of fun to watch and if you are looking for a movie to just put in and watch you could do worse. I give it a B.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

What a straight up hot mess looks like.

3/10
Author: hannahbelleh from United States
19 June 2013

Let me give you a few words of advice. When you've got a first time director who has only even acted as an extra before, you're in trouble. Not to say all directors need to be actors, but a little experience is beneficial. No production work? No crew credits? We're in trouble here, and it shows. What we end up here is a brand spankin' new director thinking he can make the next Breakfast Club, but horror style. What we end up with is poor old now Z-list actor Judd Nelson trying to manage a bunch of poorly acting 28 year olds trying to play teenagers, and spitting out your typical B-movie horror crap. I use horror lightly here, as this movie isn't scary in the slightest. It's stereotypes, done without any sense of understanding. When your actors have credits like "hooker" in movies no one has ever watched... you get exactly what you would expect. I pity the director for thinking he has talent, and I pity poor Mr. Nelson for what he has become. Avoid this one at all costs.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Where do mediocre movies go?

7/10
Author: movieman_kev from United States
12 May 2013

A group of pretentious rich kids serve detention at a privileged prep school where they must contend with a series of 'accidents' that may or may not be the work of an Indian ghost in this fairly competent horror version of The Breakfast Club.

Fairly well-acted and I rarely found my thoughts wandering, truth be told the film did become kid of ploddy during the middle, but I found it enjoyable nonetheless. Also in the interest of full disclosure, I've never read the graphic novel that this film is based on but now I'm interested in doing just that. My main gripe would be that Judd Nelson didn't get nearly enough screen time for my liking.

Eye Candy: Amanda Alch gets topless

Lets stay with Augie Duke who played Veronica in this film as the link to the next instant streaming Netflix review "a lure"

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Powerful and Profoundly Revealing Film

10/10
Author: jlthornb51 from United States
1 June 2015

A worthy homage to the classic film from a more innocent time, The Breakfast Club, realized by gifted director Matthew Spradlin. Beautifully illustrating the consequences of cliques, bullying, and the mysterious teenage aversion to basic human decency, this is a powerfully relevant film for our time. With growing neurological evidence that the teenage brain is radically different from the mature mind, i.e., lacking compassion, empathy, and the capacity to respect others, such a film as this was long overdue. Starring an exciting cast of fresh young faces and featuring a most welcome Judd Nelson as the principal, the acting is uniformly superb. Director Spradlin creates an atmosphere of disturbing dread in which the brilliant script allows the characters to develop and the tightly woven plot to play out. While there are shocks and thrills, it is much more than a conventional horror film. The overwhelming terror is found in the intractability of these young people and the unholy hatred they have for authority. Self-destructive in their rejection of civilized society and common sense, these are young people enslaved to peer pressure that simply reflects their own intense immaturity. The insights into the developing human psyche and the danger of indulging young people during a time when they most need strict discipline are extraordinary. The film successfully blends horror, wit, and a profound understanding of immature humanity while at the same time being very entertaining. An ambitious and ultimately enlightening bit of cinema that should be seen by every parent and authority figure who must navigate safely the dark jungle of primitive emotion, undeveloped intelligence, and defiant opposition known as adolescence.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

a promising idea that is never properly communicated

5/10
Author: DisturbedPixie from Santa Clara, CA
15 May 2013

The good things about this movie:

-some of the shots were very stylized which results in some moments worthy of screen shots. -It had some funny moments, and the acting wasn't half bad. -It did at times remind me of other films in that satirical way, which was amusing.

The bad parts:

-The explanation of how the events went down doesn't make sense and felt forced as if the writer had ideas for how the story would go, but couldn't really make it fit together in a realistic or intelligent way. -The ending half haphazardly tries to put all the ducks in a row, and didn't match the pace of the rest of the film. -The ghost scares were completely ridiculous in a 70s cartoony sorta way, that once again felt out of nowhere in how absurd they were. -There were poorly done CGI cockroaches all through out the film, which are never explained, which could have helped explain some of the unbelievable moments if they were.

I'd typically give a film like this a 5/10, but since I spent so much time analyzing it, I feel like I should give it a 6. But then again, a 6 means I can recommended it to at least some people for a one time watch, and I'm unsure if I could go that far since it's such a sloppy teen film. I guess I recommend it to people who don't require a cohesive storyline.

Just don't expect anything of value besides something to argue over with your easily amused friends who loved it. And some tits... don't forgot stereotypical straight male horror fans, there are tits. I know you don't think it's a good horror film without some girl degrading herself for your amusement. I suggest porn, but hey, the film industry keeps giving you guys what you want. Hope you're happy, because even as someone who is attracted to women, I don't require "whores to be punished" in all my horror film favorites, as films like Cabin in The Woods satires.

I have also posted an explanation of the ending for people who couldn't follow the jumbled wrap up, in the forum thread "Ending Spoilers Wanted." I try to explain it as best I can, but in the end, much is left for the audience to try to figure-out/argue-over until it's sequel is released. And who knows if that will give a decent explanation for what happened or if it will just make it even more absurd.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Green Light on the red yellow green for this movie

10/10
Author: tanmanmighty2 from NY
13 April 2013

This one is a must see for horror movie enthusiasts. If you like those witty funny creep cult flicks this is for you. Just really well done. Listen its a tricky combo when you're trying to add funny with creepy, if one element, the cast, the editing, the effects the directing even the timing is off its all just crap this movie nailed it . . . really in the genre of 'Heathers', 'Jawbreaker', 'Ginger Snaps', 'Jennifer's Body' they have just the right amount of hah to the boo, the cast was excellent and Im sure we will be seeing more of them hopefully in the same genre Some of the plot is formula, but it does have a few surprises, what really makes this a must see is the great way it appeals to current times and types, much like how 'Heathers' was so '80s this film is destined to be a cult classic for the post millennium, adding it to my own personal collection

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

More like "The Breakfast Club" meets "Detention". Below average!

2/10
Author: Michael 'Hallows Eve' Smillie from New Zealand
18 January 2013

This movie is toted as "The Breakfast Club" meets "The Grudge". Thats not what this is. Its more like "The Breakfast Club" meets "Detention". In my opinion this movie is quite below average. Although the plot is revealed over the course of the film it left me feeling that they could have done more. The performances were average I guess (I've seen worse) and the effects were not that bad, but again I've seen better. It was your typical teen "horror" film with the gratuitous boob shot, it has a lot of clichés, but I do have to admit there were a couple of comedic moments in it too. I didn't go in to watching this movie with high hopes, and I'm glad I didn't as it was (as I said earlier) below average. For me it was something to have on in the background because there was nothing on TV. So all I can give this movie is a 2 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

What a mess this movie is... could had been way better

5/10
Author: Destroyer Wod from Quebec
1 September 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Its really disappointing when you see a movie with such potential turning up to be such a high disappointment. The premise was good, and it could had made up for a very nice ambient horror movie with the ghost subject and all. Maybe had some nice gruesome kills on top of that, but i would had mainly see it as ambient horror. But sadly it turned out to be just a confusing mess. The characters for a start are so unbelievable. The situation shown in the flashbacks are totally out of nowhere and you are just thinking "did i just saw that?". The core of the story about the kids killing the Indian dude is also completely weird. Then how they behave in the day the movie is happening is also completely off the roof stupid.

The only 2 characters that are slightly interesting are Veronica and Matt, but even there at some point they got me loss. The ambiance is not scary at all. The ghost effects look cheap and fake(they turn out to be in the story but still...) so it does not make for a scary movie at all. The kills are mostly done off screen or in ways that are not satisfying either. The only time the movie score points is because it always make you guess on what is happening but sadly the way they reveal the story is not nicely done at all.

At the end it turn out the bad guys are Veronica(for what reason... i am still thinking about it) and the teacher who put them in detention in the first place. Again not really understanding why they did that, and why he kill his sidekick either. Oh yeah because she made him sick... ahem.

Then there is some kind of final twist which show Max the janitor pretty much being the relative of the Indian dude(even tough he does not look Indian at all) and putting the blame of the killing on Matt... just because Matt "could be" a descendant of the general who massacred some Indians in the old time. Yeah confusing right? So was he with the teacher or not? Did he just seized the occasion? In any case even the ending is not remotely satisfying.

Oh and i almost forgot to mention the music... ouch. Its truly amazingly bad and irritating. The sound effects on the other hand where OK.

So well sadly this movie turn out to be just another cheap horror slasher with a bad twist and you won't remember it in T-minus 1 day...yup already forgot.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

More Entertaining Than I Expected

5/10
Author: gavin6942 from United States
22 May 2013

On a stormy Saturday afternoon, six students from Crestview Academy begin to meet horrible fates as they serve out their detentions. Is a fellow student to blame, or perhaps Crestview's alleged ghosts are behind the terrible acts?

The best thing about this film is probably Judd Nelson and his awesome beard. Since they were sort of starting with the "Breakfast Club" as inspiration and going from there, it makes sense to get a nice cameo from Nelson -- well played.

I have some complaints, such as this film having some old high school kids -- one girl being particularly wrinkled. But there are also some awesome brief moments, such as the wheelchair incident that make the film as a whole decent. And the music is not bad, either.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Oh where to begin....movie is Terribad.

1/10
Author: bradleyjames53 from colorado
9 May 2013

I really wanted to like this movie...I have read the graphic novels, and have friends that were involved with promoting the movie and have been talking it up a lot. But I can't, it was awful. There was a weird mix of good/decent production effects mixed in with stuff right out of a high school tape mixing session. The acting ranged from sub par at best, to painful to watch/migraine inducing at worst. Stereotypes and clichés were thrown out with wreckless abandon. I didn't give a sh*t about any of the characters, their backstories, their deaths, nothing. The whole movie just felt thrown together and uninspired...Mr. Spradlin and Mr. Wernick should definitely stick to writing comic books.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history