IMDb > "Grimm" (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Grimm"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Grimm" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 16:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 153 reviews in total 

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Supernatural cop romp that is not at all Grimm

8/10
Author: Rob_Taylor
6 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I really don't know whether to love or hate this show. It is smack bang in the middle of no-man's land as far as I am concerned.

In fact, the only thing that keeps me watching week after week is the comedy side-kick werewolf played by Silas David Weir. But even his character is rather hit and miss.

And that's the problem. I prefer watching the show for the antics of a supporting character. The supposed main character is rather bland and two-dimensional.

Overall its Cops meets Buffy with neither the campiness of the latter or the Grimmness (yeah, I know, I couldn't resist!) of the former.

It's just... meh! Either play it entirely for laughs, or make it much more serious because, as it stands, it's too middle-of-the-road to make much of an impact.

EDIT (SEASON 2): Well, it's grown on me! I'm still watching it and I'm pleased to see they did something interesting with Nick's wife. Her character was dull in the first season. Nice to see they switched it up a little. I've even upped my rating by two stars! I must be getting soft in my old age...

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Stylish balance of humor, horror, and imagination

8/10
Author: CharWoman from Virginia
10 December 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

***Possible very minor spoilers herein***

Six episodes in now, Grimm seems to have really found its stride. It was a little awkward now and then in the first couple of episodes only while it was busy establishing the premise, but the writing is solid, the recurring characters are enjoyable in their own right, and the main theme--a born "monster-hunter" hearing his calling in a world recently revealed to be full of said monsters--has deftly avoided the obvious and played Good™ v. Evil™ model and instead been imagined as a much more organic and nuanced ecosystem in which the conflicts are not always as they first seem and the Grimm himself is arguably in the same category as the supernatural species he so often pursues for their crimes.

Nick is introduced as a police officer who has learned that he's among the last of a long line of Grimms, and the imminent death of his nearest relative has caused his Grimmyness to manifest mainly as the ability to recognize the not-quite-humans around him--but only when they lose their cool for a moment and display their supernatural streaks, something ordinary humans can't see. (Creepily, some of them seem to never lose control, so Nick doesn't always know what he's dealing with.) This and the ancestral knowledge conveyed to him (centuries of family research, a collection of specialized weaponry, and insider help from a reformed Blutbad) seem to be the sum of Nick's Grimm-gifts, although perhaps a natural combat instinct and desire for justice also form part of the genetic package. He's a natural cop and a tough customer, but he's also not invincible, which I appreciate. Despite the extensive documentation and conventional knowledge about the various supernatural creatures in this ecology, we realize there's still plenty to learn and, even better, that choice has a much bigger part to play than it might if worse writers were on the case. The premise lends itself to analogies of dealing with the hand we're dealt and either struggling to make the best of ourselves without losing who we are or indulging ourselves in the worst of our natures. We also have themes of how to survive and even thrive in a world we might not be perfectly suited for but on which we depend, if we are to enjoy the benefits of civilization. Suffice to say each episode might make you think, although it goes down like candy, not broccoli.

The Pacific NW location is well-chosen and beautifully shot and set up, with joy in the use of color and occasional winks to fairy tale imagery without being picturesque. It's easy enough to follow but they don't spell everything out in big grade-school letters, so there's the stimulation of piecing some things together for yourself. Each episode incorporates thoughtful homages to the stories of old but invents something new and interesting in each one, with many great Eek! moments included and reasonable though not excessive amounts of blood and gore. The fantasy is grounded on an underpinning of plausible weekly crime procedurals. And it's sophisticated and often sexy without being an excuse for soft porn. Nothing seems gratuitous. All, so far, has been in excellent balance.

Skillful casting--the acting has been uniformly good and the choices for both recurring and guest roles have been pleasing. The guest actors are well-used and often include some of my favorites (Patrick Fischler, Tim Bagley). Although Nick's character could be drawn a little more thoroughly, he works well as a sort of glass through which we see his world and we feel like we're discovering it along with him. Nick and his partner Hank have good cop chemistry, and the plots seem to work even though Hank is not yet in on the secret. Monroe (although created perhaps for convenience's sake) has been the most fun of all. Nick's fiancé Juliette is not quite fleshed out yet but I suspect the writers have special plans for her as the story continues to unfold at its pleasingly natural pace. The dialogue is smooth and funny without being too 'clever' or overly defusing the darker goings-on.

If you liked the X-Files, you might enjoy Grimm. It's worth checking out, and I hope they let it continue on the path it has found and not turn it into something suitable for being made into a video game.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Another wasted opportunity!

4/10
Author: cherocha from Australia
29 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Gave it a chance with three episodes, found myself wishing I hadn't bothered.

Uninteresting characters that you have no reason to care about, clichéd dialogue, and fairly lame CGI by today's standards. Nothing about the show appeals or grabs your attention. The protagonist is two-dimensional and boring, there's no reason to care about him, or any other characters for that matter.

I think it was the first episode, and he's engaging the help of some sort of reformed but still clearly unstable werewolf guy, who casually remarks to a police officer that he "hasn't killed in years", but also explains how the Grimms are basically mortal enemies of his family and kin. Then the next episode he has this werewolf guarding his dying grandmother? And we're supposed to buy this assault on our intelligence, suspend disbelief, and throw all logic out the window for the sake of some cheap, shock-tactic scares? No. Just no. With the quality of so many other great shows out there - hell even True Blood with it's hammy and over the top lore and plot lines - I can't see any reason to invest any more time in the dish of utter mediocrity that is this show.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Great concept, lousy storyline

2/10
Author: absolutelycritical from Canada
8 December 2011

I love the idea of fairy tales gone awry. Research shows that most of the fairy tales written in the last couple of centuries weren't so "fairy" to begin with. The Brothers Grimm stories are amazing, I have the complete collection. So when I heard they were making a show based on this, I was excited. But then after watching I was disappointed. I've really tried but I can't get through the second episode. It is so bad I feel sorry for the poor cast! The plot is terribly weak. This show definitely needs better writers. I was actually going to rate this as one, but out of loyalty to Grimm stories, it has earned an extra point.

You can tell the show has a big budget so invest in some worthwhile writers goddammit. What makes a successful show? It should be obvious. Witty banter (no. 1 in my book), brilliant rapport and at least some chemistry among the characters. Skip this catastrophe. It's almost as bad as ABC's "Once Upon a Time". Stop with the crappy shows already.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Watch Grimm! You won't regret

7/10
Author: Level4 from South Africa
19 August 2014

When I stumbled upon this show I was immediately attracted to the premise: mythology and folktales from the pens of the Grimm brothers tweaked to modern television cop drama with dark undertones. I almost gave up after only watching the first four episodes. Grimm came across as a cheap 80s horror flick with the poor CGI "creatures" and slow story line. Hence my surprise when I saw the high rating and positive reviews on IMDb. I decided to do a detailed perusal of the user reviews and message board discussion with the hope of reading something that will convince me to continue with the series. One reviewer mentioned something about the series getting really interesting from episode 10, so I decided to keep on watching. I've not regretted it! Grimm indeed becomes an addictive and captivating watch. Moreover, there must have been a budget increase because the CGI quality looks much better then in the earlier episodes.

At first I didn't care much about Nick the main character, but he truly becomes a multilayered character that the viewer roots for, sympatize with, finds annoying, upsetting, et cetera. Like many other series, the writers creates space to focus on the supporting characters. In most series they just skim over individual story lines of the supporting cast that leaves one thinking why they even wasted the air time. In Grimm, the secondary plot directions that center around the supporting cast (especially Monroe and Juliette) makes for satisfactory and emotional viewing.

I personally became appreciative of the carefully placed social commentary about self-acceptance and ethnocentrism that underline the plot of some episodes. I think lots of viewers can relate to the messages. Anyway, enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Not great but Easy to watch

6/10
Author: Jamie from United Kingdom
9 April 2014

Just finished watching season 2 of Grimm on Netflix, quite a feat since there's 20 odd 40 minute episodes in each season, But there was really nothing else on... Grimm is remarkably average, I'm only leaving a review since there's so many 8s 9s and 10s, inflating the score. The acting in Grimms really not that great, with Munroe being the only standout actor. Personally I think the writings probably the worst aspect of this show, it's so predictably cheesy including typical cheesy American lines, a kind of 'let's kick some butt!' Type cheese. If you like this though then go ahead! I'd say it's all round quality is fairly comparable to doctor who, but I think the real reason I'm disappointed in Grimm is because of it's missed potential. I mean I think the ideas great, the back stories of the Wesson can be cool even if they sometimes look really bad. Think Big Bird from Sesame Street. I just feel that maybe they could have casted the characters a little better and made them more relatable, I really lack any sort of feeling towards the Grimm, I'm always rooting for some dirty angry looking creature to pull his legs off, but instead episode after episode it's just run of mill, hero always wins bad guy loses. There's no real drama or suspense, the guys invincibly boring. But yeah I've given it a 6, which I think is fair, it's definitely not the worst thing on TV but far from being a standout, easy to watch with cheap thrills. I'd have to say its ideal target audience has gotta be kids, I've thought this from the get-go, it's the kind of show that kids would love, good mix of action & fantasy, it's today's Hercules or Xena warrior princess.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A long way to go

7/10
Author: hhdfgb
20 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

1. Story: Interesting, innovative, new, certainly something that is different, but is it good enough? The concept employed is appealing and has a certain charm but the story should have more shocking spoilers. The show seems to be missing a certain element of randomness. The employment of fairy tales in interesting, however except for explaining the concept in the first few episodes this serves no purpose. This should be worked upon.

2. Acting: The lead and the supports are doing a decent job. They are good, but at places it seems like there is scope for improvement. The guest actors vary, some a cool, composed and fit right in, others are forced and unimpressive.

3. Effects: The show does not rely too heavily on effects, yet those that it uses are well placed and balanced. The new opening theme of season 2 onwards, however, does not seem polished.

Verdict

A show which appeals to only a certain viewing audience. For some it will be exactly what they were looking for, but the lack of world class acting and a story line which is weak at points makes this show being far from a must see.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Love this show!

8/10
Author: blissfulxlife from United States
11 November 2011

So far, so good! With the pilot episode, I was pretty much instantly hooked. It was one of the best pilots for a show that I've seen in a while. It truly gave you an in-depth look at what the show will be about and so far, it's quite entertaining. As the episode progressed, it had me wanting more and more. If it keeps this up, It'll be truly sad if it's ever taken off the air. Love the characters and great choice of main characters, the acting is good, love the set and the overall plot is very different which makes it well worth the watch. Need I say more? If you're reading this, you should try to give it a watch. I can't wait for more!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Still watching season 5

6/10
Author: mcmugged from United States
21 February 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The idea of a police officer who is a "Grimm" and some of his best friends are "Vessen" (not sure I know how to spell that) makes for some interesting stories. A Grimm can see what normal people cannot see--that some others who look like ordinary people can turn into hideous monsters. Apparently, these Vessen can show their monster bodies to normal people if they choose but they also can change their looks where only a Grimm can see their real selves. The problem is that some of these Vessen are murderers and some are not. There is an unusually large number of murders in Portland, Oregon that appear to be animal attacks. Nick (the Grimm) and those who are aware of what is really going on are out trying to solve the crimes or punish the culprits. They can't write up reports that tell the real details, so they are always working behind the scenes. Fortunately, Nick's commanding police officer happens to be a Vessen who is on the side of justice.

I am not sure I will continue to enjoy this show. There are only so many similar story lines you can watch. To change it up, Nick's girlfriend becomes a Vessen by accident and to make a long story short, she leads others to catch and kill Nick's mother. She apparently gets killed by another Grimm, but then later, we find she isn't dead but reprogrammed to help combat a large group of Vessen who want to take over the world. Apparently, Hitler was a Vessen according to this show.

Once this apocalyptic storyline is over, I don't know what else they can come up with to keep it fresh, but I personally prefer less apocalypse and more interesting stand-alone stories.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Monster Squad

10/10
Author: hellraiser7 from United States
29 January 2015

Fairy Tales have always been my favorite stories since I was a kid, but they were also the darkest stories. Despite the fun fantasy it might sometimes display there was a flip side to the coin of those stories because by their nature most of them were horror stories. Those stories scared me but at the same time fascinated me because I was just as interested in the creatures as much as the adventure.

This is one of my favorite TV shows of all time, I really love the idea, it's a wild but cool and creative idea. What if all of the stories from fantasy are based/inspired by reality. And the authors of the famous Brothers Grimm were really monster slayers and one person was a descendant of them. In a way you can say this is a bit of a wishforfillment fantasy (ok, for some) the brother Grimms being your ancestors and being part of a bloodline of warriors that have the ability to slay creatures that go bump in the night, is cool and really comes in handy. This show is a combo of both the detective and fantasy genre which I think is a beautiful combination and makes sense since fantasy stories at heart are mysteries, whenever we first read them we never really know what land their in or what is there.

I really love the dark noir atmosphere the show has, from the use of the darkness and shadows it really has creates a feeling of a foreboding, mysterious and dangerous world where anything could be hiding withing the next shadow. It perfectly fits since the Grimm fantasy tales were always dark. On a side note the fact their their using the location Portland, Origon I think is really cool since my aunt, uncle and cousin live there, so it sort of gives it a sense of home and familiarity for me.

I like the design of the vessen monsters, there is a variety of them and each have different features so they'll never be in short supply. The makeup work on them I think is great, they look practical and real. The premise of them is a bit similar to the movie John Carpenter's "They Live" where these monsters hide in plain sight and walk among us.

The plots in each of the episodes are always different and colorful but most importantly intriguing and involving; you in the same boat as the protagonists as you are constantly trying to figure out what is going on and how their going to deal with it. There is a revolving plot going on which is intriguing in itself involving seven keys to open up and find a lost artifact which will give power to the one that finds it to rule or destroy the world. Though this revolving plot kinda takes a back seat and is more the subplot let alone maguffin device; because this is a show that is focused on the case at hand which to me I think is great because there is variety and each is always a new adventure. But also each of the plots and the vessen they deal with aren't just based on fairy tales but also myth and folklore from around the world which makes the show slightly educational.

The action is solid, it's well choreographed, it's not exactly wall to wall but this show is more of a mystery show than an actioneer. However one highlight of the battles are that Nick sometimes uses different med evil weapons which is cool because it shows he has a various arsenal and we see certain vessen dispatched in different ways which keeps things fresh.

The characters are also great, each of them are three dimensional, have dynamics, they develop and are involving.

Trubel/Theresa Rubel is great and is no doubt true to her nick name let alone last name. I really like that despite having the sight ability at an early age she is a rookie. She is always going into trouble let alone causing it intentionally or unintentionally. She is tough, capable of kicking some ass and she's cute and kinda hot, what can I say I'm attracted to bad girls.

But two of my favorite characters are Monroe and Rosalee both are vessen but good people. Monroe is sort of a humble guy and isn't looking for trouble but isn't afraid to confront it when need be. I like that he's a bit childlike from his great enthusiasm of the holidays, this guy knows how to decorate. And he's sort of a history buff as he's not just has a lot of antiquities but is knowledgeable about folklore, which makes him really useful.

Rosalee whom I think is cute and true to her vessen identity foxy. I really like that she is sweet and she is also useful as she is knowledgeable about special remedies, medicines, and magic potions which in a way makes he an alchemist, well sort of. I really like the chemistry between both Monroe and her both play off each other well and we see it develop into something more, let alone the fact both are a different vessen species which in a way makes them a bi racial couple which is cool. Even like it whenever both Juliettte and Rosalee both interact and work together which is always fun and evens things out since most of the show we see the guys have their own dynamics.

Grimm is not you usual fairy tale.

Rating: 4 stars

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 16:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history