The Being Frank Show (TV Series 2010– ) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
25 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
9/10
Entertaining to say the least!
sarahmfrancis8121 May 2014
I really enjoy The Being Frank Show. I enjoy the guests, the intimate atmosphere and the realness of the show. The show is so raw and unscripted, with is very rare. I enjoy the chemistry between the host and the band. The antics are hilarious and I especially enjoy when there is a skit thrown into the mix on a rare occasion. I value great Canadian entertainers and can appreciate this undervalued show. I stay up late to catch this show on a Friday night and find myself laughing at just about everything. I like that Frank is so honest and his everything goes attitude and I even enjoy his signing. It's nice to see a host so interactive with his audenice, band and guests.
112 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Cant get Enough
crystalluv9116 July 2014
I have been marathoning this show for days now and I cant seem to get enough! I really enjoy the guests, the humour and the laid back hosting and atmosphere on the set. The interviews are so natural and unrehearsed which is a refreshing take on late night scripted TV. I enjoyed the various artists, actors and musicians that have been on the show. Nice to see some older well recognized faces and the up and coming. It's especially wonderful to have a Canadian TV show that is small in studio space but mighty in entertainment value. The host is quite humorous and a talented singer which you don't always see. Frank's guests seem to enjoy themselves on his set which really comes through in the interviews and the ease you can easily see when watching.
79 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Best late night show on TV!
Peter Xie21 July 2013
People that don't get the relevance of the The Being Frank Show slam it. In my opinion it's one of the best shows on Canadian TV. Hosted produced by and starring Frank D'Angelo it is an irreverent, anarchically funny and informative look at the late night world of endlessly boring talk shows taking pot shots at the standardized and convention driven world of a TV stable. The Being Frank Show is politically and sociologically "incorrect" because it tells the truth about life in our times, hearkening back to the worlds of Lenny Bruce, Andy Kaufman and Jonathan Winters, with a pinch of Ralph Kramden thrown in for good measure. And it is an antidote for the post Paris Hilton, face booked generation of the isolated and disposed crowded ear muffed children of George Bush, Brian Mulroney and Ronald Reagan. It tells us that it's OK to be human, have a drink or two, eat a good meal and listen to great music. This is not family entertainment, its people entertainment and breaks open the jail like boxed in life of the average man. It has world class music and in probability, the all-time best co- host since Ed McMann. Move over Jimmy Kimmel and Jay Leno. Here is a show that will entertain you. And it doesn't pretend to be Live.
114 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Review
devyndodson22 July 2013
Just checking things out on IMDb and come across all the reviews on The Being Frank show, not sure what you are all watching to write these terrible reviews. I like it. I find it entertaining. I get a few laughs and well - it's Canadian. I don't catch the show every week due to the time slot but when I do I have enjoyed it. I heard it was on Rogers on Demand but I don't have Rogers, so I check it out when I am home or up... I have seen contests and giveaways on the show and a lot of fellow Canadians. The band sounds great. I have found the show to have a good mix music, comedians, sports......Keep up the good work Frank and the crew.
115 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Being Frank ... grows on you!
Bryan Walsh24 July 2013
What you need to know is the later a late-night show airs, the racier it gets, and generally the younger the target audience. That's not to say The Being Frank Show is aimed at kids, because it's not ... but I'm sure plenty of teens are watching because Frank D'Angelo has created the modern format for the late-night talk show blending subversive humour, cynicism, and off-colour jokes about politics and sex. D'Angelo has tried to inject even more youth culture, notably by bringing in Ed the Sock as an added co-host. D'Angelo is an affable host, charming and often witty. He doesn't always seem as quick on his feet as Letterman or O'Brien, that's mostly because he is a newcomer to the gig, but he does seem to be growing nicely into the job.
113 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Kudos to Being Frank for showcasing Canadian talent!
Denise Shamkhani22 July 2013
I have to give credit where it's due and Frank D'Angelo certainly deserves a pat on the back for creating and producing The Being Frank Show, the only show on Canadian television that introduces and showcases Canadian talent. Where would the upstart musicians, comedians, magicians, athletes and all the other people that are featured on The Being Frank Show get exposure? I also like the fact that the show features guests and celebrities that you would never see on other talk shows, people like George Chuvalo and Dan Hill who have made big contributions on the world stage for Canada. Keep up the good work Frank, you're one of the best television hosts on TV. And I really enjoy your interviews because they are casual and not contrived, you ask questions that real people would ask and that makes it interesting.
113 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Entertainment At Its Finest
Jackie Floyd18 July 2013
What can I say, I love this show! I am a proud Canadian and a proud supporter of Canadian Broadcasting. I look forward to Friday nights to sit back and get some comic relief after a long stressful week. I enjoy the music, the vast variety of guests and the energy! I enjoy Frank D'Angelo's refreshing approach to late night television hosting and interviewing. It's nice to see a fellow Canadian with a lot of tenacity doing his thing. I appreiciate the line of guests that appear on the show. I have got to watch some of my favorite Actors be interviewed by Frank and the interviews always seem so natural and charismatic. If you're looking for a late night series that is packed full of laughs and pure entertainment Being Frank has it all.
112 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Delightful
maddyschmidt35231 July 2014
Im a sucker for Canadian anything!!! I love Canadian films, productions of any sort. This show is cut from a different clothe and I feel thats why its just so delightful and different. I can appreciate this show for what it is and its simply good old fashioned entertainment and that it isn't a big massive production but it brings forth massive pleasure and the feel of something greater! I like the Host and Co Host relationship. I feel they play off of each other. I like the staging and the intimacy of the studio audience and how close they are to the stag. I enjoy the music because lets be honest, when do you really ever get to see a host sing and do it well at that?! it's little things like this that bring forth something really remarkable and delightfully so!!
79 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Likable show
clivefred6631 July 2014
I just started watching this late night TV show and im sort of hooked on it. It's like spending time with friends in a real and intimate setting. No rehearsal, no cuts just real unedited chat between a host and his guests which comes off as if they were all good friends long before the show. I liked the host as I felt he made his guests always feel at ease and with just a little charm, seemed to interview nicely through the banter of the band and co hosts. Throughout the shows I've watched thus far I found myself laughing at hilarious outtakes and jokes. The show is just raw and impractical yet wildly entertaining and I look forward to many more seasons.
79 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Hereeee's….Frankie!!!
Carlo Sandrelli23 July 2013
Frank D'Angelo is definitely the best talk show on television. The best thing about D'Angelo is he doesn't give a crap, he just says what he thinks and does what he wants. I remember an episode when he threw a financial guest off the show because he made fun of the housing and mortgage crises in the USA. The guy got what he deserved. My favourite part of the show is when Frank does his skits with his relatives and plays all the parts, and laughs at himself after the skit. The only other talk show host who did anything like that was Johnny Carson and to this day nobody tops Johnny! Shows such as Jay Leno, Conan O'Brien and Letterman seem staged usually have a definite order to the program. On the Being Frank Show you don't know what to expect and that makes it funny. Like when Frank unexpectedly asks Jim Tatti, Ed The Sock or a band member a question, you never know what is going to come out of their mouths because they didn't expect to be asked anything. Surprise, surprise!!
113 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Still being made (Sept.2012)
John Kirkby17 September 2012
Yes new episodes are still being produced. Please think about all the infomercials that have paid for late night airtime...exercise equipment, get rich systems, phone sex, etc. Now in that context 'The Being Frank Show' is great. You can't deny Frank D'Angelo is an entrepreneur who has tried many things in his life business-wise mostly involving food, drink...and now this. Also as the website says...'As a Canadian performer, Frank D'Angelo knew there was a big void to promote Canadian talent, leading him to create 'The Being Frank Show', the only real Canadian national late night television variety-talk show.'...now the 'knew there was a big void to promote Canadian talent' part is true and if he manages to get as many CDN's on as he can...it is hard to knock that idea. In terms of shameless self-promotion...well that applies to most entertainment TV doesn't it? The Jimmy Kimmel Show often starts with a chintzy ad/plug at the beginning they've made for a sponsor like Depends adult diapers.
115 out of 132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Painful ... so painful.
Mark Cheers8 February 2011
I was up late one night, I think it may have even been Christmas Eve after I returned from visiting family. I stumbled onto this show, and I could not believe how painful it was to watch - it was like a proverbial train wreck -- terrible, brutal, yet I couldn't look away. It was an episode with Mike Bullard. Frank (the host who I had never heard of), looked unprepared, his jokes were flat, and the audience (all 10 of them) looks like the only reason they were there were for free beer. I encourage you to watch for the sheer experience of watching - certainly not because it's quality.

And to top it of, he had one guest who was a proficient musician (name I cannot recall). Frank complimented him on his new CD (which he had in his hand), and then the guest corrected him - it wasn't his CD - it was done by students at a local university who he mentored/directed, etc.
50 out of 150 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
pathetic
gazoo-1-90668814 March 2011
this guys ego is the size of taj mahal! lets see...he hosts his own show (an infomercial), does his own commercials for his food/drink brands (owns businesses in food/beverage industry), sings (he also peddles his own cd at commercial)and writes (he pushes his autobiography throughout his show). With his nasty comb-over and crappy outfits, frank is completely unfunny, irritating and the worst interviewer of all time. one of my favourite moments was the show he had al pacino on...he spent the whole show plugging this big interview with pacino and in the end its 10 minutes of the worst interview (i speak of frank not Al) i have ever seen. pacino was never "on his show" it was frank somehow cornering him at a charity function on a sofa where frank practically sat on his lap....hilarious!! wake up CHCH...are you really this desperate for $$$.
37 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bottom Notch
John Smith17 February 2011
I don't know if I should say this show is bottom notch or bottom drawer but either way I think I get my point across that this is a terrible show.

First of all it is not actually a show, the disclaimers CHCH TV runs say it is a paid advertisement and the views expressed don't necessarily reflect the views of the network yadda yadda... all the commercials are just the host selling his pasta, etc, yes the host of the show is also the guy in all the commercials selling the products because he's his own sponsor! It just makes me sad to watch this, Frank the host is the worst host I've ever seen, he doesn't know how to talk to his guests and all the jokes he tells are horrible and of the variety that you would have heard and groaned at a million times before. That could be forgiven if he was likable but he is not, he just seems like a selfish jerk desperate for attention.

This show is awful. The only good thing is that the guests they hire are sometimes big names, I didn't see that one but apparently Al Pacino was on the show. I don't know how they swung that but I'm guessing they drove a truck full of money up to his house and told him it was a real show.

My opinion: avoid this poor excuse for a show at all costs, it is just terrible!
30 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
To "Be Frank" with you, this doesn't belong on IMDb
Marie Desriel22 August 2017
I have been watching Frank D'Angelo's twitter and this page and I can't prove it but I am very suspicious about both. His Twitter had thousands of followers added very quickly but almost none of his tweets get more than a handful of likes and/or re-tweets which makes me think maybe he has purchased followers. On top of that almost overnight on this site a ton of positive (and similar sounding) reviews popped up along with votes of 8 or 10. His rating here jumped from about 2/10 to 8/10 very quickly, like in one single night. The number of votes is also suspicious to me not just because so many were added virtually overnight but because of the overall total number, this show which is purchased late night air time on a regional station in Hamilton has thousands of votes and I'm just not sure that passes the smell test with me. I hope that IMDb will check out these reviews and votes to see if they are actually legit.

I have seen many episodes of this show both on the air and on the website and to put it simply I find the number of positive votes and reviews for this show on IMDb spurious.

It also makes me very suspicious that someone reported my previous review as being "abusive"... not sure why IMDb pulled it but I have written this new one. There is nothing abusive in this and I am only presenting my opinion based on the facts as I know them...

Is Being Frank being fraudulent? I think so. I think this show is only on the air because this guy is paying for the commercial air time on CHCH-TV Hamilton, which is a fact -- every broadcast begins with a notice from the network saying that is the case.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
worst show I have ever seen OMG
smichal23 April 2011
I stumbled across this show by accident last night after 1:00 a.m. First thing I see is Frank D'Angelo wearing a double breasted mustard coloured suit. (The colour looks bad on him.) Then he proceeds to tell a joke about a guy who had taken an entire bottle of Viagra and his penis grew gigantic and had to be covered with a tarp and his balls had to be carried in a separate truck. Is this funny? Absolutely juvenile. I could not believe that Ed the sock is on this show.

Then a shot of talentless Frank singing and dancing. It was beyond a train wreck. Totally amateur in every aspect. I cannot understand why he is so desperate to be on TV.
28 out of 136 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I can't believe they put this on T.V.!
Steve Adams21 May 2011
Sometimes a movie or T.V. show is bad, then sometimes it is so bad that it becomes funny, then once in a while that show is so very bad that it goes past bad and past being funny to being just unbelievably terrible in a you can't look away from this car accident kind of way. I have watched this show almost every week, I am usually out or asleep when it is on so I tape it on my old school VHS player and I think that actually adds to the feel of watching a show like this. It is so awful it's like watching some crazy rich man's public access show from the 1960s, where everyone knows it's terrible but he pays for everything himself and threatens to have his mafia henchman Guido break the network guy's arms if he tries to take his awful show off the air. Frank D'angelo is the worst latenight host I've ever seen. Most of the time he sits there struggling desperately to think of something to say before piping up with some terrible one liner a grade school kid would think of, usually some penis joke that's just cringe worthy. He even plays characters like his own aunt who uncrosses her legs all the time. Why would a latenight host also play the characters he interviews? That's just the kind of look-at-me guy this host obviously is, he thinks he is a real entertainer and wants desperately to be the centre of attention all the time. He also sings a lot even though he has the voice of Frank Stallone. All of the regulars on the show seem to secretly hate him including Ed the Sock and the two sidekicks, but the guys in the band seem to not hate him and even just kind of realize what a joke he and his show are. That's the feel I had watching it and the review in Now Magazine verified it for me, he's a terrible T.V. host and apparently also a terrible person even if the rape charges against him were bogus. Take a pass on this show or you'll end up hooked on watching this car accident like I am!
25 out of 135 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Not entertainment whatsoever
jfeist44140420 November 2011
If I had to guess, I'd say there are no professional writers employed by this "show". The jokes (if you could call them that) were likely conjured up by the host himself. I know 12 year old kids who tell better jokes.

As mentioned, the production is indeed paid advertising. Frank D'Angelo pays two local stations (one in Hamilton, Ontario, the other in Montreal, Quebec) to air the programming. The show is also carried on Rogers video on demand service. Somehow--according to Frank--this qualifies as a "nation wide" show.

Production quality is low; and captured in front of a small audience in the basement of a restaurant.

Presumably the production ostensibly exists to promote products sold by D'Angelo. However, these products are rarely--if ever--found in retail stores. One can't escape the feeling that D'Angelo is merely promoting himself, rather than energy drinks or cooking oil or rapini.

D'Angelo also touts contests ad nauseum. Contests which seem to go on for years. The majority of his "monologue" drones on about said contests.
21 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
LOL how does this exist?
hersh_david3 June 2013
This is one of those rare train wreck shows you hate but just can't take your eyes off of. I have never in my life seen a show like this before or since. I even went to a live taping but couldn't get in because they locked the doors to tape it. The host is terrible it's like watching a real life Waiting for Guffman he is totally full of himself without the talent to back it up -- decent singer but not great to be a singer alone but no other talent to go along with it. He's an awful interviewer and his joke telling is the worst. He tells stories that go nowhere. He is selfish with his guests and even straight up rude to them. The guy obviously has money to burn since this show is paid for advertising time and all the ''commercials'' running during it are his own company / products. You have to watch it just to see that it actually exists I would expect this in a former soviet bloc country or the third world but not in Canada! If there is a worse show I haven't seen it yet.
18 out of 127 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Laugh at the Pathetic Manchild Frank D'Angelo!
Michael Seguin8 June 2013
Frank D'Angelo is the textbook example of a spoiled pampered kid who never grows up. He threw away Steelback brewery's money shamelessly buying ex-NHL greats and actors for commercials that were really just an excuse for him to schmooze with them and more importantly for him to be seen schmoozing with them, even though it was so obvious to anyone watching they were simply counting the seconds until they could cash their cheques. He would waste company money sponsoring events to make sure he could sing at them (admittedly his band is top notch and he is not a bad singer but certainly not at the level where he should be performing at say a CFL game). Now he's tossing away millions more of his money (Or is it his? His family's? His company's?)... buying this infomercial time slot from third rate channel CHCH to run his own "show" and I use the term "show" loosely. Tossing away who knows how many thousand to buy ten excruciatingly uncomfortable minutes on a couch with a sleepy and unimpressed looking Al Pacino, and who knows how much more he pays all his other guests? Just to make himself look like a mover and shaker. I won't even get into what a scumbag the man seems like or his *cough* *cough* checkered criminal past. Read the NOW magazine review of this no class, no talent jerk-in-a-suit to see what kind of guy he really is and what his employees really think of him. Not that you have to read it because it's obvious just watching the show that this man is a walking pile of garbage with no value to anyone whatsoever.
17 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Seems Pretty Obvious Frank D'Angelo Bought Thousands of Voters and Positive Reviews.....
Maxine Dumont12 November 2014
Almost 7,000 voters for this show, a late night purchased-airtime infomercial on a Hamilton station where he would be lucky to get 500 total viewers?

It's actually pretty funny. Who cares what the ratings are for the show on IMDb.

Even if he tricks people into believing it might be good the absolute best case scenario for him is that people would then go check out his show on his website or whatever and then they would just see that the ratings are a lie and that he is without a doubt the worst TV host in the history of the world (except maybe for Elvira Kurt). The more money he spends buying fake votes and reviews the better, let him waste his money.

I hope he doesn't run out of money though because I love this show! It's like a car accident. He couldn't possibly make such a funny show on purpose but actually watch it and appreciate it for the train wreck it is and trust me you will laugh your head off. It has everything.

A full of himself host who can't deliver a joke in his always painful (yet awkwardly and unintentionally hilarious) monologues, check.

A band that is actually top notch who I'm sure are paid top dollar to be willing to perform on this terrible host's show, complete with fake smiles plastered across their face and a "please don't talk to us, Frank" look in their eyes. I bet they're out of there ten seconds after taping finishes.

A host who is a decent singer at best who sings constantly and who even horns in on guest singers, making them let him sing with them. There was a really (again unintentionally) funny interview and song with NHL great Theo Fleury.

Characters which are often played by the host himself.

Commercials which are all for the host's own products. Like I said it's a paid infomercial time slot that he buys, so all the "commercials" are just himself peddling his cheap products like Italian food and Cheetah Energy Drinks.

Painful interviews. The one with Al Pacino is priceless. He doesn't know Frank D'Angelo, is completely disinterested, checking his watch until his contractually obligated time is up before he gets what I'm sure was an envelope full of cash.... the best part is Frank keeps using clips of this exact same terrible interview which makes everyone look bad. I find myself laughing that Pacino probably thought he had a good payday for nothing but I'm sure he'd gladly hand that envelope back if he knew how awful he would look on TV and that Frank would keep using the interview again and again and again and again!

Watch the show, it's unintentionally hilarious, the host is a delusional scumbag who is 100% full of himself, and you'll see some great awkward moments.
13 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Please use your money for good causes.
brianrubywood1 February 2013
Horrible show, no talent!! Get off the air!! Just shows money buys anything. Please go away and realize you stink!! How is one suppose to write ten lines about a horrible show with a guy who thinks he's a somebody but in reality the dude is a no body, just a fool with too much money and no talent. Is an embarrassment to all Canadians; what if people outside of Canada saw this crap????? Hang your head in shame and get off the air. You are the reason that the internet and pay t.v. is a bad thing!! What does your family think? God I hope you don't have any kids; other kids probably beat the crap out of them because of your show. Everyone needs to have a dream, but there is a time when we all need to wake up and realize it just isn't going to happen. Please do all us Canadians a favor and STOP thinking you have talent, use your money for good causes, save some dogs and cats, feed the hungry, do something that does not cause people pain and shame.
17 out of 127 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Awful
drumsbeme31 January 2015
This guy is one of the most awful talents, (if you want to call him that) ever broadcast on a television anywhere. I remember him from the days when he bought Wendel Clark and used him in his apple juice commercials playing goal against a Leaf legend, like they were good buddies...It made me want to barf. But Franks ego couldn't keep him from making a career out of making an ass of himself and his lame excuse for talent. I love how all of his movies have Margot Kidder and Robert Loggia in them, a couple of washed up wanna be actors who will probably be doing cheetah commercials to make a dollar...And the singing, god the singing is so bloody lousy, but what can you say to a guy who buys everyone's opinion? This guy may have a business acumen and that's fine, but I wish he would stay out of areas that he has no talent or no business being in. The point is, if Mr D'Angelo was as talented as he believes he is, it would speak for itself, and would lead to opportunities and money. Unfortunately, this guys has the money that affords him the opportunities that people with a thousand times his talent sometimes never get, and that's the reason why he should be knocked off of his pedestal. He simply doesn't deserve recognition for 95% of the things he claims to be good at, because he simply doesn't have the talent, and people would actually respect him if he realized it and got out the ventures he doesn't belong in.
9 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Awful!
gusfaute15 January 2015
This show just stinks.

I can't say much beyond that but I have to get to ten lines apparently? OK then.

The set stinks, it is just a curtain and looks like it is in somebody's gram-ma's basement.

The audience looks bored and I don't blame them I bet they were all paid to sit there.

The guests are boring and the host asks them really stupid questions and they are always just awkward with each other, case in point he made Theo Fleury sing with him.

The writing is the worst, they clearly have a joke book from 1915 and he tells awful jokes.

The band is OK that is the only thin okay about this show but the host sings with that band so I take it back, any band he sings with can't be OK they must stink.

This show is the worst, what a pathetic effort I hope CHCH gets it off the airwaves soon enough.
8 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews