IMDb > "Hart of Dixie" (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Hart of Dixie"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Hart of Dixie" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 57 reviews in total 

58 out of 64 people found the following review useful:

Hart of Dixie deserves a second season.

9/10
Author: e_man_7-66-977435 from United Kingdom
9 March 2012

Its detractors mostly fault it for what it's not- it's not your typical doctor-drama and it's not trying to portray a real-life surgeon.

If you judge the show on what it is trying to do- provide 40 minutes of heart-warming entertainment, then I think Rachel Bilson's nice-chick schtick and Lemon's bullying friendship along with great support from the rest of the cast, provides a nice alternative to practically every other TV programme out there.

I love that Hart of Dixie lets you take it with a pinch of salt. I like watching a medically oriented programme that doesn't recycle those ER clichés that every such show from Third Watch to Grey's Anatomy has to hobble through for the plot. 'Get the paddles! clear!', 'he's gone into v-tach', tacky-cardia. I mean gimme a break. I'm sorry but the fake blood, fake body parts, fake killing and murdering all have their place but if a show wants a lighter take on living, outside of Vegas, Miami and LA with fewer guns, more food, flirting, and dating and then what's not to like? I wish them many happy returns.

Hart of Dixie definitely deserves a second and third season as far as I'm concerned. I think the show has plenty of material to explore with relationships, farce & fancy and the fish out of water element. I really hope it gets renewed.

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

Good entertainment Value

8/10
Author: anna_soeuriste from France
29 October 2011

Let's get this out of the way: it's not a heavy drama, it's not realistic, it's a bit clichéd. But as a weekly viewing experience: it's lighthearted, fun, charming, entertaining and it works without having to try so hard.

Some characters might annoy some viewers (the southern belle character is pushed to its limits, Rachel Bilson as dizzy surgeon who has to spend 1 year as a general doctor in the middle of nowhere might work as a dizzy new yorker but not totally convince as a surgeon), but I think that the overall charm of the show makes it easy to look past this and enjoy oneself.

People should give this show a shot and see for themselves if they enjoy it or not.

Was the above review useful to you?

54 out of 77 people found the following review useful:

gilmore girls alternative

10/10
Author: surendra bobba from India
26 September 2011

I started this series mostly due to my liking of Rachel Bilson. I liked her acting in "The O.C". So I started without any expectations but found it interesting.During the starting scenes it reminded me of StarsHollow in Gilmore Girls.

After watching the first episode I can say that I found an alternative to one of my favourite shows.Without witty dialogues and cultural references(God! I miss those) it reminds me very much of Gilmore Girls."Blue Bells" is very similar town to Starshollow with it's own perks.The acting is good, I hope it will turn okay.

It is recommended to all the GG fans.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Sweet and charming show!!!

8/10
Author: gribba from ...
1 February 2012

I did not have any expectations or hopes for the show and to my surprise I was entertained and actually found the show charming. Some of the people in the story are very exaggerated and cliché like but in some strange way it is part of the charm.

I did not find the main character Zoe Hart very believable as a doctor but that really did not bother me as I found that the personal development of all the characters was more important and relevant to the story and that is part of the charm.

In the first 2-3 episodes, two characters (Wade and Lemon) stood out to me as very irritating until the story develops. Along the way the story starts to unwrap their past, the life they have been colored by and shows what character they really hold but also allows one to understand their behavior. As the story continues those two have slowly become my favorite and I just want to give them a hug, they deserve something good to find it's way to them.

This way of telling the story is central and easy as it grabs hold of once affection for those characters that live in this town and they grow on you. The town has this (Gilmore Girls) Stars Hollow feel to it with all its fun and strange traditions that without a doubt gives the show part of the charm

The acting varies very much depending on the actor but again it does not stands out as much as one might think. The stories are often very sweet and reveal the personalized twist of life.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Loved it!

10/10
Author: biggestd7 from Australia
7 January 2012

I have to say, I watched the pilot episode for the first time last night and I LOVED IT!!!!!! I thought is was an awesome show and I think that it has set up so many avenues for varying parts of the show. I can't wait to see more and I really hope there are more series of this, I am already addicted to it! I don't understand how someone could not enjoy this show personally. I think that Zoe has been set up for some great learning experiences. I can understand that there are some clichés within the show, but come on! which show doesn't have clichés in it these days? It is a television show and people who want to take it too seriously should go watch a documentary instead. I think that the clichés add to the show myself. I cannot wait to watch the next episode and hope that it comes out on DVD so I can buy it as well.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Regional importance

10/10
Author: fkinsman from California
3 November 2011

Good entertainment! I look forward to heading South once a week, where so many of my friends reside. The characters are delightful, the scenery lovely, and the small town values and foundations a good reminder to this Westerner. Southern charm with just the right amount of tension and complications of real life. A lot of people have collaborated well to make this a cohesive series. The actors are well-cast; believable. I'd enjoy seeing some 60-70 year old people in the cast, portrayed with more diversity, as the younger actors are. So far, dithering, alcoholic and dead are the characterizations in this demographic-my age bracket. We're far more than that! Perhaps in the seasons to follow I'll see this enrichment added. It's my hope that this series will not only continue, but that the writers will develop and deepen the essential premise of this terrific program. I believe that any television show that can open our nations' viewers to a wider portrayal of another region is valuable. References and responses to real events, such as Katrina, on this program, help unify us, by portraying our similarities country-wide. Hart of Dixie is already able to show our differences with humor and poignancy. Keep up the good work, and stay on the air. I look forward to continuing to follow this series.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Best t.v. since Northern Exposure

9/10
Author: zombievato from United States
30 January 2012

Simply put, absolutely charming. If you're not entertained, you may just have a heart of stone. Possibly the best thing on t.v. since Northern Exposure. This is the first I've seen of Rachel Bilson so I can't compare it to the other shows mentioned in other reviews. She admirably carries the heavy load, with tons of absolutely flawless supporting players. The simmering animosity between her and the quintessential Southern Belle, Lemon, is priceless. Jaime King as Lemon Breeland is absolute Southern perfection. She is the embodiment of Southern charm. Tough as nails, wickedly condescending, at times just plain mean. Then tragically vulnerable. You just want to hug the stuffing out of her!

Darn near flawless,I can't think of how to improve the show. Perhaps some gratuitous swimsuit scenes at the local swimming hole? Maybe have Doc Hart partake in some gator hunting? Maybe a zombie crossover with the Walking Dead!?

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Pleasant and watchable

8/10
Author: phd_travel from United States
1 February 2012

It's nice to have a pleasant hour long comedy with light romance on TV where no one is really evil. There are too many crime shows. Josh Schwarz delivers tongue in cheek humor and a good likable cast. It's a Dr Quinn meets Sweet Home Alabama story and it's quite charming. Zoe moves from NYC to Bluebell Alabama to practice medicine. The culture differences do provide enough laughs.

Rachel Bilson is Rachel Bilson just like Audrey Hepburn was always Audrey Hepburn. She may not be that convincing as a doctor but who cares - she is likable and manages to carry a series. The series relies on the other cast members equally. Jaimie King is pretty and acts well as the high strung Southern Belle Lemon. The male leads Scott Porter and Wilson Bethel aren't that good looking but suit their roles and are convincing actors.

Overall pleasant and watchable - I'll keep watching and hope it lasts.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Bluebell is the new Starshollow

9/10
Author: mean-girl-3 from Slovakia
15 May 2012

What do I expect from this kind of series? - That I come home after a long day and be able to relax, enjoy sometimes maybe a bit cliché story and laugh at the occasional jokes. Do I need a unique story that has never been told before and a superb acting from the protagonists? No. With that being said, Hart of Dixie is THE series for a rainy day. While for someone mediocre, it is better than the majority of soap operas currently on air. I enjoy the distinctive town of Bluebell very much, reminds me so much of Gilmore Girls' Starshollow! The setting has a rather specific atmosphere, feels like living in the 1950s sometimes. Plus, I have always been a fan of underdogs like Wade. Definitely worth giving a try.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Love how the show and characters are evolving

10/10
Author: S-burris from United States
13 December 2012

I love this show! All the characters are trying to find their way in life and often make mistakes due to their insecurities or conceptions of what they are supposed to be (Lemon tries to be the perfect southern belle, Zoe tries to live up to what she thinks her parents want her to be ). I love seeing the variety of ages going through life issues such as seeing Zoe finally realizes that her mom really did try to do what she thought was best for her but has errors in judgment. The scenes between Zoe and her father Ethan hart show his concern for her and insecurities about his place as her father . I love how Wade is always concerned about Zoe but is totally immature and can't admit he loves her. He works to keep up his front that he doesn't care because he is insecure about how people see him as second rate. It is fun and charming. Rachel Bilson is a great Zoe! She is funny and sensitive and a good person..and has her flaws it is ..refreshing. The heat wave episode was hilarious. The dynamic between wade and Zoe makes the show. I am tired of everyone blaming Zoe for ruining this and that..that is getting old. I hope the new shows in 2013 continue to evolve the richness of the characters along with the the humor and southern charm! I'd love to see more of AnnaBeth and see Wade realize his potential.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history