IMDb > Resident Evil: Retribution (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Resident Evil: Retribution
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Resident Evil: Retribution More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 22 of 43: [Prev][17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [Next]
Index 424 reviews in total 

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

5500 votes 10???

1/10
Author: Pablo Llanos from Portugal
1 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I don't think so... I think there's some manipulation here.

A movie so bad, completely done in computer ... deserves no more than a 5 at most fanatic of the series Resident Evil. We continue to believe in the IMDb score?? I started watching and thought I would start something good. A film in the present time, with the zombies invade the homes and people hiding in closets. After already are in Russia, Japan, Ny, know where it ... more I think that for a person to be more fanatic for the series, never vote for 10, and that there is some kind of manipulation by some company, and should be investigated by IMDb. Make a tracing of IP ratings. And I'm sure you see that someone is cheating. I love the video game, and the first two episodes of the series, after that it was just crap. I hope more movies are coming, change of producer and director, with new ideas and a new approach. A team of graphic effects also left something to be desired. Many bad scene.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Terrible. Stop spending money on this.

Author: proxy55 from Germany
29 November 2012

Sony are in huge financial trouble and nowhere does it show more than with the Resident Evil series. They are milking this once great franchise to the maximum. New movies and games in rapid succession and all of them are absolutely low quality productions. Retribution is no exception. In fact, they reached a new level of awfulness with this one. It's so bad, you could almost say that it has comedic value. Accordingly, the story is so stupid and incoherent, it could be straight from the head of a 5-year-old. Add some computer effects, 3D and a lot of fake votes on IMDb (noone in their right mind would give this movie 10/10, yet somehow 20% of the users did) and you got yourself something that you can still make a little money with.

Seeing the steady decline in the quality of the story and the steady increase of randomly occurring half-naked women, I think the most dignifying ending for this franchise would actually be turning it into porn. What about "Resident Evil: Girlz with Gunz" for the title of the next movie? Go for it Sony, it can't get any worse.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Burn this

1/10
Author: Raique Tavares from Brazil
29 October 2012

When I was watching this in theater, I just can't found a reason why I keeping watching this crap. That's just boring, headless and abusive. I can't even laugh of so much s**t. I gotta say, I like the franchise, at least, I like the three first movies, especially the first one, that featured great action and some horror intense scenes. So I have motives to believe that Resident Evil: Retribution would be a good movie. God, I was wrong, so wrong. Retribution is just one more aleatory action movie, that features a laughable acting and some horrible combat scenes. Shame on Paul W.S. Anderson. If you're not a fan of the franchise, avoid it. If you're a fan of the franchise, avoid it too. Just awful and ridiculous.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

AMAZING!!! IT WAS AWESOME!!!!! Are you freaking kidding me?

1/10
Author: luvthescorpio from United States
27 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I don't understand how people love this utter piece of crap that Paul Anderson created.Stooooop making movie's!!! The only good movie of the entire series was resident evil 1.But i guess in this Era people like retarded movies. Oh well. Reboot the series, get a different director, be faithful to the storyline and please remove Mila...What is up with that...seriously??I told myself "okay one more resident evil movie, maybe I will like this one" Nope, retarded matrix action , crappy storyline i mean really?? how is that fun?! I will no longer watch these movies if Paul keeps making them. I'm done thanks for killing the Resident Evil franchise.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

an Alice sandwich already ROTTEN..

1/10
Author: matias sierra from Argentina
26 September 2012

well i am a fan of the video games saga, not from the movies, i 'played all the games etc. then in 2002 the first resident evil movie comes out and was OK, at least enjoyable, then the second one was fine.. till the middle of it, but when nemesis appear and turn to be good and even not mutate, the movie transform in a totally crap , from that moment the movies are so bad that are a joke, this movie isn't the esception, the characters are far far away from the videogames counterparts, this movie is bad made, contain the worst acting of all the saga, the cheapest effects ever made, and the plot holes are so big than the entire universe, and nothing is well explain, besides the situations on the afterlife movie, has not effect on this one, I don't want ad spoilers, but the fail is so big that dragon ball movie is the best movie ever compare to this, in this sequel characters like crhis and claire are never mentioned, and anybody says nothing about it, others take they spot, but not for to long, alice continue stealing the aspects from the others heroes, and doing it all by herself. At the end there is cliffhanger for more, so if you respect the resident evil games don't watch it save your money, and wait a reboot... is the only hope we can get.. anyway there isn't hope for paul anderson....

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

The franchise has become a forgettably undead..

1/10
Author: extcontact from United States
19 September 2012

I'm a scifi/adventure junkie and will forgive Milla anything, but this is just mindless dreck pandering from one rote scene to the next with a complete absence of anything noteworthy or of interest. And Anderson is obviously too tired of it all to give us any reason to care about either the characters or the story (limited as it is). Overall this installment made 'Doom' seem like a veritable 'Gone With The Wind' by comparison and that isn't easy to do.

With creativity the first casualty after the opening sequence Anderson has undeniably delivered up a movie as forgettable as the most droll of his zombies and leaving franchise badly infected by the banal. Milla deserves better than this and I can only hope Anderson takes better care of her off the screen than on it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

So..so...soooo disappointing

2/10
Author: Scott Giles from United Kingdom
17 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Well.... Where can i start? From start to finish we literally learn nothing.. and i mean nothing. OK apart from the fact that the Red queens alive and has been doing this the whole time!? Serioulsy who wrote that into the script. Would have made more sense for my nan to be behind it all. OK so it starts slow, after about 20 mins of film and all thats happened is clone Alice living a life with her husband and deaf daughter (Whats that about? What impact on the film was this meant to provide?)I was starting to wonder if this film was ever going to get going. In answer to that no. I waited for the good parts to start, and it did..... at the very end of the film.... way to drag this series out some more. 90 mins of Alice just fighting her way out of one place. One place! Only to be injected with the T virus again!? Why take it a way from her then give it her back later, should have just written the 4th film off! I cant even begin to explain how stupid the whole idea is. its like a massive filler episode on a TV show.... Yes the good stuffs coming, we'll give it to you in another year and a half. Well i for one wont be watching it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Overall, really great (spoilers).

9/10
Author: Wesker1213 from Raccoon City
16 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Easily my 2nd favorite of the franchise, with Apocalypse being the first. The movie starts with a bit of a twist of sorts. Wesker is taking on an unfamiliar role as protagonist alongside Alice. Alice is captured by Umbrella and taken to an underwater facility in northern Russia. Alice escapes with Wesker's and Ada's help.

This movie brings back a lot of familiar faces, and a few new ones. Has a lot of face-paced action sequences. Familiar foes from the game serious, and one of the best fight scenes of the entire franchise.

Jill was particularly well played in this movie. I only wish Wesker had a much larger role.

The way this one starts out with a recap of the first 4, makes even newcomers to the series easy to decipher what is going on.

A must see.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

It's better than Afterlife, I'll give it THAT much.

4/10
Author: Alexander Bloodworth from Canada
16 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The movie picks up where Afterlife left off, kind of. I say kind of because they start it off with a pointless slow motion rewind of the opening scene, before actually getting to it. Moving on, Alice, played by Milla Jovovich, has been recaptured by Umbrella. And she easily escapes. Seriously, with all the trouble Alice has put them through in the past, they don't seem all too interested in keeping her AFTER THEY FINALLY CAPTURE HER. Then we run into Ada, played by Bingbing Li, who is not working for Wesker, played by Shawn Roberts. Then we run into Leon Kennedy, by by Johann Urb, Barry Burton, played by Kevin Durand, and Luther West, played by Boris Kodjoe, who are also not working for Wesker. They also have two more people with them, but you shouldn't care about them, and clearly the movie doesn't either, since their names aren't even given to us before they're killed off. Seriously, I had to look it up to know their names, because the credits didn't have them either.

The main problem with the film is that it makes no sense whatsoever. Everything that happens in the film could've easily been avoided by Umbrella by just killing or brainwashing Alice from the start. But no, they wait until she escapes to attempt to do anything about her. And by the way, why are they still making Alice clones when they had the original right there? Why not just stick one of those spider things on her chest and call it a day? Oh, right, because the plot says so. We also see the return of the Executioner, from Resident Evil 5. And you know what? It still doesn't make sense for him to be here. They were made with Uroboros, which was made from Las Plagas. Las Plagas was NOT made from the T-Virus! I wouldn't mind it so much, if the movie would AT LEAST explain what it IS, and WHERE it came from in the movie's universe. Only people who have played the games (Resident Evil 4 and 5, to be specific) will know what any of this stuff is, while non-fans will just be confused.

We also have a Giant Licker (Just go with it), and zombie supersoldiers, I guess? Those weren't even IN the games!(Unless you count Resident Evil 5, but come on, you know as well I do that those guys were not zombies) The only people who have EVER heard about them are people who have read the Resident Evil books! Not the movie books, either. The (really hard to find) books that were based on the games.

The special effects are nice, but the 3D is non-existent. If you're going to see this movie, save yourself the money, and stick with the 2D version. There's also far too much action. It's just scene after scene of non-stop action. That's alright, I guess. Nothing too wrong with that (though it's basically saying that if there's nothing going on, we're not interested), but there's very few scenes in which we start to care about the characters. That's already hard enough as it is. The best character in this regard is probably Becky, played by Aryana Engineer, who basically just exists for these scenes and to further the ongoing clone subplot.

Everything in this movie is just wrong. If anything, Paul Anderson just played/saw someone playing the games and just took what he thought would make the best action scenes, regardless of whether or not it made sense for them to be there. If I have to say ONE good thing about this movie, it's that the action scenes are decent. If you go to see this movie for the action and nothing else, you'll be entertained the whole way through. Just don't expect much else.

Acting 4.5/10

Story 4/10

Special Effects 4.5/10

Usage of 3D 3.5/10

Overall 4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

dumb fun!!

7/10
Author: fritzlang from Durham, NC USA
21 September 2012

This movie was fun.

Yeah, it was dumb.. stupid.. a lot of it didn't make any sense.

Honestly, does anybody go to see a Resident Evil film for logic? to gain insights into the meaning of life?

I hope not!

This is a Resident Evil film, a sequel, directed by Paul W.S. Anderson.

That means.

1) Visually beautiful. Personally, I think Paul W.S. Anderson has an incredible eye of cinematography. His films have scenes that are truly breathtakingly beautiful to me.

2) Great action!

3) Great over-the-top-defying-gravity-n-logic stunts!

4) Great creatures and special effects!

5) Mila Jovovich in skin tight leather kicking butt!

6) Great use of 3D! I personally find Paul's films have some of the best use of this technology.

7) A thin veneer of a plot, just enough to string together the action scenes.

8) Minimal character depth - just enough to keep you from hating the actors.

9) Plot holes that you can drive a mack truck through, and logic that will make your head hurt - if you spend any time really thinking about it.

Looking at this list, do you think 'Cool! I want to see it!" or do you focus on #7 through 9 and go "ugh, another dumb big action film."

I believe how you answer that question will decide whether or not you will like the film.

Me? I loved it. Saw it in 3D IMAX, which I really think helped.

7/10 for sheer entertainment value.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 22 of 43: [Prev][17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history