IMDb > Wrong Turn 4: Bloody Beginnings (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Wrong Turn 4: Bloody Beginnings
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 104 reviews in total 

35 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

How Can Someone Put Money to Make This Garbage?

1/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In 1974, in the Glenville Sanatorium in West Virginia, three dangerous lunatics escape from their cell, release the other inmates and kill the doctors and staff.

In 2003, a group of college friends from the Weston University rides their snowmobiles to the cabin of a friend. However, they get lost in a storm and reach the abandoned asylum seeking for shelter to spend the night. However, the three cannibal maniacs are still living in the place and they are hungry for human flesh.

How can a producer put money to make garbage like "Wrong Turn"? This question was drumming in my head while I was watching the stupidities of the bunch of friends along 94 minutes running time. For example, the lesbian Afro-American girl returns to look for her bar that she lost in the snow while the three weirdos are driving their snowmobiles to hunt them down. Or voting to decide whether they should save Daniel that is being eaten alive by the crazies or not. The abandoned sanatorium is absolutely clean and everything is operative in the building.

The survivors never grieve the loss of their friends that are slaughtered by the maniacs. But maybe the worst situation is when they overpower the sadistic loonies and a girl convinces the others to not kill the monsters that have eaten their friends "like a fondue". Last but not the least, the acting and the lines are very poor. My vote is one (awful).

Title (Brazil): "Pânico na Floresta 4 – Origens Sangrentas" ("Panic in Forest 4 – Bloody Origin")

Was the above review useful to you?

41 out of 60 people found the following review useful:

I don't get it...........

Author: kpriceva
25 October 2011

To say that this is a slap in the face to all horror movie lovers is an understatement. How embarrassing for this director and for all of these actors..times are hard but come on-have some dignity! I knew what to expect watching another Wrong Turn movie. I wasn't expecting it to be on the same wavelength as Texas Chainsaw or anything but I expected a little bit of entertainment. Unfortunately, all I got was some hot sex scenes and cheesy blood and gore with masks that my 4 year old could make in daycare. How disappointing for Wrong Turn. In my eyes, nothing will be better than the first one and it should have stopped at the first one.

There wasn't any character development at all (I know you don't expect that much in scary movies but there was nothing), their actions were the antithesis of what any person with common sense would have done, there wasn't enough back story to really fill us in on how this started, it was just a hot mess! Do not waste your time watching this!!

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 72 people found the following review useful:

This is more of a silly bloody comedy than a horror film

6/10
Author: Brian Bell
18 October 2011

I just saw Wrong Turn 4 last night at Screamfest, at Mann's Chinese Theater here in Hollywood. The director, Declan O'Brien, introduced the film, and the cast was in the audience as well. I am a fan of Wrong Turn 1 (I own it) & 2, so I was happy to get to see direct to video film on the big screen. "Bloody Beginnings" starts off in 1982 in a sanatorium in West Virginia. After the opening sequence, which explains where 3 Finger and the gang came from, it fast forwards to 2003. Now in 2003, insert some nudity (great tits on the 3 sexy actresses, thumbs up) and some friends with snow mobiles decide to head out into a snowstorm, and get lost and take a wrong turn (surprise!), and end up at that sanatorium we met the brothers in at the opening...

Sadly, this can't be taken seriously as a horror movie. It has some bloody scenes, but there is nothing scary or creepy in this movie. However, if you grab some friends and beers (or cocktail of choice) this can be a laugh riot! This film is scene after scene of cheesy dialog and character choices. Lines like "I think they just turned Porter into a Porterhouse Steak!" are present throughout the whole movie. So this movie can be entertaining, but its got to be watched as a silly bloody comedy, NOT a horror film. This should only be viewed by someone that enjoys direct-to-video films (as I do). With that said- if you want a scary film, avoid this, but if you want a sexy cast, bloody deaths and scenes so ridiculous that you can't help but laugh out loud (at the absurdity), then maybe (and I stress the maybe) you will enjoy this as much as i did...

PS I highly suggest that IF(!) you watch this, do it with a group of friends and get ready to laugh...

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

This has to be a Joke

1/10
Author: iansmom99 from United States
21 November 2011

Once I heard there was a 4th Wrong Turn I had to check it out. Of course that was an enormous mistake. Even the trailer makes this look like crap. Its a basic plot: A group of friends go snowmobiling during their winter break. They get lost in a blizzard and seek shelter in an abandoned insane asylum. Which of course is inhabited by the three original cannibal mutants. The acting is beyond terrible. The actors don't deliver any decent performances. Even the film making looks cheesy and homemade. The gore/action looks extremely fake. Did they really need to give a failed attempt at how the cannibal hillbillies came to be? I doubt it. There is not one good moment in this movie. They should have stopped with the 3rd one at least.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

It stinks and is truly stupid.

Author: anchovyd from United States
22 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Somehow I missed Wrong Turn 3. I really liked WT1 it was good and sort of like a Hills Have Eyes meets Deliverance vibe. WT2 was pretty good with Henry Rollins running the "Survivor" reality show in the backwoods. Then I saw this movie...

The movie starts out great with the deformed inmates overrunning the asylum. I love insane asylum movies, throw in a freakshow and I am there dude.

The "college" students look to be thirtysomething. The college victims are six hot pornesque chicks and three or four dopey guys. I must agree with the other comments. It is 2011, everyone has GPS on their phones. These guys aren't going to even have a google maps printout to the cabin? The height of stupidity occurs when the college kids manage to capture the whacky hillbillies and have them locked in a jail cell. The last remaining guy throws kerosene everywhere and is set to burn the cannibal freaks but the lead chick puts a stop to it saying that it is immoral and that they shouldn't sink to the hillbillies' level. Mind you, this is after she has witnessed the freaks pull the head off of her friend, after they rolled out her boyfriend's head like a bowling ball across the assembly hall and after she's witnessed the freaks slicing off pieces of flesh from her other friend, while he was alive, and flash frying it with potatoes and onions and eating it in front of him while the other are filleting him alive.

Of course, they escape the cell and mutilate everyone. Honestly after that stupid lead chick decided not to kill the crazies, I wanted all of the college kids to get eaten.

Good setting, bad movie, bad acting all the way around. Don't bother watching this one. If you liked the first two, this will be a big disappointment.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Oh yes, please do a modern horror movie set inside an abandoned asylum! We haven't seen enough of those already...

4/10
Author: Boba_Fett1138 from Groningen, The Netherlands
5 March 2012

This movie somewhat makes me angry for several reasons. First off, it has absolutely nothing to do with the Wrong Turn-series and second of all, it's being totally unoriginal!

I wouldn't at all be surprised if this movie its script got pulled off from the shelve somewhere and got relabeled as "Wrong Turn 4" to cash in on it, even while it originally was written as a totally unrelated movie, to the the Wrong Turn-series. This movie really has absolutely nothing to do with any of the 3 previous movies, though it supposedly is still featuring the same cannibal family, consisting out of inbreds, who all look like Jake Busey by the way.

But the settings are all wrong. Really, a Wrong Turn movie should always be set inside of the forest I feel. But no, they thought an old abandoned asylum would be a far better setting for the movie this time. But why really? There are so many modern movies, that are just like this one, out there already, that use similar type of settings and also a similar concept. Thing they also all seem to have in common is that none of them are all that great.

No, this movie isn't ever really trying to be something new or original. It makes this a very redundant genre movie, that not even the lovers of it will be very pleased with. Sure, there is gore but nothing all that spectacular or surprising really.

As is this whole movie; nothing spectacular or surprising. It's a very typical and therefore also very predictable genre movie, that does absolutely nothing to attempt to become an above average one. It's just one of those movies in which a bunch of annoying, partying teenagers gets stuck at a place and are all getting killed one by one. It never has any tension or suspense to it because the movie obviously has no idea how to handle this.

The most positive thing I can say about this movie is that it's not the worst modern genre example I have seen but still, you are far better off skipping it.

4/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

The prequel (yes, prequel) to the series about how the Hillbilly Cannibals get free. Very bloody, better then 3rd. I say C-

Author: Tony Heck (cosmo_tiger@hotmail.com) from United States
19 October 2011

"We are not alone here...They are gonna kill us all." When three "special" boys who are brought to an insane asylum escape the reign on terror from the "Hillbilly Cannibals" begins. I will start by saying that this was much better then the third one. This movie further supports my argument that Hollywood is out of ideas and is stuck on prequels/sequels, re-makes and comic book movies only. If you don't believe me, ask yourself how long you have been saying..."I wish they made a prequel to 'Wrong Turn', the saga doesn't feel complete." That's what I thought. This movie is just a lot of screaming, blood and decapitations. Oh yeah, and cannibalism. If you are into that sort of thing this is the movie you have been waiting for. Overall, much better then the third, my favorite was the second...but again I don't think a prequel to this series was needed. I give it a C-.

*Also try - Maneater & Wrong Turn 1-3

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Some Decent Gore but a Terrible Cast and an awful Lame Story !!

Author: homecoming8 from Belgium
31 October 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Wrong Turn" was an excellent surprise hit, the second one was certainly not as good, but OK. 2009's Left For Dead was not OK, all the kills looked like Nintendo 64 bad computer effects. That was the biggest flaw of Part 3.

"Wrong Turn 4: Bloody Beginnings" has one good quality: the effects are mostly not computer generated so they do not look extremely fake anymore. Actually, some deaths are pretty decent with good and gory effects. (some, not all). But unfortunately, that's the only good point this movie has. Because a horror movie is not just gore for the sake of gore. This sequel lacks tension, excitement or even common sense: the story is rather stupid and the characters are very annoying and their actions make no sense at all. The bad omen start from the beginning during it's prequel: In the asylum it is said that Three Finger chewed off his other two fingers and One Eye stabbed himself in the eye. Hello: that's part of their disfigurement ! When the so-called cast is introduced they're all having sex (some even in the same room). Yes, that's how the characters are portrayed: stupid, horny teenagers who have no clue what's going on.

All the other "Wrong Turn" movies are outdoor adventures but due to budget constrictions, this one mostly takes place inside the asylum (like 95% of the movie). What really kills the story (besides the lame ending) is the moment when four of the remaining teenagers hunt the mutants down into a prison cell. The man of the group wants to burn them down but the girls decide that they don't deserve that and that it's not a decent thing to do (Hello, they just killed off most of your friends!!) So they let them live so the mutants can escape once again.

Studio Fox also released the "Hills Have Eyes 1 and 2" and I was always looking forward for a third entry. But seeing crap like this, I hope there won't be a third one, I thought it had something to do with the rights to that title (Wes Craven directed the original one). We can hope there won't be a fifth Wrong Turn either, they should have stopped after Part 2.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

So none of these kids have an iPhone with GPS huh?

Author: munchiesme from Chicago, US
22 October 2011

What was sure to be a fun filled romp in the woods complete with girl on girl action, takes a horrible turn. On the lighter side there are some lovely Fondue recipes in this movie that come with the Hannibal Lecter seal of approval. Not to say that everything in this movie is predictable (if you're drunk) but if you're sober then yeah its pretty cut and paste.

If you thought, like I did, that maybe this was some sort of prequel and you could watch the beginning of this now direct to DVD series then oh boy are you in for some crap. Pay very close attention to the scenes before the opening credits because that's all the back-story you're going to get. So in short if you'd like to see some kids get cut up for about 90 minutes and you don't mind turning off your brain, then yeah you may dig this movie.

My advice, go watch Silence of the Lambs or maybe Red Dragon, now those are some good movies right there. Also, if you happen to be in West Virginia and camping with your friends, invest in an iPhone. At the very least, get a Tom Tom.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Mute the movie and play Benny Hill music over it, the movie will make more sense this way

1/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
22 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I saw Wrong Turn quite a few years ago, it was a decent slasher film that despite it's clichés and typical characters, it was good enough to get by. Then a second one was released and believe it or not, it was actually good…heck, it was better than the first! It was one of those movies that was so outrageous it was just a good time. Then for some reason they decided to make these films into a series/franchise with a third Wrong Turn. The film really didn't work, it had some good gore effects, but the characters were lacking and to be honest the villains are not that scary. I mean, inbred cannibals are not exactly high on the boogeyman lists. Besides, we already had Deliverance, wasn't that enough touch on crazy inbreeds? But still, giving the third one some credit, at least it wasn't… Wrong Turn 4! You think the characters were horrible in the third film, just wait till you hear about these morons.

In 1974 at the Glenville Sanatorium, Dr. Brendan Ryan is showing a local psychiatrist around the psychiatric hospital and shows her three young cannibals: Three-Finger, Saw-Tooth & One-Eye. Before they leave, the cannibals escape and set the other patients free in the hospital. The cannibals then torture and murder Dr. Ryan & the other visitors. In the future, Kenia, Sara and Bridget along with their friends Claire, boyfriend Kyle, Jenna boyfriend Vincent, Lauren, and boyfriend Daniel are going snowmobiling, heading to Kenia's boyfriend Porter's cabin in the mountains. Before they get there, they get lost in the snowstorm forcing them to find shelter in the abandoned Glenville Sanatorium. Little do they know, the three cannibals are hiding out in the sanatorium and murdering trespassers.

So let me tell you about this film really, the characters are beyond obnoxious…like incredibly to the point where you're wishing they'd die annoying! They are a cliché in getting lost in the middle of no where with a blizzard and decide to go into an abandoned hospital where the lights are still somehow working. I guess the inbreeds may be inept of any rational thought but can manage to keep a hospital going? Not only that, but how is it the doctor victims they killed earlier, their families never bothered looking for them at their work? OK, let's give the suspension of disbelief. So then what do our group of protagonists decide to do in their time of trying to figure a way to get back to safety? Let's smoke weed, get drunk and have a ton of sex! Of course the inbreeds get ahold of them and start the killing spree…they are all facing one way in an auditorium, the blonde girl gets a barbed wire(where do the inbreeds get barbed wire? I do not know) around her throat and as everyone turns around in horror, her boyfriend grabs her by the feet trying to pull her down while there's barbed wire around her neck and acts totally surprised when her blood is pouring down on him and she gets decapitated. Then what good friends this guy has, they run off and leave him! All we needed was the Benny Hill music playing during this scene, it would've been much better.

Then one of the guys gets captured by the inbreeds and while he's screaming hysterically for his life as the inbreeds are eating him alive…what does our group of heroes decide to do? Go and save him? No, let's have a 10 minute conversation first and vote and then when going to go save him, let's pause every five seconds to let his flesh get eaten even more. Then when they do find him, let's make a fondue joke about it and surprise, he dies because of your time management skills! Then they capture the inbreeds and decide to burn them alive, no! The lead hero of our group tells the guy to not burn them and not sink to the inbred's level…yeah, because they had so much consideration for you and your friends. So she's the reason for all the deaths in the previous films! Some hero we're supposed to be rooting for! It gets worse from there, I have to cut my comment here, but bottom line, please stay away from this film. There is nothing redeeming about this movie, it's bad writing, bad characters and just plain a bad movie.

1/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history