IMDb > "House of Lies" (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"House of Lies"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"House of Lies" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 53 reviews in total 

139 out of 174 people found the following review useful:

Clever and funny. Extremely enjoyable.

9/10
Author: (hannah.uzelac@gmail.com) from Canada
10 January 2012

I just read a review in which someone complained about the amount of "slurs" and basically equated the show to pornography. They couldn't be more wrong.

Yes, the show has some swears. And yes, there is nudity. But how is that worth a 1-star review? Are you 10 years old? This is a program created by and for Showcase, a network that shamelessly brands itself as "television without borders," so there should be an expectation of some level of debauchery. How many other top shows out there contain the same material? Look at True Blood, Game of Thrones, Californication, and the list goes on. House of Lies is an adult show with adult themes. Get the hell over it! This show is clearly not for you. Everyone's welcome to their own opinion but I doubt anyone will find yours to be useful here. Don't give it a 1-star review just because you don't approve of its content. Go watch "The Wind at My Back" or something like that instead.

That being said, Don Cheadle is fantastic as the lead part in this comedy. He pulls it off so well that it's unexpected and refreshing. Cheadle's "psycho" ex-wife is also a great character, flipping between pill-popping party girl and smart, driven career woman that we love to laugh with even though we hate her for being such a b*tch. I can't wait to see more of this show and I applaud everyone involved for a job well done. The acting is convincing and the writing is sharp. There is a great dynamic between all the characters, especially that of Cheadle and his father. The only acting that's less-than stellar comes from Cheadle's son's character, but it's difficult to find a convincing child actor anywhere. He'll probably improve as the show goes on.

I was laughing throughout the episode. Don't let the review of some prude turn you away from this great comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

78 out of 106 people found the following review useful:

Great ADULT show

9/10
Author: blkpearl22
23 January 2012

Whom ever suggested that porn is better must not watch porn at all. As an adult I am tired of having television shows watered down to please those who are afraid of adult content. I love the savvy business talk,the fact that the consultants do what they have to do to get what they want. We all know that that's not the real world but it's a TV show. The banter is brilliant and the humor is memorable. Don Cheadel's character is so unapologetically ruthless that you can't help but like him. A welcome break from mindless reality shows. This now my favorite Showtime Series. The only reason I gave it a 9 and not a 10 is because I wish it were an hour long.

Was the above review useful to you?

64 out of 97 people found the following review useful:

Showtime

8/10
Author: Nba Espana NoOficial from Spain
11 January 2012

People say this show has a lot of sex, slurs ... who cares? This show is pure Showtime, so, if you like Californication, you will like House of Lies. If you like Downtown Abbey, maybe you will not. Another reason to watch this show is the cast. Don Cheadle is a great actor, and having the possibility of watching him in this kind of show is awesome. No more "Hotel for Dogs", Don. And Kristen Bell. Everyone loves Kristen Bell. Natural beauty and great actress. Can't wait to see if both characters end up having some kind of relationship ( aka sex ) We'll see how the plot resumes, but the groundwork is done. Showtime is back. The sex, the slurs are back. Who cares?

Was the above review useful to you?

45 out of 65 people found the following review useful:

Great show

10/10
Author: laura haa from Germany
9 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

House of Lies (stylized as Hou$e of Lie$) is a great new Showtime comedy television series created by Matthew Carnahan. The show is based on the book, House of Lies: How Management Consultants Steal Your Watch and Then Tell You the Time, written by Martin Kihn, a former consultant at Booz Allen Hamilton. It's about a group of management consultants (Cheadle, Bell, Schwartz, Lawson) who stop at nothing to get business deals done, even if it calls for extremes. It's an interesting mix about work and the racy private lives and shenanigans of the characters. The non-PG pilot looks at Cheadle's complicated love life (sex with the ex and, incidentally, also the mother of his gender-neutral son and his professional competition) and self-loathing behaviour (sex with strippers, hurray! and sex with the mother of his son's 'friend' in the school play), while he tries to close a deal with MetroCapital, a bank looking for a plan to unscrupulously justify their year-end bonuses as the financial world around them burns.

Was the above review useful to you?

40 out of 61 people found the following review useful:

OK so why is this rated so low?

10/10
Author: izmcoolu from Waterbury, Connecticut
16 September 2012

I never ever write reviews and honestly this will be my first ever review for a movie or TV show in my entire life lol, that being said I can't even begin to understand why this show is rated so low. This show is the most entertaining show I have seen since "office", plus it has all the adult themes that you wished was displayed in "Office". No its not a work of art of some yuppy's view of how great television is supposed to be but wow this is just that perfect show for the normal person who still has some sort of pulse left in his veins. I can understand how the older generation would not enjoy this show but it truly is just great mindless fun to watch and enjoy. Once again I never wrote a review before in my life but I just had to after seeing such low ratings, I really hope they don't cancel this show like all the other great shows that was low rated because people are just too uptight in their ideas of proper television. IDK maybe because I don't have grey hair yet or don't pretend to be sitting in a directors chair that I don't understand such low rating. Anyway if you take a regular guys advice, try this show cause it really is the most under rated comedy out there.

Was the above review useful to you?

40 out of 61 people found the following review useful:

Love it - I can't wait for Sunday night!

10/10
Author: SirBurgh from United States
10 February 2012

First off, I have to say I don't watch a lot of "TV". But by TV I mean regular shows or sitcom type material (if they still call it that). I watch movies or sports, news, etc...

But I saw the trailer for this and thought it looked great so I watched it. Now I just love it. It's raunchy and something you're embarrassed to watch with your adult kids, but it's still utterly hysterical. Cheadle makes the whole thing go - but Kristen Bell is excellent as she shows some business savvy with the comedy as well. The other two...well, they are kind of straight men so that's okay. I can watch the same episode three or four times and still laugh and enjoy it.

Personally I think Cheadle is one of the best and most underrated actors around. He should be more of a feature star than doing a cable show, but I'm thrilled he's doing this.

Having said all that, I'm in business. Not Management Consulting, but on the other side, and heaven knows I have encountered their types and typically loathe them. Maybe that's why I find this so funny. If you have no business background, I still think it'll be funny for you, but being in the corporate world makes you laugh that much harder.

Excellent...just excellent.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Cutting-edge comedy, not for the faint of heart

9/10
Author: gary89436 from Nevada, USA
12 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I almost never write movie reviews, but feel I need to weigh in on this show after seeing it panned by the 1-star prude. I watched the first episode of 'House of Lies' twice after it was highly recommended by a trusted friend. I loved the show, and agree with hanna uzelac on virtually every point.

I found the way this show breaks the fourth wall was brilliant. Sorry, I haven't watched much cable television the last couple of years, so I don't know how innovative this was, I just love the way the show used it to underline the action and reach out to the viewer.

Yes, there was a lot of swearing and sex, at least in the pilot episode, but that didn't bother me. I'm no prude by any means, but at age 56 I've just come to a point where gratuitous sex doesn't grab me, and I'll often find myself fast-forwarding much of it, but not here. What sex there was was brief, not gratuitous, and served to punctuate a comedic scene to follow, like... ***spoiler alert***

***spoiler alert*** ***spoiler alert*** ***spoiler alert*** . . .

the quick look grandpa gives his son (Don Cheadle) after he comes inside to the end of the his grandchild's play after Don was out banging his son's rival wife in her minivan. It's just brilliant, and I thought it plays very well. Other times, it was used to set up a fourth-wall comedic break, such as Don telling us from the very start to ... never...f&@k...your...ex...wife." Good advice or not? You decide.

I also found the interactions of both grandpa and father with his gender-curious son hilarious, with dad trying valiantly to at least fake positive support despite his own conflicts on that subject. This too was used as a set up for a steamy scene in the restaurant bathroom, enough said.

I also loved how, after layering on its thick frosting of brutal cynicism throughout the entire episode,the last scene has Don almost, but not quite, breaking through to a more human level. It's set up as another fourth-wall break as we see him alone in the bathroom mirror shaving, but instead we see him reaching out to one of his colleagues. but it was the only real moment we see the humane core character break through.

I usually consider it an error to judge a series based only on a first/pilot episode, but reading the 1-star sexually-repressed review, felt I had to chime in. This is an adult show for adult viewers on and adult channel, so if you can't handle it, go watch 'Malcolm in the Middle' or an LDS movie for god's sake, and leave this alone. It was a great show, and I can't wait for more.

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

My new favourite TV show

8/10
Author: ano-272-401408 from Indonesia
21 January 2012

This has to be one of the most lewd and rude shows I have ever seen. Push that aside for a tick and discount the machine gun humour that's leaving gaping holes across the corporate back drop in which this is set. Move to the foreground to where I want to dwell. The great mix of self absorbed characters with more hang ups than a normal closet. A dollop of kid dealing with coming out of a closet, or is that his dad and dad's dad that are dealing with it? Those two generations of fathers are definitely not sure how to do the job. Only seen two episodes but I am hooked, line and sinker. Sprinkle the whole thing with a reasonably good support cast. Greg Germann was so good in Episode one, good to see a reprise in next weeks. Kristen Bell is OK as is Ben Swatz & Josh Lawson in full geek mode.

But what is with the on again off relationship with Don Cheddie and Dawn Olivieri who plays his hot ex? Gold, pure gold! This is one of those multi layered comedies that I look for from the UK.

Bravo ShoTime for making, what is at present, my new favourite TV show. Keep it strong!

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

Check It Out

8/10
Author: ladlaw121 from United States
6 February 2012

I'd say the show deserves to stay on air and in the lineup with all of the other Showtime shows. Upon reading other reviews, I realized certain ridiculous things that were being said about the show. What's the name of the show? Oh yeah, "House of Lies", so of course it isn't "Californication". There are several things that are labeled as a comedy that we actually would not agree with. Comedy, in it's original definition, means a story in which the main character(s) end up better off, ultimately. It didn't always mean a show or movie that will make you laugh. Regardless, I do end up laughing especially when Don Cheadle's character starts describing things to the audience while time freezes, the ridiculous banter between Schwartz and Lawson's characters, as well as Kristen Bell's sarcasm. Going along again with the debate of the term "Comedy" and the comparison of this show with other shows that exist, on HBO the show "Entourage" was considered a Comedy. That show made me laugh even less, yet I still enjoyed it. It wasn't busting-at-the-seams funny. So, let's stop being so ridiculous and just ENJOY a show for what it is instead of having expectations of what other show it should be like.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Started strong but lost its way

5/10
Author: boner-59726
1 February 2016

What started out as a scathing, hilarious indictment of the management consulting racket within just a few episodes has unfortunately turned into a heart-warming/-wrenching story about dysfunctional family life and damaged people.

Even the remnant veneer of business-side stories are beginning to cast the consultants as good guys, working hard to save troubled businesses rather than the leaches and scum of the original premise.

Also, very regrettably the show falls for the false premise that gender-bending is automatically funny and risqué. In fact for those to be funny they have to be, well, funny, as opposed to simply slapped in with a teenage breathlessness about how cool they are.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history