IMDb > That Awkward Moment (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
That Awkward Moment
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
That Awkward Moment More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 80 reviews in total 

72 out of 119 people found the following review useful:

Cringeworthy

1/10
Author: wlisa8583 from United States
10 February 2014

I am so angry that I wasted my time watch this crappy movie.

The storyline was completely unoriginal and devoid of real humor and intelligence.

The jokes were tired and pointless and we have heard it all before, many times. The script was flimsy, and full of holes. The initial reason why Vera left Mikey rang hollow. Surely if you had a problem with your partners spontaneity, you would just tell them instead of requesting a divorce. And suddenly, after one act of spontaneous love making, they are on the road to recovery. I mean, how ridiculous is that. Just one of many, many examples of this foolish story.

The acting was the pits; Zac Efron is just not a good enough actor to be leading man material. The rest didn't impress me much either. There was complete lack of charisma and absolutely zero chemistry between any of the couples. Not funny, not fun and not interesting in the slightest!

Was the above review useful to you?

51 out of 81 people found the following review useful:

That Awkward Movie

2/10
Author: Matt Greene from Panama City, Florida, United States
10 February 2014

The ad campaign for TAM gives the impression that it will be, at the very least, a fun romp, but don't be fooled. TAM asks us to sympathize for and laugh with the most deplorable and chauvinistic of characters, like the obnoxious guys in high school who thought they were funny but weren't. Every "joke" is about poop or sex, which can be funny. Here, however, they are so poorly delivered and juvenile it's hard to tell if they were even meant as jokes or just as statements of misguided philosophy. We follow three best friends who decide to call off real relationships in lieu of hooking up with as many women as possible. This tired story and accompanying dialogue are not only uninspired, inauthentic, and stupid, but make no tonal sense here. The drastic jumps from bad sex comedy to melodrama are so clumsy it's hard to know whether to blame the editing, the directing, or the script. Such a shame considering of the waste of young talent. Sure, Teller presents moments of charm, but no one is really given anything of quality to work with. There are a few laughs, but for the most part I couldn't help feeling like I was watching a soon-to-be canceled sitcom. The writers seemed more interested in writing bad one-liners than creating originality or emotional connection between characters. Even my wife, who normally loves anything classified as "romance" and/or "comedy", resorted to playing Candy Crush for the last half. If you're looking for a funny bro-mance, go see Anchorman 2. SKIP THIS!

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 71 people found the following review useful:

A clichéd "bromance" film with all the wrong beats

4/10
Author: trublu215 from United States
31 January 2014

That Awkward Moment seems like a promising comedy for guys, the raunchy humor, objectifying women and boner pills. It sounds like a good time, right? HELL NO!!! That Awkward Moment seizes every chance it gets to be as clichéd as possible and to be as unfunny as possible. Zac Efron and Michael B. Jordan turn in acceptable performances but that is overshadowed by the thin-as-ice plot and crude humor, which ends up losing two good performances in the mix. To be fair to those involved, this film should have either been shelved or given more thought, either or doesn't give this film a leg to stand on. The next Knocked Up it is not. This is Sex and The City with too much testosterone and not nearly enough laughs to justify any of the plot holes, clichés or how these characters treat women. This isn't a rental, this is more like a bottom dollar movie you take a chance on at Wal Mart.

Was the above review useful to you?

40 out of 64 people found the following review useful:

That Uncomfortable Unfunny Awkward Moment

3/10
Author: DarkVulcan29 (DarkVulcan29@aol.com) from United States
3 February 2014

I was so unsettled by this movie, I walked out before it ended, To the point I just didn't care, even though it was getting close to the end, But I was tortured enough. Identity Thief(2013) is an Oscar winner compared to this.

Trying to be Sex and the City for guys, only not clever and not funny. I will say the three main leads do have chemistry, and you instantly believe they are friends. But the jokes are pretty much thrown down are throats, not to mention dramatic moments also. Unlike The Best Man Holiday(2013) which balanced the comedy and drama perfectly, this film doesn't do it well at all. It's a lame attempt to make a film for couples who like comedies, I'll tell you this save your money and go rent He's Just Not That Into(2009) instead.

Michael B. Jordan why are you in this, you have proved to be better than this, you deserve better. Has for Zac Efron, after seeing you in this, I think your 15 minutes of fame are about up.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

I haven't wanted to leave a movie half an hour into it before.

2/10
Author: Annie Hopkins from NJ
1 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"That Awkward Moment" was appropriately named, as most of the movie was scripted, forced, and cliché. As a 23 year old female, I was actually insulted that this is what Hollywood thinks is interesting or relevant to my demographic. It seems as though people this age have been dumbed down to toilet humor, drinking, cursing, and casual sex. The plot line was so uninteresting and predictable that had I would have been more intrigued watching an episode of Barney. It almost seemed like it had elements of "Crazy, Stupid, Love" that went horribly wrong, especially because of the lack of character development. The plot even fell short of the cliché I was expecting, as at least 2 of the characters never had that magical moment where they realize the wrongs of their ways and mature. They were the same, stagnant personalities all the way through the film, the only things that changed were their relationship statuses. Having three main characters with their own stories, the film had at least a 1 in 3 chance of making an intriguing story line. Instead, the plot walked the already worn out path of the traditional romantic comedy script. To make things even more painful, the comedic timing was so off that even elements that could have been funny (the coworker Fred) were just awkward and odd. The overuse of "f---" added to the awkwardness as you could just tell that random cursing was interjected into lines, maybe to make it more "youthful."

Jordan's character, Mikey, was the character that I found most bearable, as he seemed to have some sort of dignity or depth. Daniel, played by Miles Teller, literally made me cringe with anger at his nonchalant crassness, reminding me of that guy in high school who tries to be funny but has no intelligence to back it up. Apparently, repeatedly telling a girl that you are "the best b--- j-- receiver" is endearing(?). Efron was completely unlikable and never really redeemed himself or matured, making the film feel empty and unfinished.

Overall, "Awkward" checked all the boxes of a basic romantic comedy, including all of the wrong, stereotypically youthful ones. The only thought I left with was wondering how Efron's character could afford such a nice apartment.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

A Masterpiece!

Author: wahoo8888 from United States
18 May 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Actually, it's a master piece of sh#t. I haven't seen a movie where the acting was this bad through and through in a long time. I guess the really awkward thing about this movie is the script. And, none of the actors were that particularly good looking. Even Zac E. looked bloated and at times about 3 feet tall (everyone in the movie was taller than he was). And what was the point of this movie? Guys create a roster of women for sex, so they don't have to get serious with anyone. The characters were so unappealing, I really didn't care what they were up to, and was kinda hoping most of them would get arrested for extreme stupidity and hauled off the set so we could give others a try. This movie is sure to clean up at the Razzies this year.

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 59 people found the following review useful:

'Sex and the City' for Single Guys

5/10
Author: 3xHCCH from Quezon City, Philippines
30 January 2014

"That Awkward Moment" is a romantic/sex comedy about three male best friends in their twenties living in New York City. Two of them, Jason (Zac Efron) and Daniel (Miles Teller), work all book cover designers in a publishing house. The other, Mikey (Michael B. Jordan), is an emergency room doctor.

While Jason and Daniel are happily swinging singles with their rosters of girlfriends, Mikey has just been told by his wife that she wants a divorce. All three guys promise to each other that they would all remain single together.

Unknown to his friends though, Mikey strove to revive his marriage with wife Vera (Jessica Lucas). On the other hand, Jason meets and gets close to a new girl Ellie (Imogen Poots). Daniel begins to see his BFF- and pick-up partner Chelsea (Mackenzie Davis) in a different light. Can all three yuppies actually keep steadfast in their fraternal pledge?

Zac Efron is undeniably fit for this charming yet shallow and arrogant character. It seems though that he had a step backward from his serious portrayals in "The Paper Boy" and "Parkland" to find himself in rather embarrassing scenes in the first third of the film (they were funny though). However, in the final third, Zac was more in his element. His final monologue alone reaffirms his status as romantic lead. This was despite my opinion that his Jason and Ellie do not really jive together.

Miles Teller plays the raunchy, noisy, annoying friend here. He is the funniest and the most relaxed of the three main actors. He remains very likable despite his smart-alecky character, coming across as a young Andrew McCarthy. His chemistry with his partner Mackenzie Davis was the best of the three pairs in the film.

Michael B. Jordan is fresh from his acclaimed performance last year as an ill-fated ex-con in "Fruitvale Station". His character is the most stable of the three friends, and his character does not really get too idiotic situations. He finds himself in more dramatic than comic moments here, which makes his character feel like an odd man out.

The comedy aspect was only occasionally hilarious when an actor makes a total fool of himself. There are two big comedy gimmicks here that will make this film memorable. One was when they show Zac and Miles try to pee while Viagra was still on full effect. The other was when Zac goes to Ellie's birthday party with his awkward sense of "dress up." Other than that, nothing really funny, more of annoying, grating and forced.

The romantic aspect fared better. It was actually quite well-written, though treading on very familiar ground of male-female relationships and commitment phobia. When is going out just simply going out? The film was quite frank on scenes and language of a sexual nature though, with scenes of semi-nudity of the three actors. I was surprised to see this rated only R-13 locally. This should at least be an R-18 for me because maturity is required to properly understand this aspect of the film.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

A poorly made romcom

4/10
Author: Matic Boh
4 June 2014

One would suspect that this film would offer the audience at least a fun experience and a decent amount of humor, but That Awkward Moment fails to deliver in every way. Not only does the film have a very predictable storyline and clichéd characters, it is also poorly paced and lacks any sort of momentum. The writing is weak and provides very few humorous moments, with the only encouraging aspect being the performance of Miles Teller, whose comedic talent does shine through. Overall, however, the three leading men lack any sort of chemistry, which results in disappointing delivery and causes the characters to be uninteresting. That Awkward Moment therefore fails to produce characters that are relatable on a emotional level, despite that being the film's main aim.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Very bad.

3/10
Author: Hisanel Cuellar from Miami
1 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The acting is bad, the movie is poorly written. The dialogue is cheesy and there are clichés everywhere you look. The only reason I didn't give it a 1 was because there were SOME funny parts in it. Zac Efron cursed more than he needed to (I assume to try to distance himself from his High School Musical days.) The characters are boring, the movie is longer than it needed to be and it was just tale of guys who try to have sex with attractive women and end up falling in love with them. There's really nothing else in it and everything was SO PREDICTABLE. I guess male teens will like it but I actually enjoyed the previews before the movie started more than the movie itself.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

That Awkward Moment was not awkward at all! Just hilarious

10/10
Author: Cconfehr from United States
14 July 2014

I have read a ton of reviews saying this movie is not worth seeing but I don't understand. I laughed the whole time. Come on, it's three 20-something's fooling around with women. What do you expect? Oscar winning acting, costumes, music and writing? No. It's a feel good comedy meant to entertain you. And that's what I got out if it. And so did the rest of the theater, I'm assuming from the constant laughter.

That Awkward Moment was not awkward at all! Just hilarious. Well, there were a couple of awkward scenes but it added to the hilarity.

The specific "awkward moment" is when a girl says "so..."; the three friends say that nothing good comes after a girl saying "so". For example: "so, where are we headed" or "so, what are we?". But this is me (a girl) saying "Soooo... That movie was hilarious! You need to see it."

I mean, it did make me glad I have a bf already and don't have to deal with guys like in the movie but they are funny, attractive and charming.

I didn't like Ellie who is a main character. She seemed disheveled and couldn't get a US accent just right the whole movie but everyone else was wonderful. Especially Chelsea (Mackenzie Davis), she was the icing on the Zac Efron, Miles Teller and Michael B. Jordan cake. Yum.

The movie definitely earned its R rating with swearing and adult scenes. Oh, and Zac Efron does in fact Rock Out with a large, strap-on (Blank) Out. For a good amount of time. So, be ready.

There was a woman behind me talking the entire time. PEOPLE. STOP talking through movies! We can all read the 8 ft tall "three months later" placed immediately in front of our faces. No need to narrate.

Go see it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history