Stealing Las Vegas (2012) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
9 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
3/10
Good concept, but obviously low budget
kingokocim21 December 2012
I really liked the concept and what they did with what they had.

It was obvious that it's a low budget movie. I like some low budget movies, but there was so much more they could do with this movie across the board (acting, directing, editing, etc.).

Based on the movie, I do believe that they did the best with what they had.

I just wish they put more $ into making the movie. The concept was great.

The movie was kind of like a cheap version of Ocean's Eleven.

I don't think I would recommend anyone see it.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Mostly Awful ... with one bit of genius
Natalie Barnes20 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
There are two movies here. The OK one that Eric Roberts is in. And the AWFUL one with everybody else. Unfortunately, Roberts isn't in much of the movie and is given very little to do, unless you include watching strippers. Not talk to them. Just watch them. Everybody else just kinds of stands around in this picture. I don't know if its a case of bad directing or bad actors (both?), since Roberts is good. And Huggy Bear from Starsky and Hutch shows up now and again. I think he'd much rather be in the OK movie with Roberts, but his role makes NO sense. One minute Huggy Bear is a clean-cut casino boss; the next moment he looks like a pimp running an underground fight club! WTF? I like B-movies but this is an F-movie. Nobody acts like a real person. The robbery is lame. The cast politically correct. The filmmakers even try to pull on your heartstrings with an autistic boy. And once the actors started ACTING IN SLO-MOTION during a pivotal scene, I hurt myself laughing. Not even Corky St. Clair from Waiting for Guffman could have come up with something so amazingly incorrect. While the overall movie stinks; that bit is the work of insane genius.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One Cool Ride
skiddmarkz137 October 2012
Fun ensemble casino caper heist with Eric Roberts at his sleaziest since Star 80. His casino boss character takes pictures of his "conquests" and with each flash of his camera, my subconscious registered Paul Schneider shotgun blasting Dorothy Stratton in Star 80 and I cringed with genuine fear and disgust.

The cast of Stealing Las Vegas is full of exciting up-and-comers, but the true "find" is Antonio Fargas aka Huggie Bear from TV's "Starsky & Hutch." Fargas is simultaneously menacing and sage, and the viewer is never quite sure which side he's on.

The same can be said for Elloy Mendez's Jorge who should be a star already. He's that darn good. With more twists and turns than a Six Flags rollie coaster, this indy is worth a look.
5 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great characters make this more than just another heist...
julievegas6 April 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I think this movie is great!

The plot continues to leave the audience guessing what will happen next.

Well drawn, the characters are thoroughly believable and brought to life through a cast of past, present and future stars.

I especially love Stacy and Nick! Their relationship adds anther dimension to what might have otherwise turn out be just another Las Vegas heist flick!

I recommend this movie to anybody who likes and good heist with a lot of action, twists and turns, mixed with a little romance that leaves you wanting to know where these characters are going and what happens to them next.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Cheesy Lines with Good Ending
Cami Gammons3 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
You can tell some of these people are new actors. Not too sure about the producer and his "writing", seems more like stealing already done ideas.

Action / Fighting scenes are really BAD. Not sure if its the new actors or production of how it was made, but probably some of the worst fight scenes I have ever seen. (very scripted)

The strip club scenes are way over done and seemingly pathetic attempt to grab the male viewers attention that has wondered off during some of the cheesy action scenes.

Ending is surprisingly good, but has been done before. Actors over all did a good job for being fairly new.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Not bad and Message Matters
gilwirt15 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Solid enough acting, et cetera; plot resembles other films to some degree, but end and message are unique; 'especially nice is that the fascist exploitation(the bad guy has a thing for taking photos of people for unsavory reasons, that much of a plot-spoiler I throw in for possible motive to watch: exploitative people generally are evil, but those types are bottom of the barrel). Hopeful sentiment(the poor can vanquish the greedy/evil) is one all to need to consider. The actors are generally unknown, and all skilled enough to consider "good"; the writing is decent(the topless/stripper stuff feels like extra baggage, but is not too-excessive); the direction has some fascinating angles/choices; the low scores given by reviewers seems bizarre.
1 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Enjoyable
kmancha15 April 2013
The movie had a familiar plot, with a younger twist (than say Ocean's Eleven as it has been compared to). The characters were developed, providing background & substance to most of the characters. The plot was weaved together well with each character's personal plights connecting them to each other and their pursuit of money & fairness. Given it is a student production, there are limitations in special effects, but the acting was enjoyable. I found the characters likable and real. The last 30 min had to be the best, I had no expectations for the ending and found myself smiling at the twist. The actors brought a variety of emotional tones, matching the storyline well, giving the audience a love story, drama and suspense.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Ocean's Lite
thesar-26 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
If not for some (incredibly, albeit minimal) surprise twists in the finale, Stealing Las Vegas is just a High School project remake of Ocean's Eleven.

Sure there's some female nudity and a spark of violence, but other than that this would've worked better on a stage in front of an assembly of kids.

While trying to throw too many plot points into a simple story of a robbery, Stealing Las Vegas just shows the plight of injured knee Nick and his PC-multi-race gang trying to get past basically one door in a failing Casino to nab twenty million from their clichéd bad casino boss.

I would hand it to these young (and old, sorry, Eric Roberts) kids by remaking Ocean's Eleven on a shoestring budget. But, their heart was hardly in it. Sure, they went through the motions and said and did what the script/director told them to do, but barely did I believe any of this world existed. Or, their performances.

In the days of Blockbuster Video past, if the Ocean's Trilogy was all rented out, I'd still recommend picking a different film or genre. Not worth anyone's time.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Hello!!! Did i see right?
Philip Antwi21 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
It's really sad to see prominent faces in the industry give out their worst in making this movie a complete washout! kudos Eric Roberts! You've succeeded in bringing forth a huge chunk of crap. I couldn't believe my eyes and ears. Really???In fact reviewing this movie is even a waste of time. I would never wish a movie of the sort for my enemy. I feel really used cos my time spent watching this lopsided thrash-kit cannot be retrieved. I need to get back to my books and pray i never chance on any of these actors ever in my life. Lame lame lame!!! That's all i can say. Flashing of tits???seriously??? A movie that fails to carry out a meaningful plot to its viewers but rather tries lurking around our thoughts with nudity. In a nutshell, the movie was a complete failure
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews