IMDb > "Grimm" (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Grimm"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Grimm" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 17:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 163 reviews in total 

14 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

something addictive about this. (spoilers)

7/10
Author: audrey-sondheimer
30 October 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this show out of pure boredom with nothing else to do. But I ended up enjoying it. The first 20 minutes were quite boring. spoilers: It didn't even get interesting until the cop and the wolf first went to the mans house. but after that is what drew me in. Too be honest I am not quite sure of what to make of the show just yet, but I am hoping something amazing does come of it. It has some weird seductiveness about it, that makes you think: whats a grimm, what type of show will this be, what the hell happened in the end of the first episode. I will definitely keep watching just to see what will happen later in the season. The main problem they have is the dull boring moments, I just wish they would explain more what kind of show this is going to be. Is it going to be a cop show, with criminals and solving crimes every episode, or understanding this guys special power and into his world of "magic".

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Supernatural cop romp that is not at all Grimm

8/10
Author: Rob_Taylor
6 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I really don't know whether to love or hate this show. It is smack bang in the middle of no-man's land as far as I am concerned.

In fact, the only thing that keeps me watching week after week is the comedy side-kick werewolf played by Silas David Weir. But even his character is rather hit and miss.

And that's the problem. I prefer watching the show for the antics of a supporting character. The supposed main character is rather bland and two-dimensional.

Overall its Cops meets Buffy with neither the campiness of the latter or the Grimmness (yeah, I know, I couldn't resist!) of the former.

It's just... meh! Either play it entirely for laughs, or make it much more serious because, as it stands, it's too middle-of-the-road to make much of an impact.

EDIT (SEASON 2): Well, it's grown on me! I'm still watching it and I'm pleased to see they did something interesting with Nick's wife. Her character was dull in the first season. Nice to see they switched it up a little. I've even upped my rating by two stars! I must be getting soft in my old age...

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Stylish balance of humor, horror, and imagination

8/10
Author: CharWoman from Virginia
10 December 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

***Possible very minor spoilers herein***

Six episodes in now, Grimm seems to have really found its stride. It was a little awkward now and then in the first couple of episodes only while it was busy establishing the premise, but the writing is solid, the recurring characters are enjoyable in their own right, and the main theme--a born "monster-hunter" hearing his calling in a world recently revealed to be full of said monsters--has deftly avoided the obvious and played Good™ v. Evil™ model and instead been imagined as a much more organic and nuanced ecosystem in which the conflicts are not always as they first seem and the Grimm himself is arguably in the same category as the supernatural species he so often pursues for their crimes.

Nick is introduced as a police officer who has learned that he's among the last of a long line of Grimms, and the imminent death of his nearest relative has caused his Grimmyness to manifest mainly as the ability to recognize the not-quite-humans around him--but only when they lose their cool for a moment and display their supernatural streaks, something ordinary humans can't see. (Creepily, some of them seem to never lose control, so Nick doesn't always know what he's dealing with.) This and the ancestral knowledge conveyed to him (centuries of family research, a collection of specialized weaponry, and insider help from a reformed Blutbad) seem to be the sum of Nick's Grimm-gifts, although perhaps a natural combat instinct and desire for justice also form part of the genetic package. He's a natural cop and a tough customer, but he's also not invincible, which I appreciate. Despite the extensive documentation and conventional knowledge about the various supernatural creatures in this ecology, we realize there's still plenty to learn and, even better, that choice has a much bigger part to play than it might if worse writers were on the case. The premise lends itself to analogies of dealing with the hand we're dealt and either struggling to make the best of ourselves without losing who we are or indulging ourselves in the worst of our natures. We also have themes of how to survive and even thrive in a world we might not be perfectly suited for but on which we depend, if we are to enjoy the benefits of civilization. Suffice to say each episode might make you think, although it goes down like candy, not broccoli.

The Pacific NW location is well-chosen and beautifully shot and set up, with joy in the use of color and occasional winks to fairy tale imagery without being picturesque. It's easy enough to follow but they don't spell everything out in big grade-school letters, so there's the stimulation of piecing some things together for yourself. Each episode incorporates thoughtful homages to the stories of old but invents something new and interesting in each one, with many great Eek! moments included and reasonable though not excessive amounts of blood and gore. The fantasy is grounded on an underpinning of plausible weekly crime procedurals. And it's sophisticated and often sexy without being an excuse for soft porn. Nothing seems gratuitous. All, so far, has been in excellent balance.

Skillful casting--the acting has been uniformly good and the choices for both recurring and guest roles have been pleasing. The guest actors are well-used and often include some of my favorites (Patrick Fischler, Tim Bagley). Although Nick's character could be drawn a little more thoroughly, he works well as a sort of glass through which we see his world and we feel like we're discovering it along with him. Nick and his partner Hank have good cop chemistry, and the plots seem to work even though Hank is not yet in on the secret. Monroe (although created perhaps for convenience's sake) has been the most fun of all. Nick's fiancé Juliette is not quite fleshed out yet but I suspect the writers have special plans for her as the story continues to unfold at its pleasingly natural pace. The dialogue is smooth and funny without being too 'clever' or overly defusing the darker goings-on.

If you liked the X-Files, you might enjoy Grimm. It's worth checking out, and I hope they let it continue on the path it has found and not turn it into something suitable for being made into a video game.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Mediocre and unoriginal

2/10
Author: ratatatuff from Austria
11 April 2014

Another one of these shows about monsters and fairies. At least there are no vampires... But it's always the same, at the beginning of the show there is some "hunter" who discovers that he has some hidden destiny and then he tries to fulfill it. Here it is a police-officer who discovers that he is a "Grimm" and his destiny is to hunt down monsters. Oh yeah, like we haven't seen stuff like this in hundred other shows... So, what makes this show different?

First it's the language. They decided to let the characters talk in German and in French in certain situations. Actually that's not a bad idea and I give kudos to Sasha Roiz (Captain Sean Renard) for his French. It sounded really okay to me. But the German!!! Who translated or invented these names??? My native tongue is German and although I had no problems to understand the English I needed subtitles to understand the "German" words!!!

But, no wonder... They are not German. They are just stupid. For example, they introduced some goat-people and called them "Ziegevolk". And the actors pronounced it like no German would ever pronounce it. Okay, maybe they weren't eager to play their role properly. Some of the actors made really bad performances anyway... But who came up with the name "Ziegevolk"??? This is ridiculous. You can't just take goat = Ziege and people = Volk and combine it into "Ziegevolk". We have cases in German and it should be "Ziegenvolk". If you think I'm nit-picking, no, I'm not. Because this is not the only mistake they made. How could anyone pronounce "Wesen" the way the actors do in that show??? Names like "Hexenbiest" are just dumb and what the hell is a "Blutbaden"??? And really, why should the resistance call itself "Verrat" (deceit)... These names are just gibberish and sound like a four year old child invented them. Sorry, but I expect a certain amount of professionality from a TV show, even from a low-budget show like this. So, if you watch this show and think that they talk German: No, they do not! (there is one exception: one guy is actually German, so his pronounciation is good, but the others all suck)

And, btw, if these "Grimms" and these "Wesen" came from Germany long time ago, they would either know how to pronounce the words correctly or would have changed them into the language they use in everyday speech. In this case, as the show plays in Portland, English. So, these dumb names are just an attempt to gather some exotic flair. But it's so poorly done that it's just an epic fail.

Okay, the next thing is the storyline. Nothing extraordinary. Same storyline in every episode, just the name of the monster changes. And why does every case have to involve a supernatural being? It seems like there are no normal humans in Portland anymore. Don't get me wrong, it IS possible to constantly thematize the supernatural beings. After all, it's part of the premise of the show. But in that case they should not interfere with the normal world the way they do and the show would have to come up with a believable concept for a parallel society. "Monster kills human, Grimm kills monster" gets really boring after a few episodes. And they produced three seasons like this... And there are other things which I don't like. Like all the events around the Royal Families, the "Wesen" council and things like this. To me it is just too obviously plagiarized. Things like that already appeared in too many bad novels and series. Seen it all and seen it done much better.

Cast: uh, don't get me started... Nick, the Grimm, is mediocre at best. His acting is shallow and boring. His girlfriend Bitchy...oh uh, I mean Bitsie... I wonder what her purpose in this show is, because she's completely useless. And IF she is acting then she is overacting in some weird way. And she is highly unsympathetic. The better ones are Silas Weir Mitchell as Monroe, the werewolf, and Bree Turner as his girlfriend Rosalee. And, of course, Danny Bruno as Bud (the beaver) is really good. It's a shame that he only got a minor role.

Script: Even worse than the overall story is the scriptwriting. The dialogues are boring and sometimes I found myself thinking: "How could you talk like this? No normal person in the world would ever talk like this!"

I don't expect much from TV-shows. I don't care for effects or big- budget productions. But I want to see good actors, a good script and good dialogues. Grimm is a mediocre series which shamelessly steals ideas from every other series and book in the genre. If you like this show I suggest you try and watch "Buffy" or read the "Dresden Files". You will see how this genre is done properly. With good character arcs and good dialogues.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Great concept, lousy storyline

2/10
Author: absolutelycritical from Canada
8 December 2011

I love the idea of fairy tales gone awry. Research shows that most of the fairy tales written in the last couple of centuries weren't so "fairy" to begin with. The Brothers Grimm stories are amazing, I have the complete collection. So when I heard they were making a show based on this, I was excited. But then after watching I was disappointed. I've really tried but I can't get through the second episode. It is so bad I feel sorry for the poor cast! The plot is terribly weak. This show definitely needs better writers. I was actually going to rate this as one, but out of loyalty to Grimm stories, it has earned an extra point.

You can tell the show has a big budget so invest in some worthwhile writers goddammit. What makes a successful show? It should be obvious. Witty banter (no. 1 in my book), brilliant rapport and at least some chemistry among the characters. Skip this catastrophe. It's almost as bad as ABC's "Once Upon a Time". Stop with the crappy shows already.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Watch Grimm! You won't regret

7/10
Author: Level4 from South Africa
19 August 2014

When I stumbled upon this show I was immediately attracted to the premise: mythology and folktales from the pens of the Grimm brothers tweaked to modern television cop drama with dark undertones. I almost gave up after only watching the first four episodes. Grimm came across as a cheap 80s horror flick with the poor CGI "creatures" and slow story line. Hence my surprise when I saw the high rating and positive reviews on IMDb. I decided to do a detailed perusal of the user reviews and message board discussion with the hope of reading something that will convince me to continue with the series. One reviewer mentioned something about the series getting really interesting from episode 10, so I decided to keep on watching. I've not regretted it! Grimm indeed becomes an addictive and captivating watch. Moreover, there must have been a budget increase because the CGI quality looks much better then in the earlier episodes.

At first I didn't care much about Nick the main character, but he truly becomes a multilayered character that the viewer roots for, sympatize with, finds annoying, upsetting, et cetera. Like many other series, the writers creates space to focus on the supporting characters. In most series they just skim over individual story lines of the supporting cast that leaves one thinking why they even wasted the air time. In Grimm, the secondary plot directions that center around the supporting cast (especially Monroe and Juliette) makes for satisfactory and emotional viewing.

I personally became appreciative of the carefully placed social commentary about self-acceptance and ethnocentrism that underline the plot of some episodes. I think lots of viewers can relate to the messages. Anyway, enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Not great but Easy to watch

6/10
Author: Jamie from United Kingdom
9 April 2014

Just finished watching season 2 of Grimm on Netflix, quite a feat since there's 20 odd 40 minute episodes in each season, But there was really nothing else on... Grimm is remarkably average, I'm only leaving a review since there's so many 8s 9s and 10s, inflating the score. The acting in Grimms really not that great, with Munroe being the only standout actor. Personally I think the writings probably the worst aspect of this show, it's so predictably cheesy including typical cheesy American lines, a kind of 'let's kick some butt!' Type cheese. If you like this though then go ahead! I'd say it's all round quality is fairly comparable to doctor who, but I think the real reason I'm disappointed in Grimm is because of it's missed potential. I mean I think the ideas great, the back stories of the Wesson can be cool even if they sometimes look really bad. Think Big Bird from Sesame Street. I just feel that maybe they could have casted the characters a little better and made them more relatable, I really lack any sort of feeling towards the Grimm, I'm always rooting for some dirty angry looking creature to pull his legs off, but instead episode after episode it's just run of mill, hero always wins bad guy loses. There's no real drama or suspense, the guys invincibly boring. But yeah I've given it a 6, which I think is fair, it's definitely not the worst thing on TV but far from being a standout, easy to watch with cheap thrills. I'd have to say its ideal target audience has gotta be kids, I've thought this from the get-go, it's the kind of show that kids would love, good mix of action & fantasy, it's today's Hercules or Xena warrior princess.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A long way to go

7/10
Author: hhdfgb
20 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

1. Story: Interesting, innovative, new, certainly something that is different, but is it good enough? The concept employed is appealing and has a certain charm but the story should have more shocking spoilers. The show seems to be missing a certain element of randomness. The employment of fairy tales in interesting, however except for explaining the concept in the first few episodes this serves no purpose. This should be worked upon.

2. Acting: The lead and the supports are doing a decent job. They are good, but at places it seems like there is scope for improvement. The guest actors vary, some a cool, composed and fit right in, others are forced and unimpressive.

3. Effects: The show does not rely too heavily on effects, yet those that it uses are well placed and balanced. The new opening theme of season 2 onwards, however, does not seem polished.

Verdict

A show which appeals to only a certain viewing audience. For some it will be exactly what they were looking for, but the lack of world class acting and a story line which is weak at points makes this show being far from a must see.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

So much stupidity

5/10
Author: ThirdLife from Switzerland
6 January 2015

Its sad to see a series with a huge potential in terms of storyline and flair all go to sh** just because the script is plain stupid.

Its horrific how stupid each character is and doesn't get the slightest hints. Presentation is at times equally stupid always repeating stuff that has been shown over and over again so even the most dumb audience can understand it obviously.

If you want people acting just the slightest like an average intelligent human being - this is not your show. I am just hoping they're bending the plot so overly much to fit the script in future.

At times you just want to punch almost each character just in the face because of their unbelievable stupidity. The phenomenon is very common with a lot of series, i call it "tension by stupidity".

Having a script to become utterly stupid as soon as the writers feel that one party is getting too strong and them apparently being devoid of ideas.

So lets just make the characters do more mistakes and bend, bend, bend around the plot...hoping this makes it more exciting.

It doesn't. Its idiotic.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Another wasted opportunity!

4/10
Author: cherocha from Australia
29 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Gave it a chance with three episodes, found myself wishing I hadn't bothered.

Uninteresting characters that you have no reason to care about, clichéd dialogue, and fairly lame CGI by today's standards. Nothing about the show appeals or grabs your attention. The protagonist is two-dimensional and boring, there's no reason to care about him, or any other characters for that matter.

I think it was the first episode, and he's engaging the help of some sort of reformed but still clearly unstable werewolf guy, who casually remarks to a police officer that he "hasn't killed in years", but also explains how the Grimms are basically mortal enemies of his family and kin. Then the next episode he has this werewolf guarding his dying grandmother? And we're supposed to buy this assault on our intelligence, suspend disbelief, and throw all logic out the window for the sake of some cheap, shock-tactic scares? No. Just no. With the quality of so many other great shows out there - hell even True Blood with it's hammy and over the top lore and plot lines - I can't see any reason to invest any more time in the dish of utter mediocrity that is this show.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 17:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history