IMDb > William & Kate (2011) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
William & Kate
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
William & Kate (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 30 reviews in total 

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

a semiaccurate take on how the royal wedding came to be

1/10
Author: Maura O'Flaherty from Northern Scotland
23 April 2011

The only good thing about this movie is Ben Cross as Prince Charles. The dialogue is terrible, most of the acting mediocre, and the plot full of overused Lifetime clichés. If you know going in that it's going to be awful, it's not as bad. At least you can laugh at the stupidity of it all. My personal favorite part (other than Ben Cross as Prince Charles) was when Prince William says that if the media catches wind of their relationship, the media will go crazy with stories and pictures and they'll never be left alone. This is ridiculously amusing because this terrible movie is just one more way the media is refusing to leave these people alone.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Shallow, mindless, like stale marshmallows

1/10
Author: malaidoskop
27 April 2011

Mindnumbingly dumb dialogues, a cast that looks like fresh from a porn set, this movie is full of unintentional jokes.

When I first saw the trailer, I really thought it was a Funny or Die parody of the royal wedding.

I loved it, but for all the wrong reasons. The whole movie seems to have been created in a rush to cash in on the wedding hysteria and its a good example for really bad dialogues, clumsy schoolplay level acting and a totally ridiculous script full of prejudices against Britons. It's hilarious!

So if you want to cringe, you'll enjoy this movie. But don't bring any Kleenexes, you won't need them.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Lol that was the funniest film...

8/10
Author: jazzwoolf from United Kingdom
27 April 2011

Believe ever negative view out there! As this film is as trashy as they come. With possibly the worst acting and script ever shown, as well as the prize for the most cringe worthy romcom ever presented before me. However this utter rubbish left me crying by the end with the obvious inaccuracies and the appalling casting giving many laughs. If you are the sort of person who can not laugh at the obvious pitfalls of a film then steer well clear as this will not be for you. However hard they try there is no person Alive who could take this seriously, and as my sister constantly reminded me how there could be nothing worse for the Real couple.

All I want to say is that watching this film 2 days before the big event has really warmed me up and I can now say that I will be happily be watching the highlights with a smile upon my face. Back to the film I would honestly give it 0/Infinity for the appallingness of this film. However the laughs at it's expense definitely made it worthwhile watching.

A good laugh :P but maybe not for you.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Pretty poor and unnecessary

3/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
28 April 2011

Now I understand that William and Kate was made in haste, that actually didn't bother me. And I don't mind romantic comedies, though I am also not a fan of the genre either, and I wasn't expecting a history lesson either while watching William and Kate.

But- I am really sorry, I didn't see the point of this movie. Now I will say I did like the glossy sheen to the film's look and I loved the locations. And while I thought little of the acting, two actors did at least try. One was Nico Evers-Swindell, while not looking much like William he does try very hard acting-wise and it shows. The other is Ben Cross as Prince Charles, it is not a great performance by all means, but he does take a fair stab at the accent and mannerisms.

But the other acting is pretty dire. Camilla Luddington fits the bill better than Evers-Swindell looks-wise does but the good things end there. Her acting is very forced and she has a very inconsistent accent. The pace is a let down as well, some of it is rushed(I blame the direction mostly in regards to this) not helped by a running-time that is too short, and some scenes move very pedantically and slowly contributing to the dullness of the romantic aspect to this film.

The story is structured poorly. It didn't bother me that the film was highly inaccurate and fictionalised. What actually did bother me was that a lot of it is uninteresting and dull and filled with clichés- not just in the story elements and characters but also in the tag line!- that have been used to death. In fact, the whole is largely reminiscent of a badly done soap opera. Also neither the comedy or romantic(which the film emphasises more of) aspects here work. The comedy is cheesy and contrived and the romance is unconvincing further disadvantaged by the lack of genuine chemistry between the two leads.

Where William and Kate really fails is in the direction and screenplay. The direction is awful, the overall impression I got of the direction here was that it was soulless and sluggish, and as for some of the camera angles they were very rushed in look and oddly placed and focused. The screenplay if humanly possible was even worse. A vast majority of the dialogue was excruciatingly embarrassing, rather than being amused or touched I found myself grimacing or making WTF? faces. And did I mention that there is a complete lack of likability or sympathy for the characters? All in all, poor and unnecessary with only the glossy look and two decent actors salvaging it from being a complete stinker. 3/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

It's hilarious that this movie exists

2/10
Author: fincherian from United States
28 April 2011

It's hard to rate this movie, because it's an absolute blast in how pointless it is, how low budget, how plot less, and really, what a cash in it is. The cynicism of Lifetime and the people who made this (really, those who paid to make it-I understand the desperation of filmmakers and actors to get work and take parts like this) should amaze me, but it doesn't.

This movie has no point of view. It's nothing. It looks like a commercial. It's so inoffensively bad, which is the worst kind of bad movie. I would have rated this a 10 if it played up every British stereotype we have, from chimney sweeps, Mary Poppins, Oliver Twist, and really snoody Brits who say things like, "Master William, please!"

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Pure tosh

2/10
Author: tomgillespie2002 from United Kingdom
26 August 2012

It really serves me right that I had to watch this film. When the Royal Wedding raped every possible human sense in my body a year ago, some news reports showed clips of this laughable made-for-TV movie shown to American audiences, much to many a news-casters amusement. It seemed ironic since the rest of their news report was covering this sham, mock- fairytale wedding that seemed to have the plebs and Royalists alike masturbating in the street at the sight of a rich-boy who happened to be our future King taking mere upper-class Katie Middleton up the aisle (that isn't a euphemism by the way). I laughed and got hold of the film thinking it was so bad I had to see it. But when the Wedding euphoria died down, it lingered in my mind that it was still skulking amongst my film collection, and since I've started choosing my films at random, I've wondered when this might crop up. Well, early in the week, my fears became a reality.

The story obviously follows young Prince William (Nico Evers-Swindell) as he packs his bags and heads to St. Andrews to study, saying goodbye to his father Prince Charles (an embarrassed looking Ben Cross). He is swarmed by girls and hangers-on, and eventually befriends Ian (Jonathan Patrick Moore), and Kate Middleton (Camilla Luddington) who he in a class with. Their romance takes off, as the film switches from William's desire to keep their relationship private, to the eventual media frenzy after the announcement. Kate struggles with constant paparazzi attention, and William's commitment to his 'royal life' becomes a problem.

I feel almost bad tearing this film apart, as its clearly under no illusions of being anything by complete bull-s**t. But bull-s**t it is - a laughable, Americanised production that romanticises every possible aspect of the story which is surely an indication of how American's view the British (namely the English). The awful (mainly American) actors struggle with a methodical, cliché-ridden script which squeezes every formulaic aspect out of the genre (they even have a kiss in the rain). It's especially important to point out how laughable the fact is that the film highlights the intrusion the mass media have on their lives, when they just want a 'normal' life, when this film is precisely that. It is, however, quite funny, unintentionally I may add, with many cringe-worthy moments of pure awfulness, especially the scene where William watches Kate in a fashion show ("she's hot!"). Pure tosh.

www.the-wrath-of-blog.blogspot.com

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

definition of cringe, never trust a film with "The Movie" after the title

1/10
Author: Maz Murdoch (asda-man) from United Kingdom
26 April 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I really can not believe that the makers of this "film" believed that it was good and could do well! This is the direct opposite of flawless (not the dance troop) because I really can't think of a thing that redeemed it, apart from it being so cringingly awful it became sort of entertaining :S, but not so entertaining that it deserved any more than 1 star because I would never, ever ever ever etc. Watch this again! Let's begin (I don't know where to begin!) with the horrendous acting. The person who played Kate looked a little bit like her, but she couldn't act for a toffee apple and the makers even decided to give her a weird American accent. Why? When she spoke some words it was suddenly a strong English accent but on the next it became strong American! It sounded like she was bloody south African! But lets not just dwell on the poor girl because she was not the only one who couldn't act. It was only the rest of the cast that couldn't act either (even the bloody extras). William didn't look like William, couldn't act but at least he didn't have a yanky accent. Basically my point is. NO ONE COULD ACT FOR A SNIBSTON PENCIL! The directing was atrocious as well, with half the heads being missed in some shots, it even wobbled sometimes when it looked like it wanted to be a static shot! It looked rushed and why was this? Because it was rushed. This was more reminiscent of a soap than a romcom (AND IT'S NOT EVEN MEANT TO BE AN ARSEING ROMCOM!!) Which brings me onto my next huge problem. The screenplay. Whoever wrote this should have their hands sliced off so they can never write again! (of course I'm exaggerating, you can keep your hands just try and write a little better next time). You have to see it to believe it. "I thought we were studying", "I'm studying you". CRINGE!! Some scenes made me feel incredibly uncomfortable because of either the acting or the writing (I couldn't tell) even a chick flick wouldn't be this bad.

So basically they've turned a "royal love story" into a teen angst movie, with more clichés than I cared to count, with Kate and William constantly falling out over minor things but making up over a sing song, aww. Really unrealistic moments with Prince Big Ears inviting William's friends for tea and eating with him! Oh and let's not forget Kate swimming over to William and getting out all dripping wet and snogging his face off. That could really happen couldn't it?

But if you fancy a laugh you're in the right place, let's face it I only watched it to see how bad it was going to be.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Funniest film I've seen - intentionally or otherwise

10/10
Author: charliemorrison from United Kingdom
3 June 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When I sat down to watch this I was expecting something truly execrable that would just irritate me, whilst at very best providing occasional cheap chuckles. Instead I found myself weeping with laughter from start to finish, and admittedly a couple of bottles of champers down the line, watched it again a few hours later.

If you are looking for an accurate film about William and Kate, you'll be sorely disappointed (unless you're very dim, in which case I suppose you might take it all as fact). Similarly if you want an intelligently-crafted romantic story, you'd find more of that watching Universal Soldier. However if you want to enjoy one of the daftest, most mystifyingly slap-dash, and yet somehow rather sweet and engaging films, this is just the ticket.

The acting veers towards the embarrassing (Kate, she of the fluctuating accent) and on to the eye-gougingly awful (Margaret, her bitchy rival for Will's affections), but most of the cast are probably more at the mercy of the script than their own lack of talent. Will is almost certainly nothing like the Prince in real life, but is a lovable if rather thick hero. Prince Charles is played quite capably, and special mention must go to some American chap called Richard Reid, who plays Derek, a fictitious Old Etonian pal of Will's, quite superbly - so perfect a depiction of a nonchalant, public-school layabout, that I actually thought I might know him! My only real complaint is Prince Harry, whose real-life personality should have been a gift to this film, but instead gets only 2 minutes on-screen, probably because the actor looks like a sickly little weed, and can barely mumble out his lines in some vile American drawl.

So there is just enough conventional merit that you can watch 10 minutes without wanting to put your foot through the telly and send Clarence House the bill. Now comes the fun part...

The catalogue of shockingly observed scenes and lines in this film has to be seen to be believed, but as I said before, they don't make you wince or feel frustrated, they're just bloody funny. From the shots of Oxford as a news-reader announces Will's decision to attend St Andrews to cringe-making, laddy student dialogue, from the unusually pathetic-looking shoot at Highgrove to the scenes as our favourite twosome finally get it on, it is an absolute hoot. A few silly giggles would not be enough, but there is this air of absolute daftness pervading every scene, which glues it all together. The characters are somehow likable despite the awfulness, even when it is Kate spouting drivel about the environment, or Charles, with Gandalf-like gravitas, proclaiming "So it begins!" while the couple first snog in front of the press. The plot just about holds together (you'd hope it would, being based on a true story), and yet there are moments of quite dumb-founding nonsense: Kate and her mother bemoaning the intrusion of the paparazzi while simultaneously discussing Kate and Will's relationship in front of said journalists; as for the will-they-won't-they bit near the end, words fail me. However, these are not complaints - this is comic gold, and if you're of a silly disposition as I am, you will be on the floor in hysterics for every idiotic, cliché-ridden minute of it. More than that, you will find yourself cheering them on at the end, even if you feel slightly sullied by the whole thing.

What I just cannot determine is what was and wasn't intended. I assume that it is just a beautiful accident that it is such a perfect blend of amusingly dire and yet quite sweet, but at times I almost wonder whether the bad bits are so bad that they were intended, the brilliant product of an in-joke between the writers and directors. This view would be hard to substantiate, but for my brother's observation that someone had bothered to make a sign for a nightclub in the film, reading "Boulanji" - an elision of Chelsea hot-spots Boujis and the erstwhile Mamilanji - perhaps a singular flash of wit, or perhaps the one clue that the rest is all one big joke as well.

Whatever the case, you'll have a lot of fun finding out for yourselves.

Good God, why on earth did I bother writing that.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Cheesy, VERY Cheesy

Author: Sub_Captain from Deep Blue Sea
3 May 2011

OMG I don't think I have seen a movie this cheesy before. Hallmark lives up to its name I supposed... From the young actors and actresses, romantic music, warm picture color, classy cottage and cheesy dialogs, this movie have it all.

It is weird to watch a movie about something you have already known, it is kinda like I know how it's going to end before I started watching it. As the end of the movie said: "This movie is INSPIRED by an actual event". This movie fulfill some of our (public) imagination about Will and Kate's love story, but perhaps more on the fantasy side of our imagination rather than what had actually happen.

Anyway I rate this movie 7 out of 10. It is a great movie if the guys are in the mood for a bit of laugh, or perhaps for teenage girls filling their mind with Prince Charming fantasy, or perhaps a bedtime movie for couples. Either way it's not too bad of a movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

A Royal Movie

6/10
Author: adriangr from United Kingdom
25 April 2011

As expected, this movie received a lot of bashing and ridicule in the UK because it is an American made biopic about the Royal Family. After watching it out of curiosity, I felt like writing a review because it really wasn't that bad. Based very loosely on the events that led up to the engagement of Willam and Kate, the film suffers slightly by showing a pretty unremarkable series of events that culminate in the blossoming of a romance. The film makers must have been frustrated by the fact that nothing really newsworthy has happened in this story so far...maybe they should have waited a bit longer! The fun for me of course was spotting how much of this looks nothing like it was made in the UK. Stock footage of Big Ben and red buses is interspersed with the cast being shown in wide city avenues that look nothing like London, and buildings that look little like the architecture we have here. The actors sport British accents which hold up fairly well, but occasionally slip, but for the most part the cast manages OK. The two central leads perform pretty well.

The movie is filmed in a glossy style that resembles an episode of "Gossip Girl", ie lots of swanking about in streets and colleges, and scenes set in exotic nightclubs and restaurants. It doesn't always convince, some of the special effects show that a lot of CGI backgrounds have been added outside of windows (and very obviously in that final "African sunset" scene!). But I suspect the film was made in a hurry, so for this reason, most of it looks pretty good. It just doesn't look much like England! But I do think the amount of scorn dished out here in the UK is unfair. Just because another country tries to make a semi-fictional representation of events that go on here does not give us the right to ridicule every part of it that they get wrong. And I'll admit that in the above paragraph, I have had some fun in doing just that. But I am not condemning the whole film as a failure just because it was made in another country and because I can spot geographical errors.

Whats interesting (and has possibly upset some UK viewers) is the use of sensitive facts for dramatic purposes. At one point William turns to his father (Prince Charles) and angrily barks "Did you ever really love my mother? If you loved Camilla, why didn't you just marry her?" It's juicy fodder for drama, and harmless in this context, but likely to make a few viewers prickle a bit.

So, I've had a bit of a laugh, but I didn't think it was that ridiculous. The film will probably disappear after the fuss of the wedding is over, but I am sure it entertained a lot of US viewers who enjoy all things royal. The main fault is that nothing really interesting has happened in this story so far, therefore there is very little plot! Put simply, and it would probably be almost impossible for one nation to make a realistic film about events set in another country, without that country being able to find fault with it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history