IMDb > "Grimm" (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Grimm"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Grimm" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 14:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 135 reviews in total 

69 out of 109 people found the following review useful:

Great show

10/10
Author: jtamezf from Narnia
28 November 2011

I really don't understand the 7.5??? Why is it bad? This show is gutsy.....not many shows deal with, or show the kind of things this show does...I watched it in Sweden,(where I live...yeahhhh)all four episodes, and didn't realize until the 2nd episode that it was run on NBC.I really thought it was a cable produced show.......not only does it deliver sweet looking co-ed dismemberment after attacking werewolf basically eats her to death,but also shows pedophiliac monsters,action and arm ripping jokes....I mean yeah, sure, somethings are off..... this city is crawling with blödbaden seemingly running wild,yet every single case is assigned to the same detective(are there any more detectives?and why is that specific Chinese cop always fetching what they need?I'm guessing they're his superior but he dresses like the rest of the cops.....,and the model looking vet girlfriend who makes me wonder if the next episode is the one where she dumps him.....other than that........ It's funny,scary,creepy,interesting,and not very politically correct,which is great....I don't know maybe I'm exaggerating ,but I can't wait to see what new Blödbaden they come up with...cool show...even more so after a smoke....

Was the above review useful to you?

69 out of 112 people found the following review useful:

"...If you like shows that have the main character chasing after monsters that were written about in old folklore just to save someone they don't even know..." Give it a shot!

10/10
Author: (loving.the.music@live.com) from United States
28 October 2011

I'm not the best at giving reviews, I am only sixteen, so bare with me. I found the pilot interesting, to say the least. It did a wonderful job at introducing the main characters and the main gist to how every episode will go. I think this idea the creators came up with has a lot of potential. I enjoyed watching this and hope it will be continued on for more than just that, a pilot. I can seriously picture myself sitting down every night to watch this. I have yet to find a series that I can follow with for more than a few episodes, and I do believe I can sit down and watch this through out the entire series. I'd definitely give it a shot it I were you; depending on if you like shows that have the main character chasing after monsters that were written about in old folklore just to save someone they don't even know. I can't wait for more episodes. Definitely worth ten stars!

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Good show

9/10
Author: dwust from United States
15 September 2012

Grimm is a really good show where you basically learn that Grimm's fairy tales was not really fairy tales after all. Nick, the main character, is coming to terms with this whole new world and the fact that he is a Grimm. I like that this is the type of show that you can watch with friends, kids, and even your grandmother because it's good for all audiences. I love supernatural type shows and this is a really good one. The only real complaint that I have about the show is the acting, mostly, Juliette's acting. She is just not a real character that you learn to grow and love like most shows typically do. When things happen to her it's pretty much just like whatever, he's better off because her acting or lack there of can get pretty annoying. Anyway, really good show and do recommend.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 76 people found the following review useful:

Detective Harry Potter the Vampire Slayer. Sigh.

1/10
Author: kershmey_baker from Canada
7 September 2012

I seriously fail to understand how this show manages to appeal to anyone. The plot is a mind-numbing mish-mash of other successes, using the painfully ever-present 'cop show' format, but squeezing in a Buffy- style fantasy element and a Harry Potter-style lead. The main character is your average way-too-young-and-pretty TV Detective, living a seemingly normal life, until his sickly aunt shows up and informs him he's inherited the role of a Monster-Slayer (cough-Buffy-Cough) and that his parents, who he thought died in a car-crash, were actually killed by 'Him', a mysterious figure who's also now hunting the main character down. (cough-harrypotter-cough)

Every episode begins with a loose quote from a fairy-tale that has vague connections to the episode itself, but more than anything this is a Cop show; an entirely standard (if not sub-standard) CSI style program only with the fictional forensic science CSI employs every episode replaced with junk mythology/fantasy elements. All the various 'criminals' introduced episode from episode are monster-people of some sort, more often than not animal hybrids, I.E Wolf-people, snake-people, beaver-people, etc... with the occasional ogre-person or dragon-person. Every episode one of these monster-folk commits a wacky murder of some sort, and our young monster hunter/detective seeks to solve the crime and resolve monster-person issues as peacefully as possible. Not all these monster-folk are bad, but all bad people in the world seem to be monster-folk in this universe. Even Hitler was just a wolf-man.

Of course, no one but our hero can actually see or identify these monster-folk (who are each portrayed by brief glimpses of bad and terribly repetitive CG face-effects), and not wanting to seem crazy he keeps it a secret from his thoroughly unlikable girlfriend and his ridiculously thick-headed partner. Wacky crime after wacky crime is committed by these monster folk in our detectives area, and his partner is ludicrously oblivious too/accepting of the 'supernatural' elements of these crimes, never bothering to ask what happened to normal police- work, which seems to no longer exist in the area.

This is a bad show. The lead is bad, his complimenting cast is bad, the one likable character, a wolf-man the lead befriends, is a decent actor but badly written. The story is vapid and doesn't know where its going, and the world the characters are living in is entirely unbelievable. I watched almost every episode of the first season, and entirely regret the time wasted. Stay away from this one, unless CSI Miami is your idea of excellent television.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Waiting for my gals Snow White and Goldilocks to make anappearance!

Author: Andrew Biz from Right Here
30 October 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

—– 'Grimm' shares the same premise as 'Once' – fairy tales are not just fantasies your learn as a child but real stories about a supernatural world blended into our own.

'Grimm,' is the darker and more dramatic of the two, while 'Once' plays on the twisted Disney take on the stories. The show's hero is Oregon homicide detective Nick Burkhardt (David Giuntoli) who is new to the force and fears he could be suffering from a mental breakdown. Nick starts to see creepy hallucinations of random people whose faces morph into demons, goblins, wolves and worse. At least I think they were some sort of demon.

Nick's aunt (Kate Burton), whom he loves like a mother, arrives for what seems like a normal visit. Instead, she's come to tell him he's about to inherit the family curse. The good news is that Nick isn't crazy; the bad news is now he has the ability to see evil in true form.

Nick is a descendant of the Grimms, who are demon slayers fated to battle with werewolves, demons and witches, oh my! Now it makes sense why the producers of 'Buffy' and 'Angel' would get involved with a show like this. So far, the choreographed fights and demon make-up are reminiscent of 'Buffy.' Nick's aunt ends up in the hospital after battling a demon, who tries to kill her and Nick with a scythe bearing the inscription 'Reapers of the Grimms.' "We have the ability to see what no one else can," Nick's aunt says. "When they lose control they can't hide, and we see them for what they really are." The nurse in the hospital later says to Nick, "What kind of work was your aunt in? She has knife scars all over her body." Nick's response, "She's a librarian." Well, time to wake up Nick and face the demons of the world! (Also sounds similar to Buffy?) Nick pairs up with reformed Blutbad (in our words, a wolf) named Monroe (Silas Weir Mitchell, the best character in the pilot) and the two venture off to find the bad guy of the moment.

Russell Hornsby is cast as Nick's partner Hank, who hasn't been given much to do yet save some slight comic relief. Bitsie Tulloch plays his soon to be fiancée Juliette, who hopefully will be given more than just staring out the window looking worried.

Grimm's first episode played with the tale of 'Red Riding Hood' and had certain scenes that made you cringe and gasp. As the show progresses, I hope we see more underlying Grimm tales like 'Goldilocks,' 'Hansel and Gretel' and 'Snow White' come out to play.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

something addictive about this. (spoilers)

7/10
Author: audrey-sondheimer
30 October 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this show out of pure boredom with nothing else to do. But I ended up enjoying it. The first 20 minutes were quite boring. spoilers: It didn't even get interesting until the cop and the wolf first went to the mans house. but after that is what drew me in. Too be honest I am not quite sure of what to make of the show just yet, but I am hoping something amazing does come of it. It has some weird seductiveness about it, that makes you think: whats a grimm, what type of show will this be, what the hell happened in the end of the first episode. I will definitely keep watching just to see what will happen later in the season. The main problem they have is the dull boring moments, I just wish they would explain more what kind of show this is going to be. Is it going to be a cop show, with criminals and solving crimes every episode, or understanding this guys special power and into his world of "magic".

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Juliette ruined it for me.

1/10
Author: kuashie from Ghana
2 July 2014

Where should I even begin, Juliettes character was so annoying that I quit watching it mid season 2. She adds nothing to plot and is only in movie to serve as a love interests. She is stubborn, acts like a know it all but knows nothing. She asks for explanation and when an effort is made to provide her with one, she starts acting all knowing. I mean what does she expect. The one playing her role even makes it worse with her bad acting and bad voice. Oh God if that is her character in real life, I would stay away from her, because she is boring and annoying.

I do not know who wrote her character or casted her, but that person did a very bad job.

Summery, Grimm without Julliete is 7/10. Grimm with Juliete is 0/10. When she appeared less in an episode, we had a very interesting series. But when she appeared more, the series was boring and annoying.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Supernatural cop romp that is not at all Grimm

8/10
Author: Rob_Taylor
6 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I really don't know whether to love or hate this show. It is smack bang in the middle of no-man's land as far as I am concerned.

In fact, the only thing that keeps me watching week after week is the comedy side-kick werewolf played by Silas David Weir. But even his character is rather hit and miss.

And that's the problem. I prefer watching the show for the antics of a supporting character. The supposed main character is rather bland and two-dimensional.

Overall its Cops meets Buffy with neither the campiness of the latter or the Grimmness (yeah, I know, I couldn't resist!) of the former.

It's just... meh! Either play it entirely for laughs, or make it much more serious because, as it stands, it's too middle-of-the-road to make much of an impact.

EDIT (SEASON 2): Well, it's grown on me! I'm still watching it and I'm pleased to see they did something interesting with Nick's wife. Her character was dull in the first season. Nice to see they switched it up a little. I've even upped my rating by two stars! I must be getting soft in my old age...

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Another wasted opportunity!

4/10
Author: cherocha from Australia
29 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Gave it a chance with three episodes, found myself wishing I hadn't bothered.

Uninteresting characters that you have no reason to care about, clichéd dialogue, and fairly lame CGI by today's standards. Nothing about the show appeals or grabs your attention. The protagonist is two-dimensional and boring, there's no reason to care about him, or any other characters for that matter.

I think it was the first episode, and he's engaging the help of some sort of reformed but still clearly unstable werewolf guy, who casually remarks to a police officer that he "hasn't killed in years", but also explains how the Grimms are basically mortal enemies of his family and kin. Then the next episode he has this werewolf guarding his dying grandmother? And we're supposed to buy this assault on our intelligence, suspend disbelief, and throw all logic out the window for the sake of some cheap, shock-tactic scares? No. Just no. With the quality of so many other great shows out there - hell even True Blood with it's hammy and over the top lore and plot lines - I can't see any reason to invest any more time in the dish of utter mediocrity that is this show.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Stylish balance of humor, horror, and imagination

8/10
Author: CharWoman from Virginia
10 December 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

***Possible very minor spoilers herein***

Six episodes in now, Grimm seems to have really found its stride. It was a little awkward now and then in the first couple of episodes only while it was busy establishing the premise, but the writing is solid, the recurring characters are enjoyable in their own right, and the main theme--a born "monster-hunter" hearing his calling in a world recently revealed to be full of said monsters--has deftly avoided the obvious and played Good™ v. Evil™ model and instead been imagined as a much more organic and nuanced ecosystem in which the conflicts are not always as they first seem and the Grimm himself is arguably in the same category as the supernatural species he so often pursues for their crimes.

Nick is introduced as a police officer who has learned that he's among the last of a long line of Grimms, and the imminent death of his nearest relative has caused his Grimmyness to manifest mainly as the ability to recognize the not-quite-humans around him--but only when they lose their cool for a moment and display their supernatural streaks, something ordinary humans can't see. (Creepily, some of them seem to never lose control, so Nick doesn't always know what he's dealing with.) This and the ancestral knowledge conveyed to him (centuries of family research, a collection of specialized weaponry, and insider help from a reformed Blutbad) seem to be the sum of Nick's Grimm-gifts, although perhaps a natural combat instinct and desire for justice also form part of the genetic package. He's a natural cop and a tough customer, but he's also not invincible, which I appreciate. Despite the extensive documentation and conventional knowledge about the various supernatural creatures in this ecology, we realize there's still plenty to learn and, even better, that choice has a much bigger part to play than it might if worse writers were on the case. The premise lends itself to analogies of dealing with the hand we're dealt and either struggling to make the best of ourselves without losing who we are or indulging ourselves in the worst of our natures. We also have themes of how to survive and even thrive in a world we might not be perfectly suited for but on which we depend, if we are to enjoy the benefits of civilization. Suffice to say each episode might make you think, although it goes down like candy, not broccoli.

The Pacific NW location is well-chosen and beautifully shot and set up, with joy in the use of color and occasional winks to fairy tale imagery without being picturesque. It's easy enough to follow but they don't spell everything out in big grade-school letters, so there's the stimulation of piecing some things together for yourself. Each episode incorporates thoughtful homages to the stories of old but invents something new and interesting in each one, with many great Eek! moments included and reasonable though not excessive amounts of blood and gore. The fantasy is grounded on an underpinning of plausible weekly crime procedurals. And it's sophisticated and often sexy without being an excuse for soft porn. Nothing seems gratuitous. All, so far, has been in excellent balance.

Skillful casting--the acting has been uniformly good and the choices for both recurring and guest roles have been pleasing. The guest actors are well-used and often include some of my favorites (Patrick Fischler, Tim Bagley). Although Nick's character could be drawn a little more thoroughly, he works well as a sort of glass through which we see his world and we feel like we're discovering it along with him. Nick and his partner Hank have good cop chemistry, and the plots seem to work even though Hank is not yet in on the secret. Monroe (although created perhaps for convenience's sake) has been the most fun of all. Nick's fiancé Juliette is not quite fleshed out yet but I suspect the writers have special plans for her as the story continues to unfold at its pleasingly natural pace. The dialogue is smooth and funny without being too 'clever' or overly defusing the darker goings-on.

If you liked the X-Files, you might enjoy Grimm. It's worth checking out, and I hope they let it continue on the path it has found and not turn it into something suitable for being made into a video game.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 14:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history