IMDb > "Once Upon a Time" (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Once Upon a Time"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Once Upon a Time" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 30: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 297 reviews in total 

23 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Interesting

8/10
Author: Kushal Tank (kushaltank20@yahoo.com)
3 November 2011

From the makers of Lost comes Once Upon a Time.

When Emma Swan (Jennifer Morrison) is alone on her birthday she is visited by her son whom she gave up 10 years ago for adoption. While on their way to 'Stroybrooke' the boy tries to convince her that all the residents of the town are fairytale characters and they are not aware of it. This is the core and modern day setting of the story.

The second half of the story runs in flashbacks this the part which you can assume to the be the authentic setting of show white.

So, basically there are two settings which are in different parts of time.

The storyline is good, Jared Gilmore shows some really good acting for his age, other actors have also done a nice job. the cinematography is decent (haven't seen any extraordinary shots or camera angles till now) the sound effects are really great.

If you are looking something as exciting, complex and hardcore as Lost you will be disappointed, come on it's a fairytale but it certainly is enchanting, warm and gripping.

Now the criticisms,

The cast is good but not brilliant. The shift between the two time lines is a little bit awkward sometimes.

In all the show is interesting, so if yo have 60 minutes to spare it's worth venturing into.

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 53 people found the following review useful:

Wooden actors, wooden plots, this series doesn't deserve a second

1/10
Author: Trevor Hemsley from Brighton
10 May 2012

Utterly contrived, wooden plots with no imagination, bad acting, sets that look cheap and unreal, this series has it all. I could select individual actors for special mention but I'll save them the embarrassment. The cast list sounds quite hopeful with Robert Carlyle and some of the others in it being good actors and well known - I do hope they're being paid well enough to compensate for the dreadful story-less plots and wooden dialog they're being forced to recite. The end of series 1 can't come soon enough for me and hopefully it won't get a second series and we'll be spared the pain of more of it.

Avoid.

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 55 people found the following review useful:

Unwatchable

1/10
Author: ufhamlet-895-675761 from Charlotte, NC
5 May 2013

I can appreciate that people want a wholesome show that has a continual story arc, constant influx of new characters to learn and engage with, and some sizzle in the form of special effects and plot twists. But OUAT has absolutely no steak.

The writing is garbage. From implausible story elements to plot holes to middle-school- caliber creative writing content, I can feel brain cells committing hari kari halfway through every episode that I endure for the sake of my wife.

The acting isn't much better. Delivery tends to be either over-baked melodrama or flat, emotionless tripe. I sympathize a little with the cast, as Morrison proved that she's watchable in House, and Carlyle has had a great career. I don't know that Hanks and Streep could do any favors for OUAT's script. The boy is shrill and precocious, and while his story tells me that I should be sympathetic and intrigued, I'm desperately hoping that he gets written out and causes at least one of the main characters to have some motivation to do something that actually impacts the story.

Special effects are on the poor end of network made-for-TV fare. Even the costuming and makeup seem to be an attempt to anger taste and logic. Goodwin in particular vacillates between looking like a feminine boy to a ringlet-wigged superhero, neither of which makes her likable or approachable.

The premise is clever, but the execution couldn't possibly be worse. I do believe that family-friendly content can coexist with quality, but OUAT certainly isn't evidence of that.

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 67 people found the following review useful:

looks very fake

2/10
Author: haze_me from Norway
24 May 2012

I really don't understand all the good words, and the 8/10 rating on this show. The first couple episodes were OK, but let's take things seriously... the quality of this show is pathetic, everything looks as fake as a porno movie. The scenes in the past are simply ridiculous, the acting is mediocre.. but most of all, the costumes/scenery is just cheap and fake.

This is not an opinion, it's a fact.. i've gone through almost all episodes of this season, and this is what the quality is. It's a mystery how can this be rated 8 stars on IMDb... the votes of this show are about the same votes as something as good as Boardwalk Empire, that is perhaps one of the best acted and directed shows of the past decade? The credibility of IMDb on the vote ranking on shows is just unrealistic and totally unreliable... so don't get your hopes up by seeing some show is voted 8+.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Going nowhere...

4/10
Author: Chris-742
28 June 2014

After seeing the first season I was intrigued. This looked interesting, weaving the characters from old tales together to form a modern tale. Seemed to have a good range of characters and let them build slowly. It seemed to lay the foundation for a great continuation.

But the series lost the storytelling, yet continued with episodes. Nothing happened in season 2, except the introduction of yet more characters. Now mid 3rd season, this series is truly going nowhere, I missed an episode and did not even notice it until much later. Nothing happens, except that new characters are introduced and old ones simply disappear. Nothing is concluded. All in all, this way more like a snail-pace soap than a fantasy series. Please put it out of it's misery and terminate it already!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Everything that went wrong with Lost

3/10
Author: thejambalaya from United States
3 November 2014

My best friend has forced the first 3 seasons of this show down my throat, so I feel I'm in a good position to say this show is setting itself up to either fail spectacularly or slowly fizzle away. Now in season 4 it seems that OUAT is running out of material to keep the plot going, considering how quickly the writers pounced on the idea of incorporating Frozen into the show. Pretty soon they'll go with anything even remotely affiliated with Disney, and it won't be long before they add Darth Vader or something. In fact, I think one of the main reasons people are still watching this show is all the capitalizing being done on whatever's popular at the time. Without all the new pop culture references, this show would have been done by season 3, since it seems that they've already run out of classic fairy tales to borrow from. The writers seem to be doing exactly what happened with Lost: writing as they go along, they don't consider how the addition of all these extra characters and plot lines will affect the show long term, they write themselves into a corner, and finally they attempt to resolve all the subplots at once and end up with a hastily thrown together final season that doesn't offer much closure to speak of. The only purpose that the overly convoluted storyline serves is to distract you from the wooden and often cheesy acting. Robert Carlyle and Lana Parrilla as Rumplestilskin and The Evil Queen are certainly believable, but their performances seem to be offset by the emotionless acting of Jennifer Morrison, who is completely unbelievable as a sympathetic character, and also Josh Dallas, whose character has the personality of a pile of rocks. This show started out with a lot of potential, but it burned through all of its material too fast, now it's nothing but a rehash of whatever Disney movie happens to be popular at the moment.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

How much I love this show

7/10
Author: webartist145 from United States
10 December 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Once upon a time is a great TV show, it has something for people of all ages. I just love how it has mystery for you to fined out.How you never know what els Henry will say or do. He already left Story brook, found his birth mother on his adopted mother. Got Snow White to fall in love with her prince all over again and just completely turned Story Brook upside-down.Just to name a few things he's done, Yet this is all within the first season, who knows what he would do next. I mean there's just no moment were it's safe. for henry's step mom is always breathing down his real mother neck. She's always tricking her and doing everything she can think of to keep her in trouble. it's not that hard to tell that she's the evil queen. I also love how it's something like a modern twist on a fairytale. How it shows clips from their time as a regular fairytale yet it also shows the reality. I love how it lets you uncover what's really going on and how people know what they know and why people don't know what others do. Once upon a time shows how fairytale can relate to real life. It also make almost every fairytale come together as one big fairytale. It's a family friendly show that I think people of almost all ages will enjoy. Almost all ages.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

gloriously bad.

2/10
Author: t hamilton from Australia
9 December 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

So as of writing this the show is 3 seasons 10 episodes in. and its some of the worst writing I've ever seen.

Early on in the show we find out that Emma Snow, one of if not THE main character has the ability to tell whenever someones lying. I wont spoil the specifics but a few episodes later, and up until the current episode she literally never uses that ability again. Its the most blatantly discarded plot devise I've seen in years.

The acting in general, but especially amongst the younger actors, is wooden and unconvincing. However thats a sliver of a shadow in comparison to the inconsistencies and laziness the script exhibits.

The show features subplots of the fairy-tale land that was before a curse took everyone's memory and dumped them in a discreet part of America. These subplots are seldom anything more than blatant filler content, as we know how the story more or less ends (with the curse and Storybrook) but they usually have the decency to use the time to flesh out the backstory of characters. It's normally fairly inane, one character threatens another, but we know they end up alive and safe in the present day so the emotional pulls are almost nonexistent. But occasionally (as with todays episodes, s3 e10) its purely a retelling of a classic fable or myth.

In this case one character (trying not to spoil, even though the show is garbage) heard rumours years ago about a mythical creature that can defeat her enemy. The creature disables a person and the effect can only be reversed if the creature dies. The creature then casts its spell on the loved one of the character whose idea this was, and through a hasty butchering of the classic legend she turns the creatures power on itself, NOT killing but disabling the creature. The spell on her loved one is then broken, the creature is no longer useful for the intended purpose of defeating her enemy, and the lovers walk away. The entire subplot had no purpose. It was relevant in absolutely no way other than to butcher a classic Greek myth and soak up time, and it also destroyed the consistency it established only minutes ago, when we were lead to believe that the creature was immortal in every possible way, and its spell could only be reversed upon its death. It doesn't die, but its spell is lifted anyway, with never a mention of the failure to live in the universe the story created.

I consider this show probably the weakest of the supernatural shows currently airing, and that's saying something. Its filled with black and white morality, based upon watered down children's stories not the vivid originals, it throws together all kinds of completely unrelated, sometimes incongruous legends and stories in the most banal uninspired way that on an intellectual level its offensive. It's the type of show where the protagonists are perpetually in life threatening situations but "through the power of love" or "belief" or some other romanticised nonsense its inevitable they will prevail. Every season sees at least 5 or 6 main characters in certain fatal peril, but nevertheless no one dies and everyone gets forgiven.

Its so bad its almost good. But its not.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant!

Author: SpiritedAngel from United Kingdom
23 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I actually found this on my IMDb list of recommended things to watch. Id never heard of it before, and thought it sounded interesting so I watched the pilot and was hooked as soon as I saw Robert Carlyle' performance as Rumpelstiltskin.

The story line is well thought out, and the cast is amazing. Id never heard of half of them but Ill definitely be watching some more of their work, they are all brilliant.

I was so upset in episode 7, when Graham died. When he started getting his memories back, I really wanted him to help Henry and Emma break the curse; and secretly maybe I wanted Graham and Emma to get together as well, they would have been so good together. I've watched this episode so many times now, and every time it gets to that part I wish I could change things. Where is Rumpelstiltskin when we need him?

All in all, this is a brilliant show, I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a new twist to all our favourite fairy tales.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

One of the best shows I've seen in a while.

10/10
Author: Nicholas Sommerby from United States
29 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm a huge fantasy nerd, and I'm a sucker for anything that has to do with Fairy Tales. One of my favorite mini-series ever is the 10th Kingdom. So it should be no surprise that when I saw talks for Once Upon a Time, I was very interested to see where it was going to go.

I have to say, I'm very impressed with it so far. The pilot for the show was outstanding, and the episodes beyond have been nothing short of amazing as well. There've been some stale episodes with very little progression here and there, but what show doesn't have at least one or two of those?

Lana Parilla as Regina/the Evil Queen was a fantastic choice. I've seen many different interpretations of the evil queen, and she's by far my favorite. She's crafty, devious, and there are plenty of moments that you can see her trying to fight some of her more human emotions such as jealousy and sadness.

Robert Carlyle as Rumplestiltskin was also a brilliant choice. He plays the subtle but crafty Mr. Gold very well, leading characters on without them even realizing it. And he plays the zany, few screws loose Rumplestiltskin in the fairy-tale world equally well. Along with the EQ, Rumplestiltskin is by far one of my favorite characters on the show.

Ginnifer Goodwin is definitely my favorite Snow White I've seen pop up this year against contenders Kristen Stewart and Lily Collins. No, the movies with those two haven't already come out yet, but already based on the trailers, Ginnifer Goodwin is definitely the fairest of them all. As Mary Margaret, she's got the gentle, sweet, and shy side that we all know and love Snow White for. As the actual Snow White, she's a very strong female that can take care of herself quite well (But still caring to the point of lying to the Prince to save his life).

Other characters are starting to amaze me with their origin stories, and I can only imagine that this show will continuously go on the amazing path that it has already laid out for itself. This show is definitely a must watch. It has everything you could want: comedy, romance, drama, action/adventure, fantasy, you name it, this show has it! Well, aside from maybe futuristic/sci-fi robot-pirate unicorns from outer-space, but that's just silly to ask for that in a fairy-tale story.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 30: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history